The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 211 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by If you are platinum FORGET IT!!! SPG status is not honored and will get you the worst room in the house. Unless you pay. What a rip. Had double checked on this before I went....talked with the hotel...and had no idea. September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel! The hotel was lovely! We made a last minute decision to stay at the hotel on our way to Lake Tahoe and I wish we could have stayed longer. Hotel staff was great & they made our stay special! September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable Enjoyable stay, great location, too bad I picked a busy time for breakfast as I had a long wait for a table. Weston at the Westin made the last full day just right. September 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel makes a trip to mammoth that much better Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, and very comfortable rooms. My family and dog loved it!! August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service! The customer service was outstanding during my stay. My family caught 48 fish over the weekend and the hotel graciously individually wrapped up all of my fish & froze them until I was ready to leave my last day there. I was always addressed by Mr. & my last name which I appreciated. The workers at the Monache Westin in Mammoth went above & beyond to serve us. I will for sure make a return trip back!! August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very nice stay! The staff was very friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The outdoor spa was fun especially in the fleeting late afternoon rain. The location of the hotel is perfect in town and offers a shuttle, if requested. The $25/day facility fee includes internet access and use of the spa facilities. I enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is our family hotel in Mammoth Hotel was clean and staff was great. Facilities were great as well. Travelling in the summer was a wonderful experience. August 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check in desk could do with more staff. Our stay was great. The room was wonderful. Our only complaint was the 20 minute wait to check in. There was a long line and only one staff member manning the desk. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Monache Mammoth Checkin is rough and the desk people are not happy. The rooms are nice but pick your room carefully so you get the view, size and layout you want. August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it Very convenient to get to skiing! Made our trip very easy. Clean. Beautiful. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our favorite place to stay in Mammoth! It's always a pleasure to stay at the Westin Monache. It always meets all our expectations and the staff is friendly, helpful and very knowledgable.. We love the food at the Whitebark and our dog is welcomed. it's our fave !!!! August 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Mammoth worth the visit It is a great hotel, with some great features. The shuttle, the free valet and the great restaurant are some of it. There's also complimentary wifi. My suggestion is that they change the system to avoid the need of log in every 24hs. The heated pool was not as heated as we expected. The staff is great, suggestion things to do in town. I intent to return in winter. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Mammoth Westin is the Best! Great time at Westin again. In the winter this place is like Deer Valley in Sierras. In the summer it is world class trout fishing and mountain biking. At the end of a long day in the sun coming home to the Westin is like coming home to a comfy bed. Terrific place, great staff and wonderful amenities. They make it so easy to enjoy the mountain. August 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hummm not that good Bath shower handle broken, sink stopper also broken and not usable,, paid cash and resort still charging my credit card 4-days latter causing noe to have to call to get this matter resolved. I'n not a Happy Camper with the Westin....... August 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attitude Needs Improvement The hotel boasted at check in the 24 hour in room dining service. Mammoth experienced rain showers while we were visiting (early August ). Nothing exceptional, just rain but it motivated us to stay in vs. leave for another restaurant. We called room service and were told they were closed. They couldn't answer when the service would be available again. The attendant was rude (Andre). Because of his attitude we escalated to the assistant GM. He confirmed room service was closed also not knowing when it would be available, noting the restaurant was too busy. He suggested I go to the restaurant to place my order. Unsatisfactory response but I followed it. The restaurant was empty but they said the kitchen was closed. I still don't understand what the issue was and neither did the general manager when she responded to our escalations. Finally the restaurant manager approached and said the situation recently resolved itself and he could help me. All we wanted was cheese and cookies. No one ever bothered to ask and I suspect that would be available even if the kitchen was closed. Too bad, we had planned on returning for ski season but if they can't manage rain, I have no idea how they can manage snow. August 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doggon good stay! My only comment against this hotel is that there were too many dogs staying when we were there. Not sure why, but we have never experience so may dogs in one hotel on our many road trips across the US. Having said that everything else was very good, and it is a well situated hotel with excellent facilities. Food at breakfast was good,and staff were friendly and helpful August 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurant not so good although the hotel was good it wasn't at the level at which I normally view Westin hotels. The restaurant was average at best but the prices were 5 star... 3 out of the 5 items we ordered were removed from bill because they were awful, would have asked for full credit but felt bad for waiter. Unfortunately I would not recommend dinner at anytime. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Family Vacation! We stayed as a family with a dog in one of the two-bedroom suites with a full kitchen. It was wonderful! We so enjoyed everything at the Westin Monache Resort: comfortable, clean rooms; friendly staff; pet friendly environment; location; staff and breakfast at Whitebark. This was our best family vacation ever -- THANK YOU! We can't wait to come back! August 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed There was a one hour delay checking in which was a problem because we were on a tight schedule. Then, we got a room facing the parking lot and arrival area. Not quite the "scenic" view stated on our reservation. Motorcycles were allowed to park just outside our room so we got plenty of motor noise throughout the night and early morning. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous resort Excellent luxury hotel, great room deals, quiet rooms, and great location. Fantastic, rustic restaurant and bar interior design. Excellent service throughout. Would enthusiastically recommend this hotel. August 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel has service issues but nice rooms We booked two standard rooms for 1 night. One of the rooms was reserved as a wheelchair accessible room for one of our party members who needed a roll-in shower. At check-in, the front desk agent was very dis-interested in assisting us. There were no other staff member around, it felt like a deserted hotel. We asked if we could upgrade to 1-bedroom suites for each reservation and were told that they could just combine both rooms into a 2-bedroom suite, which we were obviously very pleased with. However, when we told him that we needed to make sure one of the bathrooms was wheelchair accessible, he assured us it was. When we got to the room, it was not. We called down and spoke with him and he "argued" that the bathroom was wheelchair accessible. Anyway, we stayed there for the night since it was only for one night. The room was very nice, great views, the only issue was that the shower handle in one of the bathtubs came off when we used it. When we asked for the 4pm late check-out that we usually get at other Starwood properties, they could only do a 2pm check-out even when the hotel was obviously not even remotely close to being busy. Breakfast in the morning was great, food was enjoyable and the server was very good. Once again, it was completely empty in the hotel restaurant, contributing to the "deserted" feeling at the hotel. Overall, the room and common areas were very nice and met our expectations for a Westin. The property is on the small side but tastefully done. The main issue is the service. No greeting when we pulled up to the hotel, only one front desk agent who seemed distracted and then argumentative later on the phone. A concierge desk with no concierge (or even a sign saying "I'll be right back"). Absolutely no recognition of Starwood membership or status, if that's a big deal to you. July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location / Friendly Staff The title says it all. Only complaint was that the room was a little on the small, side. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort! We stayed at the Westin Monache for one night after spending the day at Yosemite. I have stayed at quite a few hotels over the years and must say that the Westin Monache was outstanding. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also nice size. We also had a microwave in the room, which was a really nice touch. I would highly recommend this resort. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience with one little remark Although we are not frequent travelers, we usually stay at high-end hotels. We stayed here two nights and really liked it - in short, we definitely will be back. Before I booked, I read some of the negative reviews about the staff and I absolutely can't agree with that. Indeed, the staff that we encountered was very friendly and helpful, although we did not dine in, so I can't say anything about the restaurant. The hotel was fully booked. Our room was in a brand new, immaculate condition, just like the entire property. Our comfortably furnished modern studio room had a fully equipped kitchen from silverware to toaster and even a blender, everything in sparkling brand new condition. Far from the pool area, our room was also extremely silent. We had almost no A/C fan noise at all, which is a must for us. The only little negative remark I have is the fan noise of the small kitchen refrigerator, which can be turned off via its corresponding fuse on the main fuse board. This is the only reason I did not give full 5 stars and I'm asking here for improvement. The pool is quite big and despite its irregular shape, it has room for 2 lanes of approx. 20 yard laps. Although this is a hotel with lots of rooms, getting in and out is easy. The garage area with optional self parking is close and convenient. The parking spots are generously sized and there are plenty of corner spots available for those who are crazy about their cars like me. July 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel! We truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful, restaurant was great, and the scenery was beautiful! I highly recommend you stay here for a great summer escape! July 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for bringing our dog for hiking. We've stayed at the Westin Monache twice and have found it to be a great place to stay with our dog. We will definitely return because we love Mammoth Lakes and the Westin is very conveniently located right across from the Village. The only problem with our stay was that the air conditioner in our room could not be controlled and the temperature would get quite high. The maintenance people tried to fix it, but it kept acting up. Also we were a bit disappointed to see that there is no longer a dedicated Concierge. We met Buck on our trip last summer and he was a great source for information on hiking trails. We hope that the Concierge desk gets staffed again, and it would be great if Buck returns. Also, a shout-out for Natalie who moved us from a very dark room to a room overlooking the pool with a lot of light and a great view. We'll be back again next summer... July 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but worst dining service We were visiting for first time, the hotel was very nice and classy. I would give 10 out of 10 based on suite, decor and specially the staff at reception. However the staff at the restaurant was the opposite. Young girls are hired who don't want to work. Waitress did not show up for 20 minutes and our continuous request to see our waitress had no effect on them. Management needs to control the restaurant's staff in a better way. July 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location and friendly staff The central location is great. The rooms are spacious and the kitchenette is a nice feature. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. It was our first summer visit and we will definitely be back. June 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Place In The Mountains The Westin Monache is a great place to stay in Mammoth. It is incredibly convenient for the village and village gondola, everybody is very nice, the bar is gorgeous and the pool/jacuzzi's are beautiful! Enjoy it!! June 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel rude front desk staff Great hotel rude front desk staff June 23, 2012
  • 2015-05-03T18:54:59.851-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_211, tr_211
  • loc_en_US, sid_1562, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>