The Westin Memphis Beale Street

  • 170 Lt. George W. Lee Avenue
  • Memphis,
  • Tennessee
  • 38103
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben ser de 18 años o mayores y presentar una identificación vigente para reservar una habitación

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 443 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 Westin Customer Service: Unacceptable I have traveled and stayed at Westin Resorts regularly, having wonderful experiences with raving reviews of rooms, accommodations and customer service. Unfortunately for this particular hotel, it's staff/management team simply do not measure up. I had a room reserved for over a month at the Westin Memphis Beale Street. Upon my arrival at 4:30pm, when check-in begins at 3pm, the front desk attendant informs us that a large group had a late check out, and our room was not yet ready, assuring that the room would be ready soon. So I waited in the lobby with 20+ other guests with the same issue. After 2 hours of waiting, complaints, being ignored by management and getting shooed from the front desk, our room became available. Not to mention I was supposed to be at an NBA game at 7pm, and I didn't get into my room until 6:30pm, 3 HOURS after check-in. This was UNACCEPTABLE customer service. And to add to the unfavorable situation, I have been trying to contact management for OVER 2 weeks to work out some sort of compensation for this discrepancy. I have called the desk, multiple managers and left numerous messages. So in conclusion, the hotel itself is beautiful with lovely accommodations, but the staff were simply unwilling to address our issue and are evading any compensation. I would love to talk to someone that can address this issue, if anyone monitors these reviews. February 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory Experience - Pompous Manager I have stayed at this hotel several times with a business group and learned the hard way that you don't want a room on the Beale Street side of the property. When booking this reservation we specifically requested a room not on the Beale side. When I checked in (after waiting 10 minutes because they only had one clerk working) I was told the room was not on the Beale side. When I arrived at the room it of course was on the Beale side. My request to move was not accommodated as they said they were fully booked. I went to check out since they couldn't accommodate my request and I was told, only after asking, that I would nevertheless be charged for my room. The manager was arrogant and seemed to not care that he had a guest very unhappy and ready to walk out of his hotel. Particularly when you are spending $400 for a room I think you ought to get better service. The solution offered was earplugs and a "white noise" machine which turned out to be a box fan. Nothing else was offered, like a break on the rate, a voucher for a drink or anything. Additionally the valet service is ultra-slow and the coffee service in the room had not been restocked. All in all this place is poorly run and we won't be back to this hotel or any other Westin. There are at least two other hotels in downtown Memphis in the same category with MUCH better service. Next time we will be staying with them. February 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not treated like a preferred guest The hotel is in a great location but is more rundown then other Westin hotels I have stayed in. The staff needs more training. I had requested an early checkin and when I arrived at 9am, I didn't mind waiting for the upgraded quiet room that I had requested. The staff member blocked out a specific room for me. I was still waiting at noon. The staff member told me the guest staying in that room had a late check out and would be leaving at 1pm. At 2pm the room was still not ready. The staff member realized he had made a mistake and the guest was actually not leaving until 4pm so he gave me another room that he thought was similar to the larger room I had been waiting for. The room was quiet like I requested but definitely the standard size...plus other rooms beside and above this room could see into the room when the curtains were opened. This was the room that I had waited 6 hours for! The front desk claimed they were unaware of the privacy issue but said they would move me. They also agreed that the room was a standard size one and that all the upgradable rooms were now gone! Also, we would have to wait for the new room to be cleaned! So we packed up and left our luggage with them at 4pm so they could move it when the room was ready. This is definitely not how I have been treated at other Starwood hotels. The staff was very nice, just not properly trained on how to treat SPG members! August 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location but not up to Westin standards. We were quite surprised upon arrival that the first thing that went wrong was our room keys must have been programmed wrong. When we entered the elevator another party was going to the same floor so we did not realize that the keys were not working until we tried to open the door, neither key worked which left me and our luggage in the hallway while my husband went back down to the lobby to get keys that would work. Now we are in the room and discover the toilet seat is very loose, we then needed to wait for maintenance to come before we could leave the room for dinner. The next day we left early and arrived back at the hotel around 3:45pm to discover that our room had not been serviced by housekeeping, however someone was in the room and removed my husbands bath towel and the floor bath mat. They did not leave clean linen to replace what they took nor did they make the bed. At this point we said just to forget having someone come to the room. A little while later a woman came with 1 clean towel and bath mat. I found that quite interesting. On Sunday we experienced the same thing with the keys not working, again we were able to get to our floor by using another persons key in the elevator but needed to return to the main lobby again for new keys. We utilized the valet parking since we were located near everything and did not need to use our car. When we checked out this morning low and behold the car battery was dead! The young guy who parked our car had left the windshield wipers on and this drained the battery. Lucky for us the valet working the morning shift had jumper cables and was able to help my husband get the car started. Originally we had booked a different SPC hotel for our stay in Memphis but we I saw that there was an opening at the Westin Downtown I changed our reservation and expected to experience a Four Star hotel. This was not the case. I will say that the location was great and the meal we had for dinner our last night there was excellent but this was over-shadowed by the other issues. Needless to say the housekeeping service was not what I expected from a Westin, and I am very disappointed. June 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staffing needs to be addressed by mgnt Calling hotel 3 days in a row to extend stay, call was dropped, and desk clerk identified herself with false names. Desk clerk opened with "we only have $$$$ (expensive) rooms" available, I have paid for suites in your hotel, I did not mention price, I requested a room for additional days. The phone calls were an attempt to avoid any confusion or complication at check-in... guess what? My husband was given the run around all over again and he was holding 2 confirmation numbers. Choosing to stay the extra nights turn out to be a mistake. I should have stayed at a different property. I have stayed here before and have great memories with good experiences. My family is from Memphis and we use your hotel for everything when ever we attend family functions. That is over. My room was never cleaned during the entire stay, even after daily requests. We had to ask for towels to be deliver and ended up waiting half a day, one day, hanging them out to dry at a family members house, on another, and sneaking them off the cart one day. The hotel was not full and the staff was not available to answer the phone to meet the need to help assist with towels, REALLY??? I have been a preferred member for over 20 years with the Westin, and never expect anything, but usually am offered at minimum a greeting with my name attached. One night I actually heard a front desk attendant tell a guest, "we don't have any Preferred Options at this hotel, we don't participate because we are too small." meaning we don't offer upgrades, or have a club level floor. August 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unresponsive to Inquiry Overall the property meets expectations. However, if your travel karma is sliding sideways as mine did on a recent trip you may not want expect help from management. They simply do not respond to phone calls or emails. Background: Had two reservations booked at this property for the same dates. One I and neglected to cancel (my fault) and this was the one I was checked in under. The other reservation was booked for me on points by a relative and this is the one I had intended to check in under. When I discovered this (post check-out) I contacted the hotel to see what my options might be. Initially I sent two emails and documentation to the property. (Both came back as undeliverable). 1.Credit my account and move the stay over the reservation booked on points? 2. Credit points back to the spg member and retain the charge and reservation I checked in under? Called the property on 12/17 for assistance. I was assured I would receive a call back in 48 hours, No call back. I called again at the 72 hour mark and was assured I would receive a call back. No call back. I called spg corporate on 12/20 who sent an internal email requesting that I be called back. No call back. I called again the following day 12/21 was told I would receive a call back. No call back. Still seeking (re)solution. That is where things remain. In sum although the rooms are fine, I will not return to or recommend this property to others as attention detail when it comes to customer care does not seem to be of concern. Sometimes when things go a little wrong its the true test. December 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by UPSET! I reserved two hotel rooms over a month ago. I requested joining rooms because we were coming from Mississippi for a bachelorette get together. I was not granted the joining rooms and was told to always contact the hotel directly. WHAT? I did call the hotel directly and told them TWICE that I wanted joining rooms. I was highly upset because this was on me to get this done- I was the matron of honor. Also, I'm pregnant and couldn't really join in on the festivities so I wanted to be able to socialize with the other girls through the joining rooms. Also, I was NEVER told that we could pay for unlimited parking through the hotel. They asked if we wanted valet or self park. I didn't want to pay someone extra to park my car- when the garage was right there. The hotel evidently offered a one time fee different and cheaper than the public parking lot that they used and I used but had to pay a different amount because I was never offered option of the hotels parking rate. I understand the hotel is on Beale Street and it will cost me- but to charge $30 per extra person over two people is a bit ridiculous also and then have to pay for parking too! I was not impressed with this hotel and it's service. They lady on the phone was so nice and accommodating but when I got there- it was totally different. I will never stay there again. If I could get all or some of my money back I would. The rooms I got were 18 rooms away from each other and I requested joining rooms! COME ON! I had to walk all the way down the long hall to even talk or see the other girls. Ridiculous! February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised I was concerned after reading some of the less than stellar reviews but was totally satisfied with our stay. My husband and I were traveling with our adult daughter and we booked two rooms. I was very impressed with the young lady who checked us in and spent the time to find the rooms we requested. She was chatty, funny and accommodating. When we were done, she came around the desk, shook my hand and introduced herself. She also made sure we had whatever coupons we needed for the attractions we planned to visit. Our room was what I'd hoped it would be...clean and quiet. I loved the large bathroom. The only complaints I'd mention would be a lack of hot water when I tried to take a shower at 10:00pm and fingerprints all over the window when we arrived. There was was plenty of hot water each morning when we showered. As an aside...I absolutely despise minibars and snack trays...especially ones that charge you if you move an item. I find the whole concept offensive. We had a very nice stay. I liked that it was a contemporary hotel, that you could self park next door and that it was conveniently located. When we travel, we always prefer privacy over excessive "service", so I really can't comment on that. I do want to mention the wonderful Mr. Hayes who expressed an interest in our plans each day, made sure we had coupons and entertained us with his stories and humor while we waited for our car. He is a great asset to the hotel. I would encourage prospective travelers to not be put off by some of the reviews and give the hotel a chance. I think they'd be pleasantly surprised. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible customer service I had a reservation at this hotel for March 23. I arrived slightly before checking and was told there would be a slight delay due to a large group that was allowed a late checkout and a member of housekeeping being out to attend a funeral. Initially I was ok with this and we went to Beale Street to wait. Went back to the hotel 2.5 hours later at 5:30pm only to find a lobby full of angry guests in my same situation and still no rooms available. Staff in no way tried to compensate anyone for not having rooms available and manager would not make himself available to deal with the situation (he was supposedly cleaning rooms). Finally at 6:30 I was able to get in a room, but many other guests were still waiting in lobby for rooms. I paid a rate of 159 for less then 24 hours use of the facility and due to the poor management an additional 3.5 hours were unavailable for my use. I even called the toll free number to see if something could be done and the rep on the phone was in shock at the situation. She offered to move me to another property, but at that point I had been drinking because I had been hanging out a bar waiting for my room and did not want to drive to another hotel. Restaurant was poorly managed as well, went for breakfast (only because it was included in my rate). Saw many empty tables but was told there was a 10 minute wait after we had already been waiting for 5 minutes for someone to come to hostess stand. I don't think it was a lack of staff because I saw 4 servers and counted only 10 tables in use, that seems like plenty of servers for that few tables at breakfast. Bottom line I have stayed at few Westin or Starwood properties in the past and will definitely avoid them in the future due to this experience. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Major Let Down We recently stayed two nights at the Westin Beale Street Hotel and it was a major disappointment. After researching hotels in the Downtown Memphis area, we decided on the Westin and were really looking forward to the Heavenly Bed and Bath as advertised. Unfortunately, we did not have that experience. We stayed in room 626 and the beds were lumpy, hard, and very uncomfortable. This made for two restless nights for my family. The bathroom floors were dirty and the entire shower walls (tiles) and shower head was moldy. I called front desk to tell them about it and within 10 minutes housekeeping was at the door. The housekeeper that came sprayed and wiped down the tiles and shower head but it was still dirty. Black scum literally fell onto the floor as she sprayed the shower heads. There were also no robes nor trash bags provided (not so much of a problem). It felt as if we were given a “value” room (we usually stay in upscale hotels). I have seen a few similar complaints which lead me to believe that nothing is being done to correct the issues. The hotel itself is not bad. It is modern and conveniently located next to the FedEx Forum and Beale Street. The staff seemed professional and promptly responded to our issue (although it was not fixed). The lobby area and the hallways seemed clean, but for an upscale hotel clean bathrooms and comfortable beds should be top priority. It is almost impossible to overlook the condition of this bathroom before renting it out. I sincerely hope that a member of management would address the issues I have mentioned in this review before losing more business. I hope that my candid review would be used as a training tool. I also have photos of the bathroom after it had been cleaned by housekeeping. April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Staffing This stay was absolutly the worst I have ever had at the Westin Downtown Memphis on Beale.. They had an NBA game going and they were short staffed severely and we had to wait on our room for and hour and forty-five minutes for it to get ready because they still had people and NBA stars checking out at the 3PM in the afternoon...I have to check out at 12 no matter what goes on in this hotel.. and to me this is discrimination.. I may not be the richest person but fair is fair.. They also gave me drink tickets to compensate for the long check in and the fine print said that it only covered to $10.00.. It doesnt cover for gratuity they add or anything more than the ten per drink...I also luckily knew the manager of the place we made dinner reservations and they allowed us to be 1 hr and 30 min late for the reservation... We called the corporate office and they said they could only apply 10,000 STAR points to a room which was equivelant to $35 dollars and we had to set up a STARPOINT account to get the credit.. I believe that the rest of the people who had to wait and myself should receive a comped room or something other that $35.00 credit...The lady was very rude on the phone and the lady at the counter said they could not call and tell you it was goin to be a wait for the room.. I could have showered before I left home adn not missed any of the dinner or the NBA game being played...That is the worst check in i have ever experienced in a hotel or condo situation.. Short staffed for game day was absolutly ridiculous.... It says i have a STAR account on the e mail i received.. No recognition for this...Other that the stay was fine....AND good luck calling the cotact line because they will only do very little for you..Probably will not go back unless someone else is paying March 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location isn't everything It's a shame to have to give this lovely hotel a bad review. We thought with the high rates of this hotel we'd at least get good service. Well, the bartenders at bleu and the valet/bell people were great. But, the main hotel bar and front desk attitudes need a lot of improvement. Not sure what the deal is with the bar but the front desk can somewhat be excused for the predicament they were put in. There were two large parties there and the hotel was booked. We arrived at 1:30 and were turned away early for the 3:00 check in. Then killed some time until 3 but didn't get our room until almost 5. We were one of many. There were suites avaiable but we weren't offered one. We did get plenty of sass and attitude from some of the front desk clerks, particularly the auburn-headed girl. How does this continue to happen at this hotel? Do you not have enough cleaning staff? Pay overtime. Pre-arrange check-ins as 5:00 when booked to capacity, then we know. Give the front desk clerks the power to offer comped drinks or room upgrades so they're not stuck up there waiting for manager approval. Our reservation email noted a 3:00 checkout and extended stay weekend bragging rights. When I called down to confirm, I was informed very rudely that they could not do that in the winter. Yet, there's a sign in the lobby indicating such. I kindly suggested that they take this up with the website support so others don't get misled as I had, she didn't seem to care. I asked her to change my address in the system. and she acted as if she'd taken it but I had to make the change myself today. Location isn't everything. Yes, you may get bookings because of it but your management needs to work on adjusting these bad attitudes and giving the front desk the tools they need when presented with these predicaments. There is no way you should have to check in after 3 when the check in time is 3. January 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time for a Corporate Review OVERALL IMPRESSION: This is a newish and well-located property but service is so seriously flawed that I would not want to return. SPG RECOGNITION: Awful. Despite being a Platinum Ambassador Guest and receiving both an email and a call from our Ambassador prior to arrival, we arrived at 6:00pm and no room had even been blocked - let alone prepped - for us. When I asked about a Platinum Upgrade, I was told there was nothing available due to the presence of a team playing in the nearby Fedex Arena. I pointed out that all categories of room above the standard I had been assigned were showing available on the constantly-up-dated SPG mobile app and miraculously - but begrudgingly - a suite became available. My partner entered at the point from parking the car and from his angle could see the receptionist scowling and muttering. Off to a raucously bad start…and forget about any special requests. THE ROOM: A large room more than a “suite” - with a living area at the foot of the king bed. Pleasantly but spartanly decorated in 90’s Westin style. Huge and well-equipped bathroom with separate shower/tub and much-appreciated double vanity. Great view out over Beale Street. LOCATION: Best part of downtown Memphis literally 2 minutes walk around the corner from Beale Street and a couple of blocks from the famous ‘duck parade.” EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: The young ladies serving at breakfast were all extremely courteous and pleasant. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: At check-in, no mention was made of the option to have a Platinum Breakfast amenity. When I ASKED, I was told curtly it’s “just a continental - probably ain’t gonna be enough.” She was right - with a maximum budget of USD12/per we couldn’t even technically have a bowl of cereal with paying a supplement! Talk about defeating the feel-good factor of the benefit! Hygiene was severely lacking throughout. The glasses in our minibar had lipstick stains on them! When we called for replacements, these were delivered with lipstick stains! We ptsd for Green Choice certain we could clean the room better than them.. when we arrived the bed was so disheveled I though someone had already slept in it! Towels were threadbare. No Westin Executive Lounge is a disgrace. ONE THING TO KNOW: Follow the most recent reviews on this site and check for significant improvement or book elsewhere. January 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unusual Poor Performance I am a Platinum member and have stayed at this property several times for business, usually with excellent results. And first of all, let me say that the folks I met were kind and treated me well. I offer this review as an open letter to Westin Beale to address my concerns, as I did in person. The problems started when I went to hang my clothes and found a golf shirt still in the closet from the last occupant (i guess). No big deal, I've left shirts before. Next came issues with room service, when my first 5 requests were unavailable (I finally asked what non seafood items were available and was given a choice of burger, chicken sandwich or steak frites). This was at 9pm on a Monday night, not a late night or weekend menu. Choice number six came up very late. I had to call to see what had happened, as it was 25 minutes after the promised time. It was not as listed in the menu, as the arugula salad was substituted with sauteed garlic asparagus which was placed on top of the frites (soggy) and my steak was overcooked. The peppercorn sauce was also missing. I was told the restaurant had changed menus but unfortunately my room had not received a new one. I got several different stories about the menu, so I am unsure if there was in fact a new one or not. The room service attendant was kind and apologetic, but obviously running late because she was the only one available. When I went to take a shower the valve was malfunctioning and I had a choice of tepid water or scalding, truly too hot to bear even for a second.. I tried to titrate it but after 4-5 attempts i went with the tepid setting. I went down to chat with the manager the next morning, who was very nice and dealt well with my frustration. Unfortunately, when I returned to the room later that day the shower was now continuously leaking and the parts removed for replacement were left in my shower basket, along with the plastic they were wrapped in. The shirt was still in the closet. My frustration level was up and my patience down. I chose to check out a day early and give the management team a few days to correct these issues. I like this Westin and will return, but I knew it was time to go. Things happen. Sometimes issues pile-on and a team can start so far behind they would not have been able to please me. The manager comped my dinner and this was both kind and appropriate. My caution to fellow travelers is to check on the restaurant menu, as "Blu" is attempting to become a seafood-centric restaurant and is apparently offering only the most basic of selections for those of us with allergies/dietary restrictions. I also urge Starwood and Westin Beale Street to discuss this with the Management of Blu in order to better accommodate all their patrons. June 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel service lacking I made a reservation on November 5, 2013 for the night of December 27, 2013. I paid the normal rate of $199.00, booked with my credit card. Received the email confirmations stating check in time is 3:00pm and check out time is 12:00 pm. All this is great. We arrive at The Westin Memphis Beale Street at 5:15pm. My husband valet parks our truck while I check-in. I’m told our room isn’t ready, it hasn’t been cleaned. We will call you when it’s ready and brushed off. My husband returns from the valet and he speaks to a young man named Bradford, who apologizes, and offers a $30 bar credit. Our plans were to clean up, we had both worked all day, and head to Beale Street, grab a bite to eat before our concert starts at 7pm. These plans are now impossible because we can’t get to our room to get freshened up and change. We decide to use the credit to split a burger and a cup of soup in the bar; yes we have a few drinks. Our tab is $65, outrageous. So now we owe $35, we give our server the card Bradford has given us, he gives it to his supervisor. Now the supervisor seems confused on how to handle this since I actually don’t have a room in the Westin. Remember I haven’t checked in. He makes it seem like it’s our problem. I am finally notified that our room is ready. It’s 6:40 pm and we can’t leave the bar or this supervisor since he can’t figure out how to honor the $30 credit, we’ve already paid him the $35 when we were handed the bill. Finally 10 minutes later we are able to head to our room. Remember we have 7pm concert tickets. We are rushed to get ready and head to the concert and are late getting there. Our room is clean, but doesn’t have any wash cloths; I don’t have the time to call about that. We get ready to leave the next morning at 10:15 we call the valet to have our truck ready. We have a room overlooking the front entrance and can see the valet area. We decide to wait at our window and when we see our truck we’ll head down. We wait and wait. It’s now 10:40 and the maid is knocking on our door to clean the room. I thought check out was 12 noon. We wait 5 more minutes and my husband calls back down to the valet. He is told by a young woman named Nicole, your truck is waiting out front. We can clearly see it isn’t, and go on down anyway. The truck isn’t waiting and when my husband asks to speak to Nicole she’s on a phone call and can’t (won’t) speak with him. Finally at 11:00 our truck shows up. I realize this was a busy weekend for your hotel, but I knew there was a concert and a University of Memphis Basketball game, so I’m quite sure your staff did also. Our family averages about 3 nights a month in hotels each year. I have to say this was the worst hotel service experience our family has ever had. We have stayed at other Starwood properties and I know this is not how they treat their guests. December 30, 2013
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16