The Westin Alexandria

  • 400 Courthouse Square
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314-5700
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 417 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping needs work Overall our stay was nice but the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. Upon check-in, as a part of their green initiative (as in they save green?) they offered us $5 vouchers per day to forgo maid service. Considering the price of the room, I'm sure we paid a lot more than $5/day for the service. We stated that we would like maid service; what we got was rather skimpy. The first day our room was cleaned we came back to find a moist towel on one of the beds. On the next day the coffee maker was not restocked; We had used the two tea bags the night before and neither they nor the stirrers were available. After using one of the glasses in the bathroom I noticed what appeared to be red nail polish on the rim. I left the cover off of the glass and expected it to be swapped out for a clean glass. I looked at the glasses the next day after the room was cleaned and saw the red mark on the glass. Did the cleaning staff just put it back with a new paper cover after just rinsing it? In any case, I stayed away from that glass. On the last day we could not find any shampoo. The old bottle had been discarded and there was not a replacement for it or the conditioner. March 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just Average The room we had was not cleaned properly and needed a great deal of attention. After 4 days, I complained and the Director of Housekeeping came to see us and was "appalled" by the condition of the room. He had it deep cleaned and promised he would come back to check on the room the next day and would leave his card to show he had been there. Guess what? No card left in our room. The room was just thrown together as usual. Bedding just pulled up onto bed, clean towels, wiped down, but that is all. The bed was not what I would call Heavenly. Lumpy, ill fitting mattress pad, not a pillow top mattress, shower curtain stained pink with mildew. We requested blankets instead of the duvets, and they came with hair matted on top. The best people in the hotel were Jessica at the Front Desk, Keven, the consiegere, and Scott in the dining room. March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK Experience, Customer Service Needs Improvement Recently spent three nights at this property during a business trip to DC. Rooms appeared to have been updated relatively recently, and were up to the standards I expect from the Westin. Also had great experiences with the front desk staff. My main issues were with the bar staff in the restaurant, which was somewhat less than friendly, and the valet staff, which was absolutely atrocious and unacceptable. Valet watched us pull up late Sunday night, watched me enter the hotel to retrieve a luggage cart (I walked right by them inside), then watched us unload our entire vehicle, waiting for me to come inside and ask one of them if they could park my vehicle. Had to wait 35 minutes for them to retrieve my vehicle the following morning, despite being guaranteed that it would be pulled around in 15 minutes or less. Looked valet/doormen in the eyes multiple times when entering the hotel with my hands full, and never had one of them offer to open a door for me. For the price of valet parking and with no self-park option, I really expected better and was disappointed that it was not a one-time thing, and that these problems persisted over my entire visit. It is unfortunate that the valet staff marred what would otherwise have been a pleasant experience, as they really left a bad taste in my mouth. This was my first time here, but I'll likely explore other options on my next trip. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Property in Alexandria I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. A group of us came into town to celebrate a friend's graduation and all stayed at this property. The front desk staff was so pleasant upon check in that I spent a few extra minutes getting to know the area and learning local recommendations. I enjoyed the lovely layout of the lobby where I spent a lot of time when waiting on other members of my group. The front desk staff greeting me by name each time they saw me, which I thought was very nice. I ate multiple meals in the restaurant and enjoyed most of them. We had some significant issues with service on our last meal there, but when I expressed the concern to the hotel, they immediately reached out to rectify this situation. It was professional and appreciated. The room was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. Everything appeared in good condition and was working appropriately. The hotel is situated near the Metro and also offers a shuttle to Old Town Alexandria. We all truly enjoyed our stay at this property and I will definitely return. February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just so so I expected more from the Westin, I chose the Westin over the Sheraton in Old town big mistake. The service was so so the room was nice but, our toilet got stopped up, ugh! But, the worst was the valet parking which was terrible it was so unorganized on one occasion they brought us someone else's truck, it was so slow that we actually parked on the street and there was always a long wait for the shuttle so we self parked in the freezing temperatures because the parking attendants were just awful. The pool was so so and hot tub was dirty. I just expected from the Westin. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Stayed here when my apartment flooded. Absolutely fabulous hotel. Beautiful foyer and beautiful exterior, easy access to the metro and they have shuttles too. Attached is an awesome bar called trademark. Those with access to the concierge floor will find a well stocked and maintained escape run by one of the nicest people I have ever met. I had to keep extending my stay and each time I talked to the front desk the knew who I was and what happened. Incredibly polite and helpful, I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area February 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent Service Front desk check-in staff and restaurant/bar staff are great, but there are some major gaps in service. Three times during a 6 night stay I got back to my room after a 12-hour work day to find that the maids had forgotten to make up my room. Once was admittedly my fault as I had mistakenly left my do not disturb sign out. I informed the desk and they were very apologetic (even though it was my fault) and even issued me a voucher for coffee since I didn't have any in my room. The other two times, I had not left the Do Not Disturb sign out, nor made the "Green Choice" to not have my room cleaned, so the cleaning staff must have just truly forgot. Both times I called down to the desk and asked for coffee and towels to be replaced. Once the coffee and towels didn't arrive until the next morning. The next time (on a Saturday) I had to call again in the morning to ask. Two hours later, still nothing. So I gave up. Then as I was checking out around 2pm someone finally showed up with some coffee. Fairly disappointing considering that when I checked in they made a big deal of telling me this was the 25th time I had stayed at that property. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stsy We had an amazing birthday stay at the Alexandria Westin. To our delight and surprise, I mentioned my husband was celebrating his bday. When we returned from our night out, we had a plate of choco covered strawberries, sparkling cider and a beautifully written bday card. It truly completed the evening in a wonderful way! Thank you Westin staff. Truly made our stay the best ever! January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needed an Alexandria hotel for an overnight with family I used my SPG points for both rooms and was able to enjoy my Platinum upgrade to an executive suite for my wife and I. Adjoining room had the kids. Though I have stayed at most properties up in the DC area, this was my first trip to this hotel. Great staff, location and rooms. I'd recommend this hotel for business travel as well. When having breakfast in the concierge area, most of the "regulars" coming in had a great relationship with the staff. Very friendly for all. January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas 2014 stay My husband and I spent four nights at the Westin Alexandria over the Christmas holidays. As always the hotel met our expectations and the staff exceeded them. From the valets to the front desk staff to maintenance and to the staff at Trademark Drink and Eat we had a memorable time. The people who work here are the reason we continue to return. Thank you for making our holiday relaxing and full of fun. January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved my stay My kids and I enjoyed our stay, hotel was nice and clean. Warm hospitality. I called guest services, but could not reach anyone after 6:00am, quite disappointing. December 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missing Cloths My husband and I have always enjoyed staying at the Westin Hotel as often as possible when we travel. This trip to Alexandria was not the best. We arrived in a room where it smelled like mildew and the entire set of linen needed to be changed (including comforter cover) due to yellow stains being on them. When we went to take a bath there were no wash cloths in the bathroom and we had to call for that. The room should have been cleaned better than it was. I will return there, but I think that it wasn't cleaned or serviced as well as it should have been. December 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel I loved everything but the cost to park in the garage and the need to pay for simple WiFI. This should be included in a stay at such a nice hotel November 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Visting Alexandria A comfortable and competent hotel. Breakfast menu is not impressive but lunch and dinner are fine. Wine choice/price average. Comfortable bed and room good except for noise through interconnecting door from families using weekend rates. Staff had no knowledge of non Delta airlines SPG links November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, minor problems The Westin Alexandria is in a great area, it's a beautiful hotel, and has all the amenities you'd want. The staff were wonderful, and they made my stay all that much better. There were a couple of problems, one that the staff could have done something about, the other not. The first? The cordless phone by the bed did not work. It had lights, but none of the call buttons worked. All I got was a little static. I called the desk and requested a replacement three times by phone and once in person, but it was neither repaired or replaced. The phone on the desk worked, but when the wake up call comes, I like to answer it without jumping out of bed. I'm sure this is a unique problem and shouldn't affect anyone else's stay. The other problem? The climate control unit would come, making enough noise to occasionally wake me up, and it stayed noisy (at a lower level...not enough to keep me awake) until it shut off. Oh, one more, and least important problem. The ice machine on the fourth floor by the elevators doesn't work! In spite of all this, I looked forward every day to getting back to the room, watching the nice flat-screen HDTV, and then falling asleep in the super-comfortable bed. I would come back again (and probably will). But not to room 431 until the phone is fixed or replaced! November 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has comfort bedding The room was clean and comfortable - especially the Heavenly pillows and comforters. We were disappointed in dinner at the hotel restaurant. However, the next day at lunch we had a great hamburger and fries there. We also stayed at the Westin in Richmond and enjoyed one of the best meals of our trip. October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience I have been to this hotel 3 times in the last 6 months and I am always treated well and enjoy the facilities. It feels classy and clean. The food during our meetings was great as well. On my last trip, I was in a hurry to leave and packed quickly and forgot to empty a drawer of clothes and left my phone charger. I called when I got home. I received a call back from security within minutes and no more then 10 minutes later, my things were picked up by FedEX on a Friday afternoon at 4:00. I really appreciated that level of responsiveness! October 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always a good rest I love the Westin. This weekend I just needed a place to hang my hat for one night and could have gone cheaper. But sleeping at the Westin is always a good experience. The rooms are clean, the showers are great, and the location worked perfectly. My only complaints: my mini fridge was broken and empty and my wifi (which cost $10 a day) cut out. It was easily reconnected after a phone call but I though the cost was unreasonable as I only used it for an hour or less. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff During a business trip we moved to this hotel after one night in another hotel. The service was excellent. The staff was friendly, helpful, and made our stay excellent. The room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable - typical for a Westin. It was the great staff that put this hotel on top. September 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Hotel The check-in staff was very rude and unhelpful when I asked simple questions. There was little hot water. The breakfast at the restaurant was expensive and not good at all. They charged $5.00 for a cup of coffee. There were two staffers that were good and professional though, Rachel and Amanda. September 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel This hotel was booked for us, so we had no idea what we were getting, but were very pleasantly surprised. Clean beautiful modern rooms, lovely staff, very good shower head (I'm picky!), fantastic bed linens. I forgot my toothbrush, they brought one to my room at 9pm within 5 mn, of my request. Only quibble is pool only open from 4pm -10pm on weekdays and restaurant way overpriced. Highly recommend this hotel. September 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor food service We stayed at the Alexandria, Court House Sq. hotel on 8/22-23/2014. Our main problem was with the hotel's dining facilities. On the morning of the 23rd we attempted to obtain breakfast at the hotel restaurant. On entering, we found no one able to seat us; no wait staff able to help. Many of the tables were covered with food scraps and dirty plates. We walked through the facility looking for a member of the staff, but there was no one to assist us. We returned to the lobby and inquired at the front desk. There we received an apology but no further help. We informed the desk clerk that the restaurant was in chaos! The response was that we should leave the hotel and walk to a neighborhood café--ten minutes away. We were tired and wanted a simple breakfast at the hotel but that proved to be impossible. Quite frankly, I am shocked that a Westin hotel would have allowed such a situation to have happened. Needless to say, it was a terrible experience for myself and my wife. It ruined an otherwise pleasant trip. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed my stay I recently stayed at the Westin Alexandria, VA, for a 3 day business meeting. The room was clean with comfortable beds. I appreciated having internet access, complementary bottles of water, small refrigerator, and nice bedding. The hotel staff were nice and helpful. They provided a map of the area and places to eat in walking distance. While the hotel is not located in the historic part of Old Town Alexandria, the hotel has a complementary shuttle which will drop you off and pick you up if you want to explore King Street. I highly recommend. this hotel. September 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Alexandria Your room service menu was very limited. September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is beautiful, reasonably priced BUT. . . The service, valet and bell hand, was horrible. I waited over 20 minutes to have my car brought out front even after calling from my room ahead of time. As I was trying to check out and attend a reservation I had, the bell hand never showed up to my room to help with my bags and again, I waited 20 minutes for my car. The front desk staff had to assist me with my bags. The service was atrocious. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wESTIN 8/24/14 THE SHOWER FACILITIES ARE NOT THE BEST WITH THE SHOWERHEAD BEING SET SO THAT HEAD, HAIR AND ALL ARE TOTALLY IMMERSED. THE HANDHELD SHOWER IS A SOLID STREAM AND DIFFICULT TO USE. August 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by customer service issues I stayed at this hotel for one night after a long drive. Checked in and fell asleep immediately. Next day when I asked if breakfast was included in my stay, representative at the desk told me I should have asked for it when I was checking in. What I still don't understand is what difference does it make when I ask for it. Its either included or not included. It sounds shady when they say you could have it had you asked for it but its too late now at 8 am August 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by loud air conditioning overall good value for price. not a top of the line hotel August 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by problems 1-when I went to my room, someone else had already checked in there...a bit creepy. 2-My wake up call on day of discharge didn't happen. 3-The courtesy driver, though nice, had me go to a different breakfast restaurant than the front desk recommended. I ended walking to the restaurant I initially wanted. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Overall Is good hotel I like the Westin. I have stayed at this property for years. However, they need improvement on their room service ordering. The person who takes the order always gets it wrong and/or is not accomodating. They do not pay attention to details. You often have to wait longer than communciated due to staff meeting or some issue. The food is often cold when delivered. August 18, 2014
  • 2015-08-04T19:16:30.857Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_417, tr_417
  • loc_en_US, sid_1718, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>