The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 458 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was beyond excellent!!!!!! My husband and I came in on Sunday, June 23, and during that trip we found out his mother had died. I had to change the reservation, the comped the parking, the helped us with getting a train back. My brother was also staying, we changed his reservation and then changed it back. I needed to get to my car to show a friend where all the features were so he could drive it back, your valet was extremely accommodating. The superb, professional and compassionate services during this difficult time went above and beyond, you should be very proud of your staff. June 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 11 pm construction? I hate to add to the negative reviews, but I will start by saying I knew there was construction that was supposed to take place during business hours. I didn't mind because I did not plan to stay on the property during the day. However, as I sit here and write this 11 o'clock on a Thursday night, construction is still going on. I hear a saw and constant hammering. I called the front desk about a half hour ago and they said they would take care of it, but unfortunately that has not happened. At this point, the property does not have any redeeming qualities. The restaurant and gym are nonexistent. They lobby is practically outside, the rooms are outdated and have thin walls, and there are no other amenities. As much as it pains me to say this, I recommend avoiding this hotel at all costs. I'm a loyal spg guy, but this is unacceptable. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great features Excellent facility and location. The parking fee was quite steep, but all else was excellent! May 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed! Hi: I just wanted to pass on feedback that my most recent stay/experience at your hotel was less than satisfactory. The entire hotel had a dreary, worn down look and the room furnishings (chairs, sofa) had decidedly seen better days. Dinner at the restaurant was so-so. For the price I was charged I expected a much better experience--came away disappointed. Had to pay for breakfast and internet over and above exorbitant room rate. I just did not perceive value. Thanks. September 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Hotel; Horrible Service I am generally a big fan of the Westin. But this location was a nightmare - the staff are unfriendly, and there was remodeling / construction going on in the room next to mine - which started in the early hours of the morning (possibly middle of the night). When I complained to the front desk, they acknowledged there is some construction going on but did nothing to correct the inconvenience. Highly unprofessional behavior from such a well-regarded brand. September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin under construction Usually my stay at this hotel has been good, but this last stay they were doing extensive construction in the lobby and outside area. This typically would not be an issue, however they had the construction occur throughout the night, so me and my colleagues had maybe 1 to 2 hours worth of sleep. When we complained to the management staff throughout the evening, they disregarded our complaints and offered no alternative solutions. Several other guests of the hotel were also extremely frustrated and upset, but the management staff stated that the drilling and hammer construction would continue throughout the night. We were very disappointed in the Westin's management response. February 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Westin let down Westin in my mind reflects a high standard. This particular property does not honor your reputation. The carpet leading to the restauant is so dirty and worn, one hardly finds comfort in eating if the floor is that dirty. We called for a bellman, waited 20 minutes, finally did the job ourselves. I generally love Westin and stay often, almost Platinum. I would never stay in your Wasington property again. It does not remotely speak to the Starwood brand. June 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Under construction This hotel is under construction, and has been for some time. Until now it has been manageable, but I checked in this week to find no lobby, no functioning gym, basically a construction zone. They didn't notify me in advance of checking in - not acceptable when I am Starwood platinum and reserved a room based on certain amenities. I then returned to the hotel after a long day to find my room hadn't been cleaned and no linens. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by upgrade needed in appearance & staff simple tasks like checking in w/valet upon arrival was taxing and not well coordinated; my room - upgraded to a suite, had worn carpet, a broken shower door, stained furniture and felt like a room that's often been used by bachelor parties; tired w/stains in carpet & furniture ; noise from atrium bar echoes all night through center court ….. I have never stayed at Westin like this - amazingly poor & in need of overhaul November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Everything was great till checkout The stay was great. Room looked great. There was still some work being done on the outside of the building. After checkout I was emailed my bill and there was a charge for overnight parking. The person sharing the room with me paid for the parking, but it was never removed from the bill. Over the last two weeks I have tried to get it fixed including faxing the receipt. There has been no follow-up. So I am stuck with a 50 dollar charge. If you stay here make sure to confirm all charges before you leave otherwise it may never be updated. May 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Close the hotel if you are jackhammering the lobby I have stayed at this hotel many times before and always had a good experience. That changed this past week. I cannot believe that the hotel is remaining open during heavy construction. At a minimum,guests should have been informed that the rooms would not be suitable for occupation during the day due to the jackhammering of the lobby and the dust that made the air almost unbereathable. November 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Highly dissatisfied with my stay, especially for the price of the hotel. My television broke, they forgot to leave my cleaning voucher, multiple channels were fuzzy and couldn't be viewed (including ESPN), concierge was unhelpful, have to pay for internet access and have to pay extra to connect more than one device to internet. The biggest disappointment however was the gym - it was a joke. July 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad service, bad facility The staff failed to credit Starwood Preferred Gold benefits and charged us for things that are supposed to be complimentary in recognition of our brand loyalty. It took a half hour on the phone to straighten it out and involved staff recurrently putting me on hold and forgetting my issue when they finally picked up again-- this is frankly unacceptable and well below even minimal standards of normal customer care, much less customer care for someone in a loyalty program. I had to call member benefits at corporate to get help (very good and friendly help at that), and even the member benefits representative had to call the facility twice to get someone on the phone. Lastly, the facility feels older and needs updating--the gym was recently redone, which is very nice and a big improvement. I think the rooms are scheduled for upgrades as well, but until those upgrades are in place, it remains substandard for a Westin property. I would not recommend. October 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Westin The interior of the hotel needs to be refurbished. Carpets are worn and the interior needs to be painted. The fitness center was dirty and the equipment needs to be updated. Three of us were to get upgrades with king beds. My room was downgraded and the others were given downgrades as well. Very poorly handled reservations for the conference. May 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Newly Updated and Very Nice Have stayed at this hotel before; but years ago. It was recently updated and the rooms are very, very nice. I loved the flat screen TV's in the guest room - they appear large even by today's hotel standards. Food was excellent - try the 1400 Salad. We were disappointed that the new restaurant/bar on the lobby floor was not quite ready - but then there is always the next trip. It was scheduled to open for lunch, dinner and drinks on Friday, 2/28/14, which was our departure day. Did not have time between business meetings to try Westin Work-Out, but it also had a major redo. March 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Remodel Disaster I would have appreciated a notification that there would be a major lobby remodel at the time of my stay. I would have booked elsewhere for sure. The inconvenience was so dramatic that even the clear efforts of the hotel staff could not overcome the jackhammer all day long. Being placed in a room remote from the sound was not really a consolation, there was no way to avoid the chaos coming in and out. The restaurant was a disappointment. Overpriced, under-quality, and the service was painfully slow. This included the fact that it seemed clear that the food was being shuttled up a flight of stairs. The room temperature was only regulated by the fact that we opened the sliding door to the outside - in November! The final straw was the water bottles in the room. There were two, with visibly IDENTICAL labels. The problems is - when you look very closely - one says "with our compliments" while the other says "bottled water 3.00". I really expect more than this sort of "bait and switch" from my Westin stays. November 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Updating The room I was in (834) has a cracked window that has turned brown from all of the rain I assume. I was told it had a view but it overlooks the building across the street. I cannot believe the rate was $314/night for a room that had double beds, was nowhere near the elevator, no view and had a cracked window. September 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smelly and loud I could hear everything from the rooms next door to me -- from nose blowing to the voice on the speakerphone -- as if the people were in my room. I could also smell my neighbor's food when he ordered room service. Also I was on the top floor and the noise from the atrium was extremely loud. It carries somehow. The staff and hotel manager were very nice and heard my complaints and tried to make concessions but at $300 a night and the name Westin, I was still bitterly disappointed in the experience. I can't believe I just paid that much money for three nights there when I would have been better off at a cheaper, lower tier hotel, that would have been quieter and less smelly. March 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dark, Worn Out and Expensive Inside rooms overlooking an atrium, you have to keep your drapes shut all the time - so dark. Loud at night, plus some construction going on. Price was expensive for the quality, not a SPG level 5.Staff lost delivery packages. Location is good. November 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond I rarely write reviews but wanted to commend on your excellent customer service. I especially wanted to highlight your staff member Carrie, the concierge who helped me check in (wee hours on 12/3). When she learned that I had lost my luggage in my crazy travels, she went above and beyond in helping me obtain essential toiletries and other necessities. Thank you. It was an unbelievable act of kindness to a stranger and I will always recommend this Westin in DC to friends. December 11, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel is not up to Westin standards. I was very disappointed with my five-night stay (two nights personal and three business) at this property. My window had duct tape all around the frame. My bed was not the usual "heavenly." My toilet was cracked, and it was clear that housekeeping did not clean the bathroom floors because I kept finding my friend's hair on the floor after she left. The carpets in the hallway were filthy and were not great in my room. I had to speak twice with a representative about getting complimentary Internet access, and it was very slow. We used room service for two breakfasts and one evening dessert. While placing one of the breakfast orders, the room service rep abruptly said, "Slow down. I'm writing." Room service forgot one of our two desserts and then brought the wrong flavor of ice cream. We were too exasperated to calll down again. The only positives were the staff in the bar...Reggie and two others. My colleague warned me about staying. I should have listened, but wanted to stay at the conference hotel for the business portion of my trip...big mistake. May 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Hotel under construction we should of been aware. Also fightinging in middle of night in hall way November 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience Hotel was dirty. Elevators had cracked tile ont he floor. Carpets worn. Waited for 5 minutes at reception for someone to come out from the back office. May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Washington DC Delight The heavenly bed is amazingly comfortable. I was very impressed by the available brightness of the room lighting at night. The room was extremely quiet at night without any street noise or noise from neighbors. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was excellent I was impressed with check in. The excellent check in person allowed us to check in early and was able to find a room to extend my stay by one day. That was great! May 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Beds!! Best night sleep in a long time! April 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice facilities with terrible service The hotel looks new and has some renovations still going on. However the drilling noise is drowned out by the chatter and general rudeness/ incompetence of the staff. I would best describe it as a hotel the kids have taken over, but that would be offensive to the kids. Absolutely hopeless seems to be the culture, and try getting accurate information on places to go or eat and then figure it out yourself. More interested in hanging out than servicing customers. Rates have probably already suffered for this, would be looking here first if SPG need to find additional revenue potential. Won't stay here again, it's embarrassing. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Customer Service William - Valet attendant who was very friendly and answered all of my questions. Muhammad - Outstanding customer service; smooth, seamless check-in. Ada - Great, pleasant and sunny disposition. Bartender (Did not get her name). Thurs, Feb 9, 2012. She was an African-American woman who was very nice and friendly. I sat at the bar and ordered a salad. She was very attentive and had a wonderful spirit about her. She told me I had "great penmanship" after I signed my bill. Enjoyed talking to her. Barry (Bartender) - Good customer service skills and seemed to be handling the bar well as it started to get busy. Room was very clean and I was impressed that housekeeping did not knock on my door prior to my 4 pm late check-out time. This was my first time staying at this Starwood property, and they definitely take care of SPG members. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends and colleagues. February 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by MD not prepared for the conference May 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Not the Westin experience we've come to expect. May 22, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>