The Westin Alexandria

  • 400 Courthouse Square
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314-5700
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 419 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK overall, not great. Generally good but not great. The gym equipment was older and guests were frustrated by waiting for treadmills / elliptical. Very little room for anything else. I heard a number of complaints. Room view nice. Front desk understaffed at several points and lines long. Asked for a half hour extension on check out "Well you know how busy we are. Absolutely no more than 30 minutes. Make sure you..." I would have preferred a nicer 'sorry, we just can't today... than having to listen to how much I was putting them out. On another occation, I asked for a map and was told "well, it's just around the corner" - true enough, I just needed a little orienting to feel comfortable. So, overall ok but not great service. Room service very prompt and very, very nice, April 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid for Business Travel I've stayed here ~35 nights over the past 18 months, so I have a wealth of experience at this location. Avoid this hotel if possible. Rooms: Furnishings are normal for a Westin, but there is a surprising amount of room noise. From your bed, you can hear the sounds of pigeons and other guests' bathroom activities and conversations through the vents. Cleanliness: Bathroom towels/cloths frequently go unchanged. Have found clothing items belonging to previous guests in my own room after checking in. Parking: This is abysmal. The facility has a very small parking area, and few valets to service it. I have waited over 40 minutes for my car in the morning. If you call down to request your car and then head downstairs 10m later, the valets frequently are not aware of your request; you must ask them personally, at which point they fetch the vehicle. Executive Lounge: Poorly stocked, and the smell of cigarette smoke is often profound. Restroom: Shower water temperatures vary more than normal due to water usage of other guests. Higher floors experience this to a greater degree than lower floors. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway Service was unbelievable. Greeted at the desk to check in and was treated like they really appreciated me being there. My only complaint would be that when we were told about the complimentary Hors d'oeuvres we got there and they had shut down an hour early and we got 4 sodas and that was all. Aside from that the service was impeccable and all the people were SUPER!!! April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mostly awesome - then awesome Our trip was mostly great... Apparently, your boiler had an issue, and we had brown-water showers to contend with. We brought it up with Robin and she ROCKED. She took elite care of us and put a big smile on our face and made our weekend FANTASTIC. Cheers, Markus Allen April 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff Once again our stay at The Westin Alexandria offered us a bit o much needed R&R. It seems like every time I review this location it is about the people who choose to work here. There are many reasons why this is so. The following staff members were quick to make certain our stay was as terrific as it could possibly be. They go out of their way to keep us happy and we will continue to return anytime we are in the area! Kudos to the Front Desk: Robin, Dag, John and Adrian; and to the staff of Trademark Eat & Drink: Chris, Heather, Katrina and Barco. April 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Business Practices I was there for a conference and the reservation was made by the University, which the Westin was to direct bill. When I checked in I was asked for my credit card for "incidentals". When I checked out my card was charged for the full amount of the bill. The business staff has been unresponsive to help work this out with either myself or the University. I am very unhappy with this situation. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience at Westin Alexandria Reception staff were especially helpful, friendly, professional. They made our vacation even better then we had planned. April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mixed bag This is a very nice hotel with lots of comfort and excellent food. The customer service piece has something to be desired with the slowest check-in, getting the reservation incorrect (and thereby locking me out of my room the last day) and a valet service that is slow.l April 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff! This hotel has great staff that anticipates every need. There was noise coming through a vent from another room that prevented full sleep and I never received the $5 or500 points for going green with housekeeping. However, the club floor was wonderful and the food excellent. Great location too. April 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by GREEN PLAN NEEDS BETTER EXPLANATION I accepted the offer at check-in to go green! It really is a great idea. However, a little more explanation of what services I would do without should have been made. I needed the trashcan emptied after 3 days. On the 3rd day of course, I had no coffee for in the morning. Finally, it was my understanding I would receive a $5 voucher for each day I stayed, I stayed 3 nights and received 2. In all fairness, I was told "let us know if you need anything", It just was a pain after a long work day to say, please empty my trash and replenish my coffee! I think there is room for improvement here. The bedding comfort was fantastic; noise levels fine. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great accommodations The staff is very courteous and pleasing, willing to assist when needed, and very accommodating. I recommend this hotel for potential visiting families and individuals. Close to monorails, and King Street for dinning and entertainment. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior customer service As a Platinum member I appreciate excellent customer service and the Westin Alexandria certainly delivers. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful and the room service is top notch. Everyone seems to be happy to be working there. I especially give kudos to the Executive Lounge service. Joyce runs an efficient operation. The area is clean, I never worry about cross contamination or sharing anyone else's germs and I very much appreciate that! Although very busy Joyce manages to find time to check in with her customers to make sure everything is to their satisfaction. I manage people for a living so I know the value of this kind of employee; wish I had 10 Joyce's working in my company! I will keep coming back to the Westin Alexandria (50 times plus a year so far) thanks to people like her. People make a company great and she is a gem. And when she is not there, her back up, Angelica, is equally excellent. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breakfast was high quality with healthy choices. Breakfast was excellent.. Staff was helpful and courteous. Workout room could use an extra workout bicycle. Weight equipment very good and pool / jacuzzi were also excellent. Thanks for comfortable stay. April 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed-Holes in sheets and leaky stool My husband and I were in Washington DC on business/site seeing. The Westin Alexandria was a great location and I must admit the cost was a little more than we usually pay, so I was expecting a great room. Check-in was great and we were able to get in early. The room was small, as when sitting at the desk there was not space to walk around the end of the bed. Our view from the window was a view of a roof. We ate and had drinks at the restaurant - it was great. The shower was awesome. When going to bed we discovered that there were holes in the sheets. One as big as a quarter-I have pictures if needed. Then we realized that the stool was leaking and it would pump in water approximately EVERY 5 minutes (we timed it) - all night long - 24 hours a day. Not a very enjoyable night. Informed the front desk the next morning. They apologized and said they would fix everything, but offered nothing for the fact that the stool constantly woke us up and they had given us sheets with holes. I finally asked if there was some sort of compensation for this. The gentleman then offered us breakfast, which we accepted. Breakfast was great. Night two, no holes but the stool had not been fixed. Every five minutes it pumped water. Checked out and informed them the stool had not been fixed. The supervisor then talked to us and apologized. He said that he did not work the day before and noted that we had been provided breakfast the day before for the problems. He implied that he didn't see the need for further compensation, and asked if we didn't agree. At this point I felt intimidated and didn't want to argue so I decided to end the conversation, just accepting the situation. I did tell him it was disappointing that they could have at least told us it was not fixed and then maybe could have offered to move us to a different room. But nothing - they took no accountability - no responsibility for the second night. We left very disappointed ...... April 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay Heather at the bar and Adrian at the front desk were amazing!! Great customer service professionals. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great spot Clean vibrant and. Nice, kind people March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by stay every month Great hotel, staff, rooms. Only major disappointment was when you turned a great dining room sometime ago into the pub style restaurant . We now use the great places in old town. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a very nice ambiance Peaceful and very nice food, conveniently located for the patent office. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My hotel of choice in DC Always a nice stay. The staff is friendly and efficient. Joyce, the Club Lounge attendant is fantastic. She keeps the standards and cleanliness of the lounge, in my opinion, second to none. She should be commended. I will be back. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wi-fi fees are a deal-breaker For the cost of $229 per night, for a business conference, wi-fi should be an included amenity. My business office is on a small budget. Paying for hotel wi-fi is not fiscal responsibility on my part. While my profession does not require me to have 24/7 internet access, it sure would make my travel schedule more accommodating to have wi-fi access to check in on things. Or to do follow-up research on people I network with. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff Out of all the Sheraton properties I have stayed at, this hotel has the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Everyone seemed genuinely happy to help in whatever way they could. I will definitely stay here again. March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude!!!! Appearance of the hotel was average for a Westin. Nothing out of the ordinary but also nothing to complain about. When I went to my room it was not cleaned yet – no big deal this happens every once in a while and simple went to desk to get a new room. I also realized they had not asked me about the check-in platinum bonus and so I told them I wanted the points. Again NO issue there. Here is where it goes downhill. I stop by the SPG lounge for a snack and apparently when cut a piece of brie cheese my hand touched it. I used the knife but it slid and I redirected the cheese with my finger. I know how to eat in public and I did not grab the cheese, I simply held it in place while I cut. I also “took” the piece that my finger touched. Trust me if it happened on Dowton Abbey I doubt it would have bothered Mr. Carson, but it bothered the women running the room and she laid into me from across the room. Started lecturing me on touching food. I put the cheese on my plate, put the plate down and left the room. Next morning, I go to the gym and workout. On way back to room I stop by the lounge for a cup of coffee and yogurt to go. I have gym small white towel draped over my shoulder (something I’ve done a 1,000 times). As I’m pouring the coffee I hear that same lovely voice instructing me (again in front of the whole room) that I could not bring my gym towel into the lounge. I said I’m only getting coffee and the towel is on my shoulder – I honestly have no idea what was wrong in this scenario. If I wanted to get grief I could go to my mother in law’s – but I don’t need to deal with being talked to this way when I’m paying $200-$300 for a room. I stay at SPG 50-60 nights per year and have for 10+ years, never met such a rude person in a customer facing role. I WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN. I call for my car and they tell me 20-25 minutes for my car. Would have been nice if they had not quoted 10 minutes when I dropped the car off…. March 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, comfortable, friendly. A nice hotel. Conveniently located. Very comfortable room, probably best sleep I've had in a hotel in the past year. Staff were all very friendly. Comfortable chairs and tables in the meeting rooms. The A/C generated too much white noise so we had to speak up, but also meant side conversations didn't bother anyone else. Staff was helpful in recommending local attractions, bars, restaurants. The whole area is very walkable with plenty of options within a few blocks. My only complaint is the Trademark restaurant was understaffed at times, particularly in the morning. Service could be slow. Also, at least twice the server brought back the wrong change. One fixed it right away, the other one never came back so I assumed she took out for her tip already. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience I was very impressed by the Westin Alexandria. From the appearance of the lobby to the cleanliness of our room, I was completely satisfied! The staff was incredible! They went out of their way to make sure my stay was a top notch experience. They were very friendly and efficient! I will definitely stay at this property again when I come back to the DC area! March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel amenities I thought making available to travelers top branded exercise clothes and shoes was over the top and makes traveling less cumbersome not having to pack exercise clothes for a very reasonable 5. It would be great if hotels had in rooms normal grooming items with the shampoo etc like tooth paste, tooth brush, razor, shaving cream, no scented deodorant so packing can be lighter. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed While we have stayed at this property before and loved it - this time our experience wasn't as good. The heating/air conditioning unit wasn't working the first night we were there so we reported the issue to the front desk the following morning as we left for the day. When we reutrned after being gone for nearly 7 hours we found the same problem existed. The maintenance man acted like it was our fault until he couldn't make the unit work right either. We were finally given another room. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend with a qualifier I stay at this hotel regularly and while the staff is very helpulf and friendly, the housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. I've found dirty bathrooms my last three stays - hair, bits of trash and streaked mirrors - and the hallway outside my room wasn't vacuumed for at least three days. I had to step over the same trash each evening. Upgrades still seem very difficult to get despite the Platinum/Ambassador status and I've been given double beds or accessible rooms on several occasions - can't even get a king size room. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great place to stay I have stayed at this hotel for business and personal purposes and I have always been satisfied with the quality of the hotel and the attention and help of the staff. i strongly recommend this hotel. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by march 2014 ok but housekeeping slipped up on a few things. March 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing stay This is the fourth time I have stayed at this hotel and this time I experienced significant problems. First, there was no hot water at 7AM!!!! How can a hotel not have hot water for its guests who need a shower? I called down and they said to wait 10 minutes. The hot water did come on in about 15 minutes, which was too late. This is, simply, unacceptable. When I checked out and mentioned it again, the agent said "let me see what I can do" and he did nothing on the bill. Second, at checkin they did not ask about my Starwood status (as they had previously). I assumed it was in my account, since I have stayed here several times before. However, when I got home I found that they had not entered it, and I was unable to request the points in the website because there is a $500 ceiling for those claims. What??????? This is TOO MUCH TROUBLE. March 5, 2014
  • 2015-08-30T08:59:20.425-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_419, tr_419
  • loc_en_US, sid_1718, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>