The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 162 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelming From the moment we tried to check in, this experience wasn't great. We requested an early check in. I know this is not guaranteed, but not only did we not get an early check in, but we were told that the room would be at least an hour late, and that we would be called when it was ready. We were never called and had to contact the hotel 1.5 hours after the scheduled check in time. As a concession, we were given 2 free breakfast passes, even though there were 4 of us. We decided to decline housekeeping services following the first day after returning to our room shortly before 5pm and finding that they had just started cleaning. Who starts cleaning a room at almost 5pm? Finally, we ordered room service for dinner one night and found that not only were they not accomodating to certian dietary restrictions, but that they could not deviate AT ALL from the room service menu in the room, even though we were informed that it was all coming from the kitchen in the restaurant below. This is not what was expected from a high end resort hotel. It did not at all live up to the Westin Standards. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful time here Having our chocolate lab with us made our vacation even more special. The hotel provides a dog bed and bowls upon arrival. The staff, and I mean everyone, was accommodating and kind. We had a private shuttle to a restaurant with prompt pick up when we were finished. I called to have the room freshened and someone from housekeeping was there to see what was needed, immediately after I phoned, Probably the best surprise was the restaurant downstairs. We had high quality sushi at a very reasonable price. The service was, once again, attentive without being overbearing. Wonderful. If you bring children, the Village next door has activities sitting out for them on the plaza. Many restaurants have outdoor seating February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel rude front desk staff Great hotel rude front desk staff June 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice rooms, staff overwhelmed in busy season Great location, right across the street from the Gondola that takes you to the Canyon Lodge. The rooms are large, with fully furnished kitchenettes, very convenient, especially since the hotel restaurant is sub-par. Now, don't expect much for your Platinum status... They don't have a Club Lounge, so you can choose as a platinum ammenity to have complimentary breakfast at their hotel. The comp breakfast is tiny: coffee, toast, few slices of fruit. They'll upcharge for anything beyond that. The check-in process was a nightmare: We came in @ 2:30 and were told Check-in was not until 3 (no surprises there) but they wouldn't unload our car! They said the limited storage space is reserved for guests flying in to Mammoth. If you drive in, you keep things in your car until the room is ready. They wouldn't park our car either since we didn't have a room number yet! So, we had no option than turning around and running some errands (with a full car). Came back at 4:00, and the room was still not ready, and heard a phrase for the bronze: check-in "starts" at 3 PM, but it is not guaranteed! Oh, and on the day of check-out we were cheerfully reminded that if we stayed a minuted after 12, we would be charge full rate for it! (since they care so much about having the rooms ready for their guests checking-in!) In summary: nice rooms, great location, but get ready to be treated like a nuisance. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! LOVE IT! We are in Mammoth once a month. We love staying at the Westin. Happy hour at the WhiteBark is great and definitely a treat! The beds are comfortable and the kitchenettes are very nice to have. Convenient. The gym, pool and other amenties are very clean and provide a comfortable experience. December 8, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Return Visit Every time I stay at this hotel the cleanliness of the shower is a problem. I believe that housekeeping needs improved oversight. Additionally, I was on the AAA Bed and Breakfast Plan - but found out that you can only order the same menu item every day to get the included breakfast. If you order anything other than the "American Breakfast", you only get a $5.00 credit. When I questioned the charge for ordering an omelet, (the same price as the American Breakfast) I was informed that it was because their food service is planned in advance. This is unacceptable and actually rather idiotic to expect people to eat the same thing every morning. I do want to say that the dinner menu is much improved over previous visits. Thank you, Chef! November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful hotel We enjoyed the hotel and found it very comfortable. The kitchen was so well furnished too. The only minus is the tiny vanity in the bathroom! There was hardly room to put anything on the counter. June 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Mammoth Lakes, CA I love this hotel because of the location in Mammoth, but the beds are the worst I have ever slept in at a Starwood Hotel. I sleep on the floor when I go here- the mattresses are so soft two people cannot share a bed. The fold out couch is worse. Also, there is no option for two queen beds at this property, it's King only, unless you get a two-bedroom which is expensive, and not how a couple would like to share a weekend. It's a shame because everything else about the hotel is great. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The most amzazing service My grandchildren my daughter and I went to Mammoth to sky and we spent 10 days at the Westin Monache resort. The rooms are very big with a very niece view to the mountain. The staff of the Hotel made everything possible to make our stay a wonderful one. My family eats only Kosher food and the staff of the Hotel made everything they could to fulfill our needs. I want to thank Jenniffer Lopez, Melissa, Paul, Dolores and all the drivers who were doing our best for us to have a wonderful holiday. It feels very good to arrive to a place where you can see that people cares for you. Sara Tussie May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay with helpful staff but... Not happy about inflexibility of not accommodating reservations changes more than 2 days prior (requested to check out one day early). Understanding cancellation policy for holiday season, as a long-time SPG Gold member, one would expect a higher level of customer service especially when a family member is ill. Seems Starwood places higher value in occupancy rather than customer satisfaction. Starwood needs to take a lesson from the airline industry of all places where decisions are made based on customer need. January 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is convenient to town Hotel is conveniently close to shopping and restaurants in town. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great place to stay. This hotel is a really nice place to stay. Good location. Fabulous suite with two bedrooms -loved the layout of the rooms.Beautiful views of the mountains. Staff was really nice. Restaurant had excellent food. Parking was easy. The staff was very pleasant. We were upgraded to the best accommodations. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rooms but not well kept. We loved the location. Room was not available until 5PM. Room was very spacious and we were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite which is nice. Bathroom was not well cleaned. Toilet seat still had urine spots! The bedrooms both had balconies which is nice. Problem is they are not well weatherproof so it was freezing at night even with the heaters on. I ended up catching a cold as a result. January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location A great location and beautiful hotel with underground parking that has spaces big enough to accommodate cars and trucks without banging doors. The rooms are very nice and quiet. Everyone was very friendly and professional and treated us including our dog like we owned the place. It is so great to find a great property that will allow pets A wonder stay and we certainly will be back. October 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost but not Quite When you book a room at a Westin you expect to find a extra comfy bed, great pillows, a shower experience and a well maintained facility. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were rubbery, the shower head was so bad my wife refused to use it, and the number of burnt out light bulbs was surprising. The front desk staff was the biggest turn off. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Glad I Stayed Here! I read a lot of the reviews for this property, as I do most of the time. I was concerned with some of the other Platinum member comments. All I can say is, don't believe it. This property is a gem. From the service and rooms, to the location and features. This was a family vacation with my wife and 5 year old daughter. We received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, despite what you may read from others. We also were given complimentary continental breakfast for two, each day of the stay as a Platinum level benefit. The property has everything you would want or will need. We utilized both of the oversized jacuzzis, the kids club, ski rental and valet, the restaurant and bar. The hotel puts out complimentary champagne and hot chocolate each evening, which is very nice. They also offer shuttle service around the village and to other area dining and entertainment locations. All wonderful value added services. Speaking of service- it's fabulous! From the ski valet, Kevin; to the bellman/driver, Kyle; to Brandon at check-in; and most importantly, the hotel's GM, Brent- this is a well run and fantastic Starwood property. We are over-joyed with how well our trip went. Thank you to the entire Westin Monache Team! We look forward to a return visit this Spring. January 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay We loved the hotel great location and great for pets were coming back! May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional guest service We truly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Monache Resort. The location, guest service, and ammenities could not have been better. Every hotel staff member was friendly and extremely accommodating, from valet, to the front desk, to housekeeping. It's great that they not only accept but cater to dogs; we loved being able to bring our small dog along with us. They even provide dog bowls and a Heavenly Dog Bed, which she LOVED. We were in Mammoth for the weekend and were worried about getting a late check out for Sunday based on other reviews, since we wanted to snowboard and would not have anywhere to keep our dog. The hotel provided us with a list of recommended dog sitters in the area upon our arrival, and also checked capacity levels and obtained a late check out for us the night before our check out day, rather than making us wait until Sunday morning. The service and dog accommodation made our stay wonderful. The fact that it is steps to the Village Gondola didn't hurt either. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, particularly those wanting to bring their dogs along. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service The service was outstanding all the way around. The friendliness andhelpfulness of the staff was particularly excellent. January 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location / Friendly Staff The title says it all. Only complaint was that the room was a little on the small, side. July 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attitude Needs Improvement The hotel boasted at check in the 24 hour in room dining service. Mammoth experienced rain showers while we were visiting (early August ). Nothing exceptional, just rain but it motivated us to stay in vs. leave for another restaurant. We called room service and were told they were closed. They couldn't answer when the service would be available again. The attendant was rude (Andre). Because of his attitude we escalated to the assistant GM. He confirmed room service was closed also not knowing when it would be available, noting the restaurant was too busy. He suggested I go to the restaurant to place my order. Unsatisfactory response but I followed it. The restaurant was empty but they said the kitchen was closed. I still don't understand what the issue was and neither did the general manager when she responded to our escalations. Finally the restaurant manager approached and said the situation recently resolved itself and he could help me. All we wanted was cheese and cookies. No one ever bothered to ask and I suspect that would be available even if the kitchen was closed. Too bad, we had planned on returning for ski season but if they can't manage rain, I have no idea how they can manage snow. August 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience This was our second stay at hotel. Overall great experience. Nice hotel and perfect location. Pool was warm and two jacuzzi's were nice and hot. Valet guys/bellman outside were top notch. As a Platinum member I was quite disappointed when I was told the new policy is to charge for upgrade to 1-BR suite. Reasoning they provided is they are an all-suite hotel. A little tacky. Platinum is Platinum. I didn't take that option but did request the larger of their standard suites which they accommodated. Also didn't like the swich to the earlier happy hour at 2-5. Service at restaurant varied. At times servers were quite slow, others were on the ball. We'll be back. November 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Experience From check in to check out, this property has been only fair on my many stays. The staff turn over seems rapid with no quality quidelines established. the check in took 30 minutes! The White Bark food was absolutley terrible but the server was very good. Room lacked bottled water so I had to ask, shampoo and conditioner had to be asked for. Lunch was offered and advertised but we were told that the staff did not prepare it May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel and staff Love the location, amenities and the staff! The staff has always gone above and beyond during our last 3 stays, once even overnighting our cameras to us once we'd realized we had left them there and we're leaving for another vacation. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for bringing our dog for hiking. We've stayed at the Westin Monache twice and have found it to be a great place to stay with our dog. We will definitely return because we love Mammoth Lakes and the Westin is very conveniently located right across from the Village. The only problem with our stay was that the air conditioner in our room could not be controlled and the temperature would get quite high. The maintenance people tried to fix it, but it kept acting up. Also we were a bit disappointed to see that there is no longer a dedicated Concierge. We met Buck on our trip last summer and he was a great source for information on hiking trails. We hope that the Concierge desk gets staffed again, and it would be great if Buck returns. Also, a shout-out for Natalie who moved us from a very dark room to a room overlooking the pool with a lot of light and a great view. We'll be back again next summer... July 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Delightful stopover Having a nice hotel in a lovely location is always a plus!! Everything was very enjoyable, particularly a very tasty breakfast... Only blemish was having to return to the front desk and ask for the tier amenities which were not offered on arrival. May 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort! We stayed at the Westin Monache for one night after spending the day at Yosemite. I have stayed at quite a few hotels over the years and must say that the Westin Monache was outstanding. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also nice size. We also had a microwave in the room, which was a really nice touch. I would highly recommend this resort. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Family Vacation! We stayed as a family with a dog in one of the two-bedroom suites with a full kitchen. It was wonderful! We so enjoyed everything at the Westin Monache Resort: comfortable, clean rooms; friendly staff; pet friendly environment; location; staff and breakfast at Whitebark. This was our best family vacation ever -- THANK YOU! We can't wait to come back! August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for the area Being a busy holiday weekend, the staff here really went out of there way to make sure everything was done flawlessly. When they ran out of water in the tiny shop the front desk had bottles sent up to our room. Very nice touch. COuldn't get a late checkout though due to occupancy. Staff was great. 1 flaw was that we waited 15 mins for a table for breakfast to then be told it was $26 per person buffet that we didn't want. Ohh and $8 dollar latte, reallY! February 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service from the Staff The staff at the Westin in Mammoth Lakes went out of their way to make our stay memorable! The car was there quickly each morning and evening, the luggage was delivered to and from the room promptly, the ski package was all set when we got there, they offered a late checkout to enable us to ski on Sunday morning before leaving. Even our dogs got treated with care! It was a special weekend and we truly enjoyed our Westin visit! Thank you! January 18, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>