The Westin Alexandria

  • 400 Courthouse Square
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314-5700
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to check in to hotel.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 379 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid for Business Travel I've stayed here ~35 nights over the past 18 months, so I have a wealth of experience at this location. Avoid this hotel if possible. Rooms: Furnishings are normal for a Westin, but there is a surprising amount of room noise. From your bed, you can hear the sounds of pigeons and other guests' bathroom activities and conversations through the vents. Cleanliness: Bathroom towels/cloths frequently go unchanged. Have found clothing items belonging to previous guests in my own room after checking in. Parking: This is abysmal. The facility has a very small parking area, and few valets to service it. I have waited over 40 minutes for my car in the morning. If you call down to request your car and then head downstairs 10m later, the valets frequently are not aware of your request; you must ask them personally, at which point they fetch the vehicle. Executive Lounge: Poorly stocked, and the smell of cigarette smoke is often profound. Restroom: Shower water temperatures vary more than normal due to water usage of other guests. Higher floors experience this to a greater degree than lower floors. April 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing for a Westin property I attempted to discuss with front desk staff my disappointment w/hotel upon check out but they were too busy checking in a VIP that had just arrived; clerk only took my key & never thanked me for my stay or asked any questions. I called Starwood Customer Service Rep after leaving hotel w/many complaints, major being the lack of cleanliness at this hotel; took many photos to document. As a SPG for many years, as well as a meeting planner, I would rate this as the bottom of the Starwood properties. June 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by LOUD! Couldn't sleep for two nights We booked a room for two nights at the Westin hoping to recover from some jet-lag. Both nights, there was a salsa dancing competition downstairs that blasted music into our room until 5am. It went on for two nights. One of the worst, restless hotel stays that we have had due to this. Woke up exhausted and with red eyes. The hotel was gracious and refunded our money for one of the nights, but just wished we had been informed ahead of time that this was going on and we would have gone elsewhere. June 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service needs improvement I've stayed at this hotel 2-3 times before for meetings and I've noticed an overall decline on my most recent stay, specifically in service and cleanliness. I called Service Express to request a few things that I forgot at home (tweezers, curling iron, etc.). There was no answer when I called multiple times so it took several phone calls just to talk to someone and find out they didn't have these things, even though they're included on the list of items available from housekeeping. It seems like service is minimal (even to reach the front desk) between 10 pm-7 am. There were 2 large dark red stains in the carpet in my room--I'm scared to know what those are from. I didn't notify the staff at the hotel about this because again, it was difficult to get anyone to answer the phone (front desk, housekeeping or Service Express). At our meeting, they packed 30+ people at tables where we barely had any elbow room--the space would have been appropriate for maybe 20 people. Other meeting attendees had the same impression of the hotel as me. It's disappointing to see that this hotel has gone downhill over the past 6 months. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never disappointed when I stay here From the minute I walked in, I was made to feel welcome. My room was ready when I arrived, and was as lovely as ever. Rich Casale has a wonderful staff who always go out fo their way to make everyone feel at home. I would not hesitate to stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay. Friendly neighborhood Situated just off Duke street, the Alexandria has a nice neighborhood feel. The staff is very attentive and friendly. The hotel is clean, well maintained and a very nice stay. Excellent location for shopping and historic sites. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Choice I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The room was very nice, outstanding really for the price. It was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. Overall very clean (there were a few minor things that could have been cleaned better). Providing internet at no extra charge would have been good although some other hotels also charge for this so I would not hold it against this one. I would definitely recommend it to others and would stay there again myself. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Facility! Conveniently located to Old Town Alexandria and King Street - a little inconvenient to downtown DC. The Trademark Bar has good food for all 3 meals with breakfast a little pricey. Being a return guest, it would be nice to see the menu change periodically. June 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is o.k., not sure I could recommend I've been in other Westin Hotels and they are very nice hotels with great service. This hotel is ok. Rates are not bad but then they nickel and dime you for everything. You have to pay for internet access, Sunday breakfast buffet is $20.00 and very average, they were unprepared. When food ran out it took them several minutes to bring more out. They claim to have shuttles but only have one so it takes awhile to get a shuttle. Service is terrible in the restaurant. We waited 30 minutes and no one ever came over to take our dinner order. One of the ladies at our table had to go tell the manager we had been there for 30 minutes. It took 15 minutes to get a cocktail. The food is good if you can get it. May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by GREEN PLAN NEEDS BETTER EXPLANATION I accepted the offer at check-in to go green! It really is a great idea. However, a little more explanation of what services I would do without should have been made. I needed the trashcan emptied after 3 days. On the 3rd day of course, I had no coffee for in the morning. Finally, it was my understanding I would receive a $5 voucher for each day I stayed, I stayed 3 nights and received 2. In all fairness, I was told "let us know if you need anything", It just was a pain after a long work day to say, please empty my trash and replenish my coffee! I think there is room for improvement here. The bedding comfort was fantastic; noise levels fine. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too many hidden costs and fees After reviewing my hotel receipt, I discovered to many hidden costs such as Tourism Tax, Lodging Tax and Valet Parking which is charged daily. This is not good business and I will not stay there again. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable! This was our first stay at this Westin. We were NOT disappointed. From the greeter at the door to the staff at the front desk we were welcomed warmly. Our stay was pleasant to say the least, quiet and relaxing. The club floor and lounge was well above expectations. We want to especially thank Ms. Joyce in the club lounge who takes that extra step for everyone. We look forward to our return. September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Updating This hotel needs to be updated. Telephones: There were 2. Nightstand had cordless that didn't work & one on the table that worked. Need USB ports. TV: Sometimes the TV didn't work without being turned off and on several times. Wake-up Call: Doesn't exist. I called twice and both times I didn't receive calls. Most hotels have automated. Give it a try. Food: Conference food was good but they were very slow in refilling stations and conference attendees had to wait in line for food - especially during lunch. Also, passed service - during a reception - was slow. Good: Close to Old Town Alexandria for shopping and tours. Restaurant -Trademark - food and service was good. Staff was good - when needed, with the exception of wake-up calls. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lackluster food Ordered room service...nothing special, a chicken sandwich and chicken caesar salad. Both bland and I've tasted better. Would have expected the food to be much better than what we received..especially this with one dessert and two diet cokes was $70. Won't make that mistake again. Hotel very nice...food needs improvement. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Stay Very nice hotel strategically located June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No service, Nickel and Dime Because this was a Westin Hotel, the room was comfortable and clean, but that's where the positives end. Let's start with the parking. $25 a day to park our car seemed a little steep, and when the valets got cars confused and didn't seem to know whose car was whose it just didn't seem worth it. Forget calling the front desk to have the valets bring your car - or calling the front desk for any reason whatsoever - I called three times during my two night stay and never got answered - it just rang off the hook. The problem was so bad that I ended up having to take my own bags down to my car because the desk could not be bothered to pick up so that I could get a bellhop to my room. When you add to all this that we had to pay $20 for internet service, which was free at all the other hotels we stayed at on our trip (some of which were half the price and just as nice if not nicer), it just didn't add up to a good experience. I complained to the concierge on my way out about all of these issues - as I said to him, it's just not what I'm used to at a quality hotel. Finally, the pool hours were ridiculous. The pool and hot tub were only open from 4 pm to 10 pm. Most people are at other places during those hours. June 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An awesome hotel and staff! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this 5 star hotel. The entire staff was courtesy and professional. I highly recommend that this is the place to stay when you are in beautiful Alexandria Virginia. June 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 star could have been 5.... Arrival and check-in went smoothly. Staff was very welcoming and efficient. Room was great except could not get it cool enough even though thermostat said 68deg. Meal and beverages for the wedding reception were quite good. Lunch was good but quite pricey for a sandwich and appetizer. Check-out was the only negative experience as it took 25 mins to get a baggage cart to the room. Car was brought up promptly every time we called ahead for it. Remaining problem is that my CC was billed about $60 more than my final invoice from the hotel. called yesterday and no one has called back. will try again shortly to get this resolved. Overall a 4-star stay. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by June 7 Wedding We hosted our daughters wedding ceremony and reception at the Westin this past weekend. The event was perfect. The venue, the rooms, and the staff could not have been better. David, the Catering Account Director, was FABULOUS! I would highly recommend this venue to anyone interested in hosting a wedding. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Were Outstanding Pleasantly surprised by professional, friendly, helpful staff. Seemed to be genuinely interested in providing us with a good time. Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Free shuttle service. Convenience of bar and restaurant in hotel, as well as pool and exercise room. I'm a fanatic for cleanliness, and this hotel was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Everyone had a great attitude. Would highly recommend to all. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Location. We stayed one night, using a AAA rate that included parking. The hotel is fairly new and very nice. The staff is friendly, responsive and helpful(we stored bikes for one of our sight-seeing days.) We also procured recommendations and directions from the front desk staff. The location is great - slightly away from the crowds and clamor of Olde Town Alexandria, but close enough to get there easily. Tons of bike trails and close to either DC or Mt. Vernon. Would highly recommend. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay! We are Starwood Gold and booked a king room for 2 nights for points and cash, which made this stay affordable! We were upgraded to club level when when we checked in which was wonderful as it included breakfast and internet. The hotel is located in a quiet area, which is good! We took the free shuttle for dinner, but we discovered we were not that far from King Street and walked the area. The room was roomy, the bed was very comfortable and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. The coffee is killer strong! Snacks in the late afternoon were fancy...bacon wrapped scallops. I would stay here again. October 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I like to stay at this hotel when in the DC area. As usual, my stay was comfortable and attention to guest needs was very nice, as usual. WOuld like to particularly thank Joyce in the Club Room (AM shift) for helping me when I had to make a 6:30 AM metro, meaning I couldn't take advantage of the continental breakfast. She was very helpful by providing me with several items to take with me, thereby fortifying me for my morning meeting. Thanks Joyce. I'd like to also ask that guests may benefit from having the shuttle leave earlier, and being more responsive to calls for a pick-up from the metro. However, I look forward to staying here on my next trip to DC. August 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another good time at a Westin hotel Consistently friendly staff at every Westin I have stayed at. Truly those beds are comfortable. I loved the free Internet and water that comes with SPG membership. If I had not just stayed at a Westin in Sydney with a truly spectacular breakfast, I would have been totally happy but the restaurant was under renovation and we were in a different room with fewer resources with which to serve breakfast. Otherwise no complaints although I was't 100% sure that the room was completely turned over since the shampoo and conditioner were already in the shower when I arrived (hmm?). I tried not to dwell on it -- the bathroom seemed clean. September 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Room, Uncomfortable Beds, Poor Valet When I was beginning to get my stuff ready for check out, I do my scan for looking around the room for any items I may leave behind. I noticed under the bed there was a used condom and wrapper. Gross! Then I asked the front desk to get my car from valet after checking out and they said to find the man on the street. There wasn’t one working and it took 35mins to locate someone to find my car. It was inconvenient for my friend waiting at a table for lunch for a half hour. After a two day stay my friend and mine backs ached from the bed being way too squishy. I’m not sure if I’d stay at another Westin after this Uncleanly, Uncomfortable, and Inconvenient stay! December 24, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible experience We had prepaid for this hotel and at check in they wanted to charge us $700.. After we told them we had already paid for it they apologized; they offered us two options, spg points or wifi, we chose wifi, but later they wanted to charges us for wifi. At check out the valet could not find our car keys, they lost them. What a mess this experience June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Stay We rented two connecting rooms. The rooms were comfortable and clean. My wife and I stayed in a King Bedroom, and our kids stays in a Double. We came to visit DC and see the sights. It is a very quick 10 minute ride to DC. I have seen complaints about the parking cost, but we were able obtain a free parking pass from the Alexandria Visitors Office and just parked on the street within a 100-200 feet of the hotel entrance. It was actually cheaper and quicker for us to drive into DC and pay for parking than take the Metro. Overall, I believe the 3.8 hotel rating does not do the hotel justice, its deserves a higher rating. December 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by POOL not open until late/lumpy bed The hotel itself is quite nice. Restaurant is good, not exceptional but has value and good food. Staff is SUPERIOR - just friendly, there for you, and well informed. The bed was lumpy and the pillows overstuffed ...couldn't sleep. VERY disappointed the pool isn't open until 4:00pm - I like a MORNING swim before breakfast. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Alexandria was wonderful! I attended a weekend wedding at the Westin Alexandria and would like to return for a weekend on my own. The food was delicious, service outstanding, room cozy and located near shops on King St. and historic and cultural sites. The hotel staff was friendly and made you feel like their top priority. In fact, I lost an earring on my way to the hotel and the Westin concierge offered some ideas and the Westin shuttle driver (Solomon) lead me to a few shops waited for me while I found the perfect earrings and made it back right in time for the family wedding photos. Now this is exceptional customer service - thanks Westin! November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Workshop stay Very good. Silent, clean, very good for jet lag accommodation. Comfortable and well-functioning workshop facilities. Take profit and make customers know the easy access to the wonderful jogging trail on Potomac (Mt Vernon trail)! June 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>