The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 549 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators worked intermittently. Twice in two days we had to walk down 10 flights of stairs as the elevators were insufficient or not working at all. Staff did not seem concerned, like it was a common occurrence. Our windows must not have been correctly sealed as we could hear all the noise echoing up from the lobby. Friendly bartenders and good food. Room very nice and clean. July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond my expectations I was in D.C. to attend a conference. Lucky for me, this property was not far from the convention center because I loved this place. My room looked out over the enclosed atrium/lobby. The room was very quiet, clean and the staff always had a smile and were professional. July 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement The hotel staff is amazing but the hotel it self is desparate need of renovation. The room smells old perhaps because the carpet needs to be changed. I thought to myself "if this is the preferred room, what is the regular room like." July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by High value in all aspects Will stay again as I have in the past, will highly recommend this place to others in fact already have. July 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by indifferent staff We loved the location but the staff was so indifferent and aloof. The front desk and the concierge seemed to be ill informed on their city. That or they simply had no interest in answering our questions. The hotel restaurant was rented out for our stay as well and that was inconvenient for breakfasts. All and all we didn't feel like guests and couldn't wait to check out. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The best Concierge staff that I have ever met. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fitness Center This fitness room was grim...old equipment and not much of it...poor layout...very dusappoinitng for a Westin July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty Room On arrival, I found there were items from previous guest left behind, including a dirty glass with two olives, an open water bottle, scraps of paper and packaging on desk and floor. The desk also seemed filmy, not carefully dusted or cleaned. June 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again Having stayed here numerous times on business, this past stay convinced me it would be my last. I had to have my room changed 4 times due to lack of air conditioning and cigarette smell. When I got a room w/ AC and no odors... then the internet connection was horrible. I gave up and stayed there. As a Platinum Member, none of my profile requests were noted. Other than the bellman, the room service person & the man who tried to fix one of the AC units, the staff was unprofessional. I appreciate they are about to undergo a major renovation, however consideration must be given to the current guests. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was beyond excellent!!!!!! My husband and I came in on Sunday, June 23, and during that trip we found out his mother had died. I had to change the reservation, the comped the parking, the helped us with getting a train back. My brother was also staying, we changed his reservation and then changed it back. I needed to get to my car to show a friend where all the features were so he could drive it back, your valet was extremely accommodating. The superb, professional and compassionate services during this difficult time went above and beyond, you should be very proud of your staff. June 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need to Deliver on What You Promise I had a one night stay here and while I had some hesitations about staying here based on the recent reviews, I was actually excited about staying here because a few days before my checkin the hotel reached out to me with a personal email welcoming me and asking if they could prepare anything for my arrival. Fast forward a few days. A long check-in que, No upgrade, a noisy atrium room across from a loud ice machine, and then the topper was, my simple request of having some chilled sparkling water in the room upon arrival with some fresh lime wedges didn't happen. OK. Thought I was just a little early so sent an email to the person who contacted me enquiring about the sparkling water. Was told that they didn't realize that I had wanted it upon arrival, and the usually deliver around 5pm. Strange as the emails were clear. Was told it would be there in 30 minutes. OK. Not there an hour later. Sorta gave up at this point but left for dinner and guess what when I came back several hours later it wasn't there either. I know the hotel was going above and beyond by making the offer which is great, but then they need to deliver on their promises. Seems easy to me. Sent a note letting them know it never arrived and was offered free breakfast instead -- kinda useless as I left the hotel and was 1/2 way to New York at that time. Anyways, a real disappointment after having my expectations set really high. Was also told that the hotel would be going thru a renovation this fall -- it certainly needs it, but is definitely serviceable. I would suggest staying away from the atrium rooms, as they suffer from the common noise problem associated with atrium style hotels. Anyways, will look for other options in DC for the next time, unless the rate is too good! June 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very good One phone did not work. The other worked only on speaker. June 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Stay When I arrived to my room I immediately notice the three uncovered pillows that were thrown on the bed. It was as if housekeeping left in a rush. I was then transferred to another room, which was a suite, that had hair in the sink. June 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel needs to be remodeled The staff was friendly and the location was good. The hotel needs to be remodel...it is old , carpet is stained, elevators are slow and need to be updated. This hotel does not meet the standards set by other Westin Hotels. The restaurant located within the hotel was extremely expensive. We walked down the street 300 feet and purchased the same food at 1/4 of the cost. June 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs a total redo I'm a loyal SPG member and booked 3 nights for a family vacation. The property needs a total face lift which come to find out will be happening this summer. Good location. Staff was okay, but kept messing up my reservations as we had to change rooms. SPG gold person was great. Local staff failed to make all the arranged plans. June 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed while I was there but was left with bad feelings When checking in, a credit card is requested for incidentals. Little did I know, there would be an amount-specific hold placed on my credit card for over 3 weeks after I checked out. The staff spoken to started out sounding helpful, but insisted that it takes 5 working days to release such a hold. It took 5 days after I started complaining. I disagree with both the hold itself (just scan my card) and the length of time it took to remove it. Most, I disagree with the unhelpful attitude by most of the staff spoken to. June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhelpful Staff Staff is NOT helpful. Managers and staff alike brush you off the phone assuring that your inquiry will be attended to when in fact it is not. VERY disappointed. June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired Hotel This hotel is in a great location but the interior is tired: Carpets have rips in them; rooms are stuffy; decor in rooms is a little dated; elevator broke got stuck after going one floor and wouldn't move,thankfully the doors were open when it stopped so we could easily get out.. TV only worked part of the time, no one came to repair after multiple requests June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Totally feel the effect of cost cutting measures 40 minute wait to check in. (Only 1 person on staff checking people in, answering calls, and handing out extra cups and other things.) Toilet leaks/runs - just noise problem at night. Worst check-in experience in a Westin ever! Hope the rest of my stay improves. June 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing place to go at the end of the day Spent 5 wonderful nights at the hotel. Everything was perfect. The staff was gracious and attentive. I am looking forward to my next DC trip. May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Westin Washington - D.C. City Center Great location. Great customer service. Was a little disappointed about parking, self-parking should be available. May 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing points Since my checkout after staying at the city centre property for about nineteen nights, they have refused to credit my points. Apart from points gained from food and bevrage (88points), I can't understand why the points for nights/stay has not been updated and SPG is say they cant find May 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs renovated. We had 2rooms adjoining for a 5 night stay. This hotel needs renovated and better house keeping. Example... Never did we get the same amount of towel, washcloths, soap, cups or sugar. If we got any of those items at all. The last day, we got back to our room and the door was propped open with the lock and the sweeper was left. No one was around nor did they come back for it. Who knows how long our room was left open. May 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin, DC This hotel was below expectations for the Westin brand especially concerning facilities and the lack of staff available to meet guest needs. May 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the amount of money they ask I am very disappointed already with the first 3 hours I have spent at this hotel. First, my experience at dinner at the bar, your bartender Reggie needs TREMENDOUS amount of training. I asked him whether the salad was an entree or appetizer size, his only response three times over was "it's a salad size". When I asked him to call the kitchen to clarify, he was combative. This is NO WAY to treat a guest. He obviously does not understand how to treat guests. He was more interested in spending time with his "friends" (or perhaps regular guests) at the bar, than serving other guests. Secondly, my room had an ironing board that was dirty, and the iron was filled with residue. Luckily, I wasn't ironing a white shirt, otherwise, it would have stained. This is not what I expect of a Westin Hotel. Certainly, not what I expect when paying $329/night. I've seen better service at hotels <$199/night. I'm sorry, but I stay at hotels >100 nights per year, not always at a Starwood hotel, but when I spend this amount of money, I certainly expect a higher level of service and amenities. Very disappointed. May 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Service Ever I had room reserved from 4/11 to 4/14. Before starting from Chicago on 4/11, I called the hotel to confirm my room booking and requested for King size bed since My wife and I were traveling with 11-months old baby. The hotel staff (including manager) confirmed my booking, bed request and gave me a confirmation number. I got that in email as well from hotel staffs. Our flight from Chicago got delayed and we reached hotel at 1 am at night instead of 10:30pm. When we reached hotel, we were shocked to hear that they would not give us room for the night since hotel was overbooked. The person and her manager on duty said that they will give us walk in to another hotel for the night and we will have to come back tomorrow. The only reason I called that morning to confirm reservation because this was our first travel with baby and wanted to make sure that our stay is comfortable and last thing we wanted to do is change hotel. With baby, unpack his stuff for one night and pack it again next day to move to different hotel was something we were not prepared for. We spent 90 minutes arguing with them that we were given confirmation number in morning but the hotel staff simply denied that they have any knowledge of our confirmed reservation. I gave them the name of three person I spoke with and showed them the email exchange I had with them. The hotel staff present at that time refused to contact the three staffers saying that they were in morning shift and gone home. We did not expect such a pathetic service and rude behavior from Westin hotel. We stayed in lobby for 90 minutes with our 11 months old baby while they failed to communicate with their internal employees. Despite having our reservation done 20 days in advance and confirming room same morning, Westin denied us room 1am at night. The worst service I have ever seen in my life!! May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by :) Location? Check Staff cool, understanding and righteous? Check Swagger? Check Feel of premium love, convenience of a regularly-visited pitstop... Could become a multidimensional favorite; easy. May 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best from Westin Washington The service seems to be declining at this hotel. Generally, I am excited about my stay with this Westin because of its location, but on this stay....it seemed to be lacking in a few of the customer focus areas. I also find out that the walls are paper thin as I was awaken at 2:30 AM with the noise (seemingly a physical encounter) in the neighboring room. The hotel still feels like they are in a remodeling phase. May 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hair in the bathroom and sink It was very unsettling to wake up to long black hairs in the sink and shower. Even more so to find that the staff was not horrified and apologetic rather they said, " will you be out in the next hour so we can have housekeeping clean up?" I returned four hours later and the room had not been cleaned and the unsightly hairs were still in clinging in the sink and shower. There were a few other issues, but this lack of hygiene is simply unacceptable! May 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Noisy Arrived on Monday and was able to check in right away. Was expecting a 50% discount on parking due to AAA but was told this wasn't available. That was $84 I wasn't expecting. We had breakfast included in Charlotte but no such offering here. We saw no advantage to being a SPG member at this hotel. We had a suite that was located on the interior of the building. The noise from the lobby was bad enough but the bar was horrible. On two nights I had to call the desk multiple times due to the whooping and hollering from the bar that was just magnified in the lobby. At 2:00 am they finally quieted down. One of the bellmen was quite helpful but the other was more interested in his phone than getting us a cab. Overall the location was nice, walking distance to the White House and area restaurants. Wasn't worth what I paid for this suite. Wish we had stayed at another location. Overall we were very disappointed with this hotel. May 2, 2013
  • 2015-08-30T09:07:15.381-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_549, tr_549
  • loc_en_US, sid_1761, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 20 next>>