The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 877 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looks dirty Very disappointed with this hotel. Carpets looked deeply stained and dirty. Furniture in my room was stained; looked really bad (room 2630). The lounge area at the bar has very old and dirty/stained furniture. Looked and felt overall like a 2 star hotel. May 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Quality Taking into account that there really are not that many nice, clean and comfortable hotels in New Orleans, the Westin falls into that same description. Certainly one of the lower quality Westin's I've ever stayed at. The property is old, and most common areas are dirty and warn. Does not make you feel like you're in a nice hotel. The rooms are tired, dirty carpet and the AC is suffocating. Staff are friendly, but they made several mistakes on my bill and it took a long time after checking out to sort them out. Would probably not stay here again unless I had no choice. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great view from the lobby - great room I love the lobby in this hotel.... The pool is on top of the building. Amazing views. The area could be really cool...It needs some help and updateing and a bar. The elevators could also some updating and clean up as well. May 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not anywhere near what it should be Came in at 11pm - was given a room that was both not clean and had really poor repairs in the bathroom. Then was given a new room - that room was already taken w/a "rest easy" hanging from the doorknob. Was told that the wrong number was written but the key would work on the correct room (yet a 3rd) it did not. The staff at the front desk was rude and the only saving grace was the manager who was apologizing (though sadly it had been such a bad experience it barely registered). Stay away from this hotel. is not up to Westin standards. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best Hotels in this city-(from a local New Orleans Guest) This Hotel is spacious, clean and by far the best views of the Mississippi. Ordered room service at 8:00 and was delivered shortly after. Quicker than any hotel I have ever been in and the hotel was full due to jazz fest weekend. The bar is very relaxing and the hotel is located in Canal Place which includes Sak's, Mihael Kors, Starbucks, French Connection and many other great stores. Westin also offered 3pm check out this particular weekend and $18 overnight parking for the best covered parking in the city. You won't be disappointed. Very clean. May 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Expensive and a mess We were looking forward to our stay, but were very disappointed, especially for nearly $350/night. The room was super noisy, musty smelling and small. We had a room with a door to another room and could hear every conversation like we were in the room. Hallways noise was loud well into the morning hours, then at 7 AM. We have twice the room at the Windsor for just a bit more. Frankly, it was worse than some budget hotels. The back steps coming down from the pool were filled with garbage, cigarette buts, empty pizza boxes, etc. And it was 11 AM when when we saw all the garbage in the steps. Pool was super cold. The staff was kind, especially at the front desk. But overall, the condition of the room and hotel were bordering on trashy. And for $350/night. Yuck! I wouldn't pay $100 to stay in this hotel. There are several reviews on TripAdvisor to back my stay. Similar experiences. May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff, wonderful hotel Very conveniently perched near the convention center, shopping center and not very far from the New Orleans entertainment streets. I highly recommend this hotel. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel NOLA Very nice property, currently going under renovation. There is a BIG difference between old and new, make sure you request new room. However, the new rooms/elevators are in top shape and definitely recommend this hotel. Also, location was excellent. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful view of Mississippi River We are always reminded of the years with an office with a beautiful river view when we stay at the Westin, New Orleans. The people are ALWAYS very helpful and the refurbished rooms were VERY clean and comfortable. To be able to get a cleaning shower and GREAT nights rest after a day at JAZZ FEST was really satisfying. We hope to be in your wonderful hotel again soon. April 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overcharged incedental authorization Upon checking into the hotel I was charged $245 authorization on my debit card, after I was told it would be $50. I had already pre-paid my entire 3-day stay. After check-out I had a zero balance, so the amount was authorized for nothing. This amount is still being held on my debit card five days later. The authorization prevented me from utilizing the money I had set aside for my vacation, leaving me a small amount of money left. This substantial amount of money for incidentals is ridiculous. I worked for Starwood properties while in college, which is the only reason I would recommend the hotel, I was very disappointed by both being mislead in the amount that was to be authorized and the staff when I pointed out the mistake after the authorization had taken place. Having worked at the front desk, I know that authorizations can be reversed. I travel a lot with business and this experience will be a factor in where I chose to stay in the future. April 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel that needs refurbishing Principally, I enjoy a hotel with a great bed so I sleep soundly, and a great shower, so I feel refreshed. This hotel met those expectations. However, the hotel needs refurbishing. The hallway carpets on the 19th floor were filthy, the guest chair in my room (1914) was stained, and the ceiling paint in the bathroom was peeling. I've stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last several years and was disappointed to see its deterioration. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Provided upgrade The staff put us in the Bienville Suite as it was our honeymoon, at the same price as the regular suites. It was an awesome suite, not to mention champagne and chocolate strawberries waiting as we arrived. The stay was so nice overall, we can't wait to stay at The Westin again. April 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location - Needs Update I have always enjoyed this hotel. It is a great location and has unique features, but I attended a conference and was surprised at how tired the place was this year. The room in particular was tired, dirty and badly furnished. The elevators and public areas showed considerable wear and lack of maintenance. This hotel could use an upgrade. I will probably not stay again until its gets some attention, particulary for the price. April 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not the usual excellence I was disappointed during my latest weekly stay at the Westin Canal Place. There was no drinking water in my room when I checked in and I had to requesst that some be brought the following morning. I stay weekly and the staff knows that I like to have extra water. Iwas surprised that every day, until the last, I had to specifically request that water be provided. In addition, the level of housekeeping services was far lower than is typical. The bed was not actually made the first couple of days, but rather pulled up so that it was messy. On at least one day, the bathroom was not cleaned at all, other than fresh towels. On that same day, it was obvous that nothing had been done in the remainder of the sutie in terms of straightening up. The front desk addressed my concerns, but this lack of service from housekeeping is not what I expect during my stays. April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel met all our expectations. The room was very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and eager to please us. We look forward to our next vacation at the Westin. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crescent City Hotel Jewel I have stayed at the Westin Canal Place several times over a lengthy span. It is superbly located in the French Quarter and along the Mississippi River. There is a magnificent view of the river and the city from the main area on the 11th floor. You will see the St. Louis Cathedral, Jackson Square, and you will understand why New Orleans is dubbed the Crescent City. Walk along Rue Iberville to Royal and sample the antique shops or a few minutes more and you will find exquisite eateries to satisfy any appetite or budget. Walk along the river and take a ferry boat ride across to the West bank, free public service, or a streetcar to the Garden District. All at your fingertips from this hotel, including name brand stores in the adjoining building. The service here is great, friendly people, responsive. Only suggestion, work a little harder on maintenance in the hotel, and cleanliness in the hallways. New Orleans is alive and well after Katrina, as vibrant as ever and the Westin Canal Place is smack in the middle of it. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Visit ... I loved the Westin New Orleans! I especially loved the view from my room . Overlooking the city of New Orleans and the Mississippi River, it was just beautiful. I rarely closed my blinds/curtains ... enjoying the natural night light and city lights. Waking in the morning to the beautiful sunrises was just awesome and relaxing. The staff was cordial, courteous and attentive. I sincerely enjoyed my five-day stay. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Place I come to New Orleans on a weekly basis and my desire is to always stay at the Westin. I have stayed at many other hotels in the area but my preference is always the Westin and it never disappoints. The staff and hotel are top notch and always mindful of their guests. April 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Recently stayed at this property. The staff was very friendly. Great location. The hotel and rooms were very clean (and the room was much larger than I expected). The pool could use a renovation - the pool, pool deck area and furniture were dirty and dingy. April 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NEED REDO This hotel has a great view out over the Mississippi, but is simply run down and is in need of a big redo. It could be a wonderful hotel. We stayed here years ago and were very impressed, but his time everything looks worn out and really below the standards for Westin Hotels. April 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by great staff, tired facility The location is excellent and the staff is terrific. The restaurant/bar and room service fare is limited and only average. the facility itself is extremely "tired" and not what I typically find at a Westin. Carpet stains, peeling grout, toilet didn't flush well. April 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location Located near French Quarter! April 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel in NOLA The Westin on Canal is my favorite hotel in NOLA. Great staff. Great facilities. Great views. Great location. April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience I had a great experience here! The staff and management team were very professional and customer friendly. Thanks again! April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location and nice facility We stayed at the Westin during the French Quarter music festival. The hotel is ideally located to attend this event. We enjoyed a lovely river view and would recommend the hotel. Didn't need a vehicle as everything in the French Quarter is walkable from here. April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is in a perfect location Enjoyable stay as always. Staff went out of their way to accommodate our request for a room with a view of the Miss. River. Room service was great also. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by spectacular views! Our favorite New Orleans Hotel We always love to spend time at the Westin Canal Place, it is our favorite hotel in the French Quarter. the views of the French Quarter & the Mighty Mississippi River are Spectacular. The hotel is wonderfully located in the heart of everything. April 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is not up to typical Westin standards The room was in need of a new carpet. Several stains on it. The view was just ok. The concierge did as little as possible for you. Her answer to most questions was "well, if you call..." They charged you extra if you ate at the hotel and charged it to your room. An order of pancakes was $17! This was the worst Westin I have stayed in. Especially for the price! April 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location in New Orleans This place is in dire need of a facelift, but still pleases for a visit to New Orleans. Like the fact that it's not in the middle of the Quarter, but on the edge... away from some of the craziness but a walk away if you want it LOVE the views of the activity on the river from the lobby or if your room faces that way. Staff was friendly. April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Million Dollar View Great location, right across the street from French Quarter and on the bank of Old Miss river. We walked all over the Quarter during our stay. Bottom three floors have a great shopping mall and theater. Onsite parking is between the shopping floors and the hotel (surcharge). Street car right out of door. We took it along the river front and all the way to Garden District. Room clean and spacious with modern touch. Staff very nice and friendly. Best of all is the view outside of our window: French Quater side by side with Old Miss. You can't find anything more New Orleans than this. Especially when you look at them from up high, you can't hear it, but you know the music is flowing out of those bars and the river is flowing out to the sea; like they have been for hundreds and hundreds of years. April 9, 2013
  • 2015-09-05T10:20:42.746-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-17, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_877, tr_877
  • loc_en_US, sid_1763, prod, sort_default
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 30 next>>