The Westin Chicago Northwest

  • 400 Park Blvd.
  • Itasca,
  • Illinois
  • 60143
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 452 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not What We Expected As an SPG Gold Preferred member with Starwood, what greeted us at the Westin Chicago Northwest was a little overwhelming. #1 A MagCom convention was in progress, which brought a throng of loud, boisterous girls screaming for their heroes. That was understandable, but as the night got longer, these kids were running rampant throughout the hotel, We called security to keep the kids away from our door. Some of the kids were up most of the night. I don't believe security was ready for this challenge. 2. We checked in at 3, and our 2 rooms were not ready. One of them opened up, and we stored all of our luggage in one. We went to a nearby shopping mall; it wasn't until 6 PM that the hotel contacted us that our second room was ready. We've never had to wait that long for a room. Fortunately, the fact that we were gone from the hotel made that issue pretty moot. 3. When we got home, I received an email informing me that my credit card was charged almost $250 for a meal at Shula's. We were never there, and I can say that when I complained to the hotel about that issue, it was quickly rectified to our satisfaction. As a Gold Card Preferred member for over 10 years, we are used to a floor of our own with other SPG members living in "peace and harmony." I just believe that the hotel just may have bit off more than it could chew with this past weekend March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by always traveling Very comfortable room in a location near everything. Fantastic food at Shula's too. October 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overnight Getaway Overall it was a good stay. My wife and I had a corner suite. The carpet in the hallways and in the room seems a little worn and could use an upgrade. I was surprised that the suite didn't have a fridge or a microwave.We wanted to bring food back to the room to further enjoy the suite, but were unable to because of the lack of these items. Other hotels that have regular rooms sometimes include those items. i would recommend that they are included in the suite in the future. Also, the tub did drain slow and while taking a shower I was standing in almost ankle deep water. This needs to be corrected too. The view was great and overall we had a nice time. February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Kane One thought: I'm handicapped somewhat and using the pool was diminished only by the lack of a mens' room simply and close by for guests. Perhaps a limited health club membership for use of the restroom? October 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad food We ordered room service every morning and everyday there seemed to be a problem with the order. Also, when the server would bring our food to our room there was never a table that they brought that they could put the food on. I would always ask them to get one. When we had dinner in the room the food was cold. They also did not lay out the food. They would just leave it on the trey for us to do ourselves. One day I asked if they could carmalize my bananas formy oatmeal they called me back and said the kitchen said they couldn't do it. The man that cleaned our room was fabulous. His name was Jesus and he was on the 11th floor. He couldn't do enough for us. July 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room but noisy at night The room was very comfortable, clean and modern. WiFi worked great. Restaurant in hotel was very good, with a diverse meal and wine selection. The bar was situated in the center of the tower and the open space did not hold back the sounds of the bar. The room walls were not much of a barrier to the noises from the adjacent room either. October 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel I was impressed walking in on how big the hotel lobby felt. Had a suite that was very comfortable. I really wanted to use the pool but didn't have a chance. I liked the App that I downloaded to use as a remote for the TV which came with a code to get 50% off a movie rental. There are 2 reasons I didn't give this hotel a 5 star rating. First, the bath tub had 2 inches of water in it after I was through taking my shower because it wasn't draining right. Second, there was a guy passed out in a chair at 7AM when I went to get ice for my wife. Just made me wonder if the hotel has security or if anyone bothers to make rounds on the floors to check for problems like that. February 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Attractive Hotel, inside & out The hotel was very impressive upon arrival. Only complaint was the noise level in the room. Every noise in the hallway could be heard in the room. Also, they offer a $5 voucher if you don't need your room serviced (Applies only if you are there more than one night). The coupon is supposed to be put under the door, but ours was not there, so I mentioned it the next day (day we were leaving) and we did get it, but at that point it wasn't good on anything. We'd already eaten breakfast and it wasn't good in the gift shop. So if you want your voucher, make sure you get it before the day you check out! July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here if you plan on sleeping. When you walk into the hotel you are greeted with a view of a grand atrium where the main lobby rises up 10 floor to a glass enclosed greenhouse like roof. The room I stayed in was nice enough, but the carpets in hallways leading to the rooms were dirty. My biggest complaint is that every room faces this grand atrium, and the atrium acts like an amphitheater, so you cannot escape the noise created in the lobby. At 1:00am you still have people in the bar below who are having normal conversations that sound like they are just outside your door. My other complaint is with Shula's restaurant and the overpriced and disappointing food. Stay somewhere else and eat somewhere else.! June 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Property The property is wonderful, spacious rooms, lovely ameneties, and nice decor. The down side is the staff. When making my reservation & checking in the staff seemed cold and non intrested in us or our stay. This trip was a THANK YOU to my boys for taking care of me after my surgery. No one adressed me by name, no one asked what was the purpose of our trip and it was obvious I was limping and slow moving and not one single person offered assistance. VERY DISAPPOINTING!!! The only 2 staff members that were helpful was the young lady delivered a bath chair to our room and our waitress at breafast on Sunday morning at 8a.m. For our next trip we will just stay in the city. December 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falls short of SPG/Westin standards When we ck'd in around 4pm, the desk staff seemed disinterested that we were SPG Gold members. Not surprising, as most SPG properties we've stayed at except for our stay in St. Louis last May. The evening staff were not informed about SPG Gold gifts, called them amenities??? The pool was not part of the Westin, & facilities were not very well kept. The morning staff were more informed and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast as expected with our Gold status. In short...... SPG needs shoppers to visit and rate their properties as Under Cover Boss! September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Wedding The Westin Chicago Northwest was the perfect venue for our wedding. The Pavillion Tent was beautiful for both the ceremony and reception, and the grounds were gorgeous with so many perfect places for photos. Our ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner reception, and wedding brunch were all held at the Westin, so they didn't have to worry about leaving the venue. We also heard many compliments from our guests about the quality and taste of the food, from the hors d'oeuvres to the brunch and everything in between. The entire Westin staff was warm, personable and friendly. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel offers Great Food and Beverage The food provided at the recent conference I attended was good and plentiful. The buffet options were nicely presented, frequently replenished and at the right temperature. The appetizers served in the evening were very good. Sometimes the buffet wait staff were a little slow in responding to special requests beyond what was being served. Also, as I do not care for the taste of coffee, to have hot water for tea poured from a former coffee carafe made for a very bad tasting cup of tea. Wondering if a hot water dispenser specifically devoted to hot water (not coffee) could be used instead? July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing great about this hotel I sit here at 148am writing a review if this hotel instead of sleeping. Please keep in mind I'm from Ohio so To me it's 248. The noise from the bar area is so noisy! Bar last call is 1130, but I was down at the front desk at midnight and drinks were still being served. I had a stomach flu and just wanted rest (I threw up twice while standing in the lobby to speak to someone about the noise) I was told I could go to another Westin 20 mins South. I was worried about losing my points I cashed in for what was suppose to be a nice weekend get away got my husband and myself. I had originally booked for Friday and Saturday, but I added Thursday on for an extra day. What a huge mistake. The manager is totally useless, I didn't bother talking to him because another guest was ahead of me complaining, and he was rude and wouldn't even listen to the guy. This is not what I expect for a Westin! September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful!! We hosted our wedding ceremony and reception this past weekend and I have to say we absolutely LOVED it! Working with Samantha was the best! She responded to us right away with every inquiry however minor it may have been and led us every step of the way! We never were in for any surprises! Even on the day of our event she was there checking on us making sure everything was running on schedule and connecting with my family to see if there was ever anything that we needed. We received so many compliments on the food and the wait staff, everyone from the front desk to maintenance deserves recognition for such a wonderful job! We will be back year after year to celebrate our anniversary! April 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by weekend get away Heavenly sleep in the heavenly bed, total relaxation in the heavenly bath. Nice looking pool and hot tub, but didn't try it. (to many kids in hot tub) free parking, professional friendly helpful staff, clean quiet rooms, only draw backs; cable/satellite channel selection left much to be desired, and in this day and age of wireless Internet and routers patrons should not have to pay for Internet when they are a guest in a hotel. But this will be my go to hotel whenever I'm in the Chicago area if not for the heavenly bed & bath definitely for the Westin Sunday check out! An unheard of and unmatched 3pm! September 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Westin Due to staying in the Westin in St. Louis on 2 occasions, I was very excited to be staying in the Westin in Itasca for 4 days. Reason being, I expected that the Westin in Itasca to be very similiar to the one in St. Louis. Very modern, posh room, rain shower, large soaking tub, etc. This location was just the opposite, The only similarities were the heavenly bed and the flat screen t.v.. The room was dated, furniture was worn & the carpet was soiled. No resemblance of a Westin that I was eager to be visting. I was very disappointed. How dare this location have the Westin's name! If I wasn't attending a conference that was being hosted at that location, I'd packed my bages and vacated. December 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs An update The hotel is average and certainly not in keeping with Westin standards. While I found the staff courteous and prompt the hotel most notably the carpets were unacceptable. Stains were abundant. From the moment you step foot on a carpeted surface you notice the stains, how large they are as well as how numerous they are, from the common areas to your room. Additionally, the chairs in the common space at each elevator bank show quite a bit of wear and paint whether on the wall or ceiling is peeling, cracking and bubbling (particularly guest bathrooms). I hope this review will serve as a catalyst for change so that other guest experiences are more commensurate with what they have come to expect from a Westin property. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Walls are thin - can keep you up at night! Overall, the hotel is nice. The carpets were stained in a couple of spots, but the room was still clean. The problem with the hotel is the open-air atrium. It's 12 stories tall, and sound travels. Add the fact that the walls are paper-thin and I found myself up well past midnight, unable to sleep. The walls are also thin. At one point, someone dropped something in the next room and it sounded like they had hit the wall with a hammer. Obviously that didn't happen, but you get my point. I'd recommend staying on a higher floor at one end of the building. I was on the 5th floor in the middle. Also, all the elevators are on one side, so request a room on that side of the building if possible. July 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel It was a decent stay, but not great...or good. The comfort level of the room was high, but the room needs some serious sound-proofing upgrades. We had to switch rooms at midnight because it sounded like there was a party in our room! The staff was very accommodating, and moved us quickly, but having my pregnant wife switch rooms at midnight wasn't my ideal situation. The breakfast buffet was pretty horrible. The plates weren't clean, the food was very sub-par and the coffee was undrinkable. I suppose this is typical for a hotel buffet. Our stay didn't leave us wanting to come back again. January 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE My stay at your hotel was the worst experience I have ever had. The staff was completely rude, unhelpful and ignorant to your guests. I have never been told I had to stay in my room after 11pm and that I could not even open the door. I called your corporate office at midnight during my stay to complain or the ignorance of the staff members. I followed the rule of staying in the room after 11pm but I am still not sure why because 200 other guests let their kids run around the hotel. I am unsure why it was a rule for your hotel guests but the group that was staying there had no rules whatsoever. If the room was not already pre-paid I would have requested a refund and let in the middle of the night. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Place for a Conference I stayed there for a confrence the food and displays were outstanding. Some of the staff could use some imporovement. When asked questions they gave hesitation and there were few employees with smiles on. The Rooms were noisy i was located on the 11th floor near the elevators and it sounded like a train was passing by the hotel every 5 minutes i could not put my finger on the sound or where it was coming from. The Meeting space was fantastic and the banquet team did a fantastic job with decorations and setting up the space August 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected from a Westin I was excited about staying at a Westin for business. My room was clean but just tired and old. There was noticeable rust on my bathtub that had been covered up over and over again. The soap holders also had rust and were also falling apart. My bathroom light was not working and I called to have it fixed. While did get fixed, all the little paper and metal pieces that were used to fix it were left all over my bathroom floor. The rugs and wallpaper looked like they needed to be changed. The bed and beddings were GREAT. However the noise from the downstairs lobby kept me awake for hours. August 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but needs work. The hotel was nice, the lobby was huge and there is a good steak restaurant named Shula's in there as well. The front desk attendants were super nice. However, when i got to my room there were what looked like bleach stains on the carpet in front of my door and the one next to me, there was a slice of pizza left over in the rooms 'cool box' and I had to ask for more large towels, they only supplied two. I wouldn't make a big deal out of their showers either, its just a regular tub shower with two regular shower heads attached together. If you are just looking for a place to crash for the night and nothing more, then this place is fine for you. The location isn't too bad either, just off of the highway. January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel 1. Located close to the highway but not loud during night time. 2. Frdly staff at front desk. 3. Room needs some renovations, wallpaper falling off September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by SPG Platinum Member I stay in many SPG hotels and always find Westins to be a good choice. This Westin has an excellent fitness center in the hotel and an attached privite gym that is also available. There is no club level which many Westin do have. The biggest drawback with this Westin is the in hotel resturant. Some might view having a Shula's as a big plus but if you want to remain in the hotel for dinner, you'll find Shula's to be very expensive. Shula's also pours their wine into the little bottle before transfering it to your glass so they can measure what they give you down to the drop. April 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not really all the Westin's Fault but stay was bad Made a reservation at this hotel to attend an event called Mag Con. This is basically thousands of screeming girls meeting internet "viners." This hotel was clearly not prepared to handle this type of sellout and my reservation did not meet my rollout need, nor the extra pillow or blanket. I was aware the double queen rooms booked, but also made requests early for rollaway and extra blanket and pillow which neither was met. They ran out of a lot of items. Overall not all the hotels fault but they did not get ready for this event correctly and should have offered some service credits as a result. The staff did their best so I would still use Westin but this review is reflective of this specific dissapointing stay. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding with 60+ rooms booked. My daughter was married this past weekend and we had the reception at the Westin Itasca. Our group had 60+ rooms for Fri/Sat nights. We were treated like royalty! The wedding reception was fantastic. We had several requests that were not anticipated and the wedding coordinator was always right there with the fix. All hotel staff were superb. Every guest I talked with was very pleased with their rooms and the staff. I give this hotel AAAA++++. The wedding coordinator and catering folks were tremendous. I traveled quite a bit for work and I always loved staying at Westins and this Westin is among the best. I could not be happier. Thank you Westin Itasca for making my daughter's wedding something she will always remember. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Class facility This hotel is a great place to stay. Front desk staff was courteous and answered all of my questions. My wife and I were in town for the Signature Homestyles convention. The food that was prepared was delicious and creative and all of the meeting facilities had up to date lighting, sound, and visuals. Rooms are spacious and bed slept wonderful. Would like to see refrigerators in the rooms (they have coolers that only go as low as 50 degrees Fahrenheit). Shower heads are awesome (their big selling point). Can't wait to go back here next year for the 2014 convention. June 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Small beds Three adults staying in a room with 2 "double" beds. These are very small double beds - if you are a husband wife and tend to cuddle while you sleep they'll be great. If you are anything else and have more than 2 adults in the room - plan for something else. I wound up getting extra comforters/sheets to sleep on the floor. They would not allow me a roll away though I had asked on the phone earlier in the week and had been assured it was available - I was then told at the hotel the fire marshall would not allow it. I knew doing anything else would not allow for a good night sleep - so the floor was the only other option. Also - their coffee shop is twice as pricey as you know who, luckily there is one about 2 miles away! April 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>