The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 816 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST! This is absolutely the best location to stay in the French Quarter. We were able to walk everywhere. The hotel was absolutely fabulous and the rooftop pool has the best view New Orleans has to offer. June 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk continues to deteriorate I ahve been staying weekly at the Westin for several years. It troubles me to continue to see the quality of the front desk service deteriorate. I am especially disturbed by Donna (last name unknown) who was once again asleep when I went out early (5:30) for my morning walk. Also, she routinely fails to e-mail receipts and when I asked her to e-mail me the previous weeks folio, she did not know how to do so. Please get some responsive and qualified staff back on the desk for the overnight shift. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel's elevators are under construction We were staying here for a wedding on 12/8/12, and checked in the night before. The elevators are under construction and we had to wait every time for at least 20 minutes. We were not notified of this prior to checking in. It was a real inconvenience. The breakfast buffet on Sunday was really poor. I went twice for grits and biscuits and there were none. I have been to many hotel breakfastes and this one does not equal them. The room was nice and staff were very helpful. I understand that they will be working on the elevators for awhile. Before I stay there again, I will check to see if they are finished work. December 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by An Ok Stay I stayed here during a workshop for my job. It was not the first time that I stayed here so I was really excited. Well, I was kinda let down, the toilet in my bathroom did not work properly, if i had to use it in the middle of the night i would have to wait for the bowl to fill with water then flush(yuck). I hate ppl that always complain so i did not bother to report it to the staff. another issue was the bathroom sink..IT LEAKED ON THE COUNTER...other than that, the staff was great and i would recommend this hotel again and also recommend that issues be reported. another thing..dont get a room next to stairs.. i was awakened all throught the night and i was on the 26th floor!! March 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Little Disappointed My husband and I stayed here last year for a wedding, and I fell in love with this Westin. It was beautiful. Since then, we have tried to stay at Westin hotels whenever we travel, and they have all been amazing. We returned this year for another event and convinced all of our friends to stay here as well. I was a little embarrassed I pushed everyone to stay here. There was hair in the sink and tub. The carpets were stained. The paint was flaking off the doors. We had to push our door up in order to get the deadbolt to lock because it was crooked. The bottom of the tub was flaking off. There were stains on the wall. I still love the Westin, but this hotel left me a little disappointed. August 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Unhappy, the hotel had us reserve a room a day early, but there was no need for it, but that was not the worst part, the following morning we got up early, to attend my son's graduation, I told the desk that the shower was not draining, we did not return until 10:00PM only to find that they room had never been clearned, they offered no apologies, the beds are only full size while there is room for queens, the rooms have a motel feel to them. May 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing this week I stay at the Westin, Canal Place, every week and am usually happy there. Unfortunately, this week was not one of those times. As a frequent guest, the staff knows that I like to have several bottles of water when I check in and each day after. For this visit, there was no water the night I checked in, nor was any delivered the next day. In addition, there was no desk chair and I had to ask three times before one was delivered. Finally, the toilet was not flushing properly and I asked three times that someone look at it as well. I don't think that ever happened. This is all very disappointing and if the poor service continues, I will rethink the hotel for my weekly visits to New Orleans. September 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY disappointed I was in town for Essence Music Festival. Please let it be known I only stayed at this location because it came as a package with the tickets I purchased. On arrival, we were nicely greeted and instructed where to check in but elevators need serious servicing! On several occasions during the stay they got stuck. My room on arrival seemed rushed to get ready and not fully stocked. Room service menu was missing and took 2 days to get. Outside our door was a pile of dirty towels. Several days throughout the stay, we were up and out EARLY (9am) only to return later (around 5pm) to find the room hadn't been serviced. The room for getting ice is almost like a trash room. TV service has no variety of channels. I am a SPG member and this property is by far the worst I have stayed at. The best thing about this location is the views, but you won't find me staying here EVER again. July 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location We are frequent travelers to New Orleans and wanted to try the Westin because of it's location close to the RiverWalk, French Quarter and Shops. I was quite surprised however due to an emergency having to use the internet on two occassions and was charged nearly $20 for use of less than 15 minutes. Also, returning from dinner one evening we entered our room and there were boxes delivered to our room that were left on the floor. I phoned front desk to alert them, they apologized and stated they would send someone up to remove. It haapened to be another guest package. We were exhausted from theday and wanted to retire for the evening but had to wait for someone to come up and remove the boxes. July 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay. I recently stayed here as part of a wedding room block. I was a little scared after the reviews I saw on trip advisor but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The hotel is in a great location and is very nice. The staff were excellent, very friendly and professional. I was a little taken aback by how great the service was. I usually don't get good treatment in the united states. The room was also very nice. The food at the hotel is good too and they have a bar which is great for an after dinner drink. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely return if I ever come back to LA. October 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Big Easy I had a great time I was down to play and picked the hotel for its location. Great Spot. As the other reviews stated there were some issues but i didnt let them stop my fun. I could not park in the hotel due to the 6-4 clearance and my SUV has racks on top. I had to pay double to park across the street. Elevators were and issue several were out and not working Long waits. The hotel was noisy. but this is the french quarter abut people coming in at all times of the night and drunk and noisy too. I got woken up several times. Over all great clean spot and great location and river view was nice December 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A very tired, needy Westin The rooms are large and have a nice view on the river side. The salmon and avocado breakfast was very tasty. The staff was helpful and gracious. However........the bathroom in my room had two broken places and was sloppily fixed with lumpy putty, The shower curtain was moldy and not fully attached to the hooks. The sink was clogged and the toilet didn't flush ! The elevator was out of order for two days during the trip and families were trekking up and down the stairs -- 11 floors -- TWICE when I was entering / leaving. The furniture in the lobby is very worn and dirty around the arms and saggy in the seats. I love the Westin, it's my preferred chain everywhere. This one just does not match up. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Orleans Anniversary Trip My wife and I celebrated our 38th anniversary with a first-time trip to New Orleans. Our customer service staff person, Charmaine, checked us into a beautiful Starwood-floor room and made us feel very welcomed. She also directed us to some great local restaurants. She is terrific! It just so happened that the weekend we arrived was the same weekend as the NOLA Seafood and Jazz Festival in the park right next to the hotel, and the New Orleans Blues and BBQ Festival at another park, just a few blocks away, where our favorite blues guitarist was headlining! Coincidence you say? I'm not sure how you managed to arrange all this, but I think it's Westin's way of making sure that we had a great time! October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay This hotel met all my highest expectations for a Westin. It had very comfortable, clean, and modern rooms; friendly and helpful staff; delicious food; beautiful lobby; and a great location and view. One minor problem, however, was that they lost the reservations that I made for a large group for brunch. Fortunately, it was not too busy and the friendly hostess was able to quickly accommodate us. I stayed two nights on business. My colleagues chose to stay in neighboring hotels, and despite paying the same/similar amounts, they regretted not staying at the Westin after visiting me there. December 8, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Features BUT This is the second time we stay at the Westin. Both of our stays were unbelievable. The hotel is within walking distance of all the French quarter attractions and everything we wanted to see and do. The hotel has to be one of the most clean hotels with the friendly staff. The only complaint I had was, I was not told that my credit card was going to be billed an extra hundred dollars on top of the rate of our room. This was very embarrasing when we went to leave the parking garage and my credit card was declined. I do plan on staying back at this hotel, but I'll be sure to warn people about the hidden charges. It seems like our credit card would have been charged if something was wrong with the room. August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view, comfy bed, but... I stayed at the New Orleans Westin Nov-Dec 2012. The room was fantastic with a fascinating view of the river and a very comfortable bed. However, the hotel elevators had major issues (long waits, unclear if going up or down leading to confusion even with staff, uncomfortable noises). In addition the caterers for the conference dinner were not on par with expectations for a hotel of this quality (uneven service for our group, ie plates were cleared at other tables while our table wasn't even served yet; when we were finally served one of us had to wait another 15 minutes for his plate -- unacceptable). Overall the hotel gives a a first impression of grandeur but the full experience needs improvement. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is lovely. The Westin Hotel is perfectly located. Convenient to shopping, the French Quarter, Harrahs and other great venues. We had a terrific view, the beds extremely comfortable the rooms quite spacious. We enjoyed our visit except for a couple of issues. The $40. Fee for valet parking per day was obscene! The housekeeping service didn't arrive to clean our room until 5:15 p.m. We were getting ready for the wedding that we were attending so I asked for fresh towels and asked them to come back in an hour. And, the toilet paper was too rough! There is a fee for wireless Internet. There is a business center that is made available but to get online to check in and print out boarding passes there is another fee. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! Beautiful view of Mississippi River from room. Free wifi in Lobby throughout our stay. Free Starbucks coffee in Lobby for all guests. Great shopping and food court options for days I stayed in. Within walking distance to the French Quarter District and other districts. Awesome staff overall. Very attentive and accommodating. Also great gym facility. After 2 days of using their facility, I ventured out to the Mississippi River and did my exercise along the riverwalk. Safe and a real nice environment. Best feature of all is the Heavenly Bed. I always enjoy that with Westin brand hotels. November 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicely appointed, but layout is incredibly inconvenient Nice facility, courteous staff, beautiful room. BUT--the layout of this hotel is HORRIBLE! Self-parking is in the garage for the attached shopping mall and requires walking clear across the mall to reach the hotel entrance. The hotel lobby is on the 11th floor, above the mall, and requires an elevator (very slow) to access. Then there is another long walk away through the lobby to catch a different SLOW elevator to access the guest rooms. I attended a meeting in the Magnolia Room of the Westin, which is NOT attached to the hotel proper, but located on the 3rd floor of the shopping mall. To get from my room to my car in the garage required that I ride 3 different elevators! I felt that I spent most of my time walking to, waiting for, and riding elevators! April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location by the River The updating of the rooms is great, a very modern feel. Rooms and bath are spacious, ask for a river view, it can't be beat. The elevators were being worked on which caused long waits and full cars when they did arrive. So make sure you allow 10-15 minutes to get up or down. Late night room service is laughable. 5 choices, and of those 2 were not available, and they said they couldn't toast the bread for the sandwich. The gumbo was delicious. The views from the river view rooms are spectacular. There was an issue with lack of hot water on Sunday. But we would stay again I feel sure. December 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The wait for elevators was way too long, couldn't locate stairs for public use. Room shade had fallen and was laying on window sill for duration of stay, I didn't report it, but thought housekeeping would handle it. Faucets in bathroom leaked. Only had one washcloth on night 1, left a note for more on day two, and got a couple, but then even when they left fresh towels, no washcloths- washed my face with a hand towel for 2 days. Had some wine in the water goblets in room, housekeeping didn't wash, rinse, or replace them, just left them half-full in room. March 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience Just finished a 3 night stay at the Westin, where we experienced horrible accommodations. Upon arriving the room was hot and smelled like paint. Took the air conditioner a full day to cool down the room. We had no housing keeping the entire stay. We of course called and requested housing keeping but they never came. We had to go to the lobby for clean towels. Of course they sent a bottle of wine for the poor service and then failed again to get the room cleaned. The staff asked if we checked in as green clean, which we didn't but if we had we would still need clean towels and maybe some coffee. After a long day is a clean room to much to ask for. A mistake once is understandable but not for three times. June 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very bad service - Especially for a business traveller One night I used the steam iron in the room to get my clothes ready for the next day. And guess what, the iron leaves a stain on my white shirt! The steam iron was not kept clean and well maintained, and hence was emitting dirt along with steam! Called up the help desk to laundry my shirt that I need for the next morning, and guess what, they don't have in-house laundry service! Staff apologized but that does not fix my shirt for the next day, does it. Then I ask them to send a different clean steam iron, it takes 1 hr and another phone call from me (at 11 pm. In the night) ! Very disappointing ! Internet service is also very lousy limiting the number of sessions per room and bad connectivity in the lobby. August 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by solid hotel, some small issues Pro's: Great location, very nice room, friendly, helpful staff. Con's: Noisy hallways that smelled strongly of disinfectant/paint, room maintenance was a little lacking (tub faucet had pulled away from wall, leaving a large gap; shower curtain was hung but not secured; etc), paying $18 day for parking. Largest frustration was booking getaway package that included breakfast for 2, mentioning it to the staff at check-in and at breakfast, then still being charged for 2 x breakfasts at checkout. Staff eventually canceled the charge during checkout, but how many people have been charged $40+ extra a day and not caught it? Overall: One of our favorite hotels in New Orleans, but still has room for improvement. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality I have stayed here at least 3 times. The view is nice whether city or river view. The staff is always great. My only problem were the towels.The towels were so hard they almost caused abrasions to my skin if I rubbed too hard. The quality of the bedding seems outdated also. I have stayed at Westins in Chicago and New York and I expect the high end linens at every Westin I stay in. The maid didn't replenish shampoo and soap after cleaning room. Some trouble with the elevators and the building is starting to show it's age. Updates to the infrastructure of the hotel is needed. November 30, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great beds, no amenities Positives- great beds, friendly staff and great location. Negatives- for the price of this place I was very underwhelmed in regards to amenities. No frig, no microwave, one chair in the room, plugs on the main desk where it was most convenient to charge phones and what not did not work. We called for service and no one ever came. The phones were torture to figure out how to use; we had to put them on speaker anytime we needed it. No complimentary breakfast. Outside of having a comfortable place to sleep that was close to the French quarters, there was much to be desired. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Delightful The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is my "go to" hotel in New Orleans. I've stayed other places, but this hotel has been consistently great. The people are focused on making their guests comfortable. I was checked in at the front desk by Chastity, Lauren and Shereece. They greeted me by name. They recognized me as a Platinum member and they moved me through the check in process quickly. The rooms are spacious and clean. Parking could not be easier. The location is central. The hotel bar and the hotel restaurant are both very good and their staff is equally accommodating. March 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, poor supervision and management The room was a suite: No.bath soap, had to call No shower robes, had to call No slippers unless call and request No turndown service at night unless requested- in a suite! Breakfast on first day was way late $5 credit if no service in suite? at those prices? verges on insulting VERY high computer usage cost Very poor room lighting VERY dim lighting in elevator areas ONE luggage rack- do you really think two people travel with only one suitcase? Paper drinking cups in bathroom never replaced during 4-day stay Personnel, however, were excellent, pleasant, and accommodating October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Quality Taking into account that there really are not that many nice, clean and comfortable hotels in New Orleans, the Westin falls into that same description. Certainly one of the lower quality Westin's I've ever stayed at. The property is old, and most common areas are dirty and warn. Does not make you feel like you're in a nice hotel. The rooms are tired, dirty carpet and the AC is suffocating. Staff are friendly, but they made several mistakes on my bill and it took a long time after checking out to sort them out. Would probably not stay here again unless I had no choice. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, average experience Very good location, close to most areas of interest but without the crowds. Average experience however. Maid service below average, plastic cups in rooms, and occasional disinterested front desk personnel. Room appointments on the thin side. Nice common spaces. More akin to a value segment hotel in an exceptional location. Experience does not match the price. Toss-up to recommend hotel at the price point. May 7, 2014
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 28 next>>