The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 207 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Definitely not what you would expect at this price range. Before arriving at this hotel I sent very specific instructions, nobody ever responded to my request via phone or email. Than, upon entering our room #623, we discovered our bathroom sink completely clogged, I call downstairs and was assured it will be taken care of, we came back to the room 5 hours (!) later, and nothing has been done. I called again, and tell them that we were gone all day and now we can not even wash our hands! Front desk tells me that they have a record of my morning call, but it was low priority! 20 min later plumber shows up, goes in the bathroom and starts the repair. He was fixing it for about an hour. During that time our family just sat there, we could not use toilet, showers or just even wash hands. Another note, the couch in our living room has a horrible smell. Upscale hotels usually invest in basic upholstery cleaning once in a while. January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay Writing a quick review here after seeing a bunch of mixed reviews, and some very negative. We stay Sat-Sat in late January 2015 and had a fantastic stay. Everyone from the bellmen, to the front desk staff to the restaurant servers were incredibly friendly & helpful at all times. The location is fantastic- right across from Mammoth Village. Restaurant exceeded our expectations and had some delicious choices (try the duck pasta). January 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay at Mammoth Lakes I am a platinum SPG member and was very disappointed with the hotel for a variety of reasons. First, upon check-in, I was not given the SPG promise of a "best available room" even though the hotel had very low occupancy. I was told that this was an 'owner' hotel and that they did not honor all SPG programs...needless to say, very disappointing. I was specifically told during the reservation process and when I called to confirm that I would receive the 'best available room'. Second, the hot-tubs were closed for the weekend. Again, disappointing after a long day of driving and snowboarding. Third, the thermostat in the room would not adjust properly and we couldn't get the room temp to drop, which made for uncomfortable sleeping. November 16, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Kennels and Hotel should be their business name They checked us into a room that allows pets but failed to mention that is was a pet room. By the time we were completely unpacked and settled in, my allergies were in full force. How do they not mention this at check-in? I have stayed at smoking hotels and they would never check you into a smoking room without your permission. A smoking room may be a nuisiance but a pet dander filled room creates illness! The front desks response was that they were 100% full and they had no other rooms. My husband told them we would have to find another hotel. They offered another room, of course it was smaller. More inconvenience! No apologies, no concern. Stay UNwell should be their motto. February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed in SPG Platinum Recognition Just got back from a 2 night stay. At check-in, asked if upgrade was available. I was advised that upgrades only available for a $100 fee per night. I was shocked (and offended) as 1st time a Westin has tried to charge me for an upgrade - I've been platinum for 12 years and am now lifetime platinum. Seems some of the rooms are privately owned/revenue shared. Still should not matter if they are licensed by Westin - either you provide SPG benefits or you don't get the starwood license. Apart from the bad taste left from the front desk, the rest of the stay was ok. Restaurant was good - had both dinner and breakfast. Room was decent and clean. Not much of a lobby and very small and dark gym. April 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never write reviews but had to it was so bad Just finished a horrible stay at this property. I exclusively stay at Starwood properties. Never again in Mammoth. I never write reviews but our experience was so terrible I wanted to make sure people are aware this is not a Westin quality hotel. First, we arrived at the airport waiting for the complimentary hotel shuttle. Before our flight, I called to confirm that the shuttle would be there and they said it Is scheduled to be there for all flight arrivals (5) s no need to worry. After we grabbed our luggage, we looked for the shuttle, nothing, asked the mammoth shuttle if they go to the Westin and they advised me they don't and since the a Westin shuttle is not there yet, that means they forgot again so I should call them. Call the hotel and sure enough they forgot so they sent one. 30 minutes later we were on our way to the hotel. Wouldn't even bother to right about this but this helps introduce out shuttle experience. More on this later. Arrived at the hotel, they had a room ready for early checkin. Great! We were hungry so we dropped off our baggage and and to the hotel restaurant, Whitebark, to grab a late lunch. Service was non-existent. Table next to us was complaining there food was taking forever. Should have left then but we were hungry so figured we would stay put and try it out. Ordered food for the table. Drinks took forever, no refills and took is asking someone to check in on our food after waiting for half an hour for someone to go to the back and bring it out. Kids pancakes were fine (hard to mess those up) but the soups, TERRIBLE. Worst tomato soup I have ever had. Clearly had been over cooked and sitting in the pan all day as it tasted like burnt marinara sauce. Husband ordered turkey florentine soup - literally nothing but turkey bits and onions. On our third day in, figured it was time to have our room serviced. Since we brought our dog and they won't clean the room with the dog in it, we called service express to ask them to clean during an hour and a half window we would be out of the room. They said sure so we planned our ski day around it. An hour and a half later, we return to our room and it has not been serviced. Call service express to let them know and am told you can't schedule when your room is to be cleaned. Housekeeping has their own schedule. Seriously? I explain to them that we had been confirmed it would be clean. Their response is that was wrong, can't request a time to have your room cleaned. I ask to speak to the manager who tells me to let her know when we can leave the room again with the dog and she will let housekeeping know. As much as I love to schedule my vacation/ski day around housekeeping, i commit to 4:30 as I could guarantee we would be off the mountain by then and back to our room. We end up making it back an hour early, kids are exhausted, so I call service express to see if we can have it serviced a little earlier so they can nap after before our dinner reservation. I am rudely informed there is no way I can schedule a housekeeping time. I inform them the manager committed to a time with me. They tell me then I need to keep it. I tell them my kids are exhausted, we are already being inconvenienced by having to leave our room again because of their oversight so can she please try to move it up. She tells me she will ask housekeeping and call me right back. 45 minutes later, no response. Shocking (sarcasm)! It is now 4:15 so I decide to go to the front desk to see what is going on and make sure we are set for 4:30. I speak with the manager who let's me know we are set, she personally spoke with the housekeeping manager herself and they will be up in 5 mins. 4:45 still no housekeeping. Call the manager and she finally gets someone up there at 4:50 and we are half an hour late to or dinner reservation and have to beg to still find a table for us. Thanks Westin! Great service. Apparently housekeeping can't be inconvenienced and have anyone tell them when to clean a room. Next day husband and I grab a quick bite at the bar. Hotel is out of iced tea, doesn't serve sparkling water. Half hour after ordering our food, bartender let's is know they don't have one of our items. Really, it takes half an hours to find that out? Shouldn't we have already been eating it? She asks us if we want to change our order. We tell her no and that we are now in a hurry (been 45 mins since we sat down) because we have to pick up the kids at ski school. Sliders and Mac and cheese come out. Sliders are prepared wrong and Mac and cheese has literally no taste! Yay again Whitebark! New Year's Eve, we had a prepaid dinner reservation at Whitebark. Super excited what is in store for us this time. Fixed menu, every course terrible. They tried to make "fancy" dishes but clearly they are not trained for this caliber of cooking. Sides with main entree were literally straight out of the fridge and not heated up. Ice cold mash potatoes and vegetables for $125 per person. Another homerun Whitebark! In all fairness our server was great though and he let the manager know and she was kind enough to stop by and discount our food. $400 for two adults and two kids for dinner later (after $100 discount) I was envious of the room that had order the domino's pizza that was en route to them when were heading up the elevator. That would have been literally ten times better. So, so, sad. Final two days were rather I uneventful as we intentionally avoided all hotel service. Kept our room dirty and no hotel restaurant. Thought were in the clear but got comfortable too soon. Two hours before our flight, we ask for a shuttle to the airport. The bellman tells us no. They will only leave for the airport between 2:30 and 2:45 it our filthy is at 4. We let them know we have a dog we are traveling with so need to check in early. Again tells us no. Says we need to wait. They do this everyday, won't be a problem. I again try to explain to him we have to check in an hour early with a dog, leaving at 2:45 will get is to the airport one hour before our flight and gives no wiggle room for a line. I ask, what if there are more people than the shuttle will hold, he tells me won't be a problem, there are three shuttles and drivers and all are on site. What? Did I hear him right? Three shuttles and drivers doing nothing and you won't take me now so I can be sure to make my flight? I ask the person behind the front desk for help. She asks which flight I am trying to catch? I tell her the 4pm to San Diego. Her response... there is a 4pm to San Diego? We don't have that on our list. She asks me if I want them to call me a taxi. Really, three shuttles and drivers all doing nothing and you want to me to call a taxi. Complimentary shuttle around town and to airport is part of our stay... Or so I thought. Wow! I push some more, don't want to chance missing the one flight a day to San Diego. Manager comes out and tells me they don't leave till 2:30. I explain my concerns to her and she agrees to have someone take us but clearly begrudgingly. We timely check in and see the westin shuttle show up half an hour later, shuttle packed (they would have had to send a separate car anyways if we had waited) and the westin guests line up behind the 10 people ahead of them to check in. Would have definitely been late! Why is customer service so hard for this place. Will NEVER go back or recommend this place. They should be disassociated with Starwood and Westin as they are a fraud to hold themselves out as part of the same experience. Sooooo disappointing. January 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Alert! This is an over-rated hotel operating under the Starwood name with Mgmt staff displaying arrogance towards SPG members. Pricing is outrageous, points redemption is 50% higher than deserving compared with the outer outstanding Starwood properties. Don't waste your money at this hotel. December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Honeymoon Escape Have stayed at many locations in Mammoth but when we stayed at the Westin property, we couldn't have picked a better place. Location is perfect to the hub of activities. Access to the Village lift couldn't be closer. Free ski storage is a win and complimentary parking and WiFi are icing on the proverbial cake. We'll be back again and again. January 17, 2015
2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>