The Westin Alexandria

  • 400 Courthouse Square
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314-5700
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to check in to hotel.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 363 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks to Dag I'm not sure if that is his real name or not but Dag was very helpful and courteous concerning a promotion issue I was having. This place is within walking distance to a Thai restaurant so you can eat there or call them to have them walk it to the front lobby. I had their french toast at their restaurant in the morning and that was really delicious! Oh I also parked just outside of the hotel (on the street) for free so that was pretty sweet. Thanks to Dag I was able to stay in a room where there was a cycling bicycle inside the actual room so I was able to workout in the comfort of my room. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff There are a lot of positives about this hotel but the courtesy and professionalism of the staff eclipses them all. Everyone takes the extra steps which pushes the service from good to great. Congratulations to the management for creating the atmosphere which inspires them to do so. Rooms are spacious and clean. The food in the club is of good quality and seems to rotate fairly often. There aren't a lot of restaurants in the immediate area open in the evening but the free shuttle service will take you to other areas as well as to the King Street Metro (an 8 minute walk if you're inclined). January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extended weekend visitor with wheel chair I stayed for a Thursday thru Monday along with a wheel chair bound friend and was pleased the entire time. The staff is the hotel's finest asset as they were always anxious to be helpful and congenial. The pool had just the right water temperature (not cool but not bath water either) along with a comfortably warm pool room. There was also a motorized lift for both the pool and the hot tub which was operated easily by the life guard after I helped my friend from the wheel chair into the pool lift seat. It would have been better to have a larger pool, so we were a little disappointed by it's small size. September 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Business Practices I was there for a conference and the reservation was made by the University, which the Westin was to direct bill. When I checked in I was asked for my credit card for "incidentals". When I checked out my card was charged for the full amount of the bill. The business staff has been unresponsive to help work this out with either myself or the University. I am very unhappy with this situation. April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok Pool was available for only a few hours a day. I couldn't get my swim in before my meeting at 9am. Room was comfortable until... On the one hand it was good to have the option to reuse sheets & towels another day, on another hand agreeing to not replacing sheets & towels also meant that the trash is not picked up and that soap & shampoo is not replenished. After 3 nights, the room was overwhelmed with trash and smelled stale. I also received a charge to my credit card after the first night for an amount significantly greater than the cost incurred for one night. Still trying to figure out the bill. March 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Overall the stay was below average. I am always disappointed when I stay at a top-rate hotel and get nickeled and dime for internet service. It should be included and not just in the lobby. This is unacceptable and quick insulting. I ordered room service ($25 dollars for a burger). It was over cooked, they forgot to put cheese on it and the fries arrive 10 mInutes after the burger. What a waste. Finally the water pressure in the bathroom sink was so low that I had to wash my face in the tub. I will not return to this location. I generally like staying in a Westin. This was not a good experience November 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst night of sleep Despite being excited for the heavenly bed, my night at the Westin in Alexandria was one of my worst nights of sleep at a hotel. The thermostat was broken, so we couldn't figure out how to properly control the temperature in the room, but didn't discover this until we were back in the room after a wedding. As such, we were cold, then hot, etc. Very uncomfortable. The front desk couldn't offer much at that time of night other than telling me someone would fix it first thing in the morning, which didn't help me at all. They didn't offer to move us to another room either. On a side note, the valet staff was slow and unresponsive. Not impressed at all and I won't be back. I love Westin hotels, so this is quite disappointing. February 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, comfortable, friendly. A nice hotel. Conveniently located. Very comfortable room, probably best sleep I've had in a hotel in the past year. Staff were all very friendly. Comfortable chairs and tables in the meeting rooms. The A/C generated too much white noise so we had to speak up, but also meant side conversations didn't bother anyone else. Staff was helpful in recommending local attractions, bars, restaurants. The whole area is very walkable with plenty of options within a few blocks. My only complaint is the Trademark restaurant was understaffed at times, particularly in the morning. Service could be slow. Also, at least twice the server brought back the wrong change. One fixed it right away, the other one never came back so I assumed she took out for her tip already. March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best deal in DC area I recently stayed at the Westin Alexandria from 1/2-1/5 this year. This was my second time staying here. I had come once before on business and was impressed enough to stay again. The Hotel is clean, and is ideally located, as it is near Old Town Alexandria, and close to the Metro Station so access to DC is simple. I was somewhat disappointed in the amenities, as the gift shop was open for less than an hour over 3 days, and there were no vending machines, forcing me to purchase water and sodas through room service at an average of $7.50 apiece. But other than that, I had a great experience. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mostly awesome - then awesome Our trip was mostly great... Apparently, your boiler had an issue, and we had brown-water showers to contend with. We brought it up with Robin and she ROCKED. She took elite care of us and put a big smile on our face and made our weekend FANTASTIC. Cheers, Markus Allen April 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend with a qualifier I stay at this hotel regularly and while the staff is very helpulf and friendly, the housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. I've found dirty bathrooms my last three stays - hair, bits of trash and streaked mirrors - and the hallway outside my room wasn't vacuumed for at least three days. I had to step over the same trash each evening. Upgrades still seem very difficult to get despite the Platinum/Ambassador status and I've been given double beds or accessible rooms on several occasions - can't even get a king size room. March 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurant hours I stay at the hotel every time I go to meetings at the US Patent Office. However, it is very disappointing that the restaurant and bar close at 11 pm. Coming from the west coast I frequently arrive after 10 pm and am hungry. I was barely able order a quick salad before last call, and even if you get your order in, they kick everyone out at 11. Most hotels of this caliber have restaurants or bars open late to accommodate the many travelers arriving late (not to mention the locals). Even if the main restaurant must close, at least keep the bar open until midnight with a limited menu. October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful home away from home Visiting D.C for a few days we chose a hotel close by. The Westin Alexandria was a wonderful choice. The staff very courteous and friendly. The Trademark restaurant was incredible with lots choices, and a kids menu big plus for us. Took a dip in the heated pool and worked out in the gym,which was very clean, and offered everything you could imagine. We loved everything about our stay..wish I could of stayed longer. I only wished I had asked what the wonderful fragrance was I smelled in the lobby ..it was delightful. I definitely hope I have the pleasure of staying again. 5 stars!! April 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Surroundings My first stay @ this property, stayed @ other Westin's. Like: located in beautiful area, rooms are big & comfortable, staff are friendly, helpful (Robin & Vanessa) were great. Overall, hotel is great. Power Outage one night, handled great by night staff. Not great/need improvement: not acknowledged as SPG Member, I had to ask about my "gold" benefits. Parking was included, but was told to park on street when I came back late. An event was held @ hotel, not enough valet to accommodate hotel guests & event attendees. Asked for my car,valet was rude, too busy to listen to me, had to ask front desk to call for car. Suggestion: remember to inform guests about there benefits. Be aware of rates & whats included. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior customer service As a Platinum member I appreciate excellent customer service and the Westin Alexandria certainly delivers. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful and the room service is top notch. Everyone seems to be happy to be working there. I especially give kudos to the Executive Lounge service. Joyce runs an efficient operation. The area is clean, I never worry about cross contamination or sharing anyone else's germs and I very much appreciate that! Although very busy Joyce manages to find time to check in with her customers to make sure everything is to their satisfaction. I manage people for a living so I know the value of this kind of employee; wish I had 10 Joyce's working in my company! I will keep coming back to the Westin Alexandria (50 times plus a year so far) thanks to people like her. People make a company great and she is a gem. And when she is not there, her back up, Angelica, is equally excellent. April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Your Green Program I would like to suggest that you explain the Green Program to your guests when they check in. I would not expect a Green Program to mean that I receive no services while I am a guest. Not having my bed made or the bathroom cleaned is not green; that is a cost cutting measure for the hotel and adds to your bottom line, but does not do anything for the environment. This was not made clear to me at check-in. I heard several people in my group also mention the same thing. For the price of the rooms, I expect maid service and to have the bathroom amenities replenished when empty. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel No complaints here; I was a little leery about staying here after ready some of the reviews. This is a virtually new Westin, and all of my SPG expectations were exceeded, but I'd recommend parking on the street (free at night) to avoid outrageous garage fees. Better yet, take the Metro, which has a convenient stop nearby. Platinum provides breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which would otherwise be very, very expensive. Can't complain about "free", but it was very good to boot. Fitness facilities and pool are very nice, too. Didn't use club lounge as it's closed on weekends. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service/room, appropriate pricing The staff was fantastic. Jay, the concierge, was more than accommodating and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The location of the hotel was much more convenient than I expected. The valet service, while convenient, was my only option. My only gripe about my stay was the lack of parking available. I could not find a place to keep my car overnight, so I had to use valet parking for an additional, unexpected charge. That should be noted before reserving a room. I would, however, stay there again. The pool/jacuzzi could use an update as well. January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mixed bag This is a very nice hotel with lots of comfort and excellent food. The customer service piece has something to be desired with the slowest check-in, getting the reservation incorrect (and thereby locking me out of my room the last day) and a valet service that is slow.l April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refugees from Sandy My husband and I fled our unheated house after the hurricane to stay at the Westin in Alexandria. They were flexible about our check out -- which was appreciated. Room was as expected and the gym was really good. We appreciated the jacuzzi. They were still working the kinks out of the new restaurant format and there aren't too many healthy choices -- but that's quibbling with so many great places to eat on King Street. The location isn't the best for tourists -- but perfect for people with business with the US Trademark and Patent Office, which engulfs the neighborhood. November 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience at Westin Alexandria Reception staff were especially helpful, friendly, professional. They made our vacation even better then we had planned. April 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff! This hotel has great staff that anticipates every need. There was noise coming through a vent from another room that prevented full sleep and I never received the $5 or500 points for going green with housekeeping. However, the club floor was wonderful and the food excellent. Great location too. April 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed While we have stayed at this property before and loved it - this time our experience wasn't as good. The heating/air conditioning unit wasn't working the first night we were there so we reported the issue to the front desk the following morning as we left for the day. When we reutrned after being gone for nearly 7 hours we found the same problem existed. The maintenance man acted like it was our fault until he couldn't make the unit work right either. We were finally given another room. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My weekend stay When we arrived at the Westin after a long drive we felt very comfortable when we arrived. The atmosphere and the help just made us feel very welcomed! John at the desk was very courteous and helpful while we waited for a room to be ready. While we were waiting we went to the bar and was greeted with a warm welcoming smile from Wanda! Wanda was very nice and did everything she could to make our stay a pleasant one! Wanda was helpful in giving us any information we needed about the hotel and the local area! The Westin is very fortunate to have an employee like Wanda!! December 6, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wi-fi fees are a deal-breaker For the cost of $229 per night, for a business conference, wi-fi should be an included amenity. My business office is on a small budget. Paying for hotel wi-fi is not fiscal responsibility on my part. While my profession does not require me to have 24/7 internet access, it sure would make my travel schedule more accommodating to have wi-fi access to check in on things. Or to do follow-up research on people I network with. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs leadership I was disappointed; My room was in need of repair a large picture had been removed but the fasteners were left and no attempt to clean the wall was made. I could understand the bar and resturant was closed for repairs but the temporary breakfast and bar needed help. I went in the first morning and found a buffet I asked if I could have 2 scrambled eggs the hostess said yes I had 2 eggs butr was charged for the buffet. $16 + $3.96 Service charge + tax I asked and she said I could eat all I wanted but I had to pay for the whole buffet? I was not satisfied but left. August 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice place great location TERRIBLE SERVICE No vending machines in the hotel (walk two blocks to 7-11 at 11:30pm for something cold to drink, or order room service). Not enough towels (you get two). Ask for more and you get the towels but you also DON'T get your coffee bar restocked, your bath mat reserviced(don't know how they cleaned the bathroom floor) or the ice bucket and water reserviced. Ask the front desk if they can help and the bath mat or ice and water are still not reserviced and the coffee bar supplies just thrown in a bag on the dresser. But they "are so sorry and will take care of it." July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great accommodations The staff is very courteous and pleasing, willing to assist when needed, and very accommodating. I recommend this hotel for potential visiting families and individuals. Close to monorails, and King Street for dinning and entertainment. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breakfast was high quality with healthy choices. Breakfast was excellent.. Staff was helpful and courteous. Workout room could use an extra workout bicycle. Weight equipment very good and pool / jacuzzi were also excellent. Thanks for comfortable stay. April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by poor service Hotel was up to Westin standard in its cleanness and amenities but the service was substandard. It took us 2 hours to get the luggages to our room. We initially waited for 15 minutes then decided to go get dinner. The luggage still had not arrived when we returned. When we called the front desk to inquire, they asked us "are you ready for your luggage now?" We also asked for extra towels upon return from dinner. It took over an hour for them to deliver to our room. The next morning we went out to sight-see. When we returned by 2PM the room was still not cleaned. When calling the hotel manager, no explanations or apologies. Not the usual treatment that we're accustomed to with the Westin brand. Will not be staying at this location again. April 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>