The Westin Arlington Gateway

  • 801 North Glebe Road
  • Arlington,
  • Virginia
  • 22203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 370 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location We spent a long weekend visiting the DC area. The Westin was very convenient to the Ballston Metro stop and the Ballston Mall. Both were 2 blocks away. Location itsself seemed to be a business district but felt very safe. Since the mall was so close the food court was convenient if you have little ones. Our hotel room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The only glitch was we couldn't find the parking garage. From N. Glebe Road, it isn't clearly marked. We accidently parked next door. Good thing we asked the hotel , otherwise we would have been charged a lot more. We had a great stay and we are defi itely coming back in the spring. November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent! Enjoyed my time spent at this hotel to include the Starbucks on site! My only complaint would be the $20 valet fee. I think this fee should be waived for guest of the hotel October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent...as always As a single traveling female this hotel is perfect. Great location in close proximity of great restaurants and local bars. Also within talking distance of the Metro link. September 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy Room - Bad Experience The room was extremely noisy. The WiFi was slow. Very disappointing. The lounge snack selection is very limited. Will not be staying here again. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel During my stay I found this hotel and it's staff to be exemplary. I would certainly stay at this hotel in the future as well as recommend it to others. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by perfect location Easy walking to restaurants. Bed wasn't very comfortable, unusual for a Heavenly bed. Club level was disappointing and not worth the extra charge. November 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great!!! Everything is great clean and safe. Perfect location December 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK Stay The hotel was easy to locate and the staff all were pleasant, helpful, and professional. I attended a conference - the meeting room was extremely cold. Food in Pinzimini was OK but not good enough that we wanted to return. I had mushroom ravioli that was barely room temperature, not warm or hot. My husband had pizza which was not bad but definitely too large for a 1 person meal. The room was spotless - although we did have some problems logging onto the Internet initially we were able to get quick assistance with that. The shower was wonderful! Noise was a little problem our last night. Why is there no true gift shop??Overall an OK stay. October 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by 50th Birthday Letdown As an SPG platinum member I have stayed in many SPG properties and without a doubt this was absolutely my worst Westin Hotel experience. This stay was to celebrate my 50th birthday with my family and friends and I was confident that Westin would be a great place to start the celebration. From the minute I arrived at the hotel I received nothing but indifferent service from an uncaring staff whose inability to communicate with my wife and I due to language difficulties seemed to amuse them. There was one employee working the check in counter and I was forced to wait 20 minutes while she attempted to placate another guest who was not happy. Not once was another staff member called to assist. Upon entering our room my wife had expected to see Birthday amenities she had requested be present. Her disappointment that this did not happen was heartbreaking. When she notified the desk of the discrepancy they assured her it would be taken care of. Again, as a result of communication issues resolution of her request came hours later. A card wishing me happy 50th anniversary (not birthday), a bottle of champagne, and one glass was delivered unceremoniously. Really one glass for an anniversary, never mind that it was not my anniversary. Room was dirty with wet carpet and upon leaving the staff was indifferent as my arrival. Will never stay in this hotel. June 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Westin brand standards Hallways feel tired and institutional. Almost no water pressure in bathroom. I requested that it be addressed. I was told it had been adjusted. There was no discernable difference after the adjustment. Tile grout had mold. Volume button was broken on clock/radio. Staff was among the least warm and attentive as I have ever experienced in a Westin hotel. Could not get wireless signal in hotel room. I was directed to an "800" number where I listened to "hold music" for 15 minutes. I was never connected to a human. Very disappointing given that this was a business trip and I needed a wireless connection. I will not stay at this hotel again. October 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location, not particularly family friendly Nice facility. The energy saving climate controls in the rooms are a complete disaster. Room was 77 degrees at one in the morning. We were never able to get the temp below 71 even after the maintenance staff put the system in bypass mode. It was just uncomfortable. Will be even worse in the DC summer. This is the only Westin i have ever seen that does not allow children in the hot tub at the pool. If there are two hot tubs, one can be adult only. Require adult supervision, fine. No kids at all equals not family friendly. We had a great visit to DC. The hotel location is great. But the stay was mediocore. Lots of room for improvement. April 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but problems I was excited to stay at this hotel and have a relaxing few nights for NYE. Unfortunately, the pillows were terrible and my friend and I ended up both sleeping on the bolster pillow on the bed because both the down and regular pillows were awful. We called down to the front desk to complain, but there were no other pillows in the hotel. Then on NYE (which is a night with a lot of partying) people were running through the halls of the hotel screaming and sometimes crying. It kept us up all night. I realize this is out of the hotel's control (partly), but I was surprised that they would allow their clientele to disrupt everyone's sleep. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Do not stay is room 923 This is a nice Westin and a great location close enough to DC but far enough to relax. Of course I loved the heavenly bed and the room was spacious. However, the gentlemen who check us in was a bit brisk when I asked questions. Also that room 923 has a noise that from about 3am until maybe 9am woudl sound every 20 minutes. I barely slept at all. It was like a toilet flushing or someone hammering all morning long. I told the gentlemen at the desk when I checked out. He appologized but otherwise seemed to care less. I may try another Westin in the area. They always provide affordable luxury. The concierge desk was excellent both times I spoke with them. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for Arlington Virginia My husband and I have stayed at this hotel 5 times now and each time has been a very pleasant experience. The Manager, Dave Gibbons has always been accommodating and we have appreciated being able to count on him. Hotel is modern and clean, staff are always courteous and it now feels like "home" every time we check in. Shelley August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing staff the staff at this starwood property needs a tremendous amount of improvement in their handling of the guests. never been more disappointed at a hotel. I went to retrieve my car from the valet who had taken it and he looked at me like I was crazy, as if I should have known that the valet pickup happened inside the parking garage- something he never informed me about. Inside the garage there was no one at the window to get my car and the only visible attendant was shooting the breeze with a friend, after waiting 10 mins told I should give my ticket to the person at the window for service - I pointed out that there was no one there!! August 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected better quality For the most part my stay was ok. I did expect better. My room wasn't the cleanest, wall paper in the bathroom was peeling off, bathroom door had water damage causing discoloration and the bathroom also had a musty odor. The TV barely worked, the cable kept cutting in and out, very frustrating while trying to watch the evening news. The walls were thin, I could hear conversations in the adjacent room. Additionally, as doors would close from the rooms close to mine, the walls would shake. My stay was not very relaxing at all. While I like staying at Weston Hotels, this was a bad experience and I'll think twice about future stays. February 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay away if you have a car!!!! We parked my wife's BMW there few times. The first time they changed the lights settings from auto to on. The next day OBVIOUSLY the battery ran out. The second time, we gave the car to the valet and made sure that he will not change the lights settings this time and went to our room. Half an hour later we get a call informing us that there is a scratch on the side of the car. We went downstairs to check it out. The valet insisted that the scratch was from before!! and that the valet parking "RULE" is to inspect every car before parking it. We were pretty sure that the scratch was new (because when we came downstairs we noticed that the car was driven a bit forward). However, the valet refused to take responsibility and we were too tired to argue. We returned to this hotel multiple times, however, after the scratch instance, no one ever inspected the car before parking it and we never got any call regarding the old scratch. After another stay, we noticed new scratches. We expressed disapproval with the parking service. The supervisor said we can self park from now on (same price of course). We agreed. Of course he did not mention we can file an incident report. That night he opened the gate for us and even made us park in a HANDICAP spot!!!!! We were happy with the promise that we can self park from now on. He also signed a paper for us stating that we are self parkers and told us to show it to whoever is there the next time. The next time we stayed, we had leased a brand new Mercedes. We returned to the same hotel because we were self parkers. However, as with all unorganized gangs, the one who greeted us had no idea what self parking is. We could not argue with him because he barely spoke English. He called his supervisor. The supervisor said we can not self park. We told him that the car is brand new 2012 mercedes - it literally 40 miles on it. He said he can not let us park ourselves. Then he mentioned the third floor underground is self parking and it is full. Really?? full?? That means nobody trusts their parking services and everybody wants to self park. Anyway I am sure that was a lie!!! The main desk receptionist was involved. However, it seemed he had no word re the parking. We parked on the street for the night. The bad smell in the hallways was not the deal breaker, however we had a very bad experience with the parking people. And as a result of that, I will never return to this hotel. I will stay at a hotel that has self parking. It is unfortunate how this "parking gang" ruins the image of the hotel. May 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs better prices I thought being a for star facility the service would be better i got charged per night but room total was 120 over the cost(i guess tips were included)and everytime i turned around the staff wanted tipped. i agree with tipping i noticed however if the staff member did not think it was enough they avoided you the next time. i then paid a huge amount to park for a week . i should have gotten a discount (and so should evryone else) for parking for more than so many nights.the night we arrived pool hours were posted to 10 and they closed at 6:45.the resturaunt in the hotel was way overpriced.the only good thing was its closeness to the metro and grocery store. July 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was so-so The restaurant staff was incredibly slow. Breakfast took almost 1 1/2 hours - including 9 minuets to set a table. The Green program was completely misrepresented - they hotel WILL NOT touch your room or give you new toiletries. Vacuuming at 730 am on a Sunday morning and the workout facility, while very nice, smelled like sewage. Not great when you're working out. July 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Filth and Dirt Even if you have experienced the low standards of sub-$50 hotels, the Westin Arlington will take your breath away. Filthy showers (alien tissue remnants that should star in SAW III), half-emptied coffee-cups in "freshly prepared rooms", toilets brimming with remnants left by the previous guest .... wonders just never stop! If you add that the entire staff is deeply resentful and simply does not want to do their (paid?) jobs, it makes you wonder how much risk is Westin taking by licensing this franchise. Summary: if you are in biological experimentation and want to pay $300 for the thrill - this is definitely a ticket for you. June 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to expectations... I don't typically stay at Westins, and I probably won't again. It just wasn't up to the expectations I had for it. First of all, I was never able to sleep past 5 am because of the barking dog on my floor. I understand being a dog friendly hotel, but it's just not fair to other paying customers. In short, housekeeping was terrible and skimpy on the basics like shampoo, the lobby was much nicer than the rooms, and the business center printers didn't work nor did my AC. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable & modern I always enjoy staying at this hotel, it is clean, and the bed and pillows are really comfortable. The room is a great size and all decor is really modern. The gym facilities are comprehensive and large. There are nice views of Ballston from the room and it is walking distance from nice restaurant choices and shopping. July 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst experience ever I had two nights guaranteed reservations. Arrived at 230am via red eye flight from SF. Front desk person informed me my room had been given away. NO ROOM! That led to him making calls, sending me in a taxi 20 minutes away to another hotel.Got to sleep at 4am--and had to return to Westin at 7am to engage with The Nature Conservancy Board (upon which I serve; note the TNC is a major customer of the hotel--we hosted a group there that evening). Yes, Westin paid for both hotel nights. But I will now do my best to NEVER again stay in any Westin--despite my Starwood membership. June 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by i night stay at Arlignton Unfortunately, I think I had a "bum room". First, the heat wood not work, which an engineer promptly fixed in the evening but the next morning my toilet handle broke. It seemed that the handle was of very poor quality and so was the internal mechanism because that broke as well. So in order to flush the toilet I had to dig my hand into the back water resevoir. I did not call the front desk to fix the problem for me because I was checking out, I did tell housekeeping about the issue when I left. I would love to give this hotel a higher rating but the room condition was just too much to not rate this as a Needs Improvement January 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected so much better for an SPG Hotel The evening hotel staff were downright rude, they ignored customers waiting in line and took phone calls instead (some were customer calls). I waited 25 minutes to ask a simple question and was not addressed or greeted in a polite manner. The day staff were lovely. The valet was TERRIBLE, they lost my car twice (how does that happen?!) and they basically totaled a colleague's car. When I had to leave early due to an emergency, the staff was not all cooperative about reducing some of the fees incurred. Internet access was impossible. Many colleagues also had complaints of their own. I will NEVER stay in this particular hotel again and would NEVER recommend it to anyone. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for business travel Having stayed in other hotels in this area for training, the Westin Gateway Arlington is by far the best. The room was clean and spacious and the staff was friendly and helpful. For future meetings in the Ballston area, I will definitely be staying here again. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfortable and convenient I had an enjoyable stay at the Westin. Comfy room. Friendly staff and quick response to requests. I like the green option of no servicing the room each day. August 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 3.5 stars This hotel is located in a great place. There is a out-of-date mall near with a cinema and food options. Hotel is about three or four blocks from the metro station. There is one restaurant in the hotel and no gift shop/small mart for essentials. The bed was very uncomfortable and linens were very worn. The bathroom was small. The staff is friendly and met all my needs. There is a Starbucks attached, which is very nice. They also provide Starbucks tea and coffee in room. The thermostat would not let us turn the air below 72 degrees, and resulted in us being a little warm after being in the sun all day. Overall, I would stay there again, but it is not a four star hotel. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant hotel I've stayed at the Westin in Arlington many times over the past few yeas as it is close to my regular meeting location in June and July. I especially like the quality of the exercise room. However, I must say I was very disappointed they replaced their stationary upright bicycle with a recumbent bike which is not very effective for a triathlete needing to keep up bike training while on travel. Also, I signed up for the green program and after a couple of days they were supposed to resume maid service but no one came to serve my room. Also, I had to request more than once that shampoo and coffee be replenished - no one replenished them after the first request. No big deal but for these room rates I expect much more. Overall, I still enjoy staying at this location. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved it but some issues in the room The staff that you call when you have an issue doesn't speak great english nor comprehend it. I called early in the AM to ask for the green program and was told great! The maid service knocked on my door 3x that morning, then called 2x all before 1200. VERY annoying and doesn't seem to understand when the guest has sa request MANY of the TV channels were getting a "no signal" and the quality resembled a tube television in the 80's. Called 4x to ask about the signal issues and the lady that answered had no idea. it took 4 calls for the engineer to arrive and he didn't speak good english. No idea. VERY annoying when you want to Watch a World Cup Soccer Game Lunch in the restaurant downstairs was GREAT! Loved the $10 trio of flatbread, soup and salad. June 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>