The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 862 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by pretty dingy room Room smelled very musty, closet smelled like mould, couldn't put my clothes in there. Air Conditioning worked so so. Shower worked sort, water spraying everywhere. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect stay except... for when I went to pay to leave their parking garage, my parking was not validated. Im at a packed parking garage of people trying to get out so you just pay the extra and get out of there. I watched the guy who checked me out run it through their little desk machine. Don't know if it was broken or if it's just a hustle they run with the garage folk. It just left a bad taste in my mouth. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel The stay at this hotel was excellent. Customer service was excellent from me checking in til my departure day, The room was nice and clean and very comfort. I just wish they have a refrigator but over all I would recommend this hotel to my friends. I will stay here on my next visit September 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thank You for your follow up on my stay As this was my first trip to New Orleans I was very excited to experience the city and to base my stay at your Westin. Having stayed at many of our properties I usually go directly to the Westin Brand as I have felt it always is a step above wherever I go. And seeing that the property was attached to such a high end retail shopping venue I had great expectations. Unfortunately, I was disappointed in a few of the brand aspects at your hotel that I would like to share with you. As you are well aware of, the Heavenly bed is our strongest brand feature with Westin but unfortunately, the bed in my room fell greatly short in that department. The King bed had a sheet that was ripped at the top end of the bed which should have been very visible to the staff making up the bed and probably not used. I also understand why all flat sheets are used on the beds but these weren't even long/wide enough to tuck which means they didn't stay in place. The bed felt short sheeted. There were mismatched pillows (1 King, 2 Queen and a smaller type 3rd) and the whole bed really appeared nothing like the many Heavenly Beds I've stayed in. The rolled bath towels under the counter were very used with only 1 Nice Westin bath towel on the counter. I also ordered a bottle of wine from the in room dining guide and the charge was $5.00 more than listed on the menu. I called about this and the staff was nice enough to change the charge to match what was listed. It's these amenities that I and I think our customers come to expect. I realize I was on an employee benefit rate but I think I would have been even more disappointed if I had paid the full nightly rate. On a good note, your staff was very nice and I did get some great dining suggestions from your bellman Don. I'm sending this because I feel you should have insight into your guests experiences, even if it's on an Employee benefit rate. Thanks for your time September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Helpful staff, but average hotel Let me start by saying that the hotel staff are helpful, positive, and generally pleasant. This included doormen, desk receptionists, and even the guy at the pool. However, it is clear, as many others have indicated, that several elements of the hotel remain in need of updating, including lobby furniture more than anything else. I know the showers haven't received the updates of other Westins at which I have stayed. The room itself was clean and ok, but the noise level wasn't great. Our room was by the elevator, and we paid for it with drunk folks coming in at all hours and even trying our door at one point. Doors slammed constantly. The "beautiful" river view was mostly of a parking lot, and being on that side also provided for boat horns and train horns at inconvenient hours. Priority 1 at a hotel is usually sleep, and all the noise was not ideal. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was treated like a VIP the entire stay! The room was spectacular. The staff was very very nice and accommodating. The food at the Green Bar was very good. I will be back! September 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A bit disappointed Recently spent a weekend using my bonus points and did not like my treatment. I was assigned the worst room in the hotel which was not on a preferred guest floor. It was loud, dirty and had no real view. I was very disappointed because when I asked for better accommodations I was simply told " no" with no effort to try to appease me. I stay at this hotel frequently but was really disappointed with my last visit. September 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Time at Great Hotel I recently stayed at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place and had a great experience all around. The hotel is perfectly situated within close proximity to all the city has to offer. The rooms are large and comfortable and the housekeeping staff is great. The front desk staff, especially Josh and Michael are very helpful and welcoming. The Concierge, Miss Susan is extremely knowledgable and full of great reccommendations and a great deal of local history and interesting facts you can'r get elsewhere. I highly reccommend this hotel, due mainly to the staff. September 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Emotions I expected more than I got from a Westin hotel. I had to request multiple times a day to get my room cleaned. The only day somebody actually came was the day I checked out and that was very early in the morning! The other thing that I expected to be better was the wireless internet. It was extremely slow. I had faster speeds at MSY than at this hotel. September 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Westin Standards Complete disappointment. When we arrived we stood at the registration line marked Starwood Preferred Guests. Four other guests arrived after we did and were waited on before we were in another line. We then went to the other line to check in, and asked why we had not been waited on in the Starwood Preferred Guest line. We were told that that line was not open; but she never bothered to tell us that while we were standing there waiting to check in! Instead, she chose to pretend we were not standing in line. That set the tone for the entire 5 night stay. This hotel is dirty, the furniture in the lobby is worn out, the toilet seat in the bathroom was broken upon arrival, and several of the electrical outlets did not work. The room was as basic as they come. In addition, there was litter throughout the lobby and in the elevators, and the pool was filthy. Never have I ever stayed at a Westin that was like this one. It was more like a rooming house than a Westin. The place is in need of a complete makeover. September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect place to stay Great location for getting any where you want to go. The room was very nice and clean. Had a problem with wet carpet and they changed us immediately. The only thing that would be an upgrade to the hotel would be to clean the steps and landing in front of the hotel. Would go back in a heart beat. September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent service Above all things, this hotel ALWAYS has excellent service. I always feel welcomed here and they always recognize my status and seem willing to assist with any needs I may have. Location is superb. My only down comment would be that the furnishings and the hotel's appearance need to be updated. I would gladly take outdated though fr the terrific service and the cleanliness that is found here. September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by OVERALL GOOD STAY we checked in at 6pm but no rooms were clean and ready until 11pm however staff was very apologetic and comped drinks and breakfast next morning. pool is horrible and needs updating not pleasant at all. hotel is pet friendly but does not have designated rooms that are to be used by pet owners. that is not good for the probably 90% of your other customers who do not want to stay in a room that has had pets in it. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls weekend in New Orleans Staff very accommodating and made splitting the room charges so easy. Super nice front desk staff. September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel Staff and Management needs improvement First of all the hotel rooms and decor were great, but the service was horrible. We arrived at 8p. Our room was not ready because they had only one cleaning person the whole day and they had guest waiting for rooms, even at 8p. Second, the front desk offered to take our bags and calls us when a room came available. We went to dinner and waited for a call, no call we waited over two hours came back to the hotel and front desk wrote our number down wrong. They finally got us keys to a room, and they handed my bags to me and made me carry my own bags up to the 23rd floor. When I got there the keys didnt swipe so I had to go back to the front desk with my bags in tow to get the keys replaced. They offered to comp my breakfast but we had plans in the morning and didnt really solve the bad service anyways. When I finally got to the room I realize they did not give me all of my bags from storage. I picked up the phone to call the front desk and the phone was broken. Need I say more! September 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Late check out We had packed our bags but had arranged a late check out for 3pm...staff assumed we had left room, they rented it to another guest before our scheduled check out time... We could not get back in our room to make sure we didn't leave anything After our walk in new orlleans / clean up before we left town....Not sure why they gave our room up before our scheduled late check out for 3pm. September 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice Staff A train with horn blasting right outside hotel. Inconsistent housekeeping, forgot to clean the room one day. Noisy refrigerator in room, Stained and dirty carpet in room. Facade outside front entrance failing off. Alarm clock not shut off so it goes off in the middle of the night. Pray you don't get put on the 15th, 16th, or 17th floor, musty rooms and filthy hallway/room carpets! Takes 15 minutes to get your car if you don't call valet ahead of time. For a large hotel chain, probably the most poorly managed hotel I have ever stayed in and worst first night I have ever experienced. On a plus note, the individual staff members were very friendly and nice. August 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Features BUT This is the second time we stay at the Westin. Both of our stays were unbelievable. The hotel is within walking distance of all the French quarter attractions and everything we wanted to see and do. The hotel has to be one of the most clean hotels with the friendly staff. The only complaint I had was, I was not told that my credit card was going to be billed an extra hundred dollars on top of the rate of our room. This was very embarrasing when we went to leave the parking garage and my credit card was declined. I do plan on staying back at this hotel, but I'll be sure to warn people about the hidden charges. It seems like our credit card would have been charged if something was wrong with the room. August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel! Everything was good, the self parking was a little tricky and guest slamming room doors but beside that it was great! Will stay again..... August 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel really needs remodeling. We left New Orleans two days as the room ruined our New Orleans mood. Lock on one door was missing. Mold in shower. Not like ANY Westin we have ever stayed. August 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by would probably not return Besides a good spg platinum upgrade and a decent location (if you can sleep through the train whistles) this hotel disappointed us. Called housekeeping in the evening asking for an extra pillow for the bed. Answer: They were out of regular bed pillows. Really? At a hotel? It was raining the day we visited, and we asked about an umbrella. No chance. Finally, at check out, we asked for the folio to be emailed. Still have not seen it. The room is old, with stains here and there, and needs a total makeover. The double-elevator-situation is tiring. Be aware that some of the top floor rooms and suites have a lot of noise from the hallway, as it is the only way leading to the roof top pool. Oh - staff at breakfast and front desk was friendly. August 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very bad service - Especially for a business traveller One night I used the steam iron in the room to get my clothes ready for the next day. And guess what, the iron leaves a stain on my white shirt! The steam iron was not kept clean and well maintained, and hence was emitting dirt along with steam! Called up the help desk to laundry my shirt that I need for the next morning, and guess what, they don't have in-house laundry service! Staff apologized but that does not fix my shirt for the next day, does it. Then I ask them to send a different clean steam iron, it takes 1 hr and another phone call from me (at 11 pm. In the night) ! Very disappointing ! Internet service is also very lousy limiting the number of sessions per room and bad connectivity in the lobby. August 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love everything about this hotel Great location. Very clean and beautiful views of either the city or Mississippi River and French quarter. Great shopping at canal place under hotel. Comfortable beds. Huge rooms and nice size bathroom. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location We had very excellent car service, the valets were very dependable and friendly. Other staff was decent. The room was NOT cleaned all weekend. Someone had knocked and asked if we wanted our room clean- my husband told them "Yes, we would be heading out in just a few minutes." But we came back to the room untouched. Overall the price and location were-great, valets-great, other staff-okay. August 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff great, room not This room has seen better days. We had many, many problems. Phone didn't work. TV didn't work. Toilet broke 3 times. My husband came back from the ice machine from another floor (ours was broken the whole time), the door shut. Two pictures fell off the wall. The thermostat fell off the wall too. The maintenance people didn't come up until the next day after the room service showed up late because the food was delivered to the wrong room. The front desk was very accomodating but things need to change. August 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great potential...but not fulfilled While my stay was pleasant, the shabbiness of the lobby furnishings took away from my overall stay. The lobby has a spectacular view of the Mississippi River, but the filthy furniture in the lobby made enjoying the view almost impossible. Other negative issues were stinginess in the amount of towels available and the failure of housekeeping to empty the wastecans in my room. Because of the hotel's location and room comfort, I would stay here again (I have stayed numerous times) but a lobby upgrade and better housekeeping would Improve my opinion. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Place Was Shabby The last time I stayed at this Westin was five years ago. It was nice then, but it is not now. I found it to be run down and shabby. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Services The Westin far exceeded our expectations! Bill the Doorman was wonderful and went out of his way to help us on Saturday. We were upgraded to a fabulous river view suite. The view was stunning! Perfect place to stay in New Orleans. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs some deep-cleaning I stayed in an SPG room. The two white seats in the room were visibly dirty, and had black dirt all over them. I ordered room service to be delivered between 6:45am-7:00am. By 7:25am I had to call and ask that my breakfast not be delivered, as I was going to be late for work. The service at the hotel restaurant was also terrible. We asked for butter and ketchup, and had to remind the staff that we still needed butter and ketchup. The valet staff, however, was very nice and attentive. August 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt like a Low budget hotel Great view! That's it! Westin should be ashamed by putting its name on this property. August 18, 2013
  • 2015-05-28T19:57:31.492-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_862, tr_862
  • loc_en_US, sid_1763, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 30 next>>