The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 790 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expect from Westin A disappointment. The rooms are somewhat rundown, marks on the walls and bathroom. Lightbulbs missing in some lamps. There was an exhaust fan outside my room which was noisy and the only room they could switch me to also had an exhaust fan outside it - front desk not very creative or helpful about that. Housekeeping missed a day, had to call to get room cleaned. Free internet in rooms is painfully slow. No bellman available at checkout to hail a cab, we ran around finding one ourselves. Basically, this was not what I expect from Westin. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by westin iberville new orleans Stay was nice until my last day when water came through the light fixture above the shower while we were using the shower it was scary and we could have been shocked we called Jason at the front desk and engineering came. but be had to leave and were unable to use the shower. We did spend over $1200.00 for this experience. We expect two free nights at the Westin for not being able to shower not to mention my nine year old could have been electricuted. Please send me two free nights and I will try again. James P Wood 205-706-6730 January 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Awkward entrance The entrance, with registration on the 11th floor made for a awkward and convoluted entrance and exit. It was difficult to explain to visitors. The mattress in our room was completely worn out. It didn't matter if you were sleeping alone or with someone, everyone rolled to the middle. Standing up and looking down on the bed, you could easily see the depressed middle. When we complained to the front desk, they checked on it. The very nice and accommodating clerk returned and said that she didn't know why they hadn't changed it as they knew about it. They did change for the second night of our stay. The issue is "if they knew about it, why did they wait until someone complained to change it?". Guests should not have to have a sleepless night. June 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this hotel We got married in Florida and stopped in New Orleans for the second leg of our honeymoon. When got to our room the sheets on the bed had wet spots all over them…DISGUSTING!!! They then moved us to another room. Our second night we had a memo in our room that said the AC was being worked on and we would be without air. Do you know how hard it is to sleep while you are sweating bullets? It is IMPOSSIBLE. Needless to say we are extremely upset and disappointed with our stay at the Westin. It was not the honeymoon experience we were looking for. June 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room not up to expectations or picture Chair was missing, not sure it was always cleaned, had to ask for things like lotion and soap, staff was friendly, have stayed at other Westin's, room didn't match pictures, construction in hallways April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spring Break in New Orleans Stayed here 3 nights to experience the french quarter. Great location and good facilities. Hotel has a bit of age on it, but nicely renovated and spacious accomodations. One detail that is often overlooked in reviews is elevator service. In a 26 story building, this is kinda important so that you're not standing around! This hotel had excellent elevator service. Rooftop pool was clean and scenic. The bathroom in the room was a bit tired, broken sink that didn't leak, just looked a bit tacky. Good value for the money in the french quarter. March 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by don't let elevators ruin experience I had read reviews before staying at hotel, complaints about dirty rooms, rude staff, dingy bathrooms,no selection of t.v. channels, etc., could not believe it was all that bad so I took a chance. Glad I did,room was great, bathroom clean, no problems with T.V. and Seth the front desk clerk was great, took care of the one problem I had to the best of his ability. the one thing Seth couldn't fix were the outdated, broke down elevators, they are terrible. If you can overlook elvators you will enjoy your stay, if you cant find another hotel. March 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even with the construction, the guest facilities were kept clean and accessable, Great job ! My wife and I stayed at this Hotel several years ago and experienced an un forgettably excellent stay. This was why I chose to have my whole family gather here for the WWII grand opening cerimonies. My Immediate family drove over from Florida and my Brother and Sister flew in from California. Everybody commented on how much they enjoyed their stay. From the exceptional attention to the children by Don the Bell man, to the professional handling of our reservations by Thomas at Reception I cannot be more impressed and will certainly return. January 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not anywhere near what it should be Came in at 11pm - was given a room that was both not clean and had really poor repairs in the bathroom. Then was given a new room - that room was already taken w/a "rest easy" hanging from the doorknob. Was told that the wrong number was written but the key would work on the correct room (yet a 3rd) it did not. The staff at the front desk was rude and the only saving grace was the manager who was apologizing (though sadly it had been such a bad experience it barely registered). Stay away from this hotel. is not up to Westin standards. May 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG recognition lacking The view of the river and the French quarter are excellent from the hotel. The lobby on the 11th floor is nice. The rest of the hotel is not really up to Westin standards. The room was adequate but the hall carpet and room carpet were stained, Our blackout curtain fell apart during our stay. When checking in there was no recognition of my program status or any other gold ammenity. I did discover the preferred guest floor on the way to the pool. This hotel was not exactly what I have come to expect from Westin or other SPG properties. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED, NEVER AGAIN i don't know where to begin, maybe with the fact that my friend didn't have a room until after 6PM. This hotel is about 10 years overdo for renovations. it's outdated, the upholstery that is left on the furniture is so dirty you didn't want to sit, beside the fact the lounge is filthy. The bathroom has no hooks for towels. The bar has no service, there are service people who do not look at you they gather around polishing glasses. As for the dining room , again the service is horrible , but no problem, the food was worse. Be sure to go out for breakfast . The lamps is the room have switches on the wires but their located near the floor. on a positive note the concierge was very helpful and very nice. the doormen and i mean the men NOT the door woman ! April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Toilet problem Arriving early in the day from a cruise ship, we did not take possession of our room until around 11:00 pm that day. We did not inspect the room and went straight to bed. At 3:00am we discovered the toilet did not operate properly and required a Tech in our room by 3:15 am. He worked on it for around 30 minutes , but could not improve the toilets function. He said he would return and replace a part in the morning , but never came and we had to be off to our day around 10:00 am. Not at all convenient for a party of 4. December 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but dirty bathroom This hotel could have had it all....great location, beautiful decor BUT the commode in our bathroom was not clean. Gross! When I told the staff, the comment was "sorry". That was it. Will consider staying somewhere else next time in NOLA April 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Work The hotel needs a lot of updating. I found the room to have dirty carpet and mold in the bathroom. We did not have a heavenly bed so not sure what to make of that. Elevators were being repaired and the wait was near 15 mins at times. The pool area was littered with wet towels and sofas were turned over. It appeared as if hotel staff had not checked the area in some time. As for the positive, our maid was very friendly and provided us with extra towels. We also received great service in the restaurant. Awesome Sourdough sandwich! August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel on our last day we were using shower and water came through the light fixture above shower we could not use shower for fear of being shocked my 9 year old had used the shower during our stay and could have been shocked` I reported it to Jason at the desk and the engineer came right away but we had to leave and could not even shower. My stay cost $1500.00 for four nights. I expect to be given two nights free at the Iberville Westin ASAP this is shameful and u owe me a free weekend. James P Wood 205-706-6730 January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Hotel was Awesome! We really enjoyed staying there this weekend! it was our Wedding Anniversary of 29 years and we loved your Hotel! April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment from a Westin fan I have never stayed at a disappointing Westin before, but this was it. The facility looks beautiful from the lobby, but the bed was not as comfortable as a Heavenly bed usually is. The faucet in the sink leaked all over the counter and was never fixed. The room I had reserved wasn't available, and we when (on the 3rd night of a 3 night stay) we got the room we reserved, it was worse the than first, smelling like a combination of mold and stale cigarettes. I'm a big Westin fan and was not happy with this hotel. December 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible elevator service Although I understand there was construction at the hotel having one functioning elevator was entirely unacceptable to handle the volume of guests booked. That demonstrates extremely poor planning on someone's part. The decision to charge for wireless connectivity in the conference rooms was unwarranted. Any low dollar motel along the interstate has Internet connectivity throughout the building for no charge. I would expect the same from a premium hotel. I think it is unreasonable for the event host to bear the cost as well. December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin I have stayed in My wife and I took a trip with another couple to New Orleans for the forth of July week. I recomended this hotel to the other couple based on past experience with Westin. I was very disappointed. This is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed in. The staff, minus the initial check in person who I felt as if I was wasting her time, was very apollogetic and moved me...twice. Mold, smell, dingy carpet, dirty towels on the bath room floor, we're all what we experienced upon check in. Additionally I found it odd that the staff, when cleaning the rooms, would put all the dirty laundry outside the room's door, in the hall where they would sit until four or five in the afternoon. I was very disappointed in the hotel. Bed was the only good part of the entire stay. August 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not meet Westin/SPG Standard I've had good stays at this particular hotel before but this was not one of them - Long wait to check in, no line for Gold/Platinum Work out room requested, none available, no upgrade for platnum status, not even on the preferred floor. Room smelled strongly of smoke proposed solution "We will come spray it" Sink cracked, hot faucet leaking at base of handle. TV not working. Told latest check out possible was 2pm, which was the standard for Sunday.. No thank you for staying. February 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by who selects the rooms ? The room was nice, but I was given a room on the 14th floor overlooking the adjoining roof, and directly above a noisy wedding party. The hotel did not appear to be so full as to have to use this particular room. Also several missing lenses covering the lights of the elevators were missing, leaving a poor impression. What else is not being kept up ? March 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My Stay on 12/27/13 Very disappointed on our last visit. Brought a Colorado guest with us. Reserved 27th floor river view room... Gave us 19 floor. When we walked into the room, it smelled like raw sewage. Moved us to 18 floor with no view. We had to wait over an hour for one of the rooms to be cleaned. Were not able to get the room temperature cooler than 73 although during our entire visit we kept the temperature at 67 degrees. We had made reservations well in advance and arrived early to check in. I was so disappointed and a bit embarrassed that we were unable to give our guest the full experience we promised her. There are too many hotels available in New Orleans to continue using a hotel who gives disappointing service....I think disappointing is the best word to describe our latest visit !!!!! January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Visit Very disappointed on our last visit. Brought a Colorado guest with us. Reserved 27th floor river view room... Gave us 19 floor. When we walked into the room, it smelled like raw sewage. Moved us to 18 floor with no view. We had to wait over an hour for one of the rooms to be cleaned. Were not able to get the room temperature cooler than 73 although during our entire visit we kept the temperature at 67 degrees. We had made reservations well in advance and arrived early to check in. I was so disappointed and a bit embarrassed that we were unable to give our guest the full experience we promised her. There are too many hotels available in New Orleans to continue using a hotel who gives disappointing service....I think disappointing is the best word to describe our latest visit !!!!! January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good staff During check-in and check-out the staff was excellent. We appreciated the attention, and offer for later checkouts, which we actually took advantage of. The only dissapointment was the congestion at the car valet when arriving. It took 15 minutes to clear out vehicles to get us to the portecochere (it was raining) to unload. I'd expect for the nearly $40 valet (charge + taxes) that operation would run a little better. But at least once the staff got to us, they were very friendly and quick. Again, the staff was very good. July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel Great Location Mediocre Staff Room was clean and the location is outstanding. The only issue I had was the staff are not very knowlegeable as to what goes on right out front of the hotel. My girlfriend and I got a taxi to a nearby restaurant, called by the doorman from the taxi stand 20 feet from the entrance. After arriving at the restaurant i rel\alized I had left my cellphone in the taxi. We proceeded to head back to the hotel to try and find the taxi or get information from the hotel regarding the taxi company. When I told the doorman, frontdesk and concierge the taxi company that was called for us BY the door man they all looked at me as if they had never heard of the taxi company and they had absolutely no information on any of the taxi companies.. Needless to say I never got my phone back. February 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cant say anything positive - at least one and sometimes three of the four elevators were out of service during our entire stay (we were on the 29th floor, so delays were long). - despite our requesting maid service, our rooms were never cleaned, our towels were never changed and our beds were never made nor turned down. - the service in the restaurant was unacceptably slow on multile occassions. - we requested two cots be removed from our room and it took two days and three phone calls for that to happen. it should only requre one request. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed This Westin seems quite run-down - in need of a makeover. Hung my "green points" sign on my door, and instead got no housekeeping. Never received a call about whether I wanted housekeeping. The AC in room was horrible - blew right on my head on the bed - so freezing cold when on, and boiling hot when not. This is New Orleans, and in the bar the soundtrack is...commercial radio station? Seriously?? And Westin/SPG, if you're going to ask people to forego housekeeping to conserve, how about providing some towel racks? August 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff PROS The staff was wonderful everywhere in the hotel. The bar was nice, they had good food and decent drinks, though both were overpriced as expected in any hotel. CONS The rooms had stained carpet, stained beds and stained walls. Bathroom had missing tiles, the paint in the bathroom looked like a do-it-yourself project. The windows did not match, one was tinted, one was not. For what I paid I expected a lot more. Also, I hate hotels which regulate the AC temp, especially if I pay as much as I did for the room. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but... Beautiful lobby and good location. We had a few misses on the service however. Gold SPG members but were not upgraded, no minibar in the room, overlooking a rooftop a level below with workers so no privacy, waited for Concierge for a long time one day and she never came. After maybe 10-15 min, got help from the front desk... Two elevators required to get to the rooms, which can be a pain. Also there is no hot tub at the pool, which was a disappointment. For $350/night we expected a little more from this hotel. October 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great example of Westin I certainly hope this is not a good example of a Westin. April 3, 2014
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 28 next>>