The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to register and to check-in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 505 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for business travel Good accommodations and would recommend August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Highly dissatisfied with my stay, especially for the price of the hotel. My television broke, they forgot to leave my cleaning voucher, multiple channels were fuzzy and couldn't be viewed (including ESPN), concierge was unhelpful, have to pay for internet access and have to pay extra to connect more than one device to internet. The biggest disappointment however was the gym - it was a joke. July 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Close the hotel if you are jackhammering the lobby I have stayed at this hotel many times before and always had a good experience. That changed this past week. I cannot believe that the hotel is remaining open during heavy construction. At a minimum,guests should have been informed that the rooms would not be suitable for occupation during the day due to the jackhammering of the lobby and the dust that made the air almost unbereathable. November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service hasn't caught up with facilities upgrade This hotel's upgraded facilities are lovely, and my stay was very comfortable. However, the room service situation wasn't great--there was no menu in my room, and when I called for one, they said they'd send it "right up". It showed up 20 minutes later, photocopied. Then, when I called to order, no one picked up the phone. Waited an hour, called again, and ordered successfully. All good until the next evening, when room service NEVER answered the phone at all. I finally had to go down to the lobby and ask them to place an order for me. That was a big flaw in an otherwise good experience. August 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Westin The interior of the hotel needs to be refurbished. Carpets are worn and the interior needs to be painted. The fitness center was dirty and the equipment needs to be updated. Three of us were to get upgrades with king beds. My room was downgraded and the others were given downgrades as well. Very poorly handled reservations for the conference. May 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad service, bad facility The staff failed to credit Starwood Preferred Gold benefits and charged us for things that are supposed to be complimentary in recognition of our brand loyalty. It took a half hour on the phone to straighten it out and involved staff recurrently putting me on hold and forgetting my issue when they finally picked up again-- this is frankly unacceptable and well below even minimal standards of normal customer care, much less customer care for someone in a loyalty program. I had to call member benefits at corporate to get help (very good and friendly help at that), and even the member benefits representative had to call the facility twice to get someone on the phone. Lastly, the facility feels older and needs updating--the gym was recently redone, which is very nice and a big improvement. I think the rooms are scheduled for upgrades as well, but until those upgrades are in place, it remains substandard for a Westin property. I would not recommend. October 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small room but comfortable and very clean Room is small but very comfortable and clean. Westin beds are the best. August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin under construction Usually my stay at this hotel has been good, but this last stay they were doing extensive construction in the lobby and outside area. This typically would not be an issue, however they had the construction occur throughout the night, so me and my colleagues had maybe 1 to 2 hours worth of sleep. When we complained to the management staff throughout the evening, they disregarded our complaints and offered no alternative solutions. Several other guests of the hotel were also extremely frustrated and upset, but the management staff stated that the drilling and hammer construction would continue throughout the night. We were very disappointed in the Westin's management response. February 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Updating The room I was in (834) has a cracked window that has turned brown from all of the rain I assume. I was told it had a view but it overlooks the building across the street. I cannot believe the rate was $314/night for a room that had double beds, was nowhere near the elevator, no view and had a cracked window. September 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smelly and loud I could hear everything from the rooms next door to me -- from nose blowing to the voice on the speakerphone -- as if the people were in my room. I could also smell my neighbor's food when he ordered room service. Also I was on the top floor and the noise from the atrium was extremely loud. It carries somehow. The staff and hotel manager were very nice and heard my complaints and tried to make concessions but at $300 a night and the name Westin, I was still bitterly disappointed in the experience. I can't believe I just paid that much money for three nights there when I would have been better off at a cheaper, lower tier hotel, that would have been quieter and less smelly. March 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Remodel Disaster I would have appreciated a notification that there would be a major lobby remodel at the time of my stay. I would have booked elsewhere for sure. The inconvenience was so dramatic that even the clear efforts of the hotel staff could not overcome the jackhammer all day long. Being placed in a room remote from the sound was not really a consolation, there was no way to avoid the chaos coming in and out. The restaurant was a disappointment. Overpriced, under-quality, and the service was painfully slow. This included the fact that it seemed clear that the food was being shuttled up a flight of stairs. The room temperature was only regulated by the fact that we opened the sliding door to the outside - in November! The final straw was the water bottles in the room. There were two, with visibly IDENTICAL labels. The problems is - when you look very closely - one says "with our compliments" while the other says "bottled water 3.00". I really expect more than this sort of "bait and switch" from my Westin stays. November 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dark, Worn Out and Expensive Inside rooms overlooking an atrium, you have to keep your drapes shut all the time - so dark. Loud at night, plus some construction going on. Price was expensive for the quality, not a SPG level 5.Staff lost delivery packages. Location is good. November 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond I rarely write reviews but wanted to commend on your excellent customer service. I especially wanted to highlight your staff member Carrie, the concierge who helped me check in (wee hours on 12/3). When she learned that I had lost my luggage in my crazy travels, she went above and beyond in helping me obtain essential toiletries and other necessities. Thank you. It was an unbelievable act of kindness to a stranger and I will always recommend this Westin in DC to friends. December 11, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel is not up to Westin standards. I was very disappointed with my five-night stay (two nights personal and three business) at this property. My window had duct tape all around the frame. My bed was not the usual "heavenly." My toilet was cracked, and it was clear that housekeeping did not clean the bathroom floors because I kept finding my friend's hair on the floor after she left. The carpets in the hallway were filthy and were not great in my room. I had to speak twice with a representative about getting complimentary Internet access, and it was very slow. We used room service for two breakfasts and one evening dessert. While placing one of the breakfast orders, the room service rep abruptly said, "Slow down. I'm writing." Room service forgot one of our two desserts and then brought the wrong flavor of ice cream. We were too exasperated to calll down again. The only positives were the staff in the bar...Reggie and two others. My colleague warned me about staying. I should have listened, but wanted to stay at the conference hotel for the business portion of my trip...big mistake. May 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best I've had many great stays at Starwood hotels but this one was lacking. It wasn't horrible by any means but between the lobby music that was audible early in the morning up in my room on the 12th floor, taking 30 minutes to retrieve my Valet, and minor things like that, it was not my best experience. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience Hotel was dirty. Elevators had cracked tile ont he floor. Carpets worn. Waited for 5 minutes at reception for someone to come out from the back office. May 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Hotel under construction we should of been aware. Also fightinging in middle of night in hall way November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary Came for our 35th Anniversary. Was asked when I reserved if it was for a special occasion and I told them it was our 35th. Shortly after arriving a bottle of wine and strawberries were delivered to our room. Very impressed! August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Willis Review Overall my stay great with the W. There was to issues. I was in room 504 and there is no shower caddy in the room. Second, I ordered a signature salad. When the salad arrived to my room, there was no pecan on the salad. I called service express for help twice. After about two hours. The MOD finally showed up the pecan. Of course by then I had finished my meal. The MOD did give me a free breakfast coupon that I did not use. I would have happy if there were no pecans on-site in the salad if the Food Staff had notified me that they were out. I got the impression that the food staff though that I would not notice. Again, my overall stay was great and would Definitely to my family and friends. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Customer Service William - Valet attendant who was very friendly and answered all of my questions. Muhammad - Outstanding customer service; smooth, seamless check-in. Ada - Great, pleasant and sunny disposition. Bartender (Did not get her name). Thurs, Feb 9, 2012. She was an African-American woman who was very nice and friendly. I sat at the bar and ordered a salad. She was very attentive and had a wonderful spirit about her. She told me I had "great penmanship" after I signed my bill. Enjoyed talking to her. Barry (Bartender) - Good customer service skills and seemed to be handling the bar well as it started to get busy. Room was very clean and I was impressed that housekeeping did not knock on my door prior to my 4 pm late check-out time. This was my first time staying at this Starwood property, and they definitely take care of SPG members. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends and colleagues. February 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful room We had booked the hotel for one night only. We arrived after midnight and were greeted warmly. The room had 2 queen size beds as requested, but also a sitting room with sofabed, 2 armchairs and a table, a sizable desk area, wide screen TV, a mini-fridge and plenty of storage space and a nice bathroom. Pity we could not have stayed longer, as the beds were very comfortable. The only negative remark I would have is that the cleaning staff had forgotten to replace the toiletries, but that was remedied upon asking. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Newly Updated and Very Nice Have stayed at this hotel before; but years ago. It was recently updated and the rooms are very, very nice. I loved the flat screen TV's in the guest room - they appear large even by today's hotel standards. Food was excellent - try the 1400 Salad. We were disappointed that the new restaurant/bar on the lobby floor was not quite ready - but then there is always the next trip. It was scheduled to open for lunch, dinner and drinks on Friday, 2/28/14, which was our departure day. Did not have time between business meetings to try Westin Work-Out, but it also had a major redo. March 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice sized rooms For DC I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. The room was also nicely appointed and comfortable. As for location, the hotel is within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and attractions. The items that I did not care for: The smokers congregate at the bottom of the steps on the sidewalk, so you walk right through them and the smell if you dare use the stairs. When in the room I could not locate the remote, which I discovered on the floor behind the bedside table (found that to be odd). There was no hand or body soap in the room, instead of soap the housekeeping staff place shampoo in the soap dish. I did ask and received some later. The toilet paper holder was falling off the wall. The wire shelf in the shower is falling apart, 3 of the wires were totally missing and a 4th was falling off, making the shelf almost unusable. I also found the towels to be a bit small and rough, felt as if fabric softener is not used. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice night in Washington The hotel was very clean and the bathroom could not have been more spotless. It was quiet in and around our room and we slept soundly. It seems we could have been upgraded as gold SPG members, as the hotel was empty, but no suggestion was made and our room was fine. The only complaint is that the breakfast buffet was way overpriced, but there are lots of restaurants within a 2 block radius that you could get a cheaper breakfast. In addition, the in room water was $5? Seriously? The Metro was for McPherson square (blue/orange line) was an easy walk with a CVS right on the way to pick up anything you might have forgotten for your trip. We would use this hotel again. July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Experience I made a change to my reservation with more than 24 hours notice, but was forced to pay an additional $80 because the reservation agent made a mistake in the way they re-booked my reservation. I also had to wait 20 minutes for a hostess in the restaurant for breakfast. We ended up seating ourselves, receiving no menu or water, and waiting 10 minutes for creamer for our coffee even after we managed to flag down a waitress. Worst hotel experience ever. I expected much better of the Westin. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Platinum Friendly The Westin DC City Center is not an SPG Property that seems concerned about serving Platinum Members. I have stayed at this hotel over a dozen times in the last year for work. The only room upgrade I was given was after almost begging for the accomodation. My last trip was preceeded by a call to the hotel by the Platinum Desk ( they are great). They confirmed my room change to a King and my upgrade. Upon arrival, I was given a room with 2 double beds that was supposedly and upgrade. I walked back from the 12th Floor to the front desk and asked for the King Room I was promised. I was given the King Room in the middle of the hotel-No Upgrade. Meanwhile, I could see a number of Suites dark and unoccupied. So much for being Gold for Life and Platinum. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 3.5 stars overall Good hotel: located in downtown, good breakfast buffet, convenient valet parking with in/out privileges Cons: tight beds ( 2 dbl, instead of queens), had problems with our bathroom door not locking and coffee maker not working well; from my 8 yr old daughter's perspective : no pool, limited TV shows for kids, no kids activities August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Service was unsatisfactory During my stay, the maid service made the beds but did not leave wash cloths, hand towels or bath mat. I requested these items at 6pm on my way out for dinner. At 10pm when I returned they had not been provided so I requested these items again. They were not provided until one hour later. August 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by no food or drink after 11pm we got back at 11pm and were hungry. there is nothing for food or drink any where near this hotel. we called for room service and they only had a choice of 2 cold sandwiches but the operator had called them all night and wasn;t getting an answer back from them....we went to bed hungry....It is unbelievable that the hotel of this quality had nothing available ....not even ice machines nor vendor machines....very disappointing. We were told that the closest place we could get something would be CVS one block away! July 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory Room and Bathroom As a Starwood guest you expect a certain level of comfort and cleanliness…this was my third attempt to give SPG another try after two prior negative experiences; (Philadelphia and New York) only to be disappointed yet again with the lack of cleanliness of the room, bedding and bathroom. In the first room the bedding had multiple stains, the pillows were old and soiled and the bathroom ceiling was cracked and flaking/peeling. Front desk staff and the manager were very attentive however, first impressions are lasting impressions and my family and I are left with the impression that all SPG hotels lack the commitment of providing guests with clean bedding and rooms ... June 26, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>