The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to register and to check-in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 492 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Manager, Exceptional Staff. We just concluded a 6 day stay at the Westin Washington DC City Center Hotel celebrating a birthday. The hotel manager Pinar Dincer and her well-trained, personable and attentive staff made the stay a truly memorable one. The staff was always welcoming, smiling, and attended to our every need. The property is in a great location (lose to Metro and City Bikeshare) and is undergoing a most-welcome renovation. Ms. Dincer has done a great job overseeing every detail at the property. We have been a SPG Platinum member for over a decade -- Ms. Dincer has developed the best team we've encountered at any property. The manager and her team made the celebration perfect! October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed bag This hotel has a great location, and generally the rooms are comfortable. My last trip, I even had a note and gift because it was my 25th stay at the property. That was the good. Accidentally dropped something on the floor almost under the bed. Reached down to get it, and saw a collection of condom wrappers under the bed. At least three. Kinda took the shine off the spacious room with the chocolates. Reported it to the desk the next morning as i went out for the day, clerk didn't apologize, just said flatly it would be taken care of. Sure made me feel special. Yeah, think I'll find an alternative Starwood property in DC. December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL IS AMAZING INCLUDING STAFF!!! I had the best experience! June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place to stay in D.C. It took a little while to check in because a lot of people arrived at the same time. Our room was at the end of the line which made my mother, who walks with a cane, a little disappointed. Nonetheless, the room was clean, beds were VERY comfortable, and it was overall a nice stay. Someone discharged a fire extinguisher at 2:00 in the morning which caused a lot of chaos on our first night, but other than that it was a quiet stay and the hotel staff provided an apology letter. It would have been nice to go an extra step and provide a credit or something but oh well. Would probably stay here again on a return visit anyway. March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location My mother and I stayed here for our first visit to DC and we can not have enjoyed ourselves any better than we did. The hotel is located in a very good location for visiting the city. The metro stop is just a few easy blocks away, there is a Whole Foods store three blocks from the hotel. The staff is very accommodating and when I requested a quiet room, they gave me one! Although the property is a little dated, it is very comfortable and very clean and I will stay there again on my next visit. April 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, upcoming renovation The hotel is about to do a renovation, and it is needed - currently, it looks pretty tired. The location is very convenient and the room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant is dreary in its current state. The staff's attention to detail is not up to par - I had the Indulge package rate, and I had to call attention to and ask for every single item that was included. It took multiple requests to receive the wine, and I finally got it late in the evening, well past the point at which I wanted to enjoy it. So pay attention to what's included if you get a package rate because the stafff is not paying attention. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I keep coming back I've stayed here a good number of times, and I keep coming back because: a) it's convenient b) it's a Starwood c) it's a Westin d) it's a great hotel with great staff. The hotel itself has been under construction in one way or another seemingly forever -- but they even give you earplugs if it's too much during the day. No construction's going on at night, so it's a non-issue. Love the apples in the hallways, and love the apple cider at the check-in floor (the second floor while the lobby on the 1st is under construction. Easy to get to from the airport (via metro), and close to everything I need to get to. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by CENTRAL TO ALL GREAT SITES! Our stay at this Westin was excellent. The hotel is beautiful, modern and the staff was beyond friendly. The front desk was extremely helpful in getting a room change from a King to a double for my sister and niece who were travelling with my husband and me. The valet, concierge and bell were courteous. The bar/lounge had excellent service and drinks. The rooms were modern, clean and bed and linen were comfortable. The Westin at M street was walking distance to all the sites in Washington DC and to many good restaurants and cafes in the area. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Getaway Weekend Excellent location. Easy walk to Metro. Was upgraded because of SPG status to room with a view. Staff was wonderful from the moment we stepped in the door. Restaurant is expensive but many options right outside the front door. The construction did not bother us a bit but we were there on a weekend and spent very little time in the hotel after 9 am and before 9pm. My biggest complaint is that the shower was always cold (lukewarm at best) so I didn't enjoy the Westin Heavenly Shower. Another minor inconvenience is lack of vending machines for sodas, water and drinks (12 oz can of diet Coke was $4.35 in the restaurant/bar). We had a fantastic time in DC and can't wait to return. December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, but unfriendly and stinky closets As an SPG Gold member that is almost Platinum, I was surprised by the lack of friendliness and helpfulness at this hotel. It does not AT ALL compare to the level of service at the W. Check-in staff was unfriendly and acted as if I was a major bother. Though my bed was lovely and very comfortable, my closet smelled horrendous.. like there was something rotting in there. I could not hang any clothes or even open that door. Gross. Overall, the hotel needs an upgrade. The elevators are scary.. wasn't ever sure I would make it out alive. Location is great though. Many delicious restaurants within walking distance. October 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poorly disorganized Many problems with this hotel. First off, the biggest convention was being held during the weekend that I stayed there (>14000 people at the convention center. Only ONE elevator was working. Took 15-20 mins to get up or down the stairs. I am handicapped and was on the top floor. After checking bags in and then reclaiming them, I had to wait over 25 mins for only ONE bellman to help find them. Coffee at coffee shop was HORRIBLE and there were no bagels there. Did I mention that the convention was for AIPAC, the largest JEWISH convention held in the US? How could they NOT have BAGELS?? Jesus, guys, get your act together. There were never any washcloths in the room. The bed was just poorly made and the bathrobe that I had used the night before was crumpled up in the heap in the middle of the bed when they made up the room. Also, the employees showed no real empathy for these issues. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by surprisingly personal service Despite attracting business travelers, City Center managed to make families welcome and provide extra pleasures for leisure travel like mine this weekend. Ada the concierge was a joy. Wilny the room service waiter was wonderful. The list of each day's special events was extremely helpful in a city that offers so much to so many. The deluxe room was very comfortable, the view fine, and the staff was delightful. This older professional woman traveler will certainly return. November 22, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very similar to a root canal I am currently sitting in my room in this hotel on the third night of a stay that has been a nightmare I can best analogize to a root canal. The hotel is conducting some sort of exterior and interior renovation that involves a lot of extremely loud, intermittent drilling throughout the day, beginning early in the morning. It feels like it is going on inside my room, although Service Express assures me that in fact it is outside my window; I also see construction workers in neighboring rooms and someone has repeatedly been knocking on my door to deal with something or other in my specific room, and then apologizing, apparently surprised that a guest is staying here. Whosever idea it was to begin the drilling well before 9am, even on a Saturday, and continue throughout the day, obviously was not aware that some people would actually plan to try to _stay_ in this hotel during this time, in search of quiet and a bit of sleep (which I have not gotten), nor that some of us would need to use our rooms as a place to work during part of the day on some days. The bottom line is that this renovation is extremely extensive and loud. I would not complain about some modest noise here and there. If this noise and disruption could not be avoided or made any quieter, this hotel should have temporarily shut down -- either the whole property, or at least the floor that I am on, for all the days I have attempted, unsuccessfully, to sleep here. Do not stay at this hotel without inquiring about the exterior and/or interior renovation work and whether it is finally over. June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice older-style hotel This looks like a 1970s-style hotel with the rooms surrounding a large atrium. Although the atrium provides interesting views from the rooms, it can be noisy due to echoing sounds. This hotel has been maintained well and is in very good condition. The carpets and furniture and fixtures in my room were all in like-new condition. The room was clean with plenty of towels. Although I didn't ask for anything special, the check-in staff was very friendly and efficient. January 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing uique, noisy room 219 I traveled in US from May 19 to June 1,and I brought my parents and younger sister for a family vacation in US. We totally visited in five different cities and hotels we stayed were Starwood Hotels. Based on our experience, we have following comments and score for those hotels that we stayed with: The Best - Le Parker Meridien New York (May 25 - May 27) The Very Good - Four Points By Sheraton West Side (May 19- May 22) The Average - The Westin Las Vegas (May 30 - June 1) The Worse - The Westin Washington DC Center (May 27 - May 29) The Worst - The Westin St. Francisco Union Square (May 22- May 25) We score Le Parker Meridine New York as the BEST because the hotel is truly accommodating and fully recognizing SPG Platinum Membership. The front desk (Michael) accepted our early check-in (8:00am),and upgrade us suite rooms (3708/3508),and the concierge guy helped with our bags up to room while introducing hotel information. The greeting letter enclosed with hotel info and restaurant menu in Chinese from the General Manager Sylvie Fayolle was indeed a delight to us, and the hotel specially provide a hot-water boiler kettle in room. The property is kind of old but the rooms are cozy enough without noise. Bathroom is kind of simple but shower water was nice. We also had a good dinning experience in NORMA's for the best breakfast of NYC, a difference to us. The hotel is in perfect location nearby the Central Parks and shopping areas,and we have access to everywhere conveniently. The Le Parker Meridien is definitely a place worth being back,and we score it the "BEST". The Four Points By Sheraton LA West Side in Culver City is also a VERY GOOD hotel to us. Upgrading rooms and SPG fully recognized. People are being welcomed. All staff there are friendly and attentive, offering information and assistance promptly such as transportation, taxi, site seeing, etc. Food at Cabo cafe is not sophisticating style but very delicious, and we enjoyed the omelet during breakfast made by the chef and pizza at dinner. The waiter and waitress at Cabo Cafe called my parents "Mommy and Daddy", giving us lots of fun. We did enjoy our four days staying there. I believe this Four Points is one of the best among FP peers, standard PF service but beyond. It will always be a good option when choosing hotel nearby LAX. The Westin Las Vegas is AVERAGE, nothing to complain and nothing to highlight. It was my third visit in this hotel. Suite room upgrade request was declined unfortunately this time despite I was able to apply it through SPG in advance. The room 1554 was kind of small and stuffy. Hotel staff here friendly and they help with information and getting taxi. The Suede Restaurant keeps almost the same, nice waiters with good service, and standard all day dinning choices. For Starwood hotel, we have less choice here in central Las Vegas. We score The Westin Washington DC Center the WORSE due to noise issue. We were arranged a suite-like corner room 219, and the room has a strong noise from outside. The desk and beds in the room were shaking all day and night due to the strong noise. It was too late for us to ask for a change for the first night, and my parents endured the second night as our visit was short and we were tired. I sincerely hope the hotel management to check the noise and room-shaking issue with room 219. Personally I do not think the room 219 is suitable for a guest room. I stayed in room 217 was OK and could have an outside view with less noise. Hotel staff are friendly,and breakfast are simple but acceptable. If visiting DC again, I will try a different hotel. The WORST hotel was The Westin St. Francisco Union Square during our entire visit. Our rooms 440 and 441 were totally in darkness and coldness, no views, no day lights, like a basement warehouse. It seems the front desk dislikes SPG Platinum for any room request, and I felt kind of pushed when checking in. The room 441 has no Wifi. The room 440, shower water was not hot enough. The food offered in Oak Room Restaurant was kind of over-priced if looking at the buffet breakfast, and service was kind of slow due to less staff. Fortunately San Francisco is really fantastic place, good sunshine, breeze, seaview, Chinatown for authentic Chinese food. Everything is perfect when outside the hotel, and we did enjoy our visit in the city. The Westin St. Francisco Union Square has a wonderful location, but for my next visit I still want to try a different hotel as I did not like being pushed. The only thing we like about the Westin hotel was the lobby bar for coffee and snacks and good attitude in service, and house keeping staff are friendly. If one asks me about the SPG hotel in US, I would probably say the Westins is not like what it is said to be, and Four Points by Sheraton can be a good budget choice. Le Parker Meridien New York is a place worthy to visit, consistent service and something unique. June 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average It got off to a great start. The gentlemen that checked me in was excellent. Professional, curteous and welcoming. And there was a fruit tray waiting for me. And the room had a lovely view. The facilites are little worn and need sprucing up. And when I went to clean up the next morning, it was not good. The water was luke warm and was cold before I got out. And I could not find soap, when I called I was told they no longer had soap only body wash. That does not cut it for me. I like to wash my face with soap not body wash. I do not understand that policy at all. There are better places to stay in DC. February 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay despite cold room. Hard to navigate the Washington streets to get there by car. Greeted by friendly parking attendants. Had lunch in the lobby lounge which was freezing but we appreciated being allowed to sit and talk for a couple of hours without being bothered. The whole ground floor was freezing. Our room was also freezing, but, at least, had plenty of blankets. Lots of restaurants to choose from nearby. Had a buffet breakfast in the restaurant 1400 North. The selection was modest and the oatmeal was, not surprisingly, cold. But, again, we appreciated being left alone to chat for a couple of hours. March 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is not quite ready for business Although the SPG booking stated that the Westin DC was newly renovated, I was very surprised to find it still under construction when I arrived. Despite 2 attempts at securing connecting rooms for myself and my 2 small children, we were told that there were none available when we arrived. In an attempt to accommodate us, we were given 2 connecting rooms that were not yet fully renovated. Room service was understaffed - 45min to 1hr wait for a bowl of ice cream because there was only 1 server for a sold out hotel. TV access was intermittent and there were rust stains in the tub from what looked like a paint can. I've been a Starwood member for many years and I think this is the first time that I was thoroughly disappointed in my experience. I will not return to that hotel. April 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again Having stayed here numerous times on business, this past stay convinced me it would be my last. I had to have my room changed 4 times due to lack of air conditioning and cigarette smell. When I got a room w/ AC and no odors... then the internet connection was horrible. I gave up and stayed there. As a Platinum Member, none of my profile requests were noted. Other than the bellman, the room service person & the man who tried to fix one of the AC units, the staff was unprofessional. I appreciate they are about to undergo a major renovation, however consideration must be given to the current guests. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice experience I have to admit everyone we came in contact with provided exceptional service and professional attitude. Not sure how they are able to keep that many great staff members! Used thde suite upgrade and got the atrium suite. Awesome suite and very private considering you have no room next to you at all! No club lounge but the front desk had no problems giving out water. Great location, highly recommend. March 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay for the price I was placed on the SPG Floor. All of the requests from my SPG profile were honored and I received a nice note from the hotel manager upon check-in. In my rush to get to DC, I left my shoes at home. Concierge was quick to point me to the nearby Macy's and gave me coupons to use. Room service was quick and accurate. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms or outside. I will definitely return! December 7, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location and interesting venue I've stayed at this DC hotel several times. It provides the expected and comfortable Westin stay. The breakfast buffet -- and I'm not a fan of buffets -- was truly exceptional in selection and style. My only concern was the absence of a mini-bar. They are a great convenience when you are working in your room or return late after meetings and prefer to just relax alone. November 12, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average The service was ok but not great. For instance, it took 30 minutes to get someone to bring toiletries to our room, and 3 phone calls. The location is decent, but not terribly close to any metros. Overall it was average, the rooms were fine, only one robe (?), but nice shower. There was a mosquito in our room that bit me a few times! They offer New Balance rentals which is nice. But there was really no difference between Starwood Platinum or Gold versus not - even though they had a separate line at check in, they just ran everyone through it; no upgrades, etc. The facilities are fine, but October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Downtown - City Center... The staff is warm and welcoming. The room was small by comparison to other Westins where we have stayed, but it was newly remodeled and fresh. There are still a couple things in the room that need to be addressed. The hotel IS under construction, but that really did not impact us in a negative way, except for the scaffolding that blocked our view. We recommend that you ask for a room with a view that is NOT on the 12th (top) floor; we suspect any good view available has been taken by the Presidential Suite on that floor. We were facing a claustrophobic view of buildings and an alley. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was excellent I was impressed with check in. The excellent check in person allowed us to check in early and was able to find a room to extend my stay by one day. That was great! May 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location next to Metro and Airport We stayed in late October. Staff at front desk were great. Club Lounge had scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast which beats most Club Lounges in the U.S. Evening food was adequate. Expresso coffee machine was poor and lounge could have had half & half to use instead of powdered cream. Great location next to Metro and airport with free shuttle to airport We were there the weekend before Halloween and on Saturday night there was a large party and we had lots of very noisy people in our hallway on our floor until 1 or 2 am. Security could have done a better job of keeping the hallways clear and quiet. Room was nice but hotel does not have any suites. Food service at bar was slow. Club Lounge was nice. November 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Experience We arrived to find the hotel lobby under major reconstruction. The check in area was make shift and squeezed into a small area next to the entrance to the elevators and dining room entrance(also make shift in a small room). We had to use two elevators to get to our room (one elevator to the makeshift lobby and another elevator to our room floor). We were not greeted as a Starwood preferred guest. The printer for the bill did not work correctly and created a wait at the makeshift front desk. In general, this was not what I expect from a Westin and would not go back there as a result. December 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Value but barely meets Westin Standards This hotel is definitely not up to par with the standards of the Westin in Boston, Philadelphia, or New York. They do have it priced right though. The rooms are comfortable and everything is clean. The entrance to the hotel is a bit hectic and dirty. The cigarette bins are overflowing, there are dirty glasses out front, and not near enough staff greeting guests. I believe there were 2 people at the front desk when we checked in, and maybe 10 people in line. As Platinum SPG member, I was not thrilled that the SPG line was being used to check in other guests. I also received no upgrade. June 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wait until the elevators are fixed I loved everything about the hotel. The location is fabulous, the staff are amazing and the room was comfortable. However, the elevators are being repaired and there were only two elevators working. A 10 minute or longer wait was not unusual. There are signs that say try the stairs, but I heard someone say that they had tried the stairs (down from the 12th floor), and the door to the mezzanine was locked! I would check to see if the elevator repairs are finished before staying. April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location in Washington The Westin in Washington, DC is in a great location. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the White House and near several Metro stops. The rooms have been updated and spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good but not spectacular. Good business hotel or for a combination business family trip to Washington. October 29, 2011
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 next>>