The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 807 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, needs a refurb I have come to associate the Westin name with high quality hotels. Therefore, I was disappointed with the Westin Canal Place. The rooms are badly in need of refurbishment. On the first day, we were placed in a room which had a very loud buzzing noise. The entire floor, in fact, was buzzing. We moved rooms the next day and were much happier. However, the bathrooms definitely need to be updated. The hotel was fine but I am used to being WOWed by Westins. This didn't reach that mark. The staff was all great! Very helpful and professional. February 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit tired This hotel is typical of older style large hotels that need some "work". Good position & staff generally very friendly but often messages are not understood or they just get it wrong . May 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could have been nice. First...sent to the wrong room where someone was in the roon. Called from the wrong room and put on hold 4 times for a while, also to voicemail...I was not too happy. Got to a new room, room was cleaned but drawers had scattered garbage, receipts, plastic bags etc....went out to hall to call in cleaner. In the morning...early..was woke by the sound of banging, grinding construction next door both sides. Left my keys at Green Bar and went to get them the next day and hotel staff said none turned in. View from room was nice, but besides that....rough. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hostess Saturday morning elevator would not come to the 21st. We tried buttons on both sides & both up & down. My husband and I (in heels) walked down the steps to the lobby level on 11th. Not a big issue. We went to eat breakfast after letting the front desk know about the elevator. We waited for the hostess (not long) we saw her she walked right by us to help the man walking up behind us. She walked him over and returned to use to say she was sorry she had to "help him first". I thought that was extremely rude. So we left to have breakfast somewhere else. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A WONDERFUL AND ROMANTIC PLACE TO STAY MI HUSBAND AND I STAYED 2 NITES FOR MI 37TH YEAR OLD BIRTHDAY. IT WAS VERY COZY,ROMANTIC AND CLEAN. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE PAY OF PARKING. NO ONE NEVER EXPLAINED THAT WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY OVER $48.00 ON PARKING FOR TWO NITES. WE WERE NEVER TOLD IF THERE WERE ANY OTHER PARKING FOR THE HOTEL. WICH WAS KIND OF BAD FOR THE AMOUNT WE SPENT ON OUR ROOM ALREADY. BUT OTHER THAN THAT WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AND WOULD LIKE THIS HOTEL TO BE OUR PERMANTLY HOTEL WHEN WE VISIT AGAIN.OH AND THE CITY VIEW WAS ALSOME!!!!!! I LOVE ME SOME WESTIN!!!! LOL HAVE FUNN. February 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Things were a bit off We have stayed at this hotel several times, but this stay was not without its problems. We have a loud, unattended barking dog in the room next door, and ultimately had to be moved to a new room. In addition, two of the four elevators were out of service, so getting to and from one's room was time-consuming. Finally, a breakfast order took two hours to reach us due to internal communication problems among the staff. However, we will give it another try on our next visit. This hotel has been delightful on all other trips over the past several years. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by would probably not return Besides a good spg platinum upgrade and a decent location (if you can sleep through the train whistles) this hotel disappointed us. Called housekeeping in the evening asking for an extra pillow for the bed. Answer: They were out of regular bed pillows. Really? At a hotel? It was raining the day we visited, and we asked about an umbrella. No chance. Finally, at check out, we asked for the folio to be emailed. Still have not seen it. The room is old, with stains here and there, and needs a total makeover. The double-elevator-situation is tiring. Be aware that some of the top floor rooms and suites have a lot of noise from the hallway, as it is the only way leading to the roof top pool. Oh - staff at breakfast and front desk was friendly. August 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great potential...but not fulfilled While my stay was pleasant, the shabbiness of the lobby furnishings took away from my overall stay. The lobby has a spectacular view of the Mississippi River, but the filthy furniture in the lobby made enjoying the view almost impossible. Other negative issues were stinginess in the amount of towels available and the failure of housekeeping to empty the wastecans in my room. Because of the hotel's location and room comfort, I would stay here again (I have stayed numerous times) but a lobby upgrade and better housekeeping would Improve my opinion. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, worn out. The hotel's got a great location. We got a room on the 24th floor which gave us great views of the city. The hotel seemed to be a little worn out. I did not like the parking situation, paying the same amount as any other customer at the Canal Place shops. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Overnight front desk team has been really helpful. Didn't get the chance to try the food. Pool was really disappointing. April 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Awkward entrance The entrance, with registration on the 11th floor made for a awkward and convoluted entrance and exit. It was difficult to explain to visitors. The mattress in our room was completely worn out. It didn't matter if you were sleeping alone or with someone, everyone rolled to the middle. Standing up and looking down on the bed, you could easily see the depressed middle. When we complained to the front desk, they checked on it. The very nice and accommodating clerk returned and said that she didn't know why they hadn't changed it as they knew about it. They did change for the second night of our stay. The issue is "if they knew about it, why did they wait until someone complained to change it?". Guests should not have to have a sleepless night. June 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expect from Westin A disappointment. The rooms are somewhat rundown, marks on the walls and bathroom. Lightbulbs missing in some lamps. There was an exhaust fan outside my room which was noisy and the only room they could switch me to also had an exhaust fan outside it - front desk not very creative or helpful about that. Housekeeping missed a day, had to call to get room cleaned. Free internet in rooms is painfully slow. No bellman available at checkout to hail a cab, we ran around finding one ourselves. Basically, this was not what I expect from Westin. December 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this hotel We got married in Florida and stopped in New Orleans for the second leg of our honeymoon. When got to our room the sheets on the bed had wet spots all over them…DISGUSTING!!! They then moved us to another room. Our second night we had a memo in our room that said the AC was being worked on and we would be without air. Do you know how hard it is to sleep while you are sweating bullets? It is IMPOSSIBLE. Needless to say we are extremely upset and disappointed with our stay at the Westin. It was not the honeymoon experience we were looking for. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin, New Orleans Canal Street My husband & I just got back yesterday from New Orleans. This is the 3rd time we have stayed at The Westin on Canal and once again, we loved it! It was clean and comfortable. The view from the lobby & our room was spectacular! The staff was wonderful. We loved breakfast at the restaurant and The Green Bar & Jason were great! We also really like that we could catch the streetcar, by the hotel, and take it into the quarter. We can't wait to visit again! Thank you! March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Broke airconditioners We went to New Orleans with two other couples and 3 out of 4 rooms had faulty air conditioners. Our first room on the 14th floor was very hot when we entered. We set the temp at 68 but it never moved off 78. We moved to another room and the temp over two days continued to rise and peaked at 76 even with thermostat at 67. One of the other couples rooms had the same problem. At check out I informed them of the second issue and the staff member compensated us for the inconvenience. Overall it was a good hotel but not great. February 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by westin iberville new orleans Stay was nice until my last day when water came through the light fixture above the shower while we were using the shower it was scary and we could have been shocked we called Jason at the front desk and engineering came. but be had to leave and were unable to use the shower. We did spend over $1200.00 for this experience. We expect two free nights at the Westin for not being able to shower not to mention my nine year old could have been electricuted. Please send me two free nights and I will try again. James P Wood 205-706-6730 January 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spring Break in New Orleans Stayed here 3 nights to experience the french quarter. Great location and good facilities. Hotel has a bit of age on it, but nicely renovated and spacious accomodations. One detail that is often overlooked in reviews is elevator service. In a 26 story building, this is kinda important so that you're not standing around! This hotel had excellent elevator service. Rooftop pool was clean and scenic. The bathroom in the room was a bit tired, broken sink that didn't leak, just looked a bit tacky. Good value for the money in the french quarter. March 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by don't let elevators ruin experience I had read reviews before staying at hotel, complaints about dirty rooms, rude staff, dingy bathrooms,no selection of t.v. channels, etc., could not believe it was all that bad so I took a chance. Glad I did,room was great, bathroom clean, no problems with T.V. and Seth the front desk clerk was great, took care of the one problem I had to the best of his ability. the one thing Seth couldn't fix were the outdated, broke down elevators, they are terrible. If you can overlook elvators you will enjoy your stay, if you cant find another hotel. March 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even with the construction, the guest facilities were kept clean and accessable, Great job ! My wife and I stayed at this Hotel several years ago and experienced an un forgettably excellent stay. This was why I chose to have my whole family gather here for the WWII grand opening cerimonies. My Immediate family drove over from Florida and my Brother and Sister flew in from California. Everybody commented on how much they enjoyed their stay. From the exceptional attention to the children by Don the Bell man, to the professional handling of our reservations by Thomas at Reception I cannot be more impressed and will certainly return. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convention attendee > Staff was friendly and responsive when an issue with the AC system was identified. > Location is excellent > Bathroom did not have any towel racks which seemed unusual > Stay above the 14th floor if you want a view of the river April 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not anywhere near what it should be Came in at 11pm - was given a room that was both not clean and had really poor repairs in the bathroom. Then was given a new room - that room was already taken w/a "rest easy" hanging from the doorknob. Was told that the wrong number was written but the key would work on the correct room (yet a 3rd) it did not. The staff at the front desk was rude and the only saving grace was the manager who was apologizing (though sadly it had been such a bad experience it barely registered). Stay away from this hotel. is not up to Westin standards. May 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG recognition lacking The view of the river and the French quarter are excellent from the hotel. The lobby on the 11th floor is nice. The rest of the hotel is not really up to Westin standards. The room was adequate but the hall carpet and room carpet were stained, Our blackout curtain fell apart during our stay. When checking in there was no recognition of my program status or any other gold ammenity. I did discover the preferred guest floor on the way to the pool. This hotel was not exactly what I have come to expect from Westin or other SPG properties. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED, NEVER AGAIN i don't know where to begin, maybe with the fact that my friend didn't have a room until after 6PM. This hotel is about 10 years overdo for renovations. it's outdated, the upholstery that is left on the furniture is so dirty you didn't want to sit, beside the fact the lounge is filthy. The bathroom has no hooks for towels. The bar has no service, there are service people who do not look at you they gather around polishing glasses. As for the dining room , again the service is horrible , but no problem, the food was worse. Be sure to go out for breakfast . The lamps is the room have switches on the wires but their located near the floor. on a positive note the concierge was very helpful and very nice. the doormen and i mean the men NOT the door woman ! April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Work The hotel needs a lot of updating. I found the room to have dirty carpet and mold in the bathroom. We did not have a heavenly bed so not sure what to make of that. Elevators were being repaired and the wait was near 15 mins at times. The pool area was littered with wet towels and sofas were turned over. It appeared as if hotel staff had not checked the area in some time. As for the positive, our maid was very friendly and provided us with extra towels. We also received great service in the restaurant. Awesome Sourdough sandwich! August 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Toilet problem Arriving early in the day from a cruise ship, we did not take possession of our room until around 11:00 pm that day. We did not inspect the room and went straight to bed. At 3:00am we discovered the toilet did not operate properly and required a Tech in our room by 3:15 am. He worked on it for around 30 minutes , but could not improve the toilets function. He said he would return and replace a part in the morning , but never came and we had to be off to our day around 10:00 am. Not at all convenient for a party of 4. December 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible elevator service Although I understand there was construction at the hotel having one functioning elevator was entirely unacceptable to handle the volume of guests booked. That demonstrates extremely poor planning on someone's part. The decision to charge for wireless connectivity in the conference rooms was unwarranted. Any low dollar motel along the interstate has Internet connectivity throughout the building for no charge. I would expect the same from a premium hotel. I think it is unreasonable for the event host to bear the cost as well. December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin I have stayed in My wife and I took a trip with another couple to New Orleans for the forth of July week. I recomended this hotel to the other couple based on past experience with Westin. I was very disappointed. This is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed in. The staff, minus the initial check in person who I felt as if I was wasting her time, was very apollogetic and moved me...twice. Mold, smell, dingy carpet, dirty towels on the bath room floor, we're all what we experienced upon check in. Additionally I found it odd that the staff, when cleaning the rooms, would put all the dirty laundry outside the room's door, in the hall where they would sit until four or five in the afternoon. I was very disappointed in the hotel. Bed was the only good part of the entire stay. August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worn out Westin The is a very tired Westin, the whole property is in need of a serious update.The service was very slow, or never happened at all. The "Whatever Whenever" line just rang and rang, rarely did it get answered. No water in the room and my Platinum status scored me one of the smallest rooms on the floor next to the elevator. The most pleasant part of the stay was the doormen. April 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Customer Service This was a terrible experience. The check in staff was rude and unhelpful. I asked for an early check in and was not able to be provided one. I was told the hotel was sold out the night before (which I find hard to believe) which was the reason I could not get an early check in. I was then told I could get on a "list" to be called as soon as a room was cleaned and avaliable. This was a lie. Apparently there is no such thing. I was told this simply to get me to go away. I was staying at this hotel for a wedding which was being held there. I will NEVER stay at this Westin again. My room had bugs and the toliet paper roll was falling off the wall and the toliet did not flush well. I requested a toothbrush and they told me they were all out. I am not sure how a hotel runs out of toothbrushes. This hotel had TERRIBLE customer service. I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone who would be staying in New Orleans. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good staff During check-in and check-out the staff was excellent. We appreciated the attention, and offer for later checkouts, which we actually took advantage of. The only dissapointment was the congestion at the car valet when arriving. It took 15 minutes to clear out vehicles to get us to the portecochere (it was raining) to unload. I'd expect for the nearly $40 valet (charge + taxes) that operation would run a little better. But at least once the staff got to us, they were very friendly and quick. Again, the staff was very good. July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment from a Westin fan I have never stayed at a disappointing Westin before, but this was it. The facility looks beautiful from the lobby, but the bed was not as comfortable as a Heavenly bed usually is. The faucet in the sink leaked all over the counter and was never fixed. The room I had reserved wasn't available, and we when (on the 3rd night of a 3 night stay) we got the room we reserved, it was worse the than first, smelling like a combination of mold and stale cigarettes. I'm a big Westin fan and was not happy with this hotel. December 31, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 28 next>>