The Westin Memphis Beale Street

  • 170 Lt. George W. Lee Avenue
  • Memphis,
  • Tennessee
  • 38103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age and show valid identification in order to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 432 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location - Very nice & clean. Perfect location - spacious, clean rooms & very helpful staff. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memphis Westin Great fitness center, nice rooms and close to everything! October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Great location Great breakfast Quiet & comfortable rooms March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful modern hotel. Very friendly staff Beautiful modern hotel with friendly and attentive staff February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by room service don't expect room service to be interested, or prompt. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and location Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I'll be back March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Memphis Great staff and Great features. Best hotel in Memphis. February 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Westin Customer Service: Unacceptable I have traveled and stayed at Westin Resorts regularly, having wonderful experiences with raving reviews of rooms, accommodations and customer service. Unfortunately for this particular hotel, it's staff/management team simply do not measure up. I had a room reserved for over a month at the Westin Memphis Beale Street. Upon my arrival at 4:30pm, when check-in begins at 3pm, the front desk attendant informs us that a large group had a late check out, and our room was not yet ready, assuring that the room would be ready soon. So I waited in the lobby with 20+ other guests with the same issue. After 2 hours of waiting, complaints, being ignored by management and getting shooed from the front desk, our room became available. Not to mention I was supposed to be at an NBA game at 7pm, and I didn't get into my room until 6:30pm, 3 HOURS after check-in. This was UNACCEPTABLE customer service. And to add to the unfavorable situation, I have been trying to contact management for OVER 2 weeks to work out some sort of compensation for this discrepancy. I have called the desk, multiple managers and left numerous messages. So in conclusion, the hotel itself is beautiful with lovely accommodations, but the staff were simply unwilling to address our issue and are evading any compensation. I would love to talk to someone that can address this issue, if anyone monitors these reviews. February 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by front desk9 "This hotel don't have professor worker front desk September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel staff The staff and level of service were great. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT as Important When we arrived, the Valet gentleman marshaled us so far forward that we were no longer under the awning (it was raining). He said he did this to make room for others. We had driven 8 hours so I had some sorting to do in the car, once I was done there was still no one to help with the luggage. I grabbed a cart and began loading my stuff on to it. The Valet told us we could not use a cart since they had other guests arriving that have a contract with the hotel. I told him I did too, it is called a reservation. He then took the cart into the lobby and emptied it of my items. I ask him about this and he said "the other people are more important than you." I took the rest of my stuff into the lobby and checked in. I talked to the Manager (Chris?) and he said all the right things, apologized and all. He said he would take the Valet charge off my bill. That didn't happen, we were charged. I am sure I could have questioned it again and gotten it removed, but I was done discussing things. We figured out the "More Important" guests they had were the visiting team playing the Memphis Grizzlies that night. The room was nice, it could have been cleaner but was not nasty. The toilet seat was not tight, it swiveled. Bottom line: We will NEVER go back. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only one for me.... This is the only hotel I want to stay in! March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Teenage boys loved playing the Gibson! What a great feature! Fabulous room!! March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This was a very great place to stay. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel Nice place and close to Beale street March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 This hotel has great service Very Nice and professional staff April 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory Experience - Pompous Manager I have stayed at this hotel several times with a business group and learned the hard way that you don't want a room on the Beale Street side of the property. When booking this reservation we specifically requested a room not on the Beale side. When I checked in (after waiting 10 minutes because they only had one clerk working) I was told the room was not on the Beale side. When I arrived at the room it of course was on the Beale side. My request to move was not accommodated as they said they were fully booked. I went to check out since they couldn't accommodate my request and I was told, only after asking, that I would nevertheless be charged for my room. The manager was arrogant and seemed to not care that he had a guest very unhappy and ready to walk out of his hotel. Particularly when you are spending $400 for a room I think you ought to get better service. The solution offered was earplugs and a "white noise" machine which turned out to be a box fan. Nothing else was offered, like a break on the rate, a voucher for a drink or anything. Additionally the valet service is ultra-slow and the coffee service in the room had not been restocked. All in all this place is poorly run and we won't be back to this hotel or any other Westin. There are at least two other hotels in downtown Memphis in the same category with MUCH better service. Next time we will be staying with them. February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and atmosphere, but charged for items not used or touched in room! I had never stayed at a Westin and with this being my first I was very impressed unitl I reveiwed my bank statement. The lobby was nice and clean, staff was very friendly, elevators clean, and the room was very clean and comfortable. We had a GREAT view and were right around the corner from Beale. The location couldn't have been any better! I had read the reviews about the cost of the in room mini bar and was well aware to not even touch the items because they are weight sensored. I was charged for $80+ for items I had never touched let alone used. I've contacted the hotel (yesturday) and to my disappointment I was unable to speak with anyone to resolve this issue and have not heard back from a manager as of yet. I'm anticiapting the refund of these charges but am very disappointed that I was charged at all. They should know if no items had to be replaced by the staff then nothing was used. Also, I hung the card to not recieve housekeeping since we were styaing two nights and rec'd a voucher that I did not use, but would have rather had points added to my card. Other than the bogus charges this was a great place and I would come back again depending the outcome of reimbursment for the un-used items in the mini bar. I will write back and let the outcome of these charges be known. March 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Location, Just Off Beale...and a Guitar!!! This trip to Memphis was to celebrate my sweetie's 50th Birthday. He is a guitarist and songwriter who loves the blues. The fact that he could choose a Gibson to play in our room was so wonderful for him!!! And being right across the street from the Gibson Factory and the Rock n Soul Museum was awesome, too!! Just an FYI -- the parking is pricey as it is at most hotels. We parked in the Gibson lot for 5 bucks per day and it was a short one block walk to the hotel. We took advantage of the special Birth Year Rate which made it very affordable, and from the first steps inside the lobby I could tell we made the right choice. All of the staff at the Westin on Beale were terrific. We arrived very early and they had our room ready. Amanda at the front desk is just fabulous. She is so personable and made us feel so welcome. She gave us a recommendation for a place to go have breakfast and was just such a pleasure to see as we came and went during our stay. Amanda is a gem!!!! Give her a raise!!! Our room was wonderful, too. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was terrific with a separate tub and shower. Tons of room. Also, it was so great to have a Starbuck's on the back corner of the building!!!! We will definitely be staying at the Westin on Beale the next time we come to Memphis. August 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel, awful restaurant Upon arrival to hotel the Valet was slow and nearly 30 dollars after tax! Check in was easy and moderately quick. Room was great and very comfortable. On the morning of check out my wife and I attempted to eat on the onsite resturant "Bleu" for lunch, with only 3 other tables being occupied when we arrived. An appetizer of Mac and cheese was ordered to which we reaffired we want BEFORE our food. I ordered a turkey melt and my wife ordered one of their specialty salads. After 30 minutes the mac and cheese was brought with my wife's salad, with no site or mention of my turkey melt. My wife's salad was something you would expect from a fast food resturant, with only lettice, a few tomatto's and a couple of croutons, but missing everything that was supposed to make it a "specialty". We voiced our dis-pleasure with the salad after our waitress made it back around after 5 minutes (again with no mention or site of the turkey melt). We asked to pay our bar bill and leave. Valet took over 15 minutes to retrieve our car on check out, again this area wasn't busy. Poor service, long wait times and no effort to help the situation will leave us not only avoiding this restaurant in the future, but with it being the only place to eat at the hotel while trying to make a quick exit likley means will be staying elseware in the future. November 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I had a few problems Upon arrival we waited, parked in valet for 15 mins thinking someone would be right out. There was no one at the front valet at 315pm in the afternoon so I went to check in only to not be greeted and stood behind one other person while there was one gentleman at the desk ANOTHER tall gentlemean emerged 5 mins. later. Finally, I told them I was waiting to valet so they called him. The valet was in the back so upon arrival to our car he offered to bring up our bags but we waited and needed to shower to prepare for our meeting and this didn't happen for 1.5 hours so we came back down to the lobby to get them ourselves because it appeared he had gotten too busy. Upon showering I noticed blonde hair on the shower floor that was NOT MINE in two areas. I mentioned it to the front desk when I came back down (the first time - 1 hour after check in and spoke to a very tall Caucasian guy and the other gentleman at desk) to ask for the fridge we requested at check in. Upon check out I mentioned all of this to the girl at the desk who informed me that I'd need to speak to the manager and gave me his card. She informed me that he would phone me. NO CALL YET so I'll be calling Mr. Norwood today. While I LOVE this location I'm noticing a severe change and think I MAY NEED TO move our corporate team to another hotel. June 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Room With Leftover Lingerie Our room was next to service elevator and housekeeping closets. The staff started banging the door open with their carts first thing in the morning and kept talking and laughing loudly, joking with their fellow workers while only feet from our bed. Yes, there was a wall between us, but think about staying next to the loudest, most boisterous bunch of partiers... that was our morning after a long night on Beale Street for the International Blues Challenge. By 10:30 AM, I had enough and complained to management, as well as the rude housekeepers and maintenance men making the noise, asking to be moved to a quieter room (which they finally did after repeated calls and a visit to the front desk). Another great feature of Room #936 were the soiled panties left by the previous guest that housekeeping thoughtfully left for us in the closet. Finally, it took two days for the guest services manager to reach out to us to ask what he could do, and only then through an email at 3:20 in the morning of our check-out! I replied yesterday, but didn't hear back today, so I guess he is busy taking care of training the staff to be quiet when next to guest rooms. This hotel is not up to Westin standards. Please train your staff to respect their guests and not be so loud and boisterous when next to their rooms, especially Room #936. February 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not treated like a preferred guest The hotel is in a great location but is more rundown then other Westin hotels I have stayed in. The staff needs more training. I had requested an early checkin and when I arrived at 9am, I didn't mind waiting for the upgraded quiet room that I had requested. The staff member blocked out a specific room for me. I was still waiting at noon. The staff member told me the guest staying in that room had a late check out and would be leaving at 1pm. At 2pm the room was still not ready. The staff member realized he had made a mistake and the guest was actually not leaving until 4pm so he gave me another room that he thought was similar to the larger room I had been waiting for. The room was quiet like I requested but definitely the standard size...plus other rooms beside and above this room could see into the room when the curtains were opened. This was the room that I had waited 6 hours for! The front desk claimed they were unaware of the privacy issue but said they would move me. They also agreed that the room was a standard size one and that all the upgradable rooms were now gone! Also, we would have to wait for the new room to be cleaned! So we packed up and left our luggage with them at 4pm so they could move it when the room was ready. This is definitely not how I have been treated at other Starwood hotels. The staff was very nice, just not properly trained on how to treat SPG members! August 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unresponsive to Inquiry Overall the property meets expectations. However, if your travel karma is sliding sideways as mine did on a recent trip you may not want expect help from management. They simply do not respond to phone calls or emails. Background: Had two reservations booked at this property for the same dates. One I and neglected to cancel (my fault) and this was the one I was checked in under. The other reservation was booked for me on points by a relative and this is the one I had intended to check in under. When I discovered this (post check-out) I contacted the hotel to see what my options might be. Initially I sent two emails and documentation to the property. (Both came back as undeliverable). 1.Credit my account and move the stay over the reservation booked on points? 2. Credit points back to the spg member and retain the charge and reservation I checked in under? Called the property on 12/17 for assistance. I was assured I would receive a call back in 48 hours, No call back. I called again at the 72 hour mark and was assured I would receive a call back. No call back. I called spg corporate on 12/20 who sent an internal email requesting that I be called back. No call back. I called again the following day 12/21 was told I would receive a call back. No call back. Still seeking (re)solution. That is where things remain. In sum although the rooms are fine, I will not return to or recommend this property to others as attention detail when it comes to customer care does not seem to be of concern. Sometimes when things go a little wrong its the true test. December 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staffing needs to be addressed by mgnt Calling hotel 3 days in a row to extend stay, call was dropped, and desk clerk identified herself with false names. Desk clerk opened with "we only have $$$$ (expensive) rooms" available, I have paid for suites in your hotel, I did not mention price, I requested a room for additional days. The phone calls were an attempt to avoid any confusion or complication at check-in... guess what? My husband was given the run around all over again and he was holding 2 confirmation numbers. Choosing to stay the extra nights turn out to be a mistake. I should have stayed at a different property. I have stayed here before and have great memories with good experiences. My family is from Memphis and we use your hotel for everything when ever we attend family functions. That is over. My room was never cleaned during the entire stay, even after daily requests. We had to ask for towels to be deliver and ended up waiting half a day, one day, hanging them out to dry at a family members house, on another, and sneaking them off the cart one day. The hotel was not full and the staff was not available to answer the phone to meet the need to help assist with towels, REALLY??? I have been a preferred member for over 20 years with the Westin, and never expect anything, but usually am offered at minimum a greeting with my name attached. One night I actually heard a front desk attendant tell a guest, "we don't have any Preferred Options at this hotel, we don't participate because we are too small." meaning we don't offer upgrades, or have a club level floor. August 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by UPSET! I reserved two hotel rooms over a month ago. I requested joining rooms because we were coming from Mississippi for a bachelorette get together. I was not granted the joining rooms and was told to always contact the hotel directly. WHAT? I did call the hotel directly and told them TWICE that I wanted joining rooms. I was highly upset because this was on me to get this done- I was the matron of honor. Also, I'm pregnant and couldn't really join in on the festivities so I wanted to be able to socialize with the other girls through the joining rooms. Also, I was NEVER told that we could pay for unlimited parking through the hotel. They asked if we wanted valet or self park. I didn't want to pay someone extra to park my car- when the garage was right there. The hotel evidently offered a one time fee different and cheaper than the public parking lot that they used and I used but had to pay a different amount because I was never offered option of the hotels parking rate. I understand the hotel is on Beale Street and it will cost me- but to charge $30 per extra person over two people is a bit ridiculous also and then have to pay for parking too! I was not impressed with this hotel and it's service. They lady on the phone was so nice and accommodating but when I got there- it was totally different. I will never stay there again. If I could get all or some of my money back I would. The rooms I got were 18 rooms away from each other and I requested joining rooms! COME ON! I had to walk all the way down the long hall to even talk or see the other girls. Ridiculous! February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised I was concerned after reading some of the less than stellar reviews but was totally satisfied with our stay. My husband and I were traveling with our adult daughter and we booked two rooms. I was very impressed with the young lady who checked us in and spent the time to find the rooms we requested. She was chatty, funny and accommodating. When we were done, she came around the desk, shook my hand and introduced herself. She also made sure we had whatever coupons we needed for the attractions we planned to visit. Our room was what I'd hoped it would be...clean and quiet. I loved the large bathroom. The only complaints I'd mention would be a lack of hot water when I tried to take a shower at 10:00pm and fingerprints all over the window when we arrived. There was was plenty of hot water each morning when we showered. As an aside...I absolutely despise minibars and snack trays...especially ones that charge you if you move an item. I find the whole concept offensive. We had a very nice stay. I liked that it was a contemporary hotel, that you could self park next door and that it was conveniently located. When we travel, we always prefer privacy over excessive "service", so I really can't comment on that. I do want to mention the wonderful Mr. Hayes who expressed an interest in our plans each day, made sure we had coupons and entertained us with his stories and humor while we waited for our car. He is a great asset to the hotel. I would encourage prospective travelers to not be put off by some of the reviews and give the hotel a chance. I think they'd be pleasantly surprised. June 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location isn't everything It's a shame to have to give this lovely hotel a bad review. We thought with the high rates of this hotel we'd at least get good service. Well, the bartenders at bleu and the valet/bell people were great. But, the main hotel bar and front desk attitudes need a lot of improvement. Not sure what the deal is with the bar but the front desk can somewhat be excused for the predicament they were put in. There were two large parties there and the hotel was booked. We arrived at 1:30 and were turned away early for the 3:00 check in. Then killed some time until 3 but didn't get our room until almost 5. We were one of many. There were suites avaiable but we weren't offered one. We did get plenty of sass and attitude from some of the front desk clerks, particularly the auburn-headed girl. How does this continue to happen at this hotel? Do you not have enough cleaning staff? Pay overtime. Pre-arrange check-ins as 5:00 when booked to capacity, then we know. Give the front desk clerks the power to offer comped drinks or room upgrades so they're not stuck up there waiting for manager approval. Our reservation email noted a 3:00 checkout and extended stay weekend bragging rights. When I called down to confirm, I was informed very rudely that they could not do that in the winter. Yet, there's a sign in the lobby indicating such. I kindly suggested that they take this up with the website support so others don't get misled as I had, she didn't seem to care. I asked her to change my address in the system. and she acted as if she'd taken it but I had to make the change myself today. Location isn't everything. Yes, you may get bookings because of it but your management needs to work on adjusting these bad attitudes and giving the front desk the tools they need when presented with these predicaments. There is no way you should have to check in after 3 when the check in time is 3. January 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible customer service I had a reservation at this hotel for March 23. I arrived slightly before checking and was told there would be a slight delay due to a large group that was allowed a late checkout and a member of housekeeping being out to attend a funeral. Initially I was ok with this and we went to Beale Street to wait. Went back to the hotel 2.5 hours later at 5:30pm only to find a lobby full of angry guests in my same situation and still no rooms available. Staff in no way tried to compensate anyone for not having rooms available and manager would not make himself available to deal with the situation (he was supposedly cleaning rooms). Finally at 6:30 I was able to get in a room, but many other guests were still waiting in lobby for rooms. I paid a rate of 159 for less then 24 hours use of the facility and due to the poor management an additional 3.5 hours were unavailable for my use. I even called the toll free number to see if something could be done and the rep on the phone was in shock at the situation. She offered to move me to another property, but at that point I had been drinking because I had been hanging out a bar waiting for my room and did not want to drive to another hotel. Restaurant was poorly managed as well, went for breakfast (only because it was included in my rate). Saw many empty tables but was told there was a 10 minute wait after we had already been waiting for 5 minutes for someone to come to hostess stand. I don't think it was a lack of staff because I saw 4 servers and counted only 10 tables in use, that seems like plenty of servers for that few tables at breakfast. Bottom line I have stayed at few Westin or Starwood properties in the past and will definitely avoid them in the future due to this experience. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Major Let Down We recently stayed two nights at the Westin Beale Street Hotel and it was a major disappointment. After researching hotels in the Downtown Memphis area, we decided on the Westin and were really looking forward to the Heavenly Bed and Bath as advertised. Unfortunately, we did not have that experience. We stayed in room 626 and the beds were lumpy, hard, and very uncomfortable. This made for two restless nights for my family. The bathroom floors were dirty and the entire shower walls (tiles) and shower head was moldy. I called front desk to tell them about it and within 10 minutes housekeeping was at the door. The housekeeper that came sprayed and wiped down the tiles and shower head but it was still dirty. Black scum literally fell onto the floor as she sprayed the shower heads. There were also no robes nor trash bags provided (not so much of a problem). It felt as if we were given a “value” room (we usually stay in upscale hotels). I have seen a few similar complaints which lead me to believe that nothing is being done to correct the issues. The hotel itself is not bad. It is modern and conveniently located next to the FedEx Forum and Beale Street. The staff seemed professional and promptly responded to our issue (although it was not fixed). The lobby area and the hallways seemed clean, but for an upscale hotel clean bathrooms and comfortable beds should be top priority. It is almost impossible to overlook the condition of this bathroom before renting it out. I sincerely hope that a member of management would address the issues I have mentioned in this review before losing more business. I hope that my candid review would be used as a training tool. I also have photos of the bathroom after it had been cleaned by housekeeping. April 3, 2013
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 next>>