The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to register and to check-in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 501 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This hotel is in a great location. It is close to the airport, the Union train station, the White House and other places of interest. It is also a warm, inviting place. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was a really wonderful room. When I checked in Westin Washington hotel, I was impressed the service and the room. That was the first time use SPG hotel after I've got SPG gold tier. The front and call service were so nice and kind. The best thing is the room. I've got a sweet room, the room was so clean and confortable. Other services including breakfast were excellent. I'm sure I will stay in Westing again in next trip. April 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable stay, a bit pricey for the condition though Service was great. Elevator repairs/remodeling were somewhat of an inconvenience. Starbucks closing mid-afternoon was a pain. Bathroom renovations left a lot to be desired. April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location BUT Property Shows its Age This Westin is nestled in a great part of DC. You can take a 5-10 minute walk to some great sites and monuments. With that being said, the rooms are starting to show their age. I'm being picky but it's to help describe what I am referring to. The card readers for your door are one of the earliest models I've seen. It takes a couple swipes to hopefully get into your room. The paint on the wall is drab as well as the curtains. Most of the rooms face inward to the indoor courtyard area so keep in mind, around 6 or 7 when the lobby gets busy you will likely hear the noise. Now on to the good parts of the property: Very friendly and accommodating staff Full fledged gym/workout facility. I counted roughly 5 treadmills and 4 exercise bikes; 4 ellipticals as well as a stair stepper. The staff, location and gym make this hotel relatively above average; but the decor and feel of the room holds it back. April 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unkempt This hotel has has some updated furniture in the lobby and guest rooms but other than that it is extremely unkempt. I checked in late in the evening with a plan to stay 2 nights and checked out to another property the next morning. There is dust in the elevator and on the window sills of the guest rooms there are marks on the walls some stains some dirt the carp et in the halls is pulled, stained and just nasty. The common areas of the lobby were not kept up i felt disgusted seated and having papers and dirt under my feet like I was at a bus stop or something. Also in our room there was hair on the back of the door and a foul odor coming from the sink possibly related to a clogged drain. The staff was kind especially Carrie at the front desk she accomodated me with one of the best demeanors i've ever encountered. BUT this hotel is NOT a good place to stay and is not the Westin standard i am used to. January 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff of this hotel makes the difference. My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Westin, Washington, DC, for five nights because the staff went over and above to meet our needs. Carrie, the sales manager, is tremendous. The front desk staff did an excellent job, as did the concierge. The room service was very good, and the doormen. The hotel is a little dated, and the rooms small, but the staff makes up for it in friendliness. May 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Construction needs to end Charging $300 per night when the hotel is totally under construction is a very poor decision on Westin's part. Had I received a big discount on the room rate, it may have been OK, but paying 4 star rate and experiencing full scale construction is not OK. The hotel should probably have been shut down to visitors until the renovation is completed. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very efficient staff When I arrived, there was no record of my reservation. Front desk staff immediately contacted central reservations which had my reservation but somehow it had not gotten to hotel. Front desk deleted my original reservation with no charge and made a new one for me at same rate. Took extra time but all got squared away. March 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Big Disappointment - High Priced and Poor Service! What a disappointment for the high price! I originally booked for one night 2.12.14 on Westin's website for $206/night but had to reserve a second night due to the snowstorm. The second night I booked through our travel agent and received $169/night. My colleague stated a second night as well and received the $139/night rate. When we asked the front desk at check-in to honor either of the 2 lower rates, they said they would get back with us..which they never did. When asked the next morning we got a basic "too bad.. the rate stands and nothing we can do". This is only after having to maneuver the massive amounts of construction and a less than stellar restaurant experience. The servers at breakfast (of which we paid $18.75 for 3 pancakes) couldn't seem to serve efficiently 3 of the maybe 8 tables wedged in a small room due to the construction. For being a high end hotel, it was disappointing the lack of service and interest in assuring a memorable stay. February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Service and location The service at this hotel was exceptional. THey did everything well and that is greatly appreciated. That beings said the hotel needs a renovation. The room was tired feeling and there was an adjoining door between our room and the room next door and we could hear everything being said in that room. Dress up the rooms a bit, fix insulation problems that this would be a great hotel. March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's fine... The heavenly bed is always a treat to sleep on but there is no breakfast and the hotel feels a bit out dated. The real complain about the hotel is its location. It's a good area of DC but the actual entrance is tough to get to with a one way street off Logan circle. It's also 4 blocks(I think) from the nearest metro. Again, not bad but also not going to be my first choice again. December 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards I stay at Westins whenever possible but this one disappoints. The biggest problem is noise during the night. our room faced down across the atrium to the front desk. Night staff spoke loudly and woke me up several times. Our room was clean, but the overall impression is a place in need of updating. Room lighting is terrible, had to take a mirror over to the desk to apply makeup. April 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful, but too noisy The suite was perfect for our needs. It is beautiful, but the nature of the atrium forms an echo chamber and we heard all the talking and music and sounds from the lobby till late at night and very early in the morning. The hotel was full and the staff seemed overwhelmed, there should have been more staff. March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel and Great Location I was there on business with several other team members. We are limited to a federal per diem rate although not government employees, so price was very important. Rooms and staff were really great. Could improve with larger restaurant/bar but plenty nearby. Only complaint was paying for high speed internet--most hotels have free service for members of their frequent stay club. August 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by It was not what I expected The housekeeping staff is not as efficient as they should be. I room was located on the 6 floor and on my way to the room (check in) there were several rooms that had trays outside their doors. The next day ( check out) they were still there. Including my own tray from the previous night. I stayed there one night and I would not recommend this hotel. The room was awfully cold. November 23, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by not up to Westin standards This was the worst Westin that we have experienced.,Newly renovated is misleadinbg - it is under renovation. three of four elevators did not work. Water didn't drain. Staff not helpful. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and comfortable Stayed here with my 18yo daughter for visits to Smithsonian, The Mall, Whitehouse, etc. Room was comfortable, hotel close to subway (3ish blocks), close to White House (we walked there not sure how far but needed to stretch the legs from train travel anyway), employees were helpful and friendly. Had room service for a late dinner (9:30) one night - it was fast and delicious. June 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Atrium Noise On 2/27 I was staying in room 323 and was awakened by people laughing and shouting. They were located in the common area on the ground level. It took 2 calls to the front desk to get them to stop. It ruined my night. I put up with all the construction fro months just to have this happen? I never want an atrium room again. February 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No heat, bad service, run down When the sign in the hotel lobby was missing letters that shoud have been a sign that this hotel's management doesn't care. The heat wasn't working in two different rooms, (I gave up trying to find one with working heat and just slept in a sweater); the rooms smelled like smoke, the heavenly bed was lumpy and dirty room service trays were left in the hallways for two days. November 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by indifferent staff We loved the location but the staff was so indifferent and aloof. The front desk and the concierge seemed to be ill informed on their city. That or they simply had no interest in answering our questions. The hotel restaurant was rented out for our stay as well and that was inconvenient for breakfasts. All and all we didn't feel like guests and couldn't wait to check out. July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location Convenient to many DC landmarks and the central business district. Friendly staff. Restaurant needs improvement as food selection and service is mediocre, especially at lunch or dinner. During my stay last week my Guest Folio was incomplete and only contained my lunch charges and no room charges. Still awaiting corrected invoice so I can process my travel reinbursement. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Stay Had a pleasant stay at the Westin, this is my fourth time at the hotel, love the new improvements. April 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin City Center Washington DC We stayed at this Westin location for the first time. The City Center venue was way below our expectations in every aspect. Only the restaurant staff was courteous. My room did not have room service menu the first day which was brought up after a wait. Neither did the bathroom have any soap (only body wash). When I called the concierge multiple times on the first day wanting to move out to another hotel no one answered the phone. I mentioned my complaints at the front desk. No immediate action was taken. The hand soap came on the 3rd day of my visit. Room temperatures were very uncomfortable and didn’t let me sleep well. My colleague had the same complaint about room temperatures in his room and was unimpressed by this hotel overall. The room service food tray was removed from the hallway outside my door only the next day, that too around 3 p.m. Very shabby service. Never staying at this hotel again not recommending. February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Noisy Arrived on Monday and was able to check in right away. Was expecting a 50% discount on parking due to AAA but was told this wasn't available. That was $84 I wasn't expecting. We had breakfast included in Charlotte but no such offering here. We saw no advantage to being a SPG member at this hotel. We had a suite that was located on the interior of the building. The noise from the lobby was bad enough but the bar was horrible. On two nights I had to call the desk multiple times due to the whooping and hollering from the bar that was just magnified in the lobby. At 2:00 am they finally quieted down. One of the bellmen was quite helpful but the other was more interested in his phone than getting us a cab. Overall the location was nice, walking distance to the White House and area restaurants. Wasn't worth what I paid for this suite. Wish we had stayed at another location. Overall we were very disappointed with this hotel. May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place but.. Don't expect to get any work done without using your phone as a hot spot. Internet speed and connectivity was terrible April 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend with comments This hotel is centrally located and easily accessible. The property is in serious need of updating. Room was clean and spacious, which is all we needed for this particular stay. My only real complaint is that overnight parking was $43, almost half our room rate. I would rather have put that money towards a nicer room, had I known in advance. Felt a little duped. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still Waiting on My Email Bill and Charges The hotel staff at front desk and concierge were great. My major complaint is I have not yet received my hotel bill by email as I requested. In addition, not all of the room charges have been billed to my charge card. That's a major problem when trying to fill out a business expense account. I emailed and left messages with billing office but no response so far. September 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great staff This hotel met all of our exceptions. We were staying at this hotel along with friends to run the Cherry Blossom 10 mile race on April 1st 2012. The staff was more then accommodating, restaurant suggestions were spot on, the attention to detail and service was excellent. We did not experience any problems or issues with this hotel. Will be staying here again. April 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is nice... I enjoyed my stay at this Westin. It was clean and the staff was very nice. My only two complaints were: 1 - if you offer me a late check out and I take it to get some extra sleep, please inform the cleaning staff so they are not coming into my room bc I did not answer bc I was sleeping. 2 - perhaps teach the bellmen how to properly load clothes into a car. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by August 2013 Review I would recommend the Westin. It is in a good location, near the McPherson subway station, near restaurants, about 6 blocks north of the White House. I did have one small complaint, but the staff took it very seriously and appreciated my mentioning it. The decor is a little dated, but I believe they are having a major renovation soon. Elevators are slow! :) August 13, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 18 next>>