The Westin Arlington Gateway

  • 801 North Glebe Road
  • Arlington,
  • Virginia
  • 22203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 340 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Disappointing. Although the property is attractive, I found it a bit odd. Staff is friendly, some are helpful, others appear a bit out of their element. The first day, cleaning of the room was not attempted until nearly 5pm. Since I was in the room rather late, I thought that may have been why. The second day, at 5pm they stopped and asked if we "Wanted it cleaned"-- We had been gone ALL DAY and were back to get ready for dinner. It should have been done by then. No one answers the "Service Express" number when you call. 2 attempts-no answer at all. Took 10 rings to order breakfast. Our reservation was split with the first part paid for as a part of a conference and an additional day on our own. We got a check out bill for the first portion and then it was included again on the checkout for the final night. Had to head down to straighten it all out. Do not understand why you even have the fancy showerhead when you post a sign in the bathroom that it is turned off to conserve water. Disappointed that pool was closed during day--would have used it. May 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway The hotel was not up to my expectations. The floor that I was staying on smelled like a cesspool when I got off the elevator. The advanced shower heads didn't work and I was only able to use the bath as the knob was stuck. Housekeeping rapidly knocked on my door at 8:45am to clean my room when we were all asleep. We had cocktails in Pinzimini at 7pm and when the bill came the signature drinks were full price and I was told that there was no happy hour even though the paper in the stand on the table said that there was from 4:30-7:30 on Signature drinks So I was charrged $25 !! The worst was I woke up in the morning of check out and I saw dried blood on the sheets which was 100% not mine. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long Weekend in Arlington The Westin Arlington Gateway was our Memorial Weekend getaway, It is good property... Great staff, great location - near the Balliston Metro Station... Many nice places to eat and drink within walking distance. Our room was fine but probably in need of a renovation in the next year or two... The plate around the shower spigot was loose, the carpet a bit tired looking - but overall, a clean, comfortable room. We enjoyed our three night stay and I would definitely go back. May 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, but high parking fees I was pleased to find a good rate on this hotel for a visit with my daughter. The agent was pleasant and friendly, but understood that I was trying to find the best price. She never mentioned parking fees. I was shocked to arrive at the hotel and I was offered no alternative but to pay $23/day parking fees. This added $46 to my stay plus tips for valet parking. (You could not park yourself.) I feel it is fair to have parking fees, but I feel that guests should be informed in advance. This extra fee was unexpected and hurt my travel budget after spending so much time trying to find the best rate. The hotel was lovely although the window blind was broken in our room. The pool area had a strong sulpher smell. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL LIES ABOUT YOUR ROOM!!!!!! My husband and I paid for a suite for two night. Was given a tradional room. Would not change us refund us. Called to come in one night early. Charged us $260.00 for us to get the suite. If that is your suite then there is a problem. Your internet pic need to be up dated. Then get charged $23.00 a night just to park car. $2.00 for bottled water!!!!!!!!. Checked out everything paid. Went to get car. Could not get car due to unpaid bill. They walked me back upstairs for the next girl said I needed to pay for two nights for car. I ask to see the first girl, I was told she was not avaible. Never ever again. I will voice my complaint as much as I can. We sould gotten the room we paid for. REALY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! March 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Heinz 57 I typically don't give negative reviews, but the last few weeks I feel that the room service has gone down. When I ordered my room service meal which was the ribeye I requested A-1 sauce on the side. I was told they didn't have A-1 but had a house sauce. This house sauce was Heinz 57. When I explained that Heinz 57 is not a house sauce there was no response. Another time I ordered the same item. This it didn't come with a sauce or whipped potatoes. It came with beets. When I asked why, they said they were out of potatoes. No call to tell me they didn’t have potatoes, just brought up beets. While I had thought that these were just freak incidents it has become to be more frequent that i will get a substitute for something I ordered. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front Desk Great, Valet Parking Not So Great Stopped in Arlington for a quick overnight stay while driving down from NYC to Charlotte. Arriving at 1am with our small dog, we did not encounter a valet at the front---though valet parking is the only parking option. Once we walked in however, we were promptly welcomed by the front desk, who rang for a valet and also offered late check out for us. We had a great pet-friendly room, clean and spacious. We also ordered room service the next morning, which was unimpressive. Overall, not bad, we did think the parking was a bit of an extravagant charge of $26/nt+tip. September 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Internet not Free Everything was good; staff are excellent; facilities comfortable and in good order -- except, wireless internet is not free (unless, I think, you are a member of a Westin-related frequent traveler club at a certain level-- and no such offer was extended to me, even though I asked about any such possibility). And, despite having to pay for it, it was not fast or reliable -- I kept having to re-authenticate with the wireless key. Personally I'd give up the free packets of coffee and tea, and the print newspapers, for good wireless internet at no additional cost. March 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by temperature problems The bed was comfortable enough, but the heating/cooling ventilation system did not work, so the room was 78 degrees and higher, no matter what I (and other guests I spoke to) did to change the numbers on the console. In addition, I have to say that the "green choice" is a scam. You get no service (including refill of the hotel coffee, unless you call and ask for it) and in exchange they give you a coupon that you cannot use at Starbucks and is too little to make a difference in the exceedingly overpriced room service ($14 coffee pot plus delivery charge!) May 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location good - services not so great The room was very comfortable. There are three issues I had during my stay. 1. The refreshment bar was not in operation and when I asked for a refrigerator there were none available. We were put on a waiting list for a frig but never received one or were contacted about it. 2. There were two bottles of complimentary water when we arrived which were used for the coffee machine but were not replaced during our three night visit. 3. The parking is overpriced. We were on a club level floor which did not seem to be any different service than the lower levels. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff and customer care The entire staff was courteous and thoughtful. Daniel - Bellboy: pleasant,friendly and helpful. Remembered our face and always greeted us with a smile, and took time to ask how's your day or how are you doing. Maria (from Bolivia# - Housekeeper on 8th floor: thoughtful, thorough and efficient. Clean room well and anticipated our needs. Cynthia - conceige: warm, kind, thoughtful, friendly and helpful. Great love for dog - always greeted Nicky #our pet) and give him a bone when he came in from his walk. Our pet passed away during our stay. The entire staff displayed particular kindness and caring to me during the bereavement of the loss of our pet. Their kindness went a long way in getting me through this particularly difficult time. August 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping nightmare There was food left in the room when I arrived and the sheets had stains on them. Also, the housekeeping staff entered my room about 30 minutes after I was in it without identifying themselves or knocking. She just walked right in, looked like a deer in the headlights, stammered, and walked out. There was no shampoo on the first day, so I called the desk to get some and she said she would send some up... No one ever came. I left the card on the bed for them to clean the sheets, but after they cleaned the room and reset everything the stains were still there. When I told the desk they were "very sorry" but did not offer any kind of reconciliation... not even to change the sheets.This was my first and last visit to the Westin - Arlington. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxed Time Most comfortable bed ever. Glad I had the choice to have housekeeping/linen change or a discount. I prefer not to have these services. I'd like to have access to what program is on each TV channel. If it was available I missed it. Lovely shower. Bacon and sausage were great. I'd like to have oatmeal part of the breakfast buffet. Fruit very fresh. May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by dc travel Good location for staying in Washington area close to the metro and all of the attractions in the area May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short but very nice stay I arrived around 11:00 pm and checked in immediately. The room was very clean, well-appointed and attractive. Special thanks for bottled water and electrical outlets galore. Since I only stayed one night, I could not take advantage of your special promotion to pass up housekeeping services. But I think it is ingenious and will do so in the future. I travel a lot, and told my husband Westin is my favorite hotel brand. March 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review Upon arrival, room wasn't thoroughly vacuumed, the window shade had holes and was ratty looking, the middle drawer in the dresser wouldn't stay closed. Air in room was stuffy feeling. Parking charges are outrageous. The hotel doesn't provide many "extras: such as free use of computers, continental breakfast. etc. With 4 of us reserved for the room we should have been provided extra towels, coffee service, cups, bathroom supplies etc without having to ask for them. On the plus side, beds were cozy and staff was friendly and helpful. May 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel won't grant bonus points for declining room service I stayed at this property 3 nights, July 23-26. During that stay, i posted the little placards on the door declining to have the room cleaned. When you do this, you are supposed to either receive 500 SPG points, or a $5 voucher. I opted for the SPG points (1,000 total for two nights) and they still have not posted to my account. I have called both SPG customer service, as well as the hotel, and they both said: "We'll look into it, it usually takes a while for these things to post". It's been 6 weeks. I am disappointed. September 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Housekeeping Lacking The hotel itself was fine. Most of the staff was very nice and helpful, especially the valet/bell service. The issue we had was with the housekeeping. We were there for 4 nights and they never replaced the soaps and shampoos. After a couple of days, we ran through them and I called the desk to have them make sure to leave more when the room was made up. We left and when we returned, they still did not replace them. Had to call down to the desk again to have some sent up. Something so basic should not be overlooked for 4 days. May 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Needs Work As a platinum member I come to expect a certain level of service. When I checked in, there was no acknowledgement of my status. I was not informed that there was an Executive Lounge, and I was not offered a platinum ammenity until I asked if I get one. Also, my room was upgraded, but I was not informed until I entered the room. The doormen seemed to not like the cold, because they did not come out to help me get my luggage out of the taxi, but stood in the doorway waiting to open it for me. When I checked out, They did not even help me flag a taxi or load my luggage. Not a very service oriented property. Room was great and clean and comfortable. Staff needs lots of training. January 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed feelings Checked in at 1 am afer a long day of travel. The beds in the room I was assigned were not made and had no sheets. I received a complimentary breakfast for the hassle, but really... Cell phone was recharging, so I made a single phone call home for a couple of minutes. It cost $24. I know a landline is a convenience, but really... No complimentary internet. Even Motel 6 has complimentary internet. Really? Maybe I'm out of touch with reality, but should IT be virtually free by now? June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Military promotion In town to participate in a promotion ceremony at the Pentagon. Arrived early and needed to change. The staff were able to get us into our room early for that purpose. The original reservation was for one bed.. When a 2nd family member decided to make the trip, on short notice, the staff did a terrific job of providing us with a two bed alternative. While it may have been advertised, do not recall seeing online detail indicating on site parking would be an extra cost. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Scent of a Westin This property was perfectly ok. Rooms and hallways were a little tired. No plugs by the bed. Water pressure and rain shower head meant that I wasn't able to wash my hair (it would take too long to rinse). My key didn't work for the Executive Lounge, requiring another trip to the front desk. The hotel and room reeked of the corporate t. It was an olfactory assault. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax and Refresh Although I had a hectic schedule for the business trip, I left the hotel refreshed and relaxed as if the trip had been a spa vacation. Thanks, Westin Arlington Gateway you performed magic again! May 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over priced cheap hotel I was not impressed at all with this hotel. The room was small. Drawers on dresser would not stay shut. Over-priced food. Not even an exhaust fan in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and that was the only good thing. I have stayed at lower end hotels that were much nicer. Pool area was what I would expect at an old hotel. Not even free wi-fi, even fast food resturants have that! Next time in DC I will stay some place else! May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We've stayed in the Westin Gateway three years in a row, and it's always been consistently a great stay. The hotel is in a great location, very clean and service oriented. I love how the elevators are so fast - we never waited, even with a full hotel! February 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel Room was pretty small but otherwise just fine. Very clean, service as expected. Restaurant was better than we expected and reasonably priced. Only parking option is Valet but they were quick and efficient. It's hard to find the entrance to the hotel and you have to drive left to right, which is counter-intuitive to get to the valet. Lobby large and lovely. Computers in lobby were never busy. Good value for room rate. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by MCM Marathon Went to run in the Marine Corps Marathon and we stayed at the Westin Arlington Gateway. The hotel was outstanding. The staff at the hotel were unbelievably accomodating to us. From the moment we got there, you could see they brought their A game. The conceirge was great and answered all our questions. The room was clean and well taken care of. We highly recommend this hotel. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay Took the kids with us here. Was perfect for them. The pull out couch and layout of the suite worked well for them. They loved the pool. Only downside was the valet parking. At peak hours, it took a little too long sometime to drop the car off, but never an issue picking it up. It would be nice to be able to self park. Or if the cost of overnight valet wasn't so hefty for hotel guests. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite business hotels I stay at the Westin on business every few months. The hotel makes these quick overnight visits as good as they can be. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is great and the central location gives me direct access to where I need to go. January 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I was put in a room that had not been properly cleaned. The bathroom was dirty and with used towels and soap. It still had the previous guest's key in the room with a check out date of two days after the day I was there. I was moved to another room in which the air was not working properly. I'm very disappointed as normally my stays at the Westin are usually great. May 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>