The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 834 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by An Ok Stay I stayed here during a workshop for my job. It was not the first time that I stayed here so I was really excited. Well, I was kinda let down, the toilet in my bathroom did not work properly, if i had to use it in the middle of the night i would have to wait for the bowl to fill with water then flush(yuck). I hate ppl that always complain so i did not bother to report it to the staff. another issue was the bathroom sink..IT LEAKED ON THE COUNTER...other than that, the staff was great and i would recommend this hotel again and also recommend that issues be reported. another thing..dont get a room next to stairs.. i was awakened all throught the night and i was on the 26th floor!! March 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very poor experience Two of my 4 wake up calls were handled wrong. One was a 1/2 hour earlier than I requested & then there were call backs I didn't request. More importantly, my toiletries & coffee weren't replenished & my iron didn't work. When I asked for replacement - well I have a photo for that - if you would like to see it - My last day there when I returned to my room at 11PM after being gone all day - I discovered my door was left AJAR ALL DAY LONG! Creepy being a female traveling alone. The room was undecorated, bedside lighting was poor - I travel to NOLA every other month - I will never stay at this Westin again. Horribly disappointed & I travel almost every month & have never had such a poor experience. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location Great Staff This hotel can get busy at times and food and beverages suffer. The hotel itself is top notch. The Staff work very hard to go beyond even the most demanding expectations to deliver a wonderful experience. Thanks to all especially Volker and Kenneth July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Little Disappointed My husband and I stayed here last year for a wedding, and I fell in love with this Westin. It was beautiful. Since then, we have tried to stay at Westin hotels whenever we travel, and they have all been amazing. We returned this year for another event and convinced all of our friends to stay here as well. I was a little embarrassed I pushed everyone to stay here. There was hair in the sink and tub. The carpets were stained. The paint was flaking off the doors. We had to push our door up in order to get the deadbolt to lock because it was crooked. The bottom of the tub was flaking off. There were stains on the wall. I still love the Westin, but this hotel left me a little disappointed. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel I could not have been happier with this hotel. We stayed in a regular king room, and the room was very spacious. The bathroom was huge, and I loved how the bathroom was kept separate from the sleeping area. The staff was great and efficient, and the bar was great. This is our new favorite spot to stay in New Orleans. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by THE WESTIN IS THE WESTIN Big nice rooms with fantastic views to the Mississippi River . The hotel is improving and renovating some areas like the new lobby. It's in the luxury shopping mall, so you only need to change elevators and have and excellent shopping experience, including a nice dinner at Morton's steak house. The grate news is that we have the Best Hotelier and General Manager of New Orleans. Mr David Bilbe and in the near future will be the best hotel in town. But for me is my home in New Orleans. The SPG recognition is Excellent and that's the Big difference. July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing this week I stay at the Westin, Canal Place, every week and am usually happy there. Unfortunately, this week was not one of those times. As a frequent guest, the staff knows that I like to have several bottles of water when I check in and each day after. For this visit, there was no water the night I checked in, nor was any delivered the next day. In addition, there was no desk chair and I had to ask three times before one was delivered. Finally, the toilet was not flushing properly and I asked three times that someone look at it as well. I don't think that ever happened. This is all very disappointing and if the poor service continues, I will rethink the hotel for my weekly visits to New Orleans. September 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY disappointed I was in town for Essence Music Festival. Please let it be known I only stayed at this location because it came as a package with the tickets I purchased. On arrival, we were nicely greeted and instructed where to check in but elevators need serious servicing! On several occasions during the stay they got stuck. My room on arrival seemed rushed to get ready and not fully stocked. Room service menu was missing and took 2 days to get. Outside our door was a pile of dirty towels. Several days throughout the stay, we were up and out EARLY (9am) only to return later (around 5pm) to find the room hadn't been serviced. The room for getting ice is almost like a trash room. TV service has no variety of channels. I am a SPG member and this property is by far the worst I have stayed at. The best thing about this location is the views, but you won't find me staying here EVER again. July 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Clean,relaxing, great river view July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location We are frequent travelers to New Orleans and wanted to try the Westin because of it's location close to the RiverWalk, French Quarter and Shops. I was quite surprised however due to an emergency having to use the internet on two occassions and was charged nearly $20 for use of less than 15 minutes. Also, returning from dinner one evening we entered our room and there were boxes delivered to our room that were left on the floor. I phoned front desk to alert them, they apologized and stated they would send someone up to remove. It haapened to be another guest package. We were exhausted from theday and wanted to retire for the evening but had to wait for someone to come up and remove the boxes. July 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay. I recently stayed here as part of a wedding room block. I was a little scared after the reviews I saw on trip advisor but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The hotel is in a great location and is very nice. The staff were excellent, very friendly and professional. I was a little taken aback by how great the service was. I usually don't get good treatment in the united states. The room was also very nice. The food at the hotel is good too and they have a bar which is great for an after dinner drink. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely return if I ever come back to LA. October 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Overall, an enjoyable and comfortable stay! I shall stay in Westin Hotels in the future. Highly recommended. Many thanks. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Big Easy I had a great time I was down to play and picked the hotel for its location. Great Spot. As the other reviews stated there were some issues but i didnt let them stop my fun. I could not park in the hotel due to the 6-4 clearance and my SUV has racks on top. I had to pay double to park across the street. Elevators were and issue several were out and not working Long waits. The hotel was noisy. but this is the french quarter abut people coming in at all times of the night and drunk and noisy too. I got woken up several times. Over all great clean spot and great location and river view was nice December 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A very tired, needy Westin The rooms are large and have a nice view on the river side. The salmon and avocado breakfast was very tasty. The staff was helpful and gracious. However........the bathroom in my room had two broken places and was sloppily fixed with lumpy putty, The shower curtain was moldy and not fully attached to the hooks. The sink was clogged and the toilet didn't flush ! The elevator was out of order for two days during the trip and families were trekking up and down the stairs -- 11 floors -- TWICE when I was entering / leaving. The furniture in the lobby is very worn and dirty around the arms and saggy in the seats. I love the Westin, it's my preferred chain everywhere. This one just does not match up. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Orleans Anniversary Trip My wife and I celebrated our 38th anniversary with a first-time trip to New Orleans. Our customer service staff person, Charmaine, checked us into a beautiful Starwood-floor room and made us feel very welcomed. She also directed us to some great local restaurants. She is terrific! It just so happened that the weekend we arrived was the same weekend as the NOLA Seafood and Jazz Festival in the park right next to the hotel, and the New Orleans Blues and BBQ Festival at another park, just a few blocks away, where our favorite blues guitarist was headlining! Coincidence you say? I'm not sure how you managed to arrange all this, but I think it's Westin's way of making sure that we had a great time! October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location I enjoyed the river view. The room was great. I did tell the receptionist that the carpet was wet near the window due to the air conditioner possibly draining. I plan on returning when ever I stay in New Orleans. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay This hotel met all my highest expectations for a Westin. It had very comfortable, clean, and modern rooms; friendly and helpful staff; delicious food; beautiful lobby; and a great location and view. One minor problem, however, was that they lost the reservations that I made for a large group for brunch. Fortunately, it was not too busy and the friendly hostess was able to quickly accommodate us. I stayed two nights on business. My colleagues chose to stay in neighboring hotels, and despite paying the same/similar amounts, they regretted not staying at the Westin after visiting me there. December 8, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel is noisy I like this hotel and have stayed many times but on weekends it is very noisy. While we were moved once to get away from the part next door on the 25th floor, the noise on the 26th after 2 a.m. was bothersome to say the least. I know it is New Orleans and people are there to party but there should be an understanding that is not what all guests are doing at the hotel. The hotel is at the edge of the Quarter and markets the facilities to business travelers. Perhaps the weekends do not fall into the marketing concept. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!!!! WE DID NOT EXPECT THE LEVEL OF EXCELLENCE OF ALL OF THE PERSONELL IN EV ERY DEPARTMENT. WE WERE MADE TO FEEL AS IF WE WERE THE ONLY CLIENTS THERE! THE ONLY THING WOULD BE THAT THE CARPETING NEEDS CHANGING IN SOME OT THE AREAS! WE LOOK FORWARD TO BEING BACK SOON ! M/MS T.J. HELBIG May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Features BUT This is the second time we stay at the Westin. Both of our stays were unbelievable. The hotel is within walking distance of all the French quarter attractions and everything we wanted to see and do. The hotel has to be one of the most clean hotels with the friendly staff. The only complaint I had was, I was not told that my credit card was going to be billed an extra hundred dollars on top of the rate of our room. This was very embarrasing when we went to leave the parking garage and my credit card was declined. I do plan on staying back at this hotel, but I'll be sure to warn people about the hidden charges. It seems like our credit card would have been charged if something was wrong with the room. August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view, comfy bed, but... I stayed at the New Orleans Westin Nov-Dec 2012. The room was fantastic with a fascinating view of the river and a very comfortable bed. However, the hotel elevators had major issues (long waits, unclear if going up or down leading to confusion even with staff, uncomfortable noises). In addition the caterers for the conference dinner were not on par with expectations for a hotel of this quality (uneven service for our group, ie plates were cleared at other tables while our table wasn't even served yet; when we were finally served one of us had to wait another 15 minutes for his plate -- unacceptable). Overall the hotel gives a a first impression of grandeur but the full experience needs improvement. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is lovely. The Westin Hotel is perfectly located. Convenient to shopping, the French Quarter, Harrahs and other great venues. We had a terrific view, the beds extremely comfortable the rooms quite spacious. We enjoyed our visit except for a couple of issues. The $40. Fee for valet parking per day was obscene! The housekeeping service didn't arrive to clean our room until 5:15 p.m. We were getting ready for the wedding that we were attending so I asked for fresh towels and asked them to come back in an hour. And, the toilet paper was too rough! There is a fee for wireless Internet. There is a business center that is made available but to get online to check in and print out boarding passes there is another fee. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! Beautiful view of Mississippi River from room. Free wifi in Lobby throughout our stay. Free Starbucks coffee in Lobby for all guests. Great shopping and food court options for days I stayed in. Within walking distance to the French Quarter District and other districts. Awesome staff overall. Very attentive and accommodating. Also great gym facility. After 2 days of using their facility, I ventured out to the Mississippi River and did my exercise along the riverwalk. Safe and a real nice environment. Best feature of all is the Heavenly Bed. I always enjoy that with Westin brand hotels. November 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Antrainer Carmadelle Wedding What a great experience, everything was First Class. Marguerite, who handled the wedding surpassed our highest expectances. From the bellmen to the cleaning staff and all those in between, made this wedding very special. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location by the River The updating of the rooms is great, a very modern feel. Rooms and bath are spacious, ask for a river view, it can't be beat. The elevators were being worked on which caused long waits and full cars when they did arrive. So make sure you allow 10-15 minutes to get up or down. Late night room service is laughable. 5 choices, and of those 2 were not available, and they said they couldn't toast the bread for the sandwich. The gumbo was delicious. The views from the river view rooms are spectacular. There was an issue with lack of hot water on Sunday. But we would stay again I feel sure. December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay. This hotel has great features and exceeded my expectations. Great view of the river and city from the lobby and our room. Would definitely stay with them again. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience Just finished a 3 night stay at the Westin, where we experienced horrible accommodations. Upon arriving the room was hot and smelled like paint. Took the air conditioner a full day to cool down the room. We had no housing keeping the entire stay. We of course called and requested housing keeping but they never came. We had to go to the lobby for clean towels. Of course they sent a bottle of wine for the poor service and then failed again to get the room cleaned. The staff asked if we checked in as green clean, which we didn't but if we had we would still need clean towels and maybe some coffee. After a long day is a clean room to much to ask for. A mistake once is understandable but not for three times. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service! From the front desk upon arrival to the valets pulling my car around at departure, customer focus all of the time. I am glad I cancelled my trip to California and came to New Orleans. May 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great overall, but needs a couple of tweaks Our suite was really spacious and the A/C worked great (a must in New Orleans during the summer) and had outstanding views. Unfortunately, the elevators were not air conditioned and were very stuffy. This was an issue with a room near the top floor (long, hot rides). The service and food in the Green Bar were excellent, but the room service took 55 minutes for a mediocre breakfast as opposed to the stated 30 minutes - disappointing compared to all other aspects of the hotel/ July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very bad service - Especially for a business traveller One night I used the steam iron in the room to get my clothes ready for the next day. And guess what, the iron leaves a stain on my white shirt! The steam iron was not kept clean and well maintained, and hence was emitting dirt along with steam! Called up the help desk to laundry my shirt that I need for the next morning, and guess what, they don't have in-house laundry service! Staff apologized but that does not fix my shirt for the next day, does it. Then I ask them to send a different clean steam iron, it takes 1 hr and another phone call from me (at 11 pm. In the night) ! Very disappointing ! Internet service is also very lousy limiting the number of sessions per room and bad connectivity in the lobby. August 24, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 29 next>>