The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 886 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, staff and accomodations My first time at this Westin property. Staff were pleasant, attentive and well mannered at all times. Breakfast, lunch and dinner selections and portions were a good value and delicious! Tremendous views of New Orleans and the Mississippi River and the ships from all windows in the hotel. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by CLEAN, PEOPLE ARE POLITE. I FELT SAFE. The hotel offered beautiful views of the river. it was quiet and very relaxing . the rooms were very tastefully furnished and it was so clean. The staff was friendly and polite and helpful in every way. It was truly a pleasurable experience and I will highly recommend it to everyone I know. The location is excellent. Shopping, restaurants, parking - everything is within walking distance. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional! First of all, we have been to New Orleans three times and have stayed at Sheraton, W French Quarter and Westin. I would have to say that all of them had their pluses but the Westin went the extra mile. We were upgraded to a huge suite being recognized as Gold SPG. It was basically 4 rooms with a magnificent view of the Mississippi. We also were welcomed with a bottle of champagne on ice and a tray of chocolate, blackberries and walnut halves complete with a card for our anniversary. Check in was quick. The doorman was absolutely hilarious and knowledgeable! The lobby overlooks the river and is really stunning. We took our drinks from the bar and sat out there watching the ships. The hotel is connected to a great shopping centre and is so close to everything . Casino is right next door. Bourbon Street, a couple minutes away. We walked everywhere. Very safe. Love New Orleans and would make this hotel our first choice in future. November 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall Bad Experince While this should be a great hotel some of my visit has made a large enough impression that I would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to some one I know. I had to stay in this hotel due to a training course I was attending and it made most sense to stay in the hotel where the course was being held. The cost is high for level of upkeep on the facility. During my visit which was 4 nights the main Guest Elevators were almost always down to 1 elevator that worked. So that means as a guest you get to take the stairs or use the Service Elevator and share that with items used to provide service to the hotel. Then on one the nights it was 530pm local time when I returned to my room from a full 8 hour day in class only to find the cleaning lady had just started on my room 5 min before I got here. For the price charged to stay in this hotel I would have expected better facility upkeep from this brand. Don't get me wrong here the staff are extremely nice and do go out of their way to try to make the stay a good one but seems there is a major failure somewhere else in management of this hotel. November 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expectations This hotel met all my needs. Location, costs, view, you name it. Will come again. November 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible staff Other than the bellman Bill the the rest of the staff that I encountered should be terminated. Horrible service from house keeping! From being down right rude to walking in on me in the water closet after informing them that I was occupied three times! Also the shower/ tub was old and missing parts. My wife had to use a coffee cup in order to take a bath! When informming staff no one really cared!!! November 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dental Convention ADA and ACD annual meetings November 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Eugene Comeaux We have been staying with you for years and have been very satified. This stay we were very disappointed. the telephone did not work, the ice maker on the floor was not working. No bags for dirty clothes we were told they were on back order. I must say even with these inconviences we will stay with you again. October 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First trip to New Orleans This was our first visit to New Orleans and we had a great time. Everything was within walking distance and we got some very good recommendations for food. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We will be back! October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff I can't say enough about the staff here. Professional, welcoming, and very capable. October 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing and showing its age First room I was given had a moldy smell. Air had been set to 62 to cover the smell. Although the staff was accommodating in changing the room, they kept me waiting in the hall outside the new room quite late at night. When I called the desk, they kept insisting that someone would be right up. Also, carpets and walls in rooms are quite stained and scuffed. Terrible internet connections. Very disappointing stay overall. October 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2013 iws The hotel is a great location for walking to convention center or French Quarter. However we were plagued with basic issues. The housekeeping staff did not make up our rooms, and when calling the front desk to specially ask - the rooms were still not cleaned. The front desk staff kept holds on our credit cards for almost a week after we departed along with the actual charges. The business center could not handle a PDF document?? I was online with there tech support for over a half hour - twice!. It's too bad because the overall appearance of the hotel has great potential. October 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chief Financial Officer The Westin at Canal Place has made noted progress in refurbishment, but furniture is still outdated. At least in room 2419 that I stayed. This is unfortunate because otherwise the room and view is excellent. Your staff was excellent in general. But a special thank you to the efficient and courteous engineer that replaced my TV to allow me to receive the CNN signal to follow the government shut-down debate. And also to Volker Dicks who brings a special quality to the Hotel. Regards, October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Am I at a Westin? I love the Westin in Sydney and Melbopurne so when traveling to New Orleans I was excid to be staying in the Westin there. it is in a good location and I had a big room with a nice view but that is where it finished. What a disappointment. the big space in the room had only a minibar fridge in it - not only did it look out of place (the spot in the dresser where the fridge belonged was empty) but it was locked and empty! when you need a water in the middle of the night - bad luck - drink from the tap. I had to call housekeeping to get a room service menu because there wasn't one in the room. when they delivered it it was a photo copy stapled together (?). Really Westin - a photocopy of the room service menu is the best you an do? then when I put my tray out I kept my wine glass and water glass as I hadn't finished. The empty glasses then sat there for three days with the lemon wedge slowly going brown - the cleaners had to move them every day to clean but noone took them away. by the end it was gross. Zero recognition of SPG. This isn't up to standard and leaves a bad taste in my mouth. October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Interesting The Hotel was lovely, and the people working at the hotel were very pleasant. We are most appreciative that we did not have to pay for the additional entertainment of hundreds of tiny bugs everywhere. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Good Stay Spent a Relaxing Sunday and Monday at the Westin. The room was perfect. We had a nice in room breakfast and enjoyed the Pool. Small issue with HouseKeeping but the Management quickly helped with that. Outstanding Service. One small complaint with the Front Desk and it's not a big deal but I do like to be acknowleged I am a SPG Gold member. It's a little detail that makes me feel good. The girl at the front desk must have been new because she did not mention it. Do yourself a favor and stay here while in the French Quarter Area. October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in New Orleans This is by far the best hotel that I have ever stayed in New Orleans. Excellent views of the Mississippi River and the city. Conveniently located to popular areas. Would definitely stay here again. October 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfortunate I was placed in a room right next to the elevator. While this is a bummer, understandable as the hotel was full. But the televison was broken, hairs were left on the bathroom floor, and items were left from the guest before me. Since I got to my room after midnight, and was leaving at 6 I just sucked it up and did not ask to be moved. To add insult to injury, it took 12 minutes for the elevator to arrive in the morning. I almost took the stairs. October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lack Luster I had four rooms booked this past weekend, the hotel has great views, but there was on my floor a constant barrage of noise the entire night of the 13th which was so out of character for a Westin property. I called the front desk and complained but it didn't seem to matter. The other thing is that I tried to book my stay for my four rooms through SPG and was told no rooms available, so I checked priceline and guess what they had four rooms at a cheaper rate than SPG quoted me and as an SPG member that did not seem right to me. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bring your own towel bar. Our king deluxe room had a great view of the river. That's the good news. - Although hotel pushes a Go Green program at check-in, there is no place in any room to hang up wet towels. Never stayed in the cheapest hotel without towel bars. - water runs in toilet all the time. How "green" is that? - windows with great view are splattered with old paint. - room filled with ants - housekeeping reached our room at 5pm every day. Need more staff. - A/C never cools bath - worlds slowest to get to 11th floor lobby, another to get to room. - no signage to find the pool (29th floor) - some people had hotel robes...others not..very inconsistent. - had to ask for shampoo, etc on day of arrival. None in room. Often no hand towels available from housekeeping. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good hotel with superb location This is the best situated hotel in New Orleans as far as location. Right near convention center, casino and walk half a block you are in the French Qtr. Has the advantage of being over a mall so it's lobby is on the 11th floor. NO is an all night party city, so that helps it stay a little quieter. Amazing river views. The River Suite is huge. Helpful, friendly staff. Would stay there again. October 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment. Restaurant staff very slow. Furnishing in room uncoordinated. TV reception on some stations poor and bathroom supplies meager. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The lobby and restaurant got an amazing view, rooms also enjoyed a perfect view of the French Quarters. Parking is so easy and convenient, a large mall below the hotel also nice! Front desk and concierge are very friendly. Nice restaurants recommended by the concierge! It's a great stay overall! October 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The concierge and staff were wonderful. The hotel is so tired. It does not refect you on line photos. I stayed here for the beautiful pool which in reality was awful. I thought I was lost in a dirty unmarked stairwell trying to find it. The out door terrace allso in no way resembles the photos. The lobby is stunning until you go to sit and the furniture is stained and threadbare. There was garbage in the elevator. My iron was broken, no soap, no robe and they delivered one with several large frayed holes. October 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved our stay Excellent hotel with first class service. Staff were helpful and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend this hotel. October 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I WAS READY TO CHECK OUT! This was the first time I had stayed at this particular Westin location, so I was looking forward to it. However, there were several things that made my stay less than enjoyable. First, the parking fees were not explained properly to me; I was told the cost is $18 for self park per day, or $36 valet park per day. The check-in clerk neglected to tell me that I would have to pay every time I went in and out of the self-park. So I had to time my coming and going the first day, so I wouldn't pay over $36 which is what I would have paid for the valet parking with unlimited going in and out. The second day there, I switched to valet parking. Sometime after the first night, we lost the ability to regulate the thermostat in the room. The display was just off. It had been working when we arrived but by 1 pm the next day, was no longer working. My husband called down to the desk to let them know, and they said they would send someone up to fix it. Needless to say, they did not, and we spent a very uncomfortable night, and there was no way to turn the system off. The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable, and I tossed and turned and awoke with a backache. There was no refrigerator in the room. We mysteriously got these bug bites as well. Overall, the room appeared clean and they did remember to make the room feather free as I had requested, so those are the positives. The location is across from Harrah's and the Aquarium, but is on the outskirts of the French Quarter, so I would not be as comfortable walking to and from the Quarter especially late at night. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Perfect location for hotel I booked this property to hold a bachelor party which I stated clearly upon booking this location. However, after three hours into it we received several complaints which clearly if I was on the other end, would have complained as well. It was the failure of the reservation agent to inform me that this location had a zero tolerance for noise/ party goers. Of course if I would have known this I would have not chosen this property. Other than that, this hotel was awesome. I would chose this location again to stay on business or personal leisure. October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel's location can't be beat We loved the location and at first glance you would think it was beautifully appointed, but the furniture in the lobby (with a stunning view of the river and French Quarter) is tattered, dirty and shabby. The room had no soaps, few towels, etc. I think someone needs to start paying attention to details. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great French Quarter getaway We were attending a meeting in New Orleans and found the Westin to be a great hotel to both enjoy the French Quarter and everything it offers, as well as the relaxation and quiet needed after experiencing all the local tastes, sounds and attractions. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Sisters Wedding We had a great stay here at the Westin for my sisters wedding. Great job staff! October 4, 2013
  • 2015-11-30 T08:28:56.005-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_886, tr_886
  • loc_en_US, sid_1763, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 31 next>>