The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • Californie
  • 93546
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 211 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretentious front desk The room was great except the fact that when I arrived, I found that I had been given a room with a handicap bathroom. Nowhere was this mentioned on my booking itinerary. Also I called the front desk for a wake up call that I never received. Causing me to be late to an appointment with friends. September 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ms S The hotel offered points if you forgo the replacement of linens everyday. We opted for this selection however the maids never come to our room to vacuum or clean the bathrooms for the entire 5 day stay and we did not receive the points. We had to empty our own trash everyday. We were not offered an upgrade or continental breakfast. The small refrigerator in the room did not work. We had to ask for ice everyday for our cooler. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful !!! Beautiful hotel, beautiful area, so much to do, my only problem I did not want to leave :) ! August 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost but not Quite When you book a room at a Westin you expect to find a extra comfy bed, great pillows, a shower experience and a well maintained facility. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were rubbery, the shower head was so bad my wife refused to use it, and the number of burnt out light bulbs was surprising. The front desk staff was the biggest turn off. August 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Mammoth Lakes, CA I love this hotel because of the location in Mammoth, but the beds are the worst I have ever slept in at a Starwood Hotel. I sleep on the floor when I go here- the mattresses are so soft two people cannot share a bed. The fold out couch is worse. Also, there is no option for two queen beds at this property, it's King only, unless you get a two-bedroom which is expensive, and not how a couple would like to share a weekend. It's a shame because everything else about the hotel is great. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelming From the moment we tried to check in, this experience wasn't great. We requested an early check in. I know this is not guaranteed, but not only did we not get an early check in, but we were told that the room would be at least an hour late, and that we would be called when it was ready. We were never called and had to contact the hotel 1.5 hours after the scheduled check in time. As a concession, we were given 2 free breakfast passes, even though there were 4 of us. We decided to decline housekeeping services following the first day after returning to our room shortly before 5pm and finding that they had just started cleaning. Who starts cleaning a room at almost 5pm? Finally, we ordered room service for dinner one night and found that not only were they not accomodating to certian dietary restrictions, but that they could not deviate AT ALL from the room service menu in the room, even though we were informed that it was all coming from the kitchen in the restaurant below. This is not what was expected from a high end resort hotel. It did not at all live up to the Westin Standards. July 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Management Adjustment Checked in to the hotel, being Starwood Platinum and asked at the front desk about a room upgrade, it also appeared that they had about a ten per cent occupancy rate. I was told that I had already been upgraded. I walked in the shoebox, umm room and was wondering if this was an upgrade what would I have gotten If I were not Platinum. I tried to use the wired internet for an important project, just to find there was no port. I picked up the cordless phone, and of course it didn't work either. After making the call on the other phone I waited for over thirty minutes, with no one showing up. On the second call I did get someone to come and fix the port. But, in the call I asked about the upgrade and I was told that they did not upgrade Starwood members, but I probably receive a view. Looking out of my small window I had a good view of the building and if I leaned over I could see the pool that was obviously not usable. Most hotels recognize the value of frequent stayers this one does not. If your a Starwood preferred guest stay away from this hotel because they do not care about your business. June 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room comfort problem The first night the room was overly warm and we discovered we had no air. We reported it the next day and were informed the next evening evening, just as we are leaving for a wedding and reception, that we would have to change rooms. We did not have time to change rooms so they told us to just keep the window open which we had already done and didn't help. We suffered with a hot room our entire visit. The refrigerator made a lot of noise and is probably the reason it was turned off when we arrived. I put on a white robe that was laid out on the bed and discovered lipstick marks on the sleeve of so it obviously was not cleaned since the last occupant.. There was no shampoo,or conditioner and one bar of soap for the sink and shower. This is a minor complaint but annoying. April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to "Westin" standards We are owners with Starwood- at several different properties, however have usually stayed at a condo when coming to Mammoth, but decided we wanted "hotel convenience/luxury"- so called to book during our Spring Break and was told that there was only a studio available- which was fine we thought. I asked if we could upgrade when we arrived and was told the facility had lot of check ins during that time, but I could ask when I got there. So THEY KNEW a lot of people were arriving, however when we got there-after a 6 hour drive, @ 4:30 there was ONE bell man, 2 carts, a broken elevator and were told that 11 people had luggage to deliver before us. We took a few bags ourselves to the room to change and go eat downstairs. At 5:00 we were told we couldn't be seated in the VERY EMPTY restaurant, because within an hour reservations were coming in. TOTALLY empty mind you- no big deal, ate in the bar. By 6:30 restaurant was still empty- not a big deal, just annoying to be denied, but we had the same menu. Our 5 year old daughter wanted to go into the kids club- our luggage was STILL not in our room, and at this point sitting in the hallway- I had to go s/w the mgr. and have it taken up- it was 2 1/2 hours-wow. So the kids club had a hobbling bell man watching over the room- going in and out from somewhere else, but primarily un-attended- he said the girls that usually run it weren't there and he was helping out- but limping, and didn't know where things were in the room. DID NOT SEE A CONCIERGE AT THE DESK THE WHOLE TIME- and went down several times to ask for assistance and recommendations. Twice we came back from skiing- around 4:30 and our room was not cleaned- had to call downstairs when all we really wanted was to shower and go eat. Delores, the mgr. sent up complimentary breakfast tickets- for 2 people, althought we were 3 (they did take care of that), but then when I s/w her about the issues- she said she would "see what she could do, and get back to me", and never did. All in all the hotel experience was less than a $500.00 a night hotel should be, and we would have been just fine @ a condo. It was dissapointing. The staff was all pretty nice, but not worth the money for US, and disappointing as an owner. April 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again We have been visiting Mammoth Lakes regularly for the last 10 years and have stayed at a number of hotels in the town. I decided to try the Westin even though the prices are higher than other accommodation. Unfortunately upon arrival, I was told that my room was not ready and because I didn’t have a U.S. cell phone (we are UK residents), the hotel refused call me to tell me that the room was ready! My room finally became available over 2.5 hours after the official time! The room that we booked (single bedroom suite) was comfortable but twice in 5 days I returned to room to find that it had not been cleaned and made up. The wifi /internet connectivity in the room was virtually nonexistent, as was the satellite TV reception which repeatedly froze. The prices for food and beverage are extortionate and the menu was limited. Worst of all though was the attitude of the front desk staff who were arrogant and obnoxious and who obviously cared little for their guests. An example of this was when after deciding to extend my stay in Mammoth Lakes, I enquired about room rates only to be quoted $600 per night! When I questioned why this was higher than my original booking room rate and if this included lift passes, I was told that because my stay was only 2 days, they couldn’t offer a package?? I pointed out that I would be at the hotel for a total of 7 days but the Receptionist clearly did not care about securing repeat business for her employer. I therefore enquired with another hotel in the area and was quoted $487 for two nights, including lift passes – a bargain compared to the Westin. Early the next morning I checked out of the Westin and drove to the other establishment fully expecting, because of the time of day, that I would not be able to check in. How wrong I was – the front desk staff were hospitable and courteous, the exact opposite of the Westin. The room that I have reserved was not available so they upgraded me to a superior room and was allowed to check in at 7am - I was at the gondola at 8:30am! If you want good quality, value for money and don’t want to be treated like second class citizens – avoid the Westin at Mammoth Lakes at all costs. April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed in SPG Platinum Recognition Just got back from a 2 night stay. At check-in, asked if upgrade was available. I was advised that upgrades only available for a $100 fee per night. I was shocked (and offended) as 1st time a Westin has tried to charge me for an upgrade - I've been platinum for 12 years and am now lifetime platinum. Seems some of the rooms are privately owned/revenue shared. Still should not matter if they are licensed by Westin - either you provide SPG benefits or you don't get the starwood license. Apart from the bad taste left from the front desk, the rest of the stay was ok. Restaurant was good - had both dinner and breakfast. Room was decent and clean. Not much of a lobby and very small and dark gym. April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, Terrible Service First - If you are coming here for skiing, the location is excellent and you can rent anything you need at the hotel. You are next to village and slopes. However - the hotel is not accommodating at all. We had to wait an extra 2 hours to check into room. I chose to valet my car the first day, and when I needed my car it took 45 minutes - the staff could not find my car then forgot that I was there. 90% of the time there was no one at the front and concierge desks. There are only 2 elevators that always take a long time. The restaurant, though tasty, has terrible service despite not being busy. Even though I am Platinum, I was not given late checkout. Bottom line, If you are staying here only for skiing and have low expectations, this place might work for you. For me, Mammoth is the only city I will travel to and not choose Westin first. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Skiing What a beautiful hotel. Rooms are comfortable, quiet, well apportioned. Look forward to a return visit. March 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by mountain manners I stayed with the westin for one night. Upon arrival, we were offered champagne as SPG members. One glass was plastic and large, the other was glass and small. Quaint but not a deal-breaker, apart from the issue of plastic champagne flutes in general. Once in the room, the first towel taken from the shelf was found to be smudged with makeup and lipstick and have several dark hairs in its folds. A call to housekeeping yielded a gentleman who called it "pretty gross", but declined to comment further. When I asked if he could switch all the towels, instead of just replacing disgusting nappy #1, he shrugged and said "I guess so". The next morning I called to request a breakfast menu. The service operator insisted that I had one in my room. Only after I agreed that there might be one somewhere in the room, did she agree to have another sent up. She sent up a photocopied stack of papers, stapled together to serve as a menu, along with the breakfast pre-order door hangers. I called to ask if I could order from the door hanger. She said no, those had to be used the night previous. Since there were no door hangers in my room until just minutes earlier, I inquired if I could perhaps be allowed to order from them, since they had several items not included on my stapled sheaf of papers menu. She reluctantly consented with an audible sigh. Breakfast was nice. I called to ask for a late checkout, which was granted. Lovely, and much appreciated. When my wife returned from the pool 1.5 hours before the new checkout time, her room card didn't work. Down at reception she was told that "the Westin doesn't do late checkouts". After several minutes of conversation regarding the matter, my wife called me, and then reception declined to speak with me, telling her "it's ok, we just found the notation, but we don't usually do that". I am a travel editor for a silly magazine that no one reads, and a former bartender: point being: A. I don't write reviews for the pleasure of reading my own drivel, and B. I know the thankless drudgery of service jobs. Notwithstanding; the Westin Monache managed to be understatedly bumbling if not haplessly rude on more than several occasions in a 24 hour period. March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Glad I Stayed Here! I read a lot of the reviews for this property, as I do most of the time. I was concerned with some of the other Platinum member comments. All I can say is, don't believe it. This property is a gem. From the service and rooms, to the location and features. This was a family vacation with my wife and 5 year old daughter. We received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, despite what you may read from others. We also were given complimentary continental breakfast for two, each day of the stay as a Platinum level benefit. The property has everything you would want or will need. We utilized both of the oversized jacuzzis, the kids club, ski rental and valet, the restaurant and bar. The hotel puts out complimentary champagne and hot chocolate each evening, which is very nice. They also offer shuttle service around the village and to other area dining and entertainment locations. All wonderful value added services. Speaking of service- it's fabulous! From the ski valet, Kevin; to the bellman/driver, Kyle; to Brandon at check-in; and most importantly, the hotel's GM, Brent- this is a well run and fantastic Starwood property. We are over-joyed with how well our trip went. Thank you to the entire Westin Monache Team! We look forward to a return visit this Spring. January 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rooms but not well kept. We loved the location. Room was not available until 5PM. Room was very spacious and we were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite which is nice. Bathroom was not well cleaned. Toilet seat still had urine spots! The bedrooms both had balconies which is nice. Problem is they are not well weatherproof so it was freezing at night even with the heaters on. I ended up catching a cold as a result. January 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too many dogs Firstly--the staff was nice however they were understaffed. the rooms were not ready when we arrived. also they never informed us that some of the rooms will be occupied by pets-namely dogs. they never gave us the option to stay in a pet-free room until we asked. that is when they moved us to another room but again we had to wait for the room to be cleaned. We WAITED 1HOUR AND 45 MINUTES! while we waited, the staff never even offered us to go somewhere else where it was warmer for us to wait--until we asked again. they could have at least offered us to go to the restaurant while we waited. Secondly--this is a hotel, not a kennel?!!! there was urine and dog feces visible on the property outside. it smelled like wet-dog. we personally have a dog but will never inconvenience other guests by bringing our dog to a 5 star hotel. that is why we leave our dog in a kennel! hotels are meant for people, not dogs. it appeared that it was a dog hotel rather than a people hotel. lastly--the staff seemed to cater to the pets more than to disabled patrons. we had a hard time getting around due to the amount of steps to the hotel. we are not recommending this hotel to anyone. the only nice thing about this property is the decor. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice rooms, staff overwhelmed in busy season Great location, right across the street from the Gondola that takes you to the Canyon Lodge. The rooms are large, with fully furnished kitchenettes, very convenient, especially since the hotel restaurant is sub-par. Now, don't expect much for your Platinum status... They don't have a Club Lounge, so you can choose as a platinum ammenity to have complimentary breakfast at their hotel. The comp breakfast is tiny: coffee, toast, few slices of fruit. They'll upcharge for anything beyond that. The check-in process was a nightmare: We came in @ 2:30 and were told Check-in was not until 3 (no surprises there) but they wouldn't unload our car! They said the limited storage space is reserved for guests flying in to Mammoth. If you drive in, you keep things in your car until the room is ready. They wouldn't park our car either since we didn't have a room number yet! So, we had no option than turning around and running some errands (with a full car). Came back at 4:00, and the room was still not ready, and heard a phrase for the bronze: check-in "starts" at 3 PM, but it is not guaranteed! Oh, and on the day of check-out we were cheerfully reminded that if we stayed a minuted after 12, we would be charge full rate for it! (since they care so much about having the rooms ready for their guests checking-in!) In summary: nice rooms, great location, but get ready to be treated like a nuisance. December 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was really bad The service was terrible. I highlighted list of issues we had in short period of time to manager (late check-in, bags delivered to room two hours late, heat in room was broken, etc). The manager's response was only to be defensive. December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for families Beautiful location, gorgeous property, great for families!!! Very cozy suites with fully equipped kitchenette, ideal for a ski vacation. The restaurant, Whitebark, is amazing. Would recommend adding a full spa with treatment rooms, steam and sauna, as well as yoga/Pilates classes. It would be a great option for non-skiers. In previous years there were activities for kids (cookie decorating, s'mores...) Please bring those back! Great experience overall! December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room temperature An otherwise pleasant stay was once again accompanied by a repeat of a room temperature issue. This Westin location has a very serious case of poor A/C. You either get central heating at an uncomfortable 75 degrees day or night which means a hot, unpleasant sleep...or you have to turn on the cold A/C to your desired temperature which in turn runs a wind tunnel ventilation system at a loud noise level. The engineering department sent a technician to our room who verified that this is just the way it operates. This is my 3rd stay in the past 2 years here with the same results each time. The Westin can do better than this. December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but snobby service Close to The Village and the Gondala to the slopes . The valet attenent , bell man ,and the workers at the ski retail were spectacular . Loved the complementary shuttle ride to any where in Mammoth Lake. Now to the bad. Front desk was disrespectful and didn't seem to like there job. Not very attentive until I showed them that I was a SPG member. Then I finally got a smile. Our room didn't have a bathtub, which was very disappointing . December 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding in every way Phenomenal property... Great for our teenagers and us adults. Close to everything that the Monache might not have.. Which is very little. The staff was great even though it was very busy and snowy!! Will make it our new go to place in Mammoth❤ December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thoughtful and warm enviroment Great hotel! - everything is so well thought, convenient location. The stuff is helpful and kind. Enjoyed the hot tub, the pool, the puffy robes. The highlight - "ski valet"! They take your skis & boot to the gondola, so you just walk 75 steps down to the gondola and there they are! Thank you! It has been a great experience! December 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional guest service We truly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Monache Resort. The location, guest service, and ammenities could not have been better. Every hotel staff member was friendly and extremely accommodating, from valet, to the front desk, to housekeeping. It's great that they not only accept but cater to dogs; we loved being able to bring our small dog along with us. They even provide dog bowls and a Heavenly Dog Bed, which she LOVED. We were in Mammoth for the weekend and were worried about getting a late check out for Sunday based on other reviews, since we wanted to snowboard and would not have anywhere to keep our dog. The hotel provided us with a list of recommended dog sitters in the area upon our arrival, and also checked capacity levels and obtained a late check out for us the night before our check out day, rather than making us wait until Sunday morning. The service and dog accommodation made our stay wonderful. The fact that it is steps to the Village Gondola didn't hurt either. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, particularly those wanting to bring their dogs along. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location The hotel is located in close proximity to the Village and gondola to Canyon Lodge. The hotel is a pet friendly hotel. The hotel will provide you with gym clothes so you can pack light. The restaurant had very good food, could improve on service. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Winter Wonderland The resort is fantastic. The staff go out of their way to make everything pleasant. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The property is adjacent to the village so one can walk there without any problem. The Gondola is adjacent to the property so you can get up to the mountain without driving your car. December 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reccomend to anyone! Decided to drive up from Fresno and hit a deer jsut before Mammoth Lakes - fortunately I made it to hotel, and was greeted by a great staff once I got out of my car. after explaining what happened, the guys made my son and I feel comfortable instantly. They were helpful in finding options in regards to what to do wtih my car. ended up gettting a tow service to bring car home - the guys took care of dealing with vehicle so we could snowboard as planned, took me to get a rental car, rode for the weekend and they dealt with the tow service after I had left town. They were super friendly , helpful in everyway possible and they made my stay! as far as the rest of the staff, everyone was great - but wanted to pay a shout out to the guys out front. I havent been to a hotel with such a great team. It is becasue of them that I'll be back. as far as everything else - the place is great - food/location, everything was top notch. Thanks again to them! December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by check in needs help Hotel was 17% full when we checked in according to doorman. I had requested an upper floor room with a view. At check in was told the room had a nice view. The room had a view of the driveway- Unacceptable. When I called the front desk o request a room change the person was relatively rude. Finally we got a new room with a great view. I don't know why the process was so difficult. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT! Exceeded our expectations! November 30, 2012
  • 2015-04-24T18:53:12.821-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_211, tr_211
  • loc_en_US, sid_1562, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>