The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 814 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit tired This hotel is typical of older style large hotels that need some "work". Good position & staff generally very friendly but often messages are not understood or they just get it wrong . May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good staff During check-in and check-out the staff was excellent. We appreciated the attention, and offer for later checkouts, which we actually took advantage of. The only dissapointment was the congestion at the car valet when arriving. It took 15 minutes to clear out vehicles to get us to the portecochere (it was raining) to unload. I'd expect for the nearly $40 valet (charge + taxes) that operation would run a little better. But at least once the staff got to us, they were very friendly and quick. Again, the staff was very good. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff attentiveness The hotel staff was very friendly and provided immediate assistance when I requested items that I had inadvertently left at home May 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel Great Location Mediocre Staff Room was clean and the location is outstanding. The only issue I had was the staff are not very knowlegeable as to what goes on right out front of the hotel. My girlfriend and I got a taxi to a nearby restaurant, called by the doorman from the taxi stand 20 feet from the entrance. After arriving at the restaurant i rel\alized I had left my cellphone in the taxi. We proceeded to head back to the hotel to try and find the taxi or get information from the hotel regarding the taxi company. When I told the doorman, frontdesk and concierge the taxi company that was called for us BY the door man they all looked at me as if they had never heard of the taxi company and they had absolutely no information on any of the taxi companies.. Needless to say I never got my phone back. February 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment from a Westin fan I have never stayed at a disappointing Westin before, but this was it. The facility looks beautiful from the lobby, but the bed was not as comfortable as a Heavenly bed usually is. The faucet in the sink leaked all over the counter and was never fixed. The room I had reserved wasn't available, and we when (on the 3rd night of a 3 night stay) we got the room we reserved, it was worse the than first, smelling like a combination of mold and stale cigarettes. I'm a big Westin fan and was not happy with this hotel. December 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel on our last day we were using shower and water came through the light fixture above shower we could not use shower for fear of being shocked my 9 year old had used the shower during our stay and could have been shocked` I reported it to Jason at the desk and the engineer came right away but we had to leave and could not even shower. My stay cost $1500.00 for four nights. I expect to be given two nights free at the Iberville Westin ASAP this is shameful and u owe me a free weekend. James P Wood 205-706-6730 January 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cant say anything positive - at least one and sometimes three of the four elevators were out of service during our entire stay (we were on the 29th floor, so delays were long). - despite our requesting maid service, our rooms were never cleaned, our towels were never changed and our beds were never made nor turned down. - the service in the restaurant was unacceptably slow on multile occassions. - we requested two cots be removed from our room and it took two days and three phone calls for that to happen. it should only requre one request. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed This Westin seems quite run-down - in need of a makeover. Hung my "green points" sign on my door, and instead got no housekeeping. Never received a call about whether I wanted housekeeping. The AC in room was horrible - blew right on my head on the bed - so freezing cold when on, and boiling hot when not. This is New Orleans, and in the bar the soundtrack is...commercial radio station? Seriously?? And Westin/SPG, if you're going to ask people to forego housekeeping to conserve, how about providing some towel racks? August 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Visit Very disappointed on our last visit. Brought a Colorado guest with us. Reserved 27th floor river view room... Gave us 19 floor. When we walked into the room, it smelled like raw sewage. Moved us to 18 floor with no view. We had to wait over an hour for one of the rooms to be cleaned. Were not able to get the room temperature cooler than 73 although during our entire visit we kept the temperature at 67 degrees. We had made reservations well in advance and arrived early to check in. I was so disappointed and a bit embarrassed that we were unable to give our guest the full experience we promised her. There are too many hotels available in New Orleans to continue using a hotel who gives disappointing service....I think disappointing is the best word to describe our latest visit !!!!! January 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My Stay on 12/27/13 Very disappointed on our last visit. Brought a Colorado guest with us. Reserved 27th floor river view room... Gave us 19 floor. When we walked into the room, it smelled like raw sewage. Moved us to 18 floor with no view. We had to wait over an hour for one of the rooms to be cleaned. Were not able to get the room temperature cooler than 73 although during our entire visit we kept the temperature at 67 degrees. We had made reservations well in advance and arrived early to check in. I was so disappointed and a bit embarrassed that we were unable to give our guest the full experience we promised her. There are too many hotels available in New Orleans to continue using a hotel who gives disappointing service....I think disappointing is the best word to describe our latest visit !!!!! January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff PROS The staff was wonderful everywhere in the hotel. The bar was nice, they had good food and decent drinks, though both were overpriced as expected in any hotel. CONS The rooms had stained carpet, stained beds and stained walls. Bathroom had missing tiles, the paint in the bathroom looked like a do-it-yourself project. The windows did not match, one was tinted, one was not. For what I paid I expected a lot more. Also, I hate hotels which regulate the AC temp, especially if I pay as much as I did for the room. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but... Beautiful lobby and good location. We had a few misses on the service however. Gold SPG members but were not upgraded, no minibar in the room, overlooking a rooftop a level below with workers so no privacy, waited for Concierge for a long time one day and she never came. After maybe 10-15 min, got help from the front desk... Two elevators required to get to the rooms, which can be a pain. Also there is no hot tub at the pool, which was a disappointment. For $350/night we expected a little more from this hotel. October 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convention attendee > Staff was friendly and responsive when an issue with the AC system was identified. > Location is excellent > Bathroom did not have any towel racks which seemed unusual > Stay above the 14th floor if you want a view of the river April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is in a great location. Shopping in building and nearby..as well as sights. Safe feeling for mother and 2 daughters traveling. We have stayed here (and a few other nearby NO hotels) through the years. Rooms are not as plush as in the past. Staff was great. Did not eat there. Starbucks coffee in room and complimentary bottle of water were nice touches. Bathroom counter was cracked at faucet and in clean up process a long black hair was left on counter at faucet (gross and a poor introduction to stay). December 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location, staff not so great We stayed for a wedding, our room and amenities were lovely and the location is perfect. The staff however were not great. The front desk confused our reservation multiple times. We were told we could check in at 9am but once we got there we wait until 3pm. It was a huge hassle adding another name to our room so we could check in at different times because we were arriving at different times- I had to fill out a credit card authorization form online but they claimed it never went through and so they charged multiple guests for the same room. The front desk was unhelpful and always seemed confused. I had to check and explain to them multiple times which credit card the room should be charged to-- even after checking multiple times it was STILL not charged to the correct credit card. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worn out Westin The is a very tired Westin, the whole property is in need of a serious update.The service was very slow, or never happened at all. The "Whatever Whenever" line just rang and rang, rarely did it get answered. No water in the room and my Platinum status scored me one of the smallest rooms on the floor next to the elevator. The most pleasant part of the stay was the doormen. April 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Customer Service This was a terrible experience. The check in staff was rude and unhelpful. I asked for an early check in and was not able to be provided one. I was told the hotel was sold out the night before (which I find hard to believe) which was the reason I could not get an early check in. I was then told I could get on a "list" to be called as soon as a room was cleaned and avaliable. This was a lie. Apparently there is no such thing. I was told this simply to get me to go away. I was staying at this hotel for a wedding which was being held there. I will NEVER stay at this Westin again. My room had bugs and the toliet paper roll was falling off the wall and the toliet did not flush well. I requested a toothbrush and they told me they were all out. I am not sure how a hotel runs out of toothbrushes. This hotel had TERRIBLE customer service. I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone who would be staying in New Orleans. April 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by the remodeling is very needed The Location and view from the hotel is "excellent" - but the carpet in our hall(15 floor - was very stained - the chairs in our room had large stains - Also two things I can't understand - why is the bar and dinning in a dark area - overlooking a parking lot - when you have that great area/ with the best viewe in town - where the bar was empty- also in a beautiful city like New Orleans- why such comtempary art on the walls -with all the local scenes that could be captured and used as art on the walls. August 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff great, room not This room has seen better days. We had many, many problems. Phone didn't work. TV didn't work. Toilet broke 3 times. My husband came back from the ice machine from another floor (ours was broken the whole time), the door shut. Two pictures fell off the wall. The thermostat fell off the wall too. The maintenance people didn't come up until the next day after the room service showed up late because the food was delivered to the wrong room. The front desk was very accomodating but things need to change. August 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel This is a wonderful hotel: clean, spacious rooms, courteous staff, great location in the French Quarter, great view of the Mississippi River, comfy and plush beds, and I fell in love with the dual showerheads. My one complaint is against the elevator system. We had to wait too long for elevators and often could hear them passing our floor. Also, you would have to practically sprint to get into the elevator when the doors opened because they would close within a matter of a couple of seconds. August 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not be back to this hotel We were promised a roll away bed but told when we arrived that we could not have one. One of our kids had to sleep on the floor. We had to ask numerous times for towels & extra linens. Too expensive to have to sleep on the NASTY floor! April 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs some deep-cleaning I stayed in an SPG room. The two white seats in the room were visibly dirty, and had black dirt all over them. I ordered room service to be delivered between 6:45am-7:00am. By 7:25am I had to call and ask that my breakfast not be delivered, as I was going to be late for work. The service at the hotel restaurant was also terrible. We asked for butter and ketchup, and had to remind the staff that we still needed butter and ketchup. The valet staff, however, was very nice and attentive. August 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is great, but for elevator repairs... This hotel is really nice, has beautiful views of the Mississippi river (be sure and ask for room with this view), and rooms are large and very comfortable. However, at peak holiday season, we thought it odd that the elevators to the sleeping rooms were under repair to the point where only one seemed to work at a time, resulting in very long waits for an elevator. If you were in a room on a lower floor, it was almost impossible to access an elevator due to the packed elevator in use. December 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up to SPG Standards in Care The facilities were very nice and the staff was very helpful. My main beefs: 1. housekeepers yelling to each other down the hallway in the morning and around 5pm. The morning yelling woke up the kids...so i had them to deal with. Thanks. 2. room wasn't ready at check-in when we arrived at 4pm. The manager made up for it with a few drinks at the bar. 3. The hotel bar closed at midnight (jan 2) 4. Since we couldn't get food at the bar, we had to get room service, but they only had a "late night menu" consisting of club sandwich, ham croissant, $7 Froot Loops, and a $28 chicken Cesaer salad....I've stayed at lower service hotels and was able to order anything at midnight...and this is New Orleans....and the Club Sandwich....no toasted wheat as advertised. Just cold white bread...on a Club. Really Westin? January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Surprise We have stayed in New Orleans in many different hotels over the years, and this hotel was by far the best experience we've had in a long time. We had our 15 month old son with us, and the front desk gave him a great little goody bag with all kinds of stuff in it. The hotel and our room were both so clean and all of the staff were so friendly. It was such a pleasure coming back to our nice clean room after a day of sight-seeing. I will definitely tell all of my friends to stay here! July 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful service again Even though we haven't be back here in a while, we are always treated like special guests. When we checked in, we were asked if we would like to be upgraded to a suite at no additional charge. This hotel has the best views of any hotel we have stayed at in New Orleans. The floor to ceiling windows look out over the Mississippi river and the french quarter. Everyone who works there is always friendly, the doormen always make my husband feel special because they recognize his car. August 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by good hotel with opportunities for improvement beautiful lobby, great room, solid check-in experience, great location...but 2 issues, the service in the Green Room bar left was subpar, Saturday 5pm, 10 customers, 3 bartenders...still most of the customers had to wait for drinks as 2 of the bartenders spent all of their time talking to each other and running their fingers thru their hair...and disappointed with the pool deck, there is awesome potential for a great pool experience with a great view but facility is very dated May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service improvement needed Front desk was great. Very friendly and professional. Thank you. Room service: I checked in at 9pm, having not eaten all day. Called room service. No less than 50 rings before someone picked up. I ordered and was told I must have a "really old menu.". They apparently hadn't used that menu in "a long time". So she read through what they did have. I eat healthily, and there was really nothing on that menu that would work for me. Very limited. I inquired about what was in 1 sandwich and she said "I don't know, I don't remember. I had it 1 time and didn't like it". She then yelled to someone in the background to ask if they knew what was in the sandwich. That person didn't know, either. I gave up on room service at that point. Valet: several of the valet attendants behaved as if they simply didn't want to work. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great views and awesome beds Westin Canal Place has the best views of the city from every angle. The beds were exquisite and so welcome at the end of our long days. The Starbucks was such a treat, both in our room and in the lobby. The Green Bar served a delicious lunch to our group when the restaurant was closed (Sun pm). To be remedied: carpet needed vacuuming and the stone counter top was cracked from the wall to the edge in the bathroom. Teens with us said the pool was not desirable and didn't use it. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavenly Bed It was truly a very, very nice stay. After walking all over town we collapsed into the heavenly bed and slept 12 hours straight. Parking even with validation was $18 a day, but it was a nice parking garage and conveniently located adjacent to the motel and above the Canal Shops. Other open parking areas looked skanky. We were able to leave the car parked and walked to everything or took the streetcars or buses. Everything was very close and the view from the room was nice too. August 20, 2012
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 28 next>>