The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 460 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by No heat, bad service, run down When the sign in the hotel lobby was missing letters that shoud have been a sign that this hotel's management doesn't care. The heat wasn't working in two different rooms, (I gave up trying to find one with working heat and just slept in a sweater); the rooms smelled like smoke, the heavenly bed was lumpy and dirty room service trays were left in the hallways for two days. November 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by indifferent staff We loved the location but the staff was so indifferent and aloof. The front desk and the concierge seemed to be ill informed on their city. That or they simply had no interest in answering our questions. The hotel restaurant was rented out for our stay as well and that was inconvenient for breakfasts. All and all we didn't feel like guests and couldn't wait to check out. July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location Convenient to many DC landmarks and the central business district. Friendly staff. Restaurant needs improvement as food selection and service is mediocre, especially at lunch or dinner. During my stay last week my Guest Folio was incomplete and only contained my lunch charges and no room charges. Still awaiting corrected invoice so I can process my travel reinbursement. April 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin City Center Washington DC We stayed at this Westin location for the first time. The City Center venue was way below our expectations in every aspect. Only the restaurant staff was courteous. My room did not have room service menu the first day which was brought up after a wait. Neither did the bathroom have any soap (only body wash). When I called the concierge multiple times on the first day wanting to move out to another hotel no one answered the phone. I mentioned my complaints at the front desk. No immediate action was taken. The hand soap came on the 3rd day of my visit. Room temperatures were very uncomfortable and didn’t let me sleep well. My colleague had the same complaint about room temperatures in his room and was unimpressed by this hotel overall. The room service food tray was removed from the hallway outside my door only the next day, that too around 3 p.m. Very shabby service. Never staying at this hotel again not recommending. February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Noisy Arrived on Monday and was able to check in right away. Was expecting a 50% discount on parking due to AAA but was told this wasn't available. That was $84 I wasn't expecting. We had breakfast included in Charlotte but no such offering here. We saw no advantage to being a SPG member at this hotel. We had a suite that was located on the interior of the building. The noise from the lobby was bad enough but the bar was horrible. On two nights I had to call the desk multiple times due to the whooping and hollering from the bar that was just magnified in the lobby. At 2:00 am they finally quieted down. One of the bellmen was quite helpful but the other was more interested in his phone than getting us a cab. Overall the location was nice, walking distance to the White House and area restaurants. Wasn't worth what I paid for this suite. Wish we had stayed at another location. Overall we were very disappointed with this hotel. May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel needs to disclose When I booked this hotel through a 3rd party travel service, nothing was noted that it is going under construction which I probably may have not selected it. In order to get to the reception as well as your room, you had to utilize 2 separate elevators and then having construction with hammers drilling into the cement early in the morning. November 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap hotel masquerading as upmarket It is hard to decide what the worst feature of the hotel was, there were so many: the 8am jack-hammer wake-up, the expensive internet that has to paid for each device, the miserable staff, the lousy food, etc. I would recommend looking elsewhere! January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend with comments This hotel is centrally located and easily accessible. The property is in serious need of updating. Room was clean and spacious, which is all we needed for this particular stay. My only real complaint is that overnight parking was $43, almost half our room rate. I would rather have put that money towards a nicer room, had I known in advance. Felt a little duped. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still Waiting on My Email Bill and Charges The hotel staff at front desk and concierge were great. My major complaint is I have not yet received my hotel bill by email as I requested. In addition, not all of the room charges have been billed to my charge card. That's a major problem when trying to fill out a business expense account. I emailed and left messages with billing office but no response so far. September 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by August 2013 Review I would recommend the Westin. It is in a good location, near the McPherson subway station, near restaurants, about 6 blocks north of the White House. I did have one small complaint, but the staff took it very seriously and appreciated my mentioning it. The decor is a little dated, but I believe they are having a major renovation soon. Elevators are slow! :) August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great staff This hotel met all of our exceptions. We were staying at this hotel along with friends to run the Cherry Blossom 10 mile race on April 1st 2012. The staff was more then accommodating, restaurant suggestions were spot on, the attention to detail and service was excellent. We did not experience any problems or issues with this hotel. Will be staying here again. April 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is nice... I enjoyed my stay at this Westin. It was clean and the staff was very nice. My only two complaints were: 1 - if you offer me a late check out and I take it to get some extra sleep, please inform the cleaning staff so they are not coming into my room bc I did not answer bc I was sleeping. 2 - perhaps teach the bellmen how to properly load clothes into a car. January 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by RW The staff is not accommodating - and certainly doesn't care if you stay at that hotel regularly or care about your status in Starwood. I am responsible for bringing my company's business to the hotel and I believe it was a mistake. Terrible room locations - lots of noise and a staff who doesn't care. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff! We enjoyed our 5 night stay at The Westin. The staff were all very accommodating! If we were to return to D.C., we would consider staying here again. It was nice to have the free wi-fi as an amenity with being a Starwood Preferred Member. It would be nice not to pay $49 a night for parking. Overall, no complaints. It was a pleasant experience! October 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great customer service. I made a last minute reservation, and as we know, DC is a most difficult city to find last minute lodging nearby the offices where I go for work. I received the best customer service from the reservations operator who helped me find a room, to the hotel manager and his staff when I arrived. I totally recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure. September 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by First negative review in 350 stays Terrible overall experience. Would highly recommend against staying here with many other good DC SPG options. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service The staff went out of their way to meet my needs and requests for my one day stay. I had special issues that extended past my time at the hotel, and the staff did not hesitate to assist me in anyway they could. The Valet was exceptional with friendliness and assistance. I travel a lot and this is the first time I have had this kind of amazing service. August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay at The Westin As usual, EXCELLENT! What I love most about The Westin hotel is every hotel has a different theme. The Westin DC Center hotel is one of a kind. There's a tower (w/rooms + outdoor garden) inside the main tower. Beautiful! The only issue I had, there was no pool or spa at this location. I was looking forward to an afternoon of relaxation when I arrived. November 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good convenient location We just wanted to find a safe and convenient hotel for a one night stay in the City. Enjoyed a delicious meal at 1400 Restaurant with gracious service and great food - normally don't like hotel restaurants, but this one is good. Quiet hotel, park nextdoor in the public lot if you don't like valet, easy access to museums - would stay again if in town. June 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A difficult stay Had 5 rooms for 5 days. Never saw the same person twice behind the front desk.Reported the phone, next to the bed out of order, 3 times. Never fixed. Dust on end table an inch thick. Noise from the bar could be heard in all rooms. Rooms were very dark. Thank goodness for the conceirage, Ada,Peter,& Lynn. The only good that could be said of the hotel November 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Service I have stayed at Westin Hotels Alot because of the world class service and clean, comfortable rooms. Washington DC Downtown did it Again!! Great Staff and I had the nicest room. I had a reservation error on dates and my change was easily accomidated. Hats off to YOU DC! Great time and very comfortable room with a great view of the Castle!! BRAVO! February 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators worked intermittently. Twice in two days we had to walk down 10 flights of stairs as the elevators were insufficient or not working at all. Staff did not seem concerned, like it was a common occurrence. Our windows must not have been correctly sealed as we could hear all the noise echoing up from the lobby. Friendly bartenders and good food. Room very nice and clean. July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff is Awesome! Very Accomodating From the Front Desk,Bellmen, Valet, Housekeeping, Bar staff,Operator, Gift Shop to the Banquet Staff you are what make the hotel what it is! Hotels have a bed, meeting space, bar etc but without employees providing great guest experience your just like every other hotel. Thanks for making my stay (Staff members) one that exceeded my expectations November 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Traveler Beware! This property is under construction, something we did not know or were told about when booking the room for a fun weekend. It is clear the hotel needs the renovation. The reception desk has been moved to the mezzanine level and directions to reception at the front door don't exist. Locations are at the elevator in the back of the lobby. This issue is minor compared to the elevator issue. While a elevator was always waiting on the ground level, we waited over 10 minutes each time we left our floor. I believe the fact they sat at the ground level caused the issue. We could not use the stairwells to avoid the elevators. Construction noise existed and was annoying, but not intolerable. Ear plugs were in the room - only 1 pair. When I shared with the front desk clerk my issues with the elevators, I was told they were sorry about the problem, but this is part of construction and it is what it is. That response was NOT acceptable and will keep me from returning to what I am sure will be a nice renovated hotel. December 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet Parking This hotel's valet parking experience was not a good one for me. I used the valet parking two of the nights of my stay and each time I needed my vehicle, it was a minimum wait of 20 minutes. Upon check out, which was about 5am, it took 30 minutes for someone to come bring my car. Was not sastified with that service. Not worth the amount paid. August 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Won't be coming back The location is awesome and the valet staff are great, but that's the only thing I can be positive about. First, when checking in I wasn't offered an upgraded room as a platinum. I asked if there were any available and was offered an " I guess". Not pleasant. Well, if this is an upgraded room, this property is in trouble. The air doesn't work on the auto temp setting and even on ole or high it barely blows. Perhaps that's due to the clogged air filter. There is so much dust on it.. It's disgusting. One of my drawers in the dresser had a piece of paper sticking out of it.. Why? Because the drawer below it won't stay in unless there is paper wedged in it. There is also some used wadded up toilet paper behind the nigh stand. Who cleans these rooms? The room is run down, as are the halls. Glad they are renovating. The last issue, and by far the worst-- lost dry cleaning. The manager is being nice about the lost dry cleaning, but it is not making up for the all around horrible experiences. December 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Hotel was being renovated - no one told me in advance. gave me a room attached to the elevator which you could hear all night. had a headache and there was no gift shop to buy advil. hotel sent me out to CVS to buy it. Not what I expect when I travel. I'm done w the Westin. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent customer service I would like to recognize the woman at the front desk at around 11:30 am Tuesday morning. She was so helpful, with a smile. I wish I remembered her name, but hope that with the time you can acknowledge her as an employee who represents your hotel with exceptional service! We had a wonderful experience of your hotel and hope to return soon! December 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards I paid for an upgrade to an Atrium suite and was given the suite on the 3rd floor. I might as well have been in the bar that was directly below. Far too noisy. This is an outdated Westin and not up to standards. The concierge was barely helpful when asking for dinner options, including providing me a list with such options as Subway, etc. December 17, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Few problems, nothing major NO bedbugs. Very important! Housekeeping left no washcloths, had to call and ask for them. Refrigerators are not provided in the room, you must ask for them to be brought up. No charge, though. Bed reasonable comfortable, pillows are comfortable. Biggest complaint is that Wi-Fi is not free! $12.95 for 24 hours! Free in lobby, though. July 26, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17 next>>