The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 831 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overcharged incedental authorization Upon checking into the hotel I was charged $245 authorization on my debit card, after I was told it would be $50. I had already pre-paid my entire 3-day stay. After check-out I had a zero balance, so the amount was authorized for nothing. This amount is still being held on my debit card five days later. The authorization prevented me from utilizing the money I had set aside for my vacation, leaving me a small amount of money left. This substantial amount of money for incidentals is ridiculous. I worked for Starwood properties while in college, which is the only reason I would recommend the hotel, I was very disappointed by both being mislead in the amount that was to be authorized and the staff when I pointed out the mistake after the authorization had taken place. Having worked at the front desk, I know that authorizations can be reversed. I travel a lot with business and this experience will be a factor in where I chose to stay in the future. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Probably just a mistake but......... I bought a Westin Escape Package which included breakfast for two and "up to a four pm late checkout if available" When I called the front desk and asked about a late checkout for 3pm I was told that would cost an additional $30.......... Hmmmmm. Otherwise this hotel is as fine as a person could wish for. March 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Somewhat disappointed Not up to the normal Westin SPG standards. Room was musky smelling upon arrival (sprayed by staff)...later discovered no bar soap or mouthwash. To sum it up ...we look forward to a few days off of stress free vacation and our expectations were high for what is usually a high-quality hotel property and left feeling somewhat disappointed :( August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff attentiveness The hotel staff was very friendly and provided immediate assistance when I requested items that I had inadvertently left at home May 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Christmas Trip Several problems. Elevators worked sporadiaclly. No response to problem with toilet and remote control. Brought it up to staff twice. Only one chair in room. Pillows way too soft. Had to take two elevators to our room. Parking and internet costs out of sight!!! On plus side, morning coffee and newspaper was good. Staff was very polite. December 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by price Bathroom door hinges were rusted, air conditioner did not work at full capacity, overly priced breakfast buffet, 2 for 1 happy hour still cost me $27.00 for two drinks, and interior elevators were dated and loose. However the staff was very polite, and willing to help or resolve any problem as long as they could do it from their post. July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel could do better This hotel is beautiful and close to everything, but it is very difficult to find because it is located in a mall with no signage in the front. The rooms need to be better maintained, and the bathrooms cleaned properly and well stocked. The hotel staff are not welcoming and do not seem to be informed on amenities and events. January 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Greeters and porters were very friendly and helpful; food was acceptable; basic toiletries were absent (Kleenex, shower bonnet, etc); bathroom faucet had putty all around, paint was chipped, and hallway walls were marred. Checkout was a nightmare, and no one even apologized for the delay. Very disappointing for a Westin. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mardi Gras Fun The Westin Canal place is a great hotel to stay at because you can walk to everything without being in the heart of everything. Royal Ave shopping, Jackson square and the ferry are an easy walk. But then when you come home, it's far enough away to be quiet and away from the crazies! The hotel is beautiful and everyone is super nice. February 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel diminishes the Westin Brand I have always found that the Westin Hotels had a minimun level of quality until my recent stay at the New Orleans Westin. This property is old and inadequate. Peeling wall paper, paint, non functioning elevators (which is not really acceptable in a high rise hotel). Really disappointing not being able to rely on this brand any more. December 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisey I went for my 28th Wedding Anniversary,and was disappointed with the stay. I was awakened at 3 am with a Mother and Daughter yelling about her be out so late. The daughter was cursing and yelling.The other nights doors banging,loud talking all hours of night.I mentioned to 2 different employees and they made no big deal about it. March 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators were Horrible Only 1 elevator worked and there were multiple weddings and events in the hotel. 20+ minutes to get an elevator was totally unacceptable. Dinner reservations were missed. Valet cars were backed up because people couldn't get to them from rooms, all due to impassable elevators. Otherwise a nice hotel but this was a major problem. December 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 Five-Star Arm Pit Me and all other guests said room was too hot: miserable hot. Faucet sprayed/leaked a lot. Parking was way overpriced. Iron and ironing board was cheap, flimsy, and near useless. NO vending machines, forcing you to pay $3.00 for coke in gift shop. Room was overpriced. Will not allow you to take cart, forcing you to tip bellboy. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by first time at a Westin I travel a lot and this was my first time at a Westin. We had trouble at check in getting our luggage and on the third morning had issues with the front desk, but both issues were resolved. The beds were very comfortable but I was disappointed that there was not a fridge in the room. I would consider staying at a Westin again. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location, Comfy Feeds, Elevator Issues A Convention hotel that does not feel like a convention hotel. Entrance is a bit wacky - no real greeters and then go to the 11th floor. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Though -- the elevators need to get fixed ASAP. I don't expect to have to wait at a hotel to get to where I'm going. I hope they fix it soon. December 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elevators Need Help For a hotel this size, you need to look into installing more elevators. Four elevators to access all the guest rooms is just not enough! The day we checked out, only two of the elevators were operational. We walked down the stairs with luggage in hand to check out along with quite a few other guests. This is not acceptable. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but noisy when men working on roof. Great hotel overall, but they had a construction team working on the roof. Since I was on the 26th floor, it was difficult for me to rest in my room during daytime hours. Maybe they should mention this to guests on the upper levels before putting them there? Minor inconvenience. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Canal Place The staff at the Westin Canal Place were exceptional! It is the people we encountered doing their job that made this a great experience for us. There was construction going on which is the only reason my overall rating was not 5 stars. When everything is in order this place will certainly be the best place in NOLA to stay. November 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would love to stay here again. I was at the Westin in New Orleans for a conference that was held in their facilities. The conference rooms were always well prepared for us. Our meals during the conference were very good. Our rooms were very nice, except we had trouble getting the maids to give us clean wash cloths daily. All in all, I was very pleased. January 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff excellent but Rooms need improvement Staff very friendly and exceeded expectations. However room details need improvement. Door was ajar when we arrived and we noticed that most of the doors of the other rooms in the hallway were also ajar posing a security risk. Also there was no soap or tissue in the room nor did the clock or cordless phone work. January 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the price Room smelled of mold and had random dents in walls. Starwood "customer service" reps are the absolute worst!!! I have never been so insulted by people who work in customer service. Do NOT stay at any Starwood property - if you have a complaint, you are considered ignorant!! I'm still in disbelief on how I was talked to. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location main draw Elevators worked sparingly. Had to wait more than 10 minutes once, next time didn't come in 10 minutes, so found the service/fire stairs and went down, as only 2 floors off lobby level. Rooms have been recently redone, but insulation is marginal and hallways proved to be very loud with nighttime French Quarter revelers. November 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by French Quarter Festival Location, location, location.... Awesome 1st time experience of this property. Great shopping, food, fun, spirits, history, music...all within reasonable walking distance. Property, amenities, and staff 5 Star. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Service??? Room service in New Orleans should be 24x7. I called in the middle of the day and was told I would have to pick up in the lobby. Also options at 4am were limited to a club sandwich and a salad. Overall, this was our wedding weekend and were please with the exceptional service we received from the staff. Thanks, Joel March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convient, Slightly Off Experiences I would say my stay was a bit strange for a Westin experience. Day 1 When I got to the hotel, I had two reservations. One for the first night and one for the next three nights. I was checked in for the first night but was told that I'd have to come check-out and check-in again even though my room wouldn't be changing. The room was very nice except extended length pillows were in standard pillowcases, meaning the pillows were not covered fully. Day 2 Checked-Out and Checked-back-In My toothbrush and toothpaste were thrown away by housekeeping. I went to the front desk to ask about a kit and was told that they used to have kits but now they do not. I asked about a drug store and was told to go ask one of the guys working at the front door instead of the person just helping me. Day 3: No shampoo replaced, coffee items not replaced. Day 3: Room Fully Serviced Day 4: Coordinated a late check-out so I could work and housekeeping kept asking when I would get out of the room. The room was relatively nice but this wasn't anything like the normal Westin experience. April 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel was alright. I thought the hotel was in good shape for being under construction. I was disappointed my room smelled like paint. The gym was also not very good. It would be nice if the hotel had an arrangement with local gyms for guests with extra fitness needs. Within the rooms the cable was scratchy and the tv was extremely small. October 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but dirty bathroom This hotel could have had it all....great location, beautiful decor BUT the commode in our bathroom was not clean. Gross! When I told the staff, the comment was "sorry". That was it. Will consider staying somewhere else next time in NOLA April 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this hotel Staff could not explain billing. Lobby area carpet and furniture was very dirty and shabby. Carpet in elevator and hallways was gross - stained and dirty. Bed skirt on bed was wrinkled and looked like it had shrunk. Embarrased by condition of facility as I brought first time guests and hotel was very sub par!!!!!!!! March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel has a beautiful view of New Orleans We arrived at 9p and our room was not ready until 10:30. We waited for about 45 more min for our luggage. The hotel gave us tickets for 2 free drinks in the bar which was nice. I believe the hotel was booked the night before and they had a shortage of cleaning staff. Otherwise, the staff was fine. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfy hotel I enjoyed my stay and love the Westin hotels that I have stayed in around the country. The beds are so comfy and I live the bathrooms! My only issue in this Westin is the water pressure in the shower. I did not enjoy my shower as mush as I usually do... I love the dual shower heads but could not in New Orleans. March 27, 2013
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 29 next>>