The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 839 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great beds, no amenities Positives- great beds, friendly staff and great location. Negatives- for the price of this place I was very underwhelmed in regards to amenities. No frig, no microwave, one chair in the room, plugs on the main desk where it was most convenient to charge phones and what not did not work. We called for service and no one ever came. The phones were torture to figure out how to use; we had to put them on speaker anytime we needed it. No complimentary breakfast. Outside of having a comfortable place to sleep that was close to the French quarters, there was much to be desired. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Delightful The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is my "go to" hotel in New Orleans. I've stayed other places, but this hotel has been consistently great. The people are focused on making their guests comfortable. I was checked in at the front desk by Chastity, Lauren and Shereece. They greeted me by name. They recognized me as a Platinum member and they moved me through the check in process quickly. The rooms are spacious and clean. Parking could not be easier. The location is central. The hotel bar and the hotel restaurant are both very good and their staff is equally accommodating. March 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, poor supervision and management The room was a suite: No.bath soap, had to call No shower robes, had to call No slippers unless call and request No turndown service at night unless requested- in a suite! Breakfast on first day was way late $5 credit if no service in suite? at those prices? verges on insulting VERY high computer usage cost Very poor room lighting VERY dim lighting in elevator areas ONE luggage rack- do you really think two people travel with only one suitcase? Paper drinking cups in bathroom never replaced during 4-day stay Personnel, however, were excellent, pleasant, and accommodating October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Quality Taking into account that there really are not that many nice, clean and comfortable hotels in New Orleans, the Westin falls into that same description. Certainly one of the lower quality Westin's I've ever stayed at. The property is old, and most common areas are dirty and warn. Does not make you feel like you're in a nice hotel. The rooms are tired, dirty carpet and the AC is suffocating. Staff are friendly, but they made several mistakes on my bill and it took a long time after checking out to sort them out. Would probably not stay here again unless I had no choice. May 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor standard for Westin We had to wait for 2 hours after check-in for rooms to be delivered at around 6pm. Room can be seen to be hurridly turned over. Breakfast spread was average by Westin standards and staff at breakfast was not attentive and seemed uninterested. I noticed a lady cleaning some glass by spraying detergent right over the buffet open food. I informed one of the waiter and he did not seem to bother. Only when I brought it to the attention of a more senior staff did they start investigating. Needless to say, I was turned off. Overall, a very shocking Westin experience. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff Some staff were very friendly and sincere, like the bell hop staff. Others, just said the standard line of 'having a great stay?' something like that, but you can tell they weren't sincere, and it's there standard line that they tell all the people staying there, and with no eye contact. Nothing major, but just sharing as an fyi. I personally appreciate the eye contact, and the sincerity of someone telling me how my stay was and how I am doing. August 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Friendly, Helpful Staff - Hotels Needs Updating I was the Westin New Orleans for 1 night over a business trip. I was upgraded to a King Suite so I am not sure what a standard room looks like but maybe it would be better. First off the front desk staff did a great job of being friendly and welcoming and the bellman were great also. My Suite was certainly HUGE but lacked character. It was just a big empty room with some furniture thrown in. There was absolutely nothing special about it to bring it all together and make it feel special. It felt quite sad really - no special touches and a really big, empty feel. New Orleans is such a great city with lots of character but this could have been a room at any airport hotel. The location is great but I don't think I would go back. April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel is noisy I like this hotel and have stayed many times but on weekends it is very noisy. While we were moved once to get away from the part next door on the 25th floor, the noise on the 26th after 2 a.m. was bothersome to say the least. I know it is New Orleans and people are there to party but there should be an understanding that is not what all guests are doing at the hotel. The hotel is at the edge of the Quarter and markets the facilities to business travelers. Perhaps the weekends do not fall into the marketing concept. July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The wait for elevators was way too long, couldn't locate stairs for public use. Room shade had fallen and was laying on window sill for duration of stay, I didn't report it, but thought housekeeping would handle it. Faucets in bathroom leaked. Only had one washcloth on night 1, left a note for more on day two, and got a couple, but then even when they left fresh towels, no washcloths- washed my face with a hand towel for 2 days. Had some wine in the water goblets in room, housekeeping didn't wash, rinse, or replace them, just left them half-full in room. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A night to remember! On New Year's Eve 2012 we stayed at the Westin, Canal Place, in New Orleans. Since we had reservations at Restaurant R'evolution, a few blocks from the Westin, some of our grown children parked at Canal Place and visited in our suite overlooking the Mississippi River. They were really impressed with the view from our suite and the room amenities as we enjoyed a drink prior to walking the short distance to the restaurant where John Folse and the crew had our group of 10 in the Wine Room, a wonderful, private room in the facility. After the wonderful meal we returned to our suite as the fireworks were beginning on the river. What a fantastic view as we enjoyed a New Year's champagne toast. Thanks for giving us "A night to remember!" January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could have been nice. First...sent to the wrong room where someone was in the roon. Called from the wrong room and put on hold 4 times for a while, also to voicemail...I was not too happy. Got to a new room, room was cleaned but drawers had scattered garbage, receipts, plastic bags etc....went out to hall to call in cleaner. In the morning...early..was woke by the sound of banging, grinding construction next door both sides. Left my keys at Green Bar and went to get them the next day and hotel staff said none turned in. View from room was nice, but besides that....rough. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location is great, views are even better! My wife and I are SPG members and have been around the world. The location of this Westin property is great, just a block or two from the French Quarter. Every employee greeted me well, "Seth" helped me get my luggage to the room and got me settled just in time for my wife to arrive. The concierge even went out of his away to help me. I will be returning for sure and I am from New Orleans... August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hostess Saturday morning elevator would not come to the 21st. We tried buttons on both sides & both up & down. My husband and I (in heels) walked down the steps to the lobby level on 11th. Not a big issue. We went to eat breakfast after letting the front desk know about the elevator. We waited for the hostess (not long) we saw her she walked right by us to help the man walking up behind us. She walked him over and returned to use to say she was sorry she had to "help him first". I thought that was extremely rude. So we left to have breakfast somewhere else. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A WONDERFUL AND ROMANTIC PLACE TO STAY MI HUSBAND AND I STAYED 2 NITES FOR MI 37TH YEAR OLD BIRTHDAY. IT WAS VERY COZY,ROMANTIC AND CLEAN. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE PAY OF PARKING. NO ONE NEVER EXPLAINED THAT WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY OVER $48.00 ON PARKING FOR TWO NITES. WE WERE NEVER TOLD IF THERE WERE ANY OTHER PARKING FOR THE HOTEL. WICH WAS KIND OF BAD FOR THE AMOUNT WE SPENT ON OUR ROOM ALREADY. BUT OTHER THAN THAT WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AND WOULD LIKE THIS HOTEL TO BE OUR PERMANTLY HOTEL WHEN WE VISIT AGAIN.OH AND THE CITY VIEW WAS ALSOME!!!!!! I LOVE ME SOME WESTIN!!!! LOL HAVE FUNN. February 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Things were a bit off We have stayed at this hotel several times, but this stay was not without its problems. We have a loud, unattended barking dog in the room next door, and ultimately had to be moved to a new room. In addition, two of the four elevators were out of service, so getting to and from one's room was time-consuming. Finally, a breakfast order took two hours to reach us due to internal communication problems among the staff. However, we will give it another try on our next visit. This hotel has been delightful on all other trips over the past several years. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great potential...but not fulfilled While my stay was pleasant, the shabbiness of the lobby furnishings took away from my overall stay. The lobby has a spectacular view of the Mississippi River, but the filthy furniture in the lobby made enjoying the view almost impossible. Other negative issues were stinginess in the amount of towels available and the failure of housekeeping to empty the wastecans in my room. Because of the hotel's location and room comfort, I would stay here again (I have stayed numerous times) but a lobby upgrade and better housekeeping would Improve my opinion. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by would probably not return Besides a good spg platinum upgrade and a decent location (if you can sleep through the train whistles) this hotel disappointed us. Called housekeeping in the evening asking for an extra pillow for the bed. Answer: They were out of regular bed pillows. Really? At a hotel? It was raining the day we visited, and we asked about an umbrella. No chance. Finally, at check out, we asked for the folio to be emailed. Still have not seen it. The room is old, with stains here and there, and needs a total makeover. The double-elevator-situation is tiring. Be aware that some of the top floor rooms and suites have a lot of noise from the hallway, as it is the only way leading to the roof top pool. Oh - staff at breakfast and front desk was friendly. August 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Awkward entrance The entrance, with registration on the 11th floor made for a awkward and convoluted entrance and exit. It was difficult to explain to visitors. The mattress in our room was completely worn out. It didn't matter if you were sleeping alone or with someone, everyone rolled to the middle. Standing up and looking down on the bed, you could easily see the depressed middle. When we complained to the front desk, they checked on it. The very nice and accommodating clerk returned and said that she didn't know why they hadn't changed it as they knew about it. They did change for the second night of our stay. The issue is "if they knew about it, why did they wait until someone complained to change it?". Guests should not have to have a sleepless night. June 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this hotel We got married in Florida and stopped in New Orleans for the second leg of our honeymoon. When got to our room the sheets on the bed had wet spots all over them…DISGUSTING!!! They then moved us to another room. Our second night we had a memo in our room that said the AC was being worked on and we would be without air. Do you know how hard it is to sleep while you are sweating bullets? It is IMPOSSIBLE. Needless to say we are extremely upset and disappointed with our stay at the Westin. It was not the honeymoon experience we were looking for. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great overall, but needs a couple of tweaks Our suite was really spacious and the A/C worked great (a must in New Orleans during the summer) and had outstanding views. Unfortunately, the elevators were not air conditioned and were very stuffy. This was an issue with a room near the top floor (long, hot rides). The service and food in the Green Bar were excellent, but the room service took 55 minutes for a mediocre breakfast as opposed to the stated 30 minutes - disappointing compared to all other aspects of the hotel/ July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even with the construction, the guest facilities were kept clean and accessable, Great job ! My wife and I stayed at this Hotel several years ago and experienced an un forgettably excellent stay. This was why I chose to have my whole family gather here for the WWII grand opening cerimonies. My Immediate family drove over from Florida and my Brother and Sister flew in from California. Everybody commented on how much they enjoyed their stay. From the exceptional attention to the children by Don the Bell man, to the professional handling of our reservations by Thomas at Reception I cannot be more impressed and will certainly return. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by don't let elevators ruin experience I had read reviews before staying at hotel, complaints about dirty rooms, rude staff, dingy bathrooms,no selection of t.v. channels, etc., could not believe it was all that bad so I took a chance. Glad I did,room was great, bathroom clean, no problems with T.V. and Seth the front desk clerk was great, took care of the one problem I had to the best of his ability. the one thing Seth couldn't fix were the outdated, broke down elevators, they are terrible. If you can overlook elvators you will enjoy your stay, if you cant find another hotel. March 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spring Break in New Orleans Stayed here 3 nights to experience the french quarter. Great location and good facilities. Hotel has a bit of age on it, but nicely renovated and spacious accomodations. One detail that is often overlooked in reviews is elevator service. In a 26 story building, this is kinda important so that you're not standing around! This hotel had excellent elevator service. Rooftop pool was clean and scenic. The bathroom in the room was a bit tired, broken sink that didn't leak, just looked a bit tacky. Good value for the money in the french quarter. March 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expect from Westin A disappointment. The rooms are somewhat rundown, marks on the walls and bathroom. Lightbulbs missing in some lamps. There was an exhaust fan outside my room which was noisy and the only room they could switch me to also had an exhaust fan outside it - front desk not very creative or helpful about that. Housekeeping missed a day, had to call to get room cleaned. Free internet in rooms is painfully slow. No bellman available at checkout to hail a cab, we ran around finding one ourselves. Basically, this was not what I expect from Westin. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, needs a refurb I have come to associate the Westin name with high quality hotels. Therefore, I was disappointed with the Westin Canal Place. The rooms are badly in need of refurbishment. On the first day, we were placed in a room which had a very loud buzzing noise. The entire floor, in fact, was buzzing. We moved rooms the next day and were much happier. However, the bathrooms definitely need to be updated. The hotel was fine but I am used to being WOWed by Westins. This didn't reach that mark. The staff was all great! Very helpful and professional. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great views and room in an ideal location My room had a fantastic view of the river and the French quarter. Easy walk to restaurants and Bourbon Street. Helpful staff. Great meeting facilities. I would definitely recommend this hotel. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicely appointed, but layout is incredibly inconvenient Nice facility, courteous staff, beautiful room. BUT--the layout of this hotel is HORRIBLE! Self-parking is in the garage for the attached shopping mall and requires walking clear across the mall to reach the hotel entrance. The hotel lobby is on the 11th floor, above the mall, and requires an elevator (very slow) to access. Then there is another long walk away through the lobby to catch a different SLOW elevator to access the guest rooms. I attended a meeting in the Magnolia Room of the Westin, which is NOT attached to the hotel proper, but located on the 3rd floor of the shopping mall. To get from my room to my car in the garage required that I ride 3 different elevators! I felt that I spent most of my time walking to, waiting for, and riding elevators! April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not anywhere near what it should be Came in at 11pm - was given a room that was both not clean and had really poor repairs in the bathroom. Then was given a new room - that room was already taken w/a "rest easy" hanging from the doorknob. Was told that the wrong number was written but the key would work on the correct room (yet a 3rd) it did not. The staff at the front desk was rude and the only saving grace was the manager who was apologizing (though sadly it had been such a bad experience it barely registered). Stay away from this hotel. is not up to Westin standards. May 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG recognition lacking The view of the river and the French quarter are excellent from the hotel. The lobby on the 11th floor is nice. The rest of the hotel is not really up to Westin standards. The room was adequate but the hall carpet and room carpet were stained, Our blackout curtain fell apart during our stay. When checking in there was no recognition of my program status or any other gold ammenity. I did discover the preferred guest floor on the way to the pool. This hotel was not exactly what I have come to expect from Westin or other SPG properties. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED, NEVER AGAIN i don't know where to begin, maybe with the fact that my friend didn't have a room until after 6PM. This hotel is about 10 years overdo for renovations. it's outdated, the upholstery that is left on the furniture is so dirty you didn't want to sit, beside the fact the lounge is filthy. The bathroom has no hooks for towels. The bar has no service, there are service people who do not look at you they gather around polishing glasses. As for the dining room , again the service is horrible , but no problem, the food was worse. Be sure to go out for breakfast . The lamps is the room have switches on the wires but their located near the floor. on a positive note the concierge was very helpful and very nice. the doormen and i mean the men NOT the door woman ! April 3, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 29 next>>