The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive,
  • PO Box 2515
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ms S The hotel offered points if you forgo the replacement of linens everyday. We opted for this selection however the maids never come to our room to vacuum or clean the bathrooms for the entire 5 day stay and we did not receive the points. We had to empty our own trash everyday. We were not offered an upgrade or continental breakfast. The small refrigerator in the room did not work. We had to ask for ice everyday for our cooler. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rooms but not well kept. We loved the location. Room was not available until 5PM. Room was very spacious and we were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite which is nice. Bathroom was not well cleaned. Toilet seat still had urine spots! The bedrooms both had balconies which is nice. Problem is they are not well weatherproof so it was freezing at night even with the heaters on. I ended up catching a cold as a result. January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location A great location and beautiful hotel with underground parking that has spaces big enough to accommodate cars and trucks without banging doors. The rooms are very nice and quiet. Everyone was very friendly and professional and treated us including our dog like we owned the place. It is so great to find a great property that will allow pets A wonder stay and we certainly will be back. October 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost but not Quite When you book a room at a Westin you expect to find a extra comfy bed, great pillows, a shower experience and a well maintained facility. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were rubbery, the shower head was so bad my wife refused to use it, and the number of burnt out light bulbs was surprising. The front desk staff was the biggest turn off. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Glad I Stayed Here! I read a lot of the reviews for this property, as I do most of the time. I was concerned with some of the other Platinum member comments. All I can say is, don't believe it. This property is a gem. From the service and rooms, to the location and features. This was a family vacation with my wife and 5 year old daughter. We received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, despite what you may read from others. We also were given complimentary continental breakfast for two, each day of the stay as a Platinum level benefit. The property has everything you would want or will need. We utilized both of the oversized jacuzzis, the kids club, ski rental and valet, the restaurant and bar. The hotel puts out complimentary champagne and hot chocolate each evening, which is very nice. They also offer shuttle service around the village and to other area dining and entertainment locations. All wonderful value added services. Speaking of service- it's fabulous! From the ski valet, Kevin; to the bellman/driver, Kyle; to Brandon at check-in; and most importantly, the hotel's GM, Brent- this is a well run and fantastic Starwood property. We are over-joyed with how well our trip went. Thank you to the entire Westin Monache Team! We look forward to a return visit this Spring. January 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was really bad The service was terrible. I highlighted list of issues we had in short period of time to manager (late check-in, bags delivered to room two hours late, heat in room was broken, etc). The manager's response was only to be defensive. December 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelming From the moment we tried to check in, this experience wasn't great. We requested an early check in. I know this is not guaranteed, but not only did we not get an early check in, but we were told that the room would be at least an hour late, and that we would be called when it was ready. We were never called and had to contact the hotel 1.5 hours after the scheduled check in time. As a concession, we were given 2 free breakfast passes, even though there were 4 of us. We decided to decline housekeeping services following the first day after returning to our room shortly before 5pm and finding that they had just started cleaning. Who starts cleaning a room at almost 5pm? Finally, we ordered room service for dinner one night and found that not only were they not accomodating to certian dietary restrictions, but that they could not deviate AT ALL from the room service menu in the room, even though we were informed that it was all coming from the kitchen in the restaurant below. This is not what was expected from a high end resort hotel. It did not at all live up to the Westin Standards. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional guest service We truly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Monache Resort. The location, guest service, and ammenities could not have been better. Every hotel staff member was friendly and extremely accommodating, from valet, to the front desk, to housekeeping. It's great that they not only accept but cater to dogs; we loved being able to bring our small dog along with us. They even provide dog bowls and a Heavenly Dog Bed, which she LOVED. We were in Mammoth for the weekend and were worried about getting a late check out for Sunday based on other reviews, since we wanted to snowboard and would not have anywhere to keep our dog. The hotel provided us with a list of recommended dog sitters in the area upon our arrival, and also checked capacity levels and obtained a late check out for us the night before our check out day, rather than making us wait until Sunday morning. The service and dog accommodation made our stay wonderful. The fact that it is steps to the Village Gondola didn't hurt either. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, particularly those wanting to bring their dogs along. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service The service was outstanding all the way around. The friendliness andhelpfulness of the staff was particularly excellent. January 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location / Friendly Staff The title says it all. Only complaint was that the room was a little on the small, side. July 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience This was our second stay at hotel. Overall great experience. Nice hotel and perfect location. Pool was warm and two jacuzzi's were nice and hot. Valet guys/bellman outside were top notch. As a Platinum member I was quite disappointed when I was told the new policy is to charge for upgrade to 1-BR suite. Reasoning they provided is they are an all-suite hotel. A little tacky. Platinum is Platinum. I didn't take that option but did request the larger of their standard suites which they accommodated. Also didn't like the swich to the earlier happy hour at 2-5. Service at restaurant varied. At times servers were quite slow, others were on the ball. We'll be back. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel and staff Love the location, amenities and the staff! The staff has always gone above and beyond during our last 3 stays, once even overnighting our cameras to us once we'd realized we had left them there and we're leaving for another vacation. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for bringing our dog for hiking. We've stayed at the Westin Monache twice and have found it to be a great place to stay with our dog. We will definitely return because we love Mammoth Lakes and the Westin is very conveniently located right across from the Village. The only problem with our stay was that the air conditioner in our room could not be controlled and the temperature would get quite high. The maintenance people tried to fix it, but it kept acting up. Also we were a bit disappointed to see that there is no longer a dedicated Concierge. We met Buck on our trip last summer and he was a great source for information on hiking trails. We hope that the Concierge desk gets staffed again, and it would be great if Buck returns. Also, a shout-out for Natalie who moved us from a very dark room to a room overlooking the pool with a lot of light and a great view. We'll be back again next summer... July 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Delightful stopover Having a nice hotel in a lovely location is always a plus!! Everything was very enjoyable, particularly a very tasty breakfast... Only blemish was having to return to the front desk and ask for the tier amenities which were not offered on arrival. May 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort! We stayed at the Westin Monache for one night after spending the day at Yosemite. I have stayed at quite a few hotels over the years and must say that the Westin Monache was outstanding. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also nice size. We also had a microwave in the room, which was a really nice touch. I would highly recommend this resort. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Family Vacation! We stayed as a family with a dog in one of the two-bedroom suites with a full kitchen. It was wonderful! We so enjoyed everything at the Westin Monache Resort: comfortable, clean rooms; friendly staff; pet friendly environment; location; staff and breakfast at Whitebark. This was our best family vacation ever -- THANK YOU! We can't wait to come back! August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for the area Being a busy holiday weekend, the staff here really went out of there way to make sure everything was done flawlessly. When they ran out of water in the tiny shop the front desk had bottles sent up to our room. Very nice touch. COuldn't get a late checkout though due to occupancy. Staff was great. 1 flaw was that we waited 15 mins for a table for breakfast to then be told it was $26 per person buffet that we didn't want. Ohh and $8 dollar latte, reallY! February 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service from the Staff The staff at the Westin in Mammoth Lakes went out of their way to make our stay memorable! The car was there quickly each morning and evening, the luggage was delivered to and from the room promptly, the ski package was all set when we got there, they offered a late checkout to enable us to ski on Sunday morning before leaving. Even our dogs got treated with care! It was a special weekend and we truly enjoyed our Westin visit! Thank you! January 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our favorite place to stay in Mammoth! It's always a pleasure to stay at the Westin Monache. It always meets all our expectations and the staff is friendly, helpful and very knowledgable.. We love the food at the Whitebark and our dog is welcomed. it's our fave !!!! August 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location and friendly staff The central location is great. The rooms are spacious and the kitchenette is a nice feature. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. It was our first summer visit and we will definitely be back. June 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Fabulous resort Excellent luxury hotel, great room deals, quiet rooms, and great location. Fantastic, rustic restaurant and bar interior design. Excellent service throughout. Would enthusiastically recommend this hotel. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Hotel with a 5 Star View What an amazing hotel! First the snow covered mountains take your breath away and then when you reach the Hotel you are equally impressed. First Class service from the Valet and Doorman and then to the Front Desk. Theresa was waiting for me and welcomed me by name and acknowledged my Gold status. The free cocktail in Whitebark was a nice touch - and the White Chocolate Martini was perfect. I was upgraded to a suite with a kitchenette, fireplace, and a view that framed the mountains perfectly. If you are in the Mammoth area - the Westin Monache is a must! October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel in a Great Location Stayed at this hotel over the labor day weekend. Overall the facilities are fantastic...Great location within Mammoth Lakes..liked that I could walk out my door over to the village for entertainment and restaurants. Couple of nits...One, bar service poolside was inconsistent. One night they had bar service there...the next night there wasn't any...kind of bummed as it was nice after a day of hiking to come relax by the pool and have a cocktail. the other is that the room service menu was very lite...not a lot of offerings. Since there is a kitchenette in the room I can see why this may be the case but I would like to see more choices available there. Other then that...fantastic place, great experience. I will be going back for sure! September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful The staff went out of their way to make my stay perfect! November 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mammoth comforts First trip to Mammoth with kids and dogs for a ski vacation. Great hotel and wonderful room. staff were all exceptional and the location is ideal for the local village (walk down hotel steps - 75 of them) and for getting right to the slopes. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for families Beautiful location, gorgeous property, great for families!!! Very cozy suites with fully equipped kitchenette, ideal for a ski vacation. The restaurant, Whitebark, is amazing. Would recommend adding a full spa with treatment rooms, steam and sauna, as well as yoga/Pilates classes. It would be a great option for non-skiers. In previous years there were activities for kids (cookie decorating, s'mores...) Please bring those back! Great experience overall! December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but snobby service Close to The Village and the Gondala to the slopes . The valet attenent , bell man ,and the workers at the ski retail were spectacular . Loved the complementary shuttle ride to any where in Mammoth Lake. Now to the bad. Front desk was disrespectful and didn't seem to like there job. Not very attentive until I showed them that I was a SPG member. Then I finally got a smile. Our room didn't have a bathtub, which was very disappointing . December 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but worst dining service We were visiting for first time, the hotel was very nice and classy. I would give 10 out of 10 based on suite, decor and specially the staff at reception. However the staff at the restaurant was the opposite. Young girls are hired who don't want to work. Waitress did not show up for 20 minutes and our continuous request to see our waitress had no effect on them. Management needs to control the restaurant's staff in a better way. July 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Stayed here in May and looked forward to returning in the fall. Excellent location, great staff, dogs are welcome. Very comfortable room. As a status SPG member, they even gave us the same room for our second stay. Only downside was no breakfast buffet. They had one in May, and even though it was a bit disorganized, we still enjoyed it. Upon our return, the buffet was not available. Will definitely look forward to returning. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service! The customer service was outstanding during my stay. My family caught 48 fish over the weekend and the hotel graciously individually wrapped up all of my fish & froze them until I was ready to leave my last day there. I was always addressed by Mr. & my last name which I appreciated. The workers at the Monache Westin in Mammoth went above & beyond to serve us. I will for sure make a return trip back!! August 23, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>