The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 539 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Much less than expected Terrible valet service and not worth $55 per vehicle per day. It took 25 minutes to retrieve a vehicle on a Friday evening and 45 minutes to retrieve a vehicle on a Saturday morning. 3 staff members stood and watched as 2 staff members tried to make the best of a most unfortunate experience for multiple guests that waited and waited. The Easter Brunch was not a value for $50 per person which included a 20% service charge for a buffet, particularly when feeding 6 people. Rooms were comfortable, service was apathetic. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the service I'm used to with SPG I stayed here for a work trip to DC. I've stayed here once before and it was satisfactory and my experience with Westin has always been positive, When I checked in I had asked if an upgraded room was available since that's part of having gold status. They assured me that the room they were putting me in was an upgraded room and I would be very happy. Upon entry of the room, I noticed a strong odor. It smelled a bit of sewage and mildew. I had dinner reservations, so I quickly dropped my stuff off and hoped that by the time I got back to the room the smell would have gone away. It was about 10:30 pm ET when I returned to settle in and the smell was still there. I'm not one to normally complain, but I wasn't going to be able to sleep with that smell. I called down to the front desk. Of course they were very apologetic and said they would check about putting me in another room. Thirty minutes went by and I hadn't heard anything. I finally called to check on the status. They apologized and got me into another room. The second room was nice and very comfortable. Other service items: a couple of days during my stay they did not come to clean the room until after 4 pm ET, I had to call down twice for a room service request and a dirty tray from room service had been left outside of my room for an entire day. Overall the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly but they were very slow to respond to request if at all. I'm a huge fan of SPG so my expectations are a bit higher, but I've definitely had better service. They could have had an off week! February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Отличный отель по всем показателям Lovely helpful staff, great delicious breakfast, convenient location in the center of the city, from all the interesting places relatively close, the subway 5 minutes. There is always a taxi. In the evening, tasty snack right in the hotel at reasonable prices. In the lobby is always worth living for a bowl of apples in the evening - in the lobby provides free apple tea in a large thermos-samovar, right at the Starbucks on the 1st floor. Very comfortable hotel. Thank s!! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aaron Czarnolewski I just wanted to commented how helpful and professional he was with me on Dec 7, 2014. I was accidentally dropped off at this hotel instead of Westin Georgetown. I was in town for UCI's Healthcare Executive MBA lectures and meetings with past and present administration and congressional staffers/members and former assistant/associate Secretaries of Health and Human Services. Aaron not only provided helpful service to a sleep deprived person from an overnight flight, he was extremely patient and courteous. I want to make sure he is recognized for his excellent service. January 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Yikes Disappointing hotel. Got my "upgraded" room on the 2nd floor - and directly next to 4 elevators, bottle of water filled with cigarette butts on the balcony and a used latex glove hanging off the living room lamp. Front desk was apologetic and offered SPG points. Heat/Cooling didnt work in my room which also over hanged the lobby. Room seemed as if it was half-way upgraded and the balcony area was odd - interior balcony hanging over the lobby and views of other interior rooms. Room was loud from elevator noise and lobby activity. January 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience Fay at check in and conceirge staff were particularly pleasant and efficient. Very pleasant breakfasts thanks to Alem and her team in the restaurant. Smaller room than last stay but comfortable enough. Hotel is in an excellent location for tourists. Walking distance to most major attractions. December 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Platinum! Just reached SPG Platinum level and the Westin staff went out of their way to recognize and celebrate my new status. Last thing I expected when I checked in near midnight, but waiting for me in my room was a beautiful cake and a bottle of red wine! Well done! December 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent place This place is beautiful. The staff is attentive and it's always with pleasure that I'm going to the Westin Close the major attractions, museums. December 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by There are far better SPG places in the DC area The service at breakfast was atrocious. The server adjusted her undergarments in view of us and other guests and then went about serving food without washing her hands. The sound proofing in the room was non-existent. The valet (self-parking is not available) damaged our car, and when we complained, referred us to the valet company without returning our calls or emails. The valet company has denied our claim, alleging that the damage already existed when it didn't, and now the valet company adjustor refuses to return calls or emails. This location is sub-par for the Westin name. November 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! You are near great restaurants and attractions. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. November 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extra charge in my invoice Overall the hotel is fine. When I checked out, it took 10 minutes to get a staff. Since they can send the receipt in email, I didn't ask for a paper copy to be green. But when I checked the receipt in my email after a few days, I found out an extra parking charge. Then I need to contact the hotel again. After several phone transferring, I got an answer machine. I still need to call again, and it totally waste my time, and my travel report will be delayed. I can't believe how it could happen. Not happy at all. Very bad experience. November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stayed weekend - good for touristy stuff A little worn out Westin, okay for weekend touristy stuff. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice weekend in DC We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very kind and helpful. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Breakfasts! Great Location Courteous Staff!! Another fantastic stay at the Westin. From the Valets, to the Front Desk Staff, Wait Staff this is a GREAT place to stay. Must try the Cuban sandwhich and the scallops in the FringeTree Restaurant. FringeTree is a great restaurant, tucked just outside the lobby and has some of the best food in town. Everything is clean, staff is accomodating!! Looking forward to my next stay. November 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Westin Checked in on a Wednesday night, fairly late. As a Platinum, was not offered any upgrade, although status was acknowledged. Checkin was otherwise straightforward. The room was fine, but nothing to write home about -- in relatively good physical condition, but definitely on the small side. That said, the bed was comfortable and the HVAC worked well. Breakfast in the restaurant was surprisingly good, with very helpful service. All in all, not bad, but not overly impressive either. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by first impressions are everything From the moment we arrived. we knew we would enjoy our stay. the hotel was bright friendly and clean. At the reception desk we were greeted by Nazee Alikhanova. She was full of smiles, friendly and very welcoming. After having Nazee assist us with check in, confirming all details because we had 2 separate reservation. We knew we were off to a great start to our fun weekend in DC. All was just what u expect when staying at a westin hotel. We had dinner in your restaurant one night. Our server who's name I can't recall was attentive and friendly. the food was ok, but we orders a few drinks which we thought were a bit pricy but perhaps doing happy hour would of been a better choice since we were a little surprise of the cost. DC is a great city to visit. So easy to navigate thru public transit. I would absolutely suggest everyone to plan to visit the Westin DC City center. You won't be disappointed. October 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff This hotel has great staff, they made our stay very pleasurable. October 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel The Westin was in a great location - close to everything, the services were exceptional, the room was comfortable and clean, the fitness center was very complete and the bar/restaurant served quality food at reasonable prices. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and look forward to my next visit. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location / Excellent Staff Great location. Wonderful experience. The breakfasts in the morning are the best. The Westin was very clean and comfortable,really impressed with the Heavenly bed and shower. The staff is very accommodating. Everyone on staff was friendly and courteous. Looking forward to a return trip to the DC Westin. October 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total lack of attention I am a Platinum member and was in DC for a conference. I decided to stay at this Westin rather than the conference hotel since I am a big Westin fan. I have to say that the total lack of attention my simple request received was not in keeping with the usual high Westin standard. When I first checked in at Noon I was given a 2 double bed room that had a view of the interior courtyard instead of the King I requested on my profile. I asked the front desk to move me to a outside view King room, reminded them I needed a feather-free room, and left for the conference. I returned at 5pm to get into my new room and change for dinner. I was in an outside King but it was not feather free. I asked the front desk on my way out to please have housekeeping de-feather the room and left. I returned at 10:30pm and went to my room which STILL had not been de-feathered. I returned to the front desk and requested for the 3rd time that day to have the room de-feathered. A half-hour later a gentleman from Westin Corporate came to my room with a cotton blanket. I helped him make the bed and he left. There was no apology or acknowledgement from anyone on staff for this. I occasionally have to ask once to have my room de-feathered but 3 times in one day and to not even be offered an Upgrade as a Platinum member is bad management in my opinion. I will not be staying at this property again! October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A successful meeting, yet again - and the food is spectacular This is our second year hosting our annual conference in D.C. at the Westin City Center, bringing together staff from every state. It was wonderful to see the beautiful rennovation the hotel has undergone. The entire hotel staff up to and includding the General Manager were constantly checking in to be sure everything was running smoothly. all the attendees were extremely impressed with the quality and presentation of the food - Chef Nunez is very talented! Chef helped us tailor the menu and offered alternatives that accommodated all atendees pallets - Presentation of the food was beautiful and mouthwatering! From beginning to end, service was exceptional. We will plan to have more of our meetings at this location. September 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Service Hotel staff was unprepared, and uninterested. I was overcharged for multiple items (parking, internet, and bar tab). As a gold member I received none of my benefits. After requesting a late check out (3PM) the staff began pushing me out the door starting at 10AM. Housekeeping ignored the do not disturb on my door and entered the room on three separate occasions, insisting that I must checkout immediately so that housekeeping can service the room. At noon I was checked out of the room automatically, my keys stopped working, and housekeeping showed up again, this time arguing that this room was already checked out and I "MUST" leave to allow them to clean. The bar closes at midnight, at 11:40 the bartender initially refused service, because he'd be closing soon. Eventually he did serve us, but then turned the lights and TVs off just a few minutes later, again before midnight and while at least a dozen patrons were still there finishing drinks and watching TV. I was then charged more than the listed price for parking, and charged for internet, which was supposed to be free for SPG Gold. When the line at check-in was long, I waited in the Gold and Platinum line. One clerk serviced the main line, and neither of the two additional staff members at the desk made any attempt to help any other customers (with or without status). Overall just terrible service from a multitude of people across several departments. I certainly will not be returning to this hotel, which is clearly mismanaged from the top down. September 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by HVAC in rooms needs upgrading The HVAC is so noisy that it prevents restful sleep. This is pervasive throughout hotel and staff knows it September 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Uneven service While the hotel was recently renovated, there were several things off with our room: the interior doors didn't fully close, the sliding door of the shower came off the hinges, a picture was hung upside down. While staff was nice, our room was not ready when promised (even when we called ahead, and this was for a regular - NOT early - checkin time) and the crib we had requested was not there. We had to call twice before it was brought upstairs. The facilities in general were nice though and the lady at the front desk went out of her way to make up for our room not being ready, sending snacks up for the kids. September 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous DC experience at the Westin City Center! I stayed at the Westin for a conference and had the most enjoyable time there. The staff was not only helpful but friendly and courteous. I enjoyed getting to know the staff and the chef is phenomenal!!!!! I can't wait to visit again and stay at the Westin! September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast was terrible Reservations staff was excellent. 2nd time to have breakfast here and it was very expensive and quite bad. Wait staff looked bored, table wasn't set right (no spoon) fresh fruit was by no means fresh, toaster didn't toast bread till you put it through 3 x but coffee was good. Room had no place to hang clothes and was freezing no matter hoe much I raised the temp on thermostat. Conceierge took my bag to hold it for me and made a pt of telling me he was leaving prior to when I would pick it up (so I would give him a tip?). I expect more from westin September 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Undervalue service The hardware was great. The signature heavenly bed and room temperature helped feel me home. Service was lack of elegance and skillfulness. 1) Long queue at the front desk to check in. 2) No invoice so very inconvenient to check later for wrong charge. 3) It was only SPG hotel that could read BRG rate from the system. Unlike other SPGs, it complaint the guests should hand in printed version of BGR approval upon arrival. Haha~ August 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the spg experience Chose this hotel while I dropped off my son for college.. Not because it is the closest hotel to campus, but brand loyalty to Starwood as I have the Amex too. Valet is 50/day and they could care less when you arrive..3 guys there and no one even opened the hotel doors for us. I did not recieve an upgrade as I am supposed to with my spg status, although instead of an atrium view, we got a room a football field away from the elevator w a window view, not helpful. Not bigger or nicer, just further and a view of another hotel.. Turns out I only needed the room for one night, but the rate that I originally booked was for 3 nights, so I had to pay for the 2 nights I wasn't there. Couldn't even adjust one night, they had me pay for 2 empty hotel room nights. They also had the audacity to charge me Valet for all 3 nights when I wasn't even there the last 2. So I get to call and hopefully get my bill adjusted, inconveniently. So when I return to DC to visit my son, brand loyalty is not important. I will not stay here again. August 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A disappointing exprience The Westin DC completely failed to meet the expectations I am used to with Westin properties. The staff responsiveness was below average, the in-room dining was a total disaster (mixed-up the order, twice, spoiled food) and the hotel itself is old and in dire need an upgrade. I have been a long time Starwood Platinum member and have grown to expect the excellence that a large majority of your hotels provide. The Westin DC Center failed me miserably. August 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not driver friendly The enterance is very had to find when driving. At least 4 members of our group had to go around the block and try to find the enterance the second time. When I lchecked out it took 33 min to get my car delivered. the esculator to the meeting rooms omly runs one way down in the morning and up in theafternoon. a pain it you are in and out of meetings. August 21, 2014
  • 2015-07-03T13:45:23.512-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_539, tr_539
  • loc_en_US, sid_1761, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>