The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 886 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by construction noise the noise from construction and the workers was so loud I woke up thinking they were in the room. The doors seem to magnify the noise from the hallway. I was moved to a quieter room but there was no heat. Also, electrical outlets to plug in devices are very difficult to find and use. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hostess Saturday morning elevator would not come to the 21st. We tried buttons on both sides & both up & down. My husband and I (in heels) walked down the steps to the lobby level on 11th. Not a big issue. We went to eat breakfast after letting the front desk know about the elevator. We waited for the hostess (not long) we saw her she walked right by us to help the man walking up behind us. She walked him over and returned to use to say she was sorry she had to "help him first". I thought that was extremely rude. So we left to have breakfast somewhere else. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfuly stay. Staff was friendly, helpful, and outgoing when we arrived and continued out through our stay. We had a wonderful time and no problems. We were on the 28th floor facing the water. The room was great; large, comfortable bed/pillows, view was nice, and stayed cool. Highly recommend. January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view but HORRIBLE service The view over the river was wonderful and we loved it. The elevators were not working properly, though, and the wait was up to 15 minutes at times. Worse, our group of 5 went to the bar / restaurant and sat for 20 minutes & no one approached us despite serving others in the same area. My husband went to the bar and ordered us drinks; after waiting 15 more minutes and no one ever approached, we left. January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls Weekend! Had a fabulous weekend! Everything that I wanted and needed was easily accessible. Shopping, eating, partying, exercising, relaxing... and i was able to watch the football games when I was downstairs in the bar. Love this place! Hope to return for the New Orleans Jazz Fest January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tired but getting attention We love staying at this Westin, but the elevators are going through an update and as such the service is much slower. I'm hoping they will also update some of the other tired common areas of this great located hotel. One small problem with our stay and it dealt with the mini bar. We did buy a Diet Coke, but we got charged for other things totalling $19 that we did not use. The charges showed up after we checked out and hate hassle to correct. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place for a special celebration! The hotel & staff met and exceeded all of our expectations for a great anniversary celebration! The location is excellent for enjoying the French Quarters and other attractions of the city. This hotel has beautiful views of the city & the Mississippi River. The resturant has delicous food and great service! January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even with the construction, the guest facilities were kept clean and accessable, Great job ! My wife and I stayed at this Hotel several years ago and experienced an un forgettably excellent stay. This was why I chose to have my whole family gather here for the WWII grand opening cerimonies. My Immediate family drove over from Florida and my Brother and Sister flew in from California. Everybody commented on how much they enjoyed their stay. From the exceptional attention to the children by Don the Bell man, to the professional handling of our reservations by Thomas at Reception I cannot be more impressed and will certainly return. January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel experience low to med-high One night stay. Hmm..missing commode screw to hold seat in place; missing screws in switch plate in bathroom; ripped sheets before we even sat or slept in the bed; only one robe for the two of us; and finally, we were NOT placed on a "SPG Member" floor, but on a floor overlooking the construction gang working on the roof. WHAT good was my SPG membership in this case? Nada. Informed the front desk, and their remedy was to move us...we had just unpacked, showered, and settled in when all these things just became too much that I had to let the management know. We could have moved, but I felt better just letting them know. The next morning when checking out, I made sure that my front desk "profile" had things like 'highest floor available', 'two robes', and a SPG floor assigned for my next visit. They said they did note all I told them and apologized. Oh well, I wouldn't happen again. Little did I know... Week later, stayed again for one night. This time, they "upgraded" me to a suite on the 25th floor. Beautiful room, fresh fruit and cheese plate, card addressed to us by name. Drew a bath to relax, and no hot water. Filled and refilled the tub 3 times, with HOT on completely, to no avail. Only luke warm water. Did have two robes however. Called desk, about the hot water, and where was our luggage we left at the front desk with instructions to have it put into our room when the room was ready that afternoon. Finally got the luggage, perhaps 35 minutes after calling the desk. Maintenance showed up...confirmed only tepid water for tub...went away... came back a second time...getting better, but not there yet. He went away again. Meanwhile, front desk calls to ensure we are all set for hot water, which I inform her we are not. It has now been about 75 minutes after telling them the problem. Maintenance and another gent, both very nice arrive again, and finally they get hot water to the suite. Front Desk asks us meanwhile, if we want to move to a different room to take a bath, and then come back to the suite. I said no thanks. The Front Desk, all very nice, then ask if they can at least comp us dinner for all the trouble. I agreed, and it was brought up to the room, with a cocktail for each of us, and dessert. Next morning, I called the front desk to let them know I was checking out, and to have my car brought up by the valet service. 15 minutes later, we go down, check out, and head down to get the car. No car. No one informed them... so off they ran to get the car. 10 minutes later, the car makes it to the curb, and we are on our way. January 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel great location Walking distance to the french quarter and safe. Friendly staff, too! January 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and comfortable, but no rest for the weary! I found the hotel comfortable, beautiful and in a wonderful location. However, I was able to sleep very little due to the lack of soundproofness of the room and the noisiness of neighbors across the hall coming and going during the night. Expected quieter lodging for the price. Also, I had to hold the handle on the toilet down to get it to flush, which irritated a problem I already have with my shoulder and lower back. January 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Not up to westin standards. They are doing renovations but those meant there was a lot of noise too early. Maybe those will improve the place. Good location and nice staff. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Desirability I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very accommodating, particularly the concierge and food service. The elevators were often slow, but I understand they were under repair. I would have appreciated a wider selection of vegetarian and fish options on the food service menu. And, although there are many places to eat at night in New Orleans, nonetheless it would have been preferable on some nights to have a restaurant option at the hotel. January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location - Good Hotel Lousy Internet Service Upgrade overdue Elevator Problems!!!! January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The elevators were awful. The elevators required wait times in some instances exceeding 15 min. The staff was apologetic but none the less time is valuable. The outside staff was fantastic, very freindly and helpful January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tough Time I understand the hotel is undergoing renovations, however, only having 2 or 3 elevators working on New Years Eve weekend was horrible. As I was only 4 flights up from the lobby I used the stairs most of the time, people higher up were waiting upwards of 15 minutes for an elevator. Other problem was valet parking, extremely slow. For a business traveler like myself these 2 problems are very bad. January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up to SPG Standards in Care The facilities were very nice and the staff was very helpful. My main beefs: 1. housekeepers yelling to each other down the hallway in the morning and around 5pm. The morning yelling woke up the i had them to deal with. Thanks. 2. room wasn't ready at check-in when we arrived at 4pm. The manager made up for it with a few drinks at the bar. 3. The hotel bar closed at midnight (jan 2) 4. Since we couldn't get food at the bar, we had to get room service, but they only had a "late night menu" consisting of club sandwich, ham croissant, $7 Froot Loops, and a $28 chicken Cesaer salad....I've stayed at lower service hotels and was able to order anything at midnight...and this is New Orleans....and the Club toasted wheat as advertised. Just cold white bread...on a Club. Really Westin? January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY scary elevators When I arrived on 1/30 there were only two elevators in service. On 1/31 upon returning to the hotel after working all day, I saw the two Otis employees telling a staff member that they were done for the day and would not be returning. Only two elevators were in service still. Later that evening I witnessed a bellman opening a door on the lower set of elevators to the lobby by hand. The outer door were opening and the inside doors were shut. This is simply not supposed to happen. On 1/1 a colleague of mine's wife was stuck in one of the elevators for ten minutes. When I left the hotel on 1/3 it took 10 minutes for an elevator to come to my floor. There was obviously something wrong, none of the elevators were moving, I could hear them move for a few seconds and then stop. No one wanted to get on the elevators in the hotel and everyone was talking about the situation. There was no communication from management in the form of a note in each room saying they were aware of the issues and were working on it. It was a scary situation and shouldn't happen at a Westin. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Things were a bit off We have stayed at this hotel several times, but this stay was not without its problems. We have a loud, unattended barking dog in the room next door, and ultimately had to be moved to a new room. In addition, two of the four elevators were out of service, so getting to and from one's room was time-consuming. Finally, a breakfast order took two hours to reach us due to internal communication problems among the staff. However, we will give it another try on our next visit. This hotel has been delightful on all other trips over the past several years. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay, hopefully they'll fix the elevators First off, we had a great stay except for one issue. The elevators weren't working properly. After waiting fifteen minutes for one to come we ended up taking the stairs from the 24th floor. Next day same situation but we waited because of our baggage. They were aware of the problem and attempting to fix it, but for $309/night I don't want to have to plan leaving early to dinner because the elevators are out of order. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A night to remember! On New Year's Eve 2012 we stayed at the Westin, Canal Place, in New Orleans. Since we had reservations at Restaurant R'evolution, a few blocks from the Westin, some of our grown children parked at Canal Place and visited in our suite overlooking the Mississippi River. They were really impressed with the view from our suite and the room amenities as we enjoyed a drink prior to walking the short distance to the restaurant where John Folse and the crew had our group of 10 in the Wine Room, a wonderful, private room in the facility. After the wonderful meal we returned to our suite as the fireworks were beginning on the river. What a fantastic view as we enjoyed a New Year's champagne toast. Thanks for giving us "A night to remember!" January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cant say anything positive - at least one and sometimes three of the four elevators were out of service during our entire stay (we were on the 29th floor, so delays were long). - despite our requesting maid service, our rooms were never cleaned, our towels were never changed and our beds were never made nor turned down. - the service in the restaurant was unacceptably slow on multile occassions. - we requested two cots be removed from our room and it took two days and three phone calls for that to happen. it should only requre one request. January 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a Happy Customer I don’t know where to begin. First, it’s like a maze to find the lobby. We had to take 2 different elevators, walk through a mall and half block, with luggage in tow, to get to the lobby on the 11th floor. A short note with the confirmation could have avoided all of that. Upon check in we were told the elevators were being updated and that we could experience some delays. That was a MAJOR understatement! Only ONE (of four) elevator to guest rooms was working! We should have informed of ongoing renovations prior to booking. Once we finally made it to the room, the view, through a very dirty window was wonderful. It was also nice to see the TRASH from the renovations on the roof below us, not. The room itself was nice, if you don’t pay attention to details. Unfortunately, I do. Marks on the wall, carpet unraveling, worn furniture and the bathroom, Wow, I thought Really??? I have pictures of the rust and mildew in the shower/ tub, the ripped wall paper, the dirty corners and walls. All this in the first hour and it didn’t get any better. After waiting 24 minutes for an elevator Sunday morning, it was time to GO. The elevator arrived (over loaded) and full of broken glass and spilled champagne on the floor. We could tell the lady checking us out had fielded numerous complaints and really didn’t want to hear anymore. NEVER AGAIN, is all I have to say about my stay. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Stay at Westin New Orleans Good: Room Size Location View Staff Bad: Parking - No IN/OUT and its 18.00, pointless to even drive a car. Elevators - During my stay, it was mostly out of order from the lobby to the rooms. Even had to hit the emergency button b/c it just stopped. January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one Problem The hotel was great with the exception of the elevators. There were times that we waited more than 15 minutes and then took the steps. Others told us that they waited more than 45 minutes (they had their luggage). Only two of the four elevators seemed to be working and they always went to the top floors first, then started down. The staff was great...especially the guys at the door. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with great location The Westin offers comfortable rooms, great amenities and superb location for touring the attractions around the French Quarter. January 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has gone down I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 15 years. I had not been here in a while but remembered it to be nice. It has really gone down. The elevators didn't function and no one even bothered to tell us. Everybody was waiting around for 20-30 min for an elevator and it never c ame. We eventually walked and still had to wait another 20 min for our vehicle. December 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators were Horrible Only 1 elevator worked and there were multiple weddings and events in the hotel. 20+ minutes to get an elevator was totally unacceptable. Dinner reservations were missed. Valet cars were backed up because people couldn't get to them from rooms, all due to impassable elevators. Otherwise a nice hotel but this was a major problem. December 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I no longer consider the Weatin Canal Place my favorite hotel in New Orleans 1) Stayed in 2 different rooms because 1st room was near construction of gym and was woken up by noise every morning. 2) In both rooms I had the unpleasant experience of bathroom tub not draining. 3) Housekeeping would not leave face towels on 4 different occasions. December 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Elevator situation was atrocious.....waits of up to 10 mins. for an elevator Besides the elevator situation; this hotel needs an upgrade of its lobby furniture and carpets. We have stayed here for years and the decline is very evident. December 31, 2012
  • 2015-11-30 T08:28:58.772-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-22, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_886, tr_886
  • loc_en_US, sid_1763, prod, sort_default
<<prev 20 21 22 23 24 ... 31 next>>