The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 714 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freeman -Wells reunion I was there July 26- July 29 with a family reunion. I had a great time. Everyone at the hotel was super nice,starting with my check in. Don the bellman was the most polite,friendly,accomendating person I have ever met at "any" hotel. This was my first time in New Orleans,and when I return I will stay at this hotel again. A few of my family members had problems with their rooms,but mine was fine. August 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tough Time I understand the hotel is undergoing renovations, however, only having 2 or 3 elevators working on New Years Eve weekend was horrible. As I was only 4 flights up from the lobby I used the stairs most of the time, people higher up were waiting upwards of 15 minutes for an elevator. Other problem was valet parking, extremely slow. For a business traveler like myself these 2 problems are very bad. January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by In this excellent hotel, the best aspect of your facility is your staff I think my title says pretty much everything I need to say. Your staff went above and beyond in making our stay with you exceptional. What I also want to commend is that none of it was "scripted." Their willingness to please and welcome was completely genuine. No "My pleasure" from every staff member we met or hearing the same phrase over and over again. Bravo to your staff !!!!! August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards We've been spoiled, so we expected more. While the location is great and the views great, the condition of the entire hotel was disappointing. No safety mat in the shower (the shower and tile in the bathroom were incredibly slippery and dangerous), no slippers, a missing robe one day, average maid service, the poor condition and age of the elevators. Why a bidet in the room? That space would be way better used for another vanity and sink rather than only one sink in the bathroom. The entire experience seemed as though the hotel would appeal fine to drunken revelers at Mardi Gras or the Super Bowl, but not to travelers looking for a Westin experience. The furniture in the 11th floor sitting area should be trashed, as the pieces smell awful and are incredibly uncomfortable. The staff were great; friendly and helpful. But, the physical plant must really get beat up by drunks on a regular basis. March 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time for Renovation New Orleans is my hometown. I now live in Los Angeles and visit family in New Orleans. I always stay in Westin Hotels and was completely surprised at the condition of the room. It needed renovation, the bathroom especially. The woodwork was severely damaged, especially near the floor where water had rotted it. I was on the Starwood Preferred floor, the 29th and expected better accommodations. August 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room condition Our 1st room after unpacking and trying to relax i got into bed and it was sopping wet. Called front desk and was moved to another room after i had to pack everything up. Moved in got settled in upacked and found that the toliet didn't flush. I stay in Westin all over but will naver stay there in New Orleans again. This was my second stay there and was shocked by my experience. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A couple of Recommendations Overall our stay was great. Nice room, with a magnificent view of the river. Only one or two things would make the services better. 1. Have free wifi in the rooms. 2. Have free computer access for e-mail, etc. I seems rather chintzy to have to pay extra for these services where you are already paying close to $400 a night for room and taxes. Overall, a great hotel with a great location. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific location, spacious room with view As a platinum member I'm always happy to come here. They upgrade me to the bienville suite without me asking. The room is spacious with amazing views of the river and the French quarter. The front desk staff is friendly. I especially liked the bellman (valet) who greeted me on Xmas eve with a great attitude even though he wasn't home with his family for the holidays. A great stay again. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in NOLA We stayed at the Westin from 8/8 - 8/11 2013 and the staff over delivered as usual. Great service from check in, to bar service, front desk and the attendants in the lobby. A wondeful hotel in a perfect location right on the mighty Mississippi! We have stayed there before and will be returning again soon. Highly recommend this hotel adn only 20 minutes from MSY airport August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love this hotel. This was my second stay at The Westin, New Orleans. My daughter and I were there for the weekend. Any problem we may have encountered, was addressed immediately by the respectful and courteous staff. They made sure our visit was as pleasant as they could possibly make it. The room and view were magnificent. No doubt if I am ever in New Orleans again, The Westin will be the hotel for me. August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall Bad Experince While this should be a great hotel some of my visit has made a large enough impression that I would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to some one I know. I had to stay in this hotel due to a training course I was attending and it made most sense to stay in the hotel where the course was being held. The cost is high for level of upkeep on the facility. During my visit which was 4 nights the main Guest Elevators were almost always down to 1 elevator that worked. So that means as a guest you get to take the stairs or use the Service Elevator and share that with items used to provide service to the hotel. Then on one the nights it was 530pm local time when I returned to my room from a full 8 hour day in class only to find the cleaning lady had just started on my room 5 min before I got here. For the price charged to stay in this hotel I would have expected better facility upkeep from this brand. Don't get me wrong here the staff are extremely nice and do go out of their way to try to make the stay a good one but seems there is a major failure somewhere else in management of this hotel. November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 10 Year Anniversary From the valet staff, to the front desk, to the cleaning / maintenance staff, the folks at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place were fabulous. My wife and I chose this hotel because of the location. Close to the French Quarter / Bourbon Street and all of the attractions and we are glad we did. The room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The bed was amazing and the shower was refreshing and invigorating, which was needed after exploring the city during the hot and humid summertime. The view overlooking the river was great as well. We were thoroughly surprised by the champagne and chocolate covered strawberries the staff brought up after check in. If I were to look for something to complain about, it would be that the snack shop ran out of water late at night, but the bar was kind enough to take up the slack on that. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back. Thanks Westin, great job! July 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Emotions I expected more than I got from a Westin hotel. I had to request multiple times a day to get my room cleaned. The only day somebody actually came was the day I checked out and that was very early in the morning! The other thing that I expected to be better was the wireless internet. It was extremely slow. I had faster speeds at MSY than at this hotel. September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings Had a beautiful view of the Mississippi from my bed. But the bed was not firm enough for my liking. The upholstery on the the chair was dirty and showed wear as did the chairs in the lobby. The bathroom was modern and very bright and offered plenty of counter space. Ordered chicken through room service. The chicken was not cooked through. I was offered a replacement meal at no charge. March 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Level of Construction noise unacceptable Literally around the clock construction was just completely unacceptable. I called 3 times to the front desk, and each time they said they'd send up the 'engineer' to check on things. I slept terribly each of the three nights I stayed there. Once inside the room, it was fantastic. Clean, nicely equipped, good bed etc. But the noise and dirtiness of the hallways was just unacceptable. September 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one Problem The hotel was great with the exception of the elevators. There were times that we waited more than 15 minutes and then took the steps. Others told us that they waited more than 45 minutes (they had their luggage). Only two of the four elevators seemed to be working and they always went to the top floors first, then started down. The staff was great...especially the guys at the door. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Staycation! I have stayed at the Westin before but not in many years. My wife and I came here on a "staycation" given to us as a wedding present by a close friend. We were on the 17th floor with a river view. An AMAZING river view. A few minor issues but nothing major at all and nothing that would stop us from recommending or staying at the hotel again. Great location especially for a tourist. December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay for a business trip I was here on business, with a conference held on the premises. My standard room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. I didn't touch the minibar, since there are drugstores, sandwich shops, and a Starbucks all within walking distance. The staff was absolutely first-rate - no exceptions. Room service was prompt. My TV needed some attention, and it was fixed within ten minutes of when I reported the problem. Business facilities were adequate. Food at the two on-premises restaurants is on the pricey side, but I splurged twice and was treated to tasty food and good service. The location is great, at the edge of the French Quarter and near the Riverwalk. What keeps me from giving this five stars: no refrigerator aside from the minibar, although I'm told one is available for a fee; and the elevators are occasionally slow in this 29-story building. I'd be happy to return to the Westin if I have business in the area again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Evacuation... I evacuated from my New Orleans home to the Westin when Hurricane Isaac was scheduled to strike. The staff was very jovial, sympathetic, accommodating and understanding to the needs of all guests/evacuees. I would definitely consider returning under better circumstances, because service was superior even in dire circumstances, such as a hurricane! I highly recommend this hotel. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards Westin is my preferred brand, and I stay in them all over the world. This one is not up to the usual standards. There were several things in our room that were broken and never fixed (like our phone - it would not dial-out.) We reported the issue several times, and maintenance came by once, but never fixed it. The hotel also lost my dry cleaning. When I called to report that it was never delivered they said they'd check on it and get back to me. The never did. I called again, got the same routine, and again received no return call. It took four calls, the last one very angry, over two hours before they found my dry-cleaning and delivered it. Lastly, when I checked in I received my platinum upgrade to a suite, which is very nice. When I checked out, however, I discovered that the hotel had charged me for the upgrade. It was yet another hassle getting my bill corrected. An overall poor experience for a Westin. March 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so great The hotel entrance is at the rear of building at pier. The casino is across the street but after hours the lobby is closed through the mall so walking alone is not optional. There were no great amenities to speak of, no complimentary breakfast and the heat never came on, when complained upon check out told well should have called someone. Next time I will another hotel. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Registrar we did not have enough wash cloths in our room for the amount of people that was in it, which was only two..it was know in advance that we were coming and I don't think I should have called for extras..the day that we stayed we were issued only 1 was rag..we used the hand towel for the extra..just needs to pay a bit more attention of the amount of people in the room... March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic The location, the view of the river, the staff (except for the one valet parking attendant) we all FABULOUS!! We were offered 500 Star Rewrds points for not having housekeeping for one day. The housekeeping staff did bring us coffee, towels, bathroom supplies . . . anything we needed and promptly! Self parking is right in the buliding and half of the cost! We loved it! November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel The hotel is nice however I had to find where the lobby was (which is on the 11th floor) since there are no signs posted. The elevator stopped working. Waited for 25 minutes and ended up having to walk up 12 flights of stairs to the 24th floor. The breakfast I thought was extremely expensive. For 2 of us it was close to $50 after tip for the buffet. August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs. Hubby and I ran away for the week end! This is Hubby's absolute favorite hotel because of locations. Everything there is wonderful as well. Did not understand that the self park was not in and out privileges. No one mentioned it - not in reservations or when we checked in. Made my self park same as valet. Go figure. Otherwise, wonderful get away!! August 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has gone down I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 15 years. I had not been here in a while but remembered it to be nice. It has really gone down. The elevators didn't function and no one even bothered to tell us. Everybody was waiting around for 20-30 min for an elevator and it never c ame. We eventually walked and still had to wait another 20 min for our vehicle. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location and views from the lobby. I was upgraded to one of their suites, and I can tell you it was among the best I have seen on an upgrade. As expected, the bed was heavenly, and the Westin Workout facility was great. Westin's definitely have the best fitness centers of any hotels I regularly stay at. No club lounge here, and the breakfast was just average. March 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevator I was very dissappointed with the elevator situation. My niece was getting married and had several events to attend not to mention the wedding and had to wait no less than 20 minutes to get on an elevator. Finally we had to go up then come down just to get to the wedding on time. My husband has back problems and could no untilize the stairs. Very very disappointed. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Westin Hotel This Westin is close to all the extra activities for which you would come to New Orleans. The hotel staff is friendly and aim to please. The gentlemen outside to greet you and get your transportation are excellent! The only disappointment, there were no towel racks in the bathrooms...I was not impressed with that. I had no where to hand my towels. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Confusion and Lack of Info The Westin Hotel in New Orleans is undergoing remodeling and repairs. However I was not informed of the roof repairs at checkin by hotel staff which impacted our stay. We were on the 28th floor directly below the roof repairs. It we had known this we would have requested a lower floor away from the constant noise. It was disappointing and ruined a wonderful time. October 31, 2012
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 25 next>>