The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 191 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite places The Westin Monache Mammoth Lakes is one of my favorite Starwood properties in one of my favorite destinations. It is such a relaxing place. The staff really make this hotel a "home away from home". The Valet and Bell staff are wonderful helpful people. During this stay Rodney was particularly helpful, recommending a great breakfast place and dog friendly hikes. He always greeted us by name and was genuinely interested in making our vacation a great experience. The location of the hotel right next to the Village and local biking/walking trails is wonderful. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! LOVE IT! We are in Mammoth once a month. We love staying at the Westin. Happy hour at the WhiteBark is great and definitely a treat! The beds are comfortable and the kitchenettes are very nice to have. Convenient. The gym, pool and other amenties are very clean and provide a comfortable experience. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property in a Great Location The Hotel is right next to the village, which provides a large variety of dinning and entertainment choices. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Return Visit Every time I stay at this hotel the cleanliness of the shower is a problem. I believe that housekeeping needs improved oversight. Additionally, I was on the AAA Bed and Breakfast Plan - but found out that you can only order the same menu item every day to get the included breakfast. If you order anything other than the "American Breakfast", you only get a $5.00 credit. When I questioned the charge for ordering an omelet, (the same price as the American Breakfast) I was informed that it was because their food service is planned in advance. This is unacceptable and actually rather idiotic to expect people to eat the same thing every morning. I do want to say that the dinner menu is much improved over previous visits. Thank you, Chef! November 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Really unprepared for 4th of July It's a beautiful hotel but the staff is really not up to the quality. No recognition of SPG status, relatively unresponsive and un-sympathetic when we asked for a comforter for the sofabed. "Our sofabeds are really comfortable." was the answer. It's a sofabed! Not so comfortable! The most unbelievable thing was that their coffee makers used "pods" but they only supplied us with filters for large coffeepots. When we went to the desk for help at 8:00 in the morning on the 4th of July there was no one around anywhere! Really? Nice hotel, but the staff doesn't make it work. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely spot, employees lacking Loved your property and the location to the Village. One thing that was concerning throughout the stay was the lack of your employees having a "yes" attitude or a "can do" to situations. We only stayed once and there are three separate situations: 1. upon arriving at the resort we got out of the car and loaded up our bags our self, which was not a problem since i assumed the valet was busy. When we were entering the front door I asked a valet if he would park our car and he told us we could self park. When i asked if valet was an option he said yes, but said we could also self-park. This was a little irritating because we had already unpacked our own car and were eager to get checked. It would have been better if he had just valeted the car. 2. On my online reservation i had indicated i would have my pet with me and would like the pet bed in my room. Upon arrival they asked if i would like the pet bed in the room. Again this was attention to detail, why have me fill out the information if it is not going to be acted upon. What would have been better is to put the notes in the reservation about the pet bed and to tell me upon check-in that it is being sent up. 3. On saturday morning when we were checking out there was no one at the front desk. I heard chatting in the back and then an engineering employee came to the front desk. He saw me standing there but i had to ask him to get someone to check me out. When the front desk agent came out she was pleasant but then had to get another employee when i asked for change. Love the location and amenities in the room. Did not get a chance to try the food but the menu looked amazing. Would try the location again but would like the staff to be of the same level as your resort. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place Had a nice stay with our kids . Rooms are quite spacious and nice. Window seat, fireplace, sitting area. Valets were fantastic. Knowledgeable, offering great advice. Concierge and check-in staff were OK. Could have been warmer. Great location next to the village with access to all it has to offer. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, excellent location The hotel was beautiful and very centrally located. The rooms were comfortable and remarkably quiet given all of the fun events taking place in the hotel and nearby vicinity. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Mammoth Lakes, CA I love this hotel because of the location in Mammoth, but the beds are the worst I have ever slept in at a Starwood Hotel. I sleep on the floor when I go here- the mattresses are so soft two people cannot share a bed. The fold out couch is worse. Also, there is no option for two queen beds at this property, it's King only, unless you get a two-bedroom which is expensive, and not how a couple would like to share a weekend. It's a shame because everything else about the hotel is great. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Stay Thanks for the clean and comfortable stay. I was very relaxed! July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Summer Getaway We’ve only stayed here during the summer, when it is probably quite a different crowd and atmosphere from the ski crowd. But we’ve always enjoyed our stays and love the comfortable luxury of the hotel after a day of hiking and exploring. The restaurant is particularly good and the menu never disappoints, and you’re steps away from the village for more basic options. Tip: make sure you get a 1-bedroom if you want a balcony; the studios apparently do not have that feature. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay with helpful staff but... Not happy about inflexibility of not accommodating reservations changes more than 2 days prior (requested to check out one day early). Understanding cancellation policy for holiday season, as a long-time SPG Gold member, one would expect a higher level of customer service especially when a family member is ill. Seems Starwood places higher value in occupancy rather than customer satisfaction. Starwood needs to take a lesson from the airline industry of all places where decisions are made based on customer need. January 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hôtel and great staff Just had a great stay at Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth. The staff was very helpful With all ouf requests. Room was splendid and so comfortable as usual. Always a pleasure to come to Westin ! Thanks. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The location, facility and service were excellant! The hotel is beautifully decorated. The Staff was always very helpful and went out of their way to provide what ever we asked! The room was comfortable, exceptionally clean, and everything was perfect. The hotel's location is perfectly situated in Mammoth. The shuttle service was efficient, and always available when we needed it. The pool area is large, service was excellent, and fun. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect location We very much enjoyed our stay here. The prime location very near the shuttle bus station and The Village worked very well for us. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Village hotel. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite on the top floor. Very clean, beautiful room with a great SE view. The staff were very friendly, gave us lots of activity recommendations. Central location to the Village and lake/mountain park bike trails. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to be at the Village. We preferred the restaurants/shopping at Old Mammoth Road/Minaret Village so we drove quite a bit, but this was our first summer stay in Mammoth and wanted all options available right outside the door. Be aware, the Village Gondola is closed in the Summer, which we found out from a valet attendant. There were a few minor complaints I have about the room/hotel: the heavenly bed was definitely plush, but a bit too soft for my liking; there was a DVD player in the bedroom, but no DVD library offered, pay per view movies/some cable channels only; the bike rack was very limited, only holding about 12-14 bikes, the rack was pretty full and we often had to "untangle" from overlapping handlebars; finally, not the hotel's fault, but on our last night there was a woman screaming and people running down the hallway for several minutes, not what you'd expect in a resort like this. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rooms but not well kept. We loved the location. Room was not available until 5PM. Room was very spacious and we were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite which is nice. Bathroom was not well cleaned. Toilet seat still had urine spots! The bedrooms both had balconies which is nice. Problem is they are not well weatherproof so it was freezing at night even with the heaters on. I ended up catching a cold as a result. January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location A great location and beautiful hotel with underground parking that has spaces big enough to accommodate cars and trucks without banging doors. The rooms are very nice and quiet. Everyone was very friendly and professional and treated us including our dog like we owned the place. It is so great to find a great property that will allow pets A wonder stay and we certainly will be back. October 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost but not Quite When you book a room at a Westin you expect to find a extra comfy bed, great pillows, a shower experience and a well maintained facility. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were rubbery, the shower head was so bad my wife refused to use it, and the number of burnt out light bulbs was surprising. The front desk staff was the biggest turn off. August 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Surprised at the Level of Service Provided I'm very disappointed with my stay at the Westin this past weekend. My stay started off on the wrong foot shortly after checking in and unfortunately it did not get any better. The first night we had issues for placing an order and after several hours of trying to get a meal delivered sent the following email and have yet to receive a response. Good Evening, I'm writing this email to express my disappointment with my experience this evening; I opted to write an email rather than a review because I'm hoping the rest of my stay will Improve and I can provide a positive review. My husband and I arrived after a 5hr drive and settled in, the first thing we did was search the room for a room service menu but after searching everywhere we called the service desk. We spoke to the service desk associate at 10:35 and was told a menu would be brought up to us the menu arrived over 20 minutes later. We tried to call the front desk before 11 but no one answered; we called again after 11pm and was then put on hold. After waiting on hold for 10 minutes I hung up and called again to place an order. Unfortunately because of the process of placing an order took so long we had to order from the late night menu which is very limited. Sarah the associate who took our order stated the food would arrive in 20 minutes nearly an hour later our food still had not arrived after calling the service desk again the woman who answered apologized and stated she believed someone forgot the order and she would look into it for me. At 12:40 and two hours of trying to order we still have not received our meal or a call back from our the associate looking into our dinner so I called again. The associate who answered seemed frustrated I called again and basically stated I had no food coming because dinner isn't served after 10pm. So basically we've spent the last 2 1/2 hours waiting for food that will never arrive. I'm applaud with the service we received and even more surprised. Whenever my husband and I travel we always stay an SPG Resort because of the high quality of service we receive ,the Monache does not fall into that category. Unfortunately our experience this evening at the Monache is by far the worst experience we've ever had at not only SPG Resorts but any resort. The following morning I hoped things would turn around but they didn't. We set up two separate reservations for our stay so we had to check out and in the following morning. When I went to check out I was greet by an unfriendly associate who seemed irritated by the people she was assisting and to make matters worse when I asked about the charges she told me I had breakfast charges on our room, considering we were on our way to breakfast that was impossible. I advised the young lady that the charges weren't ours and her response was " but theres a charge for breakfast" I advised her again that it wasn't my breakfast and that it may have had to do with the dinner fiasco from the night before. In any case the following day we checked out again and I was helped by the same associate who was just as unfriendly but before she assisted me with my checkout she took the time give a not so nice look to a young lady she was helping before as she walked away. I know it might not seem like it based on this review but I am a very easy going person and because of the industry I am in I try to always provide positive reviews. I do have to mention there were a few associates that were very friendly and deserve recognition, I unfortunately did not get their names but I hope by my description they receive the positive feedback they deserve. The associates at the Bell Desk, were always friendly and responsive. The gentleman who checked me in the 2nd afternoon seemed to know what he was doing and was very polite. The Hostess at the Whitebark that assisted me with my coffee order on our second morning was great, she mentioned she was new but was able to handle the rush of people and was able to smile and be polite the entire time. I'm very disappointed about this past weekend and a little surprised that I have yet to receive a response to my initial email. I will be returning to Mammoth in August and am very sad to have to find other accommodations for my stay. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Glad I Stayed Here! I read a lot of the reviews for this property, as I do most of the time. I was concerned with some of the other Platinum member comments. All I can say is, don't believe it. This property is a gem. From the service and rooms, to the location and features. This was a family vacation with my wife and 5 year old daughter. We received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, despite what you may read from others. We also were given complimentary continental breakfast for two, each day of the stay as a Platinum level benefit. The property has everything you would want or will need. We utilized both of the oversized jacuzzis, the kids club, ski rental and valet, the restaurant and bar. The hotel puts out complimentary champagne and hot chocolate each evening, which is very nice. They also offer shuttle service around the village and to other area dining and entertainment locations. All wonderful value added services. Speaking of service- it's fabulous! From the ski valet, Kevin; to the bellman/driver, Kyle; to Brandon at check-in; and most importantly, the hotel's GM, Brent- this is a well run and fantastic Starwood property. We are over-joyed with how well our trip went. Thank you to the entire Westin Monache Team! We look forward to a return visit this Spring. January 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SCE Stay at Westin. I Truly appreciate the hospitality of the westin staff, we had a great stay and were treated great by all . Andrew Contreras SCE Supervisor July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service My family stayed here last week and had a great experience. Excellent service, location and facility. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Outdoor Fun with Your Dogs This hotel is one of the most :Dog Friendly" in the Starwood chain. Dogs are welcome and the dog owners all appreciate the hotels attitude. A feeling of happiness, joy and over all well being is felt in the hotel as people who love dogs and the love they povide are nice people to be around and the Westin Mammoth accomplishes this The whole Village of Mammoth continues this dog friendly attitude as well. Thanks for providing us with a great hotel that we have been coming to sevral times a year for the past six years with our Golden Retriever. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best full service hotel in Mammoth The staff is very friendly and the service was great! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old favorite With family in Mammoth, have stayed at the Westin Monache several times. Easily the best choice in Mammoth. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional guest service We truly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Monache Resort. The location, guest service, and ammenities could not have been better. Every hotel staff member was friendly and extremely accommodating, from valet, to the front desk, to housekeeping. It's great that they not only accept but cater to dogs; we loved being able to bring our small dog along with us. They even provide dog bowls and a Heavenly Dog Bed, which she LOVED. We were in Mammoth for the weekend and were worried about getting a late check out for Sunday based on other reviews, since we wanted to snowboard and would not have anywhere to keep our dog. The hotel provided us with a list of recommended dog sitters in the area upon our arrival, and also checked capacity levels and obtained a late check out for us the night before our check out day, rather than making us wait until Sunday morning. The service and dog accommodation made our stay wonderful. The fact that it is steps to the Village Gondola didn't hurt either. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, particularly those wanting to bring their dogs along. December 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dismissive front desk Typed on cellphone. Sorry for typos. + nice and clean room. + very fun bar in a ski town - asked for Westin workout delivered before arrival. And the front desk took a note but did not care to do so. - once checked in, had to phone to get the Westin workout. And delivered in the wrong size. - no spg member recognition what so ever. - very disappointing experience at the front desk during the checkin process. No beverage was offered. Had to ask for spg welcome gift. June 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service The service was outstanding all the way around. The friendliness andhelpfulness of the staff was particularly excellent. January 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location / Friendly Staff The title says it all. Only complaint was that the room was a little on the small, side. July 30, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>