The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to register and to check-in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 514 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Construction Is REALLY Loud I entered a war zone for my recent stay. There were zero public areas available. Addtionally, there was excessive noise due to jackahammers and other tools between the hours of 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. My room literally shook. I'm sure it will look great when it'd done, but if you are expecting a Westin experience, run down the road to Westin Georgetown. I was expecting to work in my room, and meet with business associates in the common areas, but because of the noise had to move to the lobby of a neighboring hotel. Plus, there were no common areas in which to meet my associates. Just make sure construction is done before you stay. January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Manager, Exceptional Staff. We just concluded a 6 day stay at the Westin Washington DC City Center Hotel celebrating a birthday. The hotel manager Pinar Dincer and her well-trained, personable and attentive staff made the stay a truly memorable one. The staff was always welcoming, smiling, and attended to our every need. The property is in a great location (lose to Metro and City Bikeshare) and is undergoing a most-welcome renovation. Ms. Dincer has done a great job overseeing every detail at the property. We have been a SPG Platinum member for over a decade -- Ms. Dincer has developed the best team we've encountered at any property. The manager and her team made the celebration perfect! October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice renovation, looks unfinished though The staff was friendly upon arrival. Walking to the room the hallway looked clean and smelled new. Needed some art or color to break up the long hall. The room was nice and modern, but there was hair in our bathtub. They responded quickly and sent housekeeping to clean it. We went out in the morning and noticed that weather stripping on an adjacent rooms door was falling off and notified the front desk...3 hours later they still hadn't fixed it. Some details needed to be fixed, like white paint all over the black granite on the outside of the suites, and the edges of the carpet in our room looked horrible. Overall hotel was nice, just needs to look a little closer at the details. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Itself Fine. Service Lacking. Hotel is located in good location, facilities are fine - not great, not unsatisfactory for a Westin in a similar city... My problem is the reservation and way handled...in town for a major conference, made SPG reservation in Sept 2013 for March 2014 room - got to hotel to learn "no room for first night, have to go to another hotel" - how does this happen, why make a reservation? Moved to another hotel a few blocks away for one-night, have to check in, check out next day, re-check-in -- missed a good hour of my meeting I was in town for in the first place...very disappointing for a Westin/Starwood SPG Guest for years... April 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed bag This hotel has a great location, and generally the rooms are comfortable. My last trip, I even had a note and gift because it was my 25th stay at the property. That was the good. Accidentally dropped something on the floor almost under the bed. Reached down to get it, and saw a collection of condom wrappers under the bed. At least three. Kinda took the shine off the spacious room with the chocolates. Reported it to the desk the next morning as i went out for the day, clerk didn't apologize, just said flatly it would be taken care of. Sure made me feel special. Yeah, think I'll find an alternative Starwood property in DC. December 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Check - In ever !! This place is not eligible for staying. We were driving from New York so it got a little late. We arrived here at the hotel around 12:30 A.M. and were in a hurry to get into a room. It took more than 15 minutes to process the room. When we entered the room, to our surprise, it was occupied with a coffee cup on the desk and an unkempt bed. Finally everything was settled after AN HOUR! THANK YOU!! and guess what? House Keeping knocks the door at 7:00 A.M. in the morning. I mean, why would you need room cleaning at 7 in the morning and on top of that, you simply barge in after knocking. Completely unacceptable!! May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place to stay in D.C. It took a little while to check in because a lot of people arrived at the same time. Our room was at the end of the line which made my mother, who walks with a cane, a little disappointed. Nonetheless, the room was clean, beds were VERY comfortable, and it was overall a nice stay. Someone discharged a fire extinguisher at 2:00 in the morning which caused a lot of chaos on our first night, but other than that it was a quiet stay and the hotel staff provided an apology letter. It would have been nice to go an extra step and provide a credit or something but oh well. Would probably stay here again on a return visit anyway. March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location My mother and I stayed here for our first visit to DC and we can not have enjoyed ourselves any better than we did. The hotel is located in a very good location for visiting the city. The metro stop is just a few easy blocks away, there is a Whole Foods store three blocks from the hotel. The staff is very accommodating and when I requested a quiet room, they gave me one! Although the property is a little dated, it is very comfortable and very clean and I will stay there again on my next visit. April 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, upcoming renovation The hotel is about to do a renovation, and it is needed - currently, it looks pretty tired. The location is very convenient and the room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant is dreary in its current state. The staff's attention to detail is not up to par - I had the Indulge package rate, and I had to call attention to and ask for every single item that was included. It took multiple requests to receive the wine, and I finally got it late in the evening, well past the point at which I wanted to enjoy it. So pay attention to what's included if you get a package rate because the stafff is not paying attention. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by CENTRAL TO ALL GREAT SITES! Our stay at this Westin was excellent. The hotel is beautiful, modern and the staff was beyond friendly. The front desk was extremely helpful in getting a room change from a King to a double for my sister and niece who were travelling with my husband and me. The valet, concierge and bell were courteous. The bar/lounge had excellent service and drinks. The rooms were modern, clean and bed and linen were comfortable. The Westin at M street was walking distance to all the sites in Washington DC and to many good restaurants and cafes in the area. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. September 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice... THE WESTIN WASHINGTON, D.C. CITY CENTER proved to be a fantastic choice for our trip to the Washington area with our friends the Walshes. The accommodations were superb and the staff was extremely attentive... especially the bellman Ernest who went to any means to ensure our complete satisfaction. The location is very convenient to the tourist attractions that tell the many stories about our Country's history. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I keep coming back I've stayed here a good number of times, and I keep coming back because: a) it's convenient b) it's a Starwood c) it's a Westin d) it's a great hotel with great staff. The hotel itself has been under construction in one way or another seemingly forever -- but they even give you earplugs if it's too much during the day. No construction's going on at night, so it's a non-issue. Love the apples in the hallways, and love the apple cider at the check-in floor (the second floor while the lobby on the 1st is under construction. Easy to get to from the airport (via metro), and close to everything I need to get to. December 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the spg experience Chose this hotel while I dropped off my son for college.. Not because it is the closest hotel to campus, but brand loyalty to Starwood as I have the Amex too. Valet is 50/day and they could care less when you arrive..3 guys there and no one even opened the hotel doors for us. I did not recieve an upgrade as I am supposed to with my spg status, although instead of an atrium view, we got a room a football field away from the elevator w a window view, not helpful. Not bigger or nicer, just further and a view of another hotel.. Turns out I only needed the room for one night, but the rate that I originally booked was for 3 nights, so I had to pay for the 2 nights I wasn't there. Couldn't even adjust one night, they had me pay for 2 empty hotel room nights. They also had the audacity to charge me Valet for all 3 nights when I wasn't even there the last 2. So I get to call and hopefully get my bill adjusted, inconveniently. So when I return to DC to visit my son, brand loyalty is not important. I will not stay here again. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Getaway Weekend Excellent location. Easy walk to Metro. Was upgraded because of SPG status to room with a view. Staff was wonderful from the moment we stepped in the door. Restaurant is expensive but many options right outside the front door. The construction did not bother us a bit but we were there on a weekend and spent very little time in the hotel after 9 am and before 9pm. My biggest complaint is that the shower was always cold (lukewarm at best) so I didn't enjoy the Westin Heavenly Shower. Another minor inconvenience is lack of vending machines for sodas, water and drinks (12 oz can of diet Coke was $4.35 in the restaurant/bar). We had a fantastic time in DC and can't wait to return. December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, but unfriendly and stinky closets As an SPG Gold member that is almost Platinum, I was surprised by the lack of friendliness and helpfulness at this hotel. It does not AT ALL compare to the level of service at the W. Check-in staff was unfriendly and acted as if I was a major bother. Though my bed was lovely and very comfortable, my closet smelled horrendous.. like there was something rotting in there. I could not hang any clothes or even open that door. Gross. Overall, the hotel needs an upgrade. The elevators are scary.. wasn't ever sure I would make it out alive. Location is great though. Many delicious restaurants within walking distance. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful room We had booked the hotel for one night only. We arrived after midnight and were greeted warmly. The room had 2 queen size beds as requested, but also a sitting room with sofabed, 2 armchairs and a table, a sizable desk area, wide screen TV, a mini-fridge and plenty of storage space and a nice bathroom. Pity we could not have stayed longer, as the beds were very comfortable. The only negative remark I would have is that the cleaning staff had forgotten to replace the toiletries, but that was remedied upon asking. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by surprisingly personal service Despite attracting business travelers, City Center managed to make families welcome and provide extra pleasures for leisure travel like mine this weekend. Ada the concierge was a joy. Wilny the room service waiter was wonderful. The list of each day's special events was extremely helpful in a city that offers so much to so many. The deluxe room was very comfortable, the view fine, and the staff was delightful. This older professional woman traveler will certainly return. November 22, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not driver friendly The enterance is very had to find when driving. At least 4 members of our group had to go around the block and try to find the enterance the second time. When I lchecked out it took 33 min to get my car delivered. the esculator to the meeting rooms omly runs one way down in the morning and up in theafternoon. a pain it you are in and out of meetings. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice older-style hotel This looks like a 1970s-style hotel with the rooms surrounding a large atrium. Although the atrium provides interesting views from the rooms, it can be noisy due to echoing sounds. This hotel has been maintained well and is in very good condition. The carpets and furniture and fixtures in my room were all in like-new condition. The room was clean with plenty of towels. Although I didn't ask for anything special, the check-in staff was very friendly and efficient. January 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Beautiful Experience What a nice Hotel to stay and visit Washington. Parked the car during our stay. The Concierge arranged for an all day trolley tour that picked you up at the Hotel. The rest of the staff ( bartenders, restaurant servers, carhops and a very special bellman named Ernist ) made our stay outstanding. Ernist would check with us daily on our well being. The room was very comfortable, except for a noisy neighbor. August 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average It got off to a great start. The gentlemen that checked me in was excellent. Professional, curteous and welcoming. And there was a fruit tray waiting for me. And the room had a lovely view. The facilites are little worn and need sprucing up. And when I went to clean up the next morning, it was not good. The water was luke warm and was cold before I got out. And I could not find soap, when I called I was told they no longer had soap only body wash. That does not cut it for me. I like to wash my face with soap not body wash. I do not understand that policy at all. There are better places to stay in DC. February 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again Having stayed here numerous times on business, this past stay convinced me it would be my last. I had to have my room changed 4 times due to lack of air conditioning and cigarette smell. When I got a room w/ AC and no odors... then the internet connection was horrible. I gave up and stayed there. As a Platinum Member, none of my profile requests were noted. Other than the bellman, the room service person & the man who tried to fix one of the AC units, the staff was unprofessional. I appreciate they are about to undergo a major renovation, however consideration must be given to the current guests. June 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poorly disorganized Many problems with this hotel. First off, the biggest convention was being held during the weekend that I stayed there (>14000 people at the convention center. Only ONE elevator was working. Took 15-20 mins to get up or down the stairs. I am handicapped and was on the top floor. After checking bags in and then reclaiming them, I had to wait over 25 mins for only ONE bellman to help find them. Coffee at coffee shop was HORRIBLE and there were no bagels there. Did I mention that the convention was for AIPAC, the largest JEWISH convention held in the US? How could they NOT have BAGELS?? Jesus, guys, get your act together. There were never any washcloths in the room. The bed was just poorly made and the bathrobe that I had used the night before was crumpled up in the heap in the middle of the bed when they made up the room. Also, the employees showed no real empathy for these issues. March 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Experience I made a change to my reservation with more than 24 hours notice, but was forced to pay an additional $80 because the reservation agent made a mistake in the way they re-booked my reservation. I also had to wait 20 minutes for a hostess in the restaurant for breakfast. We ended up seating ourselves, receiving no menu or water, and waiting 10 minutes for creamer for our coffee even after we managed to flag down a waitress. Worst hotel experience ever. I expected much better of the Westin. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice experience I have to admit everyone we came in contact with provided exceptional service and professional attitude. Not sure how they are able to keep that many great staff members! Used thde suite upgrade and got the atrium suite. Awesome suite and very private considering you have no room next to you at all! No club lounge but the front desk had no problems giving out water. Great location, highly recommend. March 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay for the price I was placed on the SPG Floor. All of the requests from my SPG profile were honored and I received a nice note from the hotel manager upon check-in. In my rush to get to DC, I left my shoes at home. Concierge was quick to point me to the nearby Macy's and gave me coupons to use. Room service was quick and accurate. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms or outside. I will definitely return! December 7, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location and interesting venue I've stayed at this DC hotel several times. It provides the expected and comfortable Westin stay. The breakfast buffet -- and I'm not a fan of buffets -- was truly exceptional in selection and style. My only concern was the absence of a mini-bar. They are a great convenience when you are working in your room or return late after meetings and prefer to just relax alone. November 12, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average The service was ok but not great. For instance, it took 30 minutes to get someone to bring toiletries to our room, and 3 phone calls. The location is decent, but not terribly close to any metros. Overall it was average, the rooms were fine, only one robe (?), but nice shower. There was a mosquito in our room that bit me a few times! They offer New Balance rentals which is nice. But there was really no difference between Starwood Platinum or Gold versus not - even though they had a separate line at check in, they just ran everyone through it; no upgrades, etc. The facilities are fine, but October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel We enjoyed everything about the hotel except that our room was next to the elevators which were very noisy so it kept us up late and up early with some hammering or repair on the elevator. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay despite cold room. Hard to navigate the Washington streets to get there by car. Greeted by friendly parking attendants. Had lunch in the lobby lounge which was freezing but we appreciated being allowed to sit and talk for a couple of hours without being bothered. The whole ground floor was freezing. Our room was also freezing, but, at least, had plenty of blankets. Lots of restaurants to choose from nearby. Had a buffet breakfast in the restaurant 1400 North. The selection was modest and the oatmeal was, not surprisingly, cold. But, again, we appreciated being left alone to chat for a couple of hours. March 6, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 next>>