The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Service I've Experienced As usual with Westins the room is fantastic and I love the beds. I checked in about 3 hours ago and the service experience at this Starwood property has been as bad as I've experienced at this level of property. I've travelled extensively and never been compelled to write a negative review. After a long drive and not much sleep last night I checked in early at 1:30. I inquired about in room massage services as the hotel doesn't have its own spa. The front desk person said she could investigate but never followed up. I went up to my room and saw that there were laundry facilities. I phoned down to the front desk and was told that they should be able to get my laundry done by checkout time tomorrow and that I should bring the bag of laundry down to the front desk next time I went by. I thought this was odd (that they wouldn't come get it) and went down to my car got the laundry sorted it, put it in the bag and delivered it to the front desk. The front desk person told me that it couldn't be done and that it took 2 to 3 days for laundry. (Even though the laundry form shows same day service - if you get it in by 9am). A bit agitated i went up to my room to take a nap before going out tonight. 20 minutes into the nap - a pump that seemed to be going off in the corner of my room woke me up. I phoned down again and was told that they would send someone up. Half an hour later no one has arrived. My previous experience with Starwood properties has been great. I would stay away from this one as they seem to have a staff training problem. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently Excellent With over 25 nights at this property here are some observations. Staff is very friendly and helpful but can be overwhelmed when hotel is full due to hotel design. For example, the restaurant has amazing breakfast but only one narrow entry and limited tables. There are only 2 elevators and they will be full during rush hour. Be patient. Despite an awesome group of valets working incredibly hard the driveway roundabout will be crowded during check-in/out. The staff does a great job making up for these design flaws but sometimes things take longer so be patient and plan ahead. Rooms are nice and as described in photos. Studio can work for 2 adults and 2 kids but is tight. 1-bedroom is fine but the 2-bedroom is worth the extra money for longer trips, especially if you want a real kitchen and bigger table. Dog friendly hotel so you might share an elevator with a dog or have a little dog hair in the carpet. Village and gondola just down the stairs (lots of them) as is the bike shuttle for town and Mammoth. Did I mention staff have loads of local knowledge? All very helpful and friendly. Pool is heated year-round and clean. Compared to stays this year in Tahoe, Breck, Park City, Crested Butte, and Beaver Creek I'd say pricing is reasonable for what you get. July 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! My fiance and I were looking for a pet friendly hotel to accommodate our dog. The Westin Monarch were super pet friendly and welcoming!! Love the service and relaxing environment. It was a nice change to see other hotel guests walking around with their pets freely. We just made this hotel our go-to whenever we vacation in Mammoth. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by lots of activities/adventures nearby Great place to stay to explore: Mammoth Gondola to 11,000', Devils Postpiles, Mono Lake, June lake, Bristlecone pines, et.al. Biker Heaven. Enjoyed everything except the acceptance of barking dogs in the lobby, rooms and hallways, I'm allergic to dogs, so would not return to this overly pet friendly, otherwise pleasant lodge. Food is OK-- not equal to the accommodations. Room service came with multiple shortages. July 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overall rating Service - valet and restaurant - unresponsive Restaurant food bad. Misrepresented the description of dishes - sushi rolls- very little fish. Not "heirloom tomatoes" but mealy Roma's. Duck "confit" tasted like slow cooked duck with NO seasonings. Squash was close to raw. A/C in room was poorly calibrated. Temperature in room ranged by 10 degrees. Something wrong with thermostat. June 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing time When I booked this hotel, I was skeptical because there were some very bad reviews. But thank God what we found was the opposite. The service began 3 weeks prior our arrival. Cammon and Cog arranged our ski rentals, equipment and classes, took care of our dinning reservations and met our requirement for adjoining rooms and early check in. When we checked in they make us feel expected, we were welcomed at the airport and then our check in was very smooth. Cammon gave us a warmth welcome. They sent us wine and cheese and milk and chocolates. The property is well mantained, very nice decor and very cozy when you come back from skiing. The hotel is very firendly and relaxed, and for first time skiers is hassle free. Mammoth is a wonderful place,mhas great food and a family atmosphere. Peace and joy is what you will find coming to the Westin Monache. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by everything was great except the restaurant service was slow (but whenthe food finally came it was good) my family of five stayed here for a week in a 2 bedroom suite; kids 3, 5, and 6 all had a great time. Easy access to the canyon lodge gondola and village; great kitchen in the room; will definitely repeat this trip The only negative was the speed of theWhiteark restaurant service, but the food was good upon arrival April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary experience of luxury and nature! After 14 years as a platinum Starwood member, a platinum preferred plan for corporate events and a senior contributor for Trip Advisor, I've done my share of the reviews of properties. My experience of coming to your property last weekend with William surpasses any other stay because it was so unique and because you and your staff were so exceptional in your hospitality, warmth, and professionalism. My experience checking in to the Westin Monache Resort was like coming home after being on the road for many many days. The room upgrade was greatly appreciated and truly felt like our own little apartment not a hotel room. Matthew did such an exceptional job of helping me book the reservation over the phone and then greeting me when we finally arrived and he covered all the bases from A-to-Z. We spent about half an hour just talking about his experiences working with you and how grateful he was that he was promoted to his current position at your property in Mammoth. Everything was seamless, smooth, and exceptional. The room amenity was greatly appreciated, the cleanliness, the friendliness of the bell staff that helped to settle us in. We ate every breakfast at your property and we're blessed to have Bodhi as our waitperson. Every morning started off on a bright note because of his contagious laughter and humor. Bodhi made me feel like I created a good friend which doesn't happen often during hotel stays. The hotel provided great service on every level! From accommodating our request to watch the LA Kings play in the dining area, to recommending a great prime red and doing all the research for us, to the black-tie company that came right to our room and fitted us for our snow gear. The lift was just right outside the door and even still the Westin shuttle took us right to the gondola. We had a great time on the slopes. And then enjoyed coming back and sitting in the hot tub Jacuzzi. I feel like every little whim and request was honored by everyone of your team members and it was like getting the VIP royal treatment. But the most striking think was that everybody was so authentic and sincere and it was just real human beings having a great time and loving their job and that really shows. The town and little shops in the village, the local restaurants were so charming. It was really hard for us to get back in the car after our four day stay and return to LA. I came out to Mammoth to get some fresh air, be surrounded by nature, get some good physical exercise, eat healthy, and just really to relax. And I score you A+ on every one of those intentions because your hotel and your team members supported everything that I wanted to do. The fact that when we left you made it a point to call the room and say goodbye was a perfect ending to a magical weekend. Thank you for being so real. Thank you for being so helpful. And mostly thank you for being a friend. Can't wait to come back and please use my contact information as a reference for any VIP client that ever inquires requesting a recommendation. Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help support the great success story you're creating at that property. And at my request please forward this email to whatever you feel is appropriate to get this feedback. I have taken the liberty to copy some of my friends at Starwood corporate. Including my travel ambassador. Lastly I would like to mention by name some of the exceptional staff/team members that really went above and beyond: Jason, Dolores, Bhodi, and Mathew!!!! Please make sure they get the kudos and credit they deserve for doing an outstanding job in guest relations. Look forward to seeing you again my friend! Please contact SPG.com/customercontact with any questions or concerns: 888-625-4988 This email was sent by: © 2011 Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc. 1111 Westchester Avenue White Plains, NY, 10604, USA See our Privacy Statement to learn more about our data collection and usage practices. Review the Starwood Preferred Guest program Terms and Conditions. If you would prefer to opt out of future promotional emails from Starwood Hotels & Resorts, click here. Please do not reply directly to this system-generated email. It may take up to 10 business days to make the requested change. During that time, there is a slight chance that you may receive a promotional email from us. April 1, 2015
  • 2015-08-30T08:44:56.238-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_219, tr_219
  • loc_en_US, sid_1562, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>