The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 842 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the view from the lobby and 12th floor. This was my first time to stay at this Westin and it was a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable and in walking distance of the French Quarter and the Convention Center. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Our experience was excellent. The people planning the conference on the hotel end took great care of us, the catering people were friendly and efficient and I found this to be one of the nicest hotels in the New Orleans area. The only issue I had (and so did MANY other people I was at the meeting with) is that our room keys would de-activate multiple times a day. When this happened if I called down from the 22nd floor to the front desk they immediately sent someone up to get us in the room making it only a very small nuisance. There was also some bubbling of the pain near the shower which was cosmetically unattractive. November 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I Expected Upon arrival, everything seemed great. Check in was easy, our room had a great view of the river, and the room looked nice. Then, went to take a shower...the bathroom hadn't been cleaned and there was a huge clump of hair on the show wall. I had to request a shower cap multiple times before receiving one, and the staff told us we were not allowed to use the stairs. We were there during a convention, so the elevators were jam packed and we wanted to use the stairs, but any time we tried, the staff made us return to the elevators. I was not impressed by the service from the hotel staff. The hotel itself was lovely, but I've gotten much better service at cheaper hotels. July 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful visit to New Orleans My husband and I stayed at your beautiful hotel last weekend for our family reunion. We had a wonderful view of the Mississippi River from our room. You staff was very helpful. I got a lot of information from your wonderful concierge which helped us to explore the city. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Excellent Stay at This Lovely Hotel I have stayed at this property 10-12 times but never took the time to write a review. My stays have been uniformly wonderful. I love the greetings from the staff, the location of this hotel near the casino/french quarter/convention center/warehouse district/aquarium, the lovely views from the rooms, and even the very good quality food from room service (though I feel guilty not eating out in a food town like NOLA). The lobby has undergone a nice renovation and the rooftop pool is always a hit with my family. In summary, this is my favorite hotel in New Orleans and I look forward to my stay here 2-3 times every year. April 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to have more staffs Our room was delayed to be made up and housekeeping left no towels for 2 days during our 4 day-stay. It took 40 minutes for valet to bring our car which made us very late to our reservation. When we left we had to pack our luggages from your trolley into the car without any help or acknowledgement from staffs even when we drove off. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent stay This hotel has a great location but is an old, tired facility. Westin tries to put their touch on it but the basic structure is not great. Chair in or room was filthy and nasty, can't believe it had not been change, TV had poor reception, elevators were slow, woke up one morning to fecies on the neighbor's door December 5, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff is very friendly and that's all they have to work with The hotel is very old, the elevators are scary and the rooms are not that clean. The lobby view is amazing and the pool is nice to have, but there should be a hot tub as well. I have stayed at all of the starwood hotels in New Orleans, and as far as around the French Quarter, I would pick this one last! November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The lobby and restaurant got an amazing view, rooms also enjoyed a perfect view of the French Quarters. Parking is so easy and convenient, a large mall below the hotel also nice! Front desk and concierge are very friendly. Nice restaurants recommended by the concierge! It's a great stay overall! October 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Comp Hotel Initially I was not placed on a SPG floor though I am a member. the first room ( 1410)I was assigned was dirty i.e. stain on the floor, filthy wing chair, and a stain on the wall. Instead of a panoramic view of the city there was a view of the retaining wall of the 13th floor roof. I was supposed to be moved after notifying staff of the room conditions. I was given a key to room 2729 and told someone would come to move me within five minutes. I am still waiting for that person to arrive. In room 2729 the phone message lights blinked for two days before someone came to fix it. there was no message. On two days there was no service to the room. This was not at all what I have come to expect from Westin September 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs refurbishing This hotel needs some help..the light fixtures are all on extenssion cords with on offf in difficult hand locations...the in room dining menue is a pile of photocopies, there is no mini-bar and a wine bucket sits on an empty fridge in the corner... not up to westin standards March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Provided upgrade The staff put us in the Bienville Suite as it was our honeymoon, at the same price as the regular suites. It was an awesome suite, not to mention champagne and chocolate strawberries waiting as we arrived. The stay was so nice overall, we can't wait to stay at The Westin again. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Facility This was not my first time in NOLA but first time at the Westin. It is a great location for adults or families who want access to everything but want to be able to escape the noise and craziness. It felt very upscale and I didn't see any of the usual riff raff that you run into in NOLA. If I had any complaint it would be that the bathroom could have been just a little cleaner but nothing major - I would have to be nit-picking. The service was great and I used SPG points and got a great room at a reasonable redemption rate. They have a rooftop pool, everything was well kept, and it is right on top of a high-end shopping mall. I will be going back to this property next time for sure. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel NOLA Very nice property, currently going under renovation. There is a BIG difference between old and new, make sure you request new room. However, the new rooms/elevators are in top shape and definitely recommend this hotel. Also, location was excellent. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by spectacular views! Our favorite New Orleans Hotel We always love to spend time at the Westin Canal Place, it is our favorite hotel in the French Quarter. the views of the French Quarter & the Mighty Mississippi River are Spectacular. The hotel is wonderfully located in the heart of everything. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service, and location I love this hotel, many reasons, it is just far enough away from the the craziness of Bourbon street, but close enoogh to walk and be in the thick of things. Close to all the restaraunts. lastly beautiful view of the river February 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nothing out of the ordinary both good and bad that expectations are met. Pretty much a standard Westin experience. Welcoming, great bed, nice bathroom, but nothing special. Internet connection is a problem. Seems that this, and several other hotels I have been at lately, do not have enough bandwith now that everyone is using multiple devices. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel I thought the hotel was aesthetically charming. The staff were very accommodating and it was nice that I was able to check in when I arrived even though it was 9 am. Keep up the good work. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in New Orleans Stayed here on business last month. Am Platinum member and received great upgrade and hotel was spectacular. Views from rooms and Lobby were stunning. Staff was super helpful. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel met all our expectations. The room was very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and eager to please us. We look forward to our next vacation at the Westin. April 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Checked Out Early I rated this hotel well below other Westin hotels because the room's A/C did not cool the room even after a service call. Also the TV did not receive all stations clearly. November 28, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Rooms and Carpet in Hallway Hotel rooms needs remodeling. Did not have a chair in the room. I was given a regular chair used for meetings. The carpet was dirty in the room and in the hallway. December 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Spent five nights wrapped around Mardi Gras. Great location, close to everything but not in the middle. Staff was efficient and very pleasant. March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We Stay here often!!!! Love everything about the Westin New Orleans on canal st. Great location. Very clean. Wonderful employees. March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my stay there!!! Thank you so much for a fabulous experience while I was there!!! March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Rooms, Poor Facilities I recently visited The Westin, Canal Place for a three-night stay during Jazz Fest. Upon arriving Thursday night we immediately had to deal with the broken elevators. We had to wait nearly 15-minutes for an elevator to arrive and this problem persisted the entire weekend. The staff was very unfriendly about this problem and simply said there was nothing they could do and that they would look into it. In fact one of the people I was traveling with got stuck in the elevator several times. Needless to say this put a damper on our trip. The rooms themselves were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel itself needs some major updating and its AAA 4-diamond award is certainly deceiving. May 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I liked it with some pros & cons The view of French quarter from the lobby and our room was spectacular. People were nice and friendly. The roof pool was great scenery was fantastic during the dusk, but the pile of trashes and dirty towels around the pool spooled the greatness of the pool. The man's room at the pool was a nightmare: toilet was clogged, shower head was gone, and the sink was dirty. It was like a public restroom. The room was neat, the bed was very comfortable. But you need to order a refrigerator for $25 to store your own foods. The hotel was right above a shopping mall with IMAX theater and Starbucks. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal location; parking miscommunication I have stayed in a vast array of Starwood hotels, including multiple Westins. This particular hotel has an ideal location. I was in town for a conference at the Convention Center and it was a short bus ride away (bus provided by the conference). Jackson Square, French Quarter, Cafe Du Monde, Bourbon Street, and Harrahs (casino) are all very easy walks from the hotel. It is ideally located above the Shops at Canal Place, which is great for those who enjoy a nice shopping trip. The staff was very welcoming and opened doors and greeted us around every corner. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and mine was very clean. The bathroom ceiling is not in the best shape due to lack of ventilation but served no problem. There are minor repairs going on in the hotel, and I remember waking up to the ceiling in the hallway being worked on one morning. It was fine, however I was in a business suit and I wish they had paused their work as I approached and walked under to get back to my room. The parking is $18.00 per night if you self-park (however if you leave and come back, you pay each time you come in as a new day). The issue I had with parking was that when we finally left, we were 2 hours into the next 24 hour period and they automatically charged us based on the "Shops of Canal Place" pricing opposed to the validated pricing. Our parking pass was validated by the hotel and we felt the validation pricing should stand as we were guests here. The clerk added up the price by hand and we even asked her about it and she stood that she priced it correctly, so somewhere there was a misunderstanding. December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by IBM's Comments on the Westin Canal Place This hotel was an excellent choice for our recent meeting We have our attendees fill out surveys for us after the meetings, and many of them took the time to comment on how great the hotel was. Food was excellent, locale was amazing, service within the hotel great..... and I never asked for anything that I didn't get right away! Thank you!! May 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Badly Managed Hotel We stayed at the Westin Canal Place because we were staying with friends and family for a family wedding. The hotel is very difficult to navigate, 3 different sets of elevators to get to your room. Unless you use valet, a $50.00 fee, you can not use any type of rolling cart. Over the 4 days we stayed, there were numerous times that only 1 elevator was operational out of 4. When we checked in, the ladies at the front desk were perfunctory, but not friendly. Housekeeping was very slow, we never had any type of housekeeping service until after 6 p.m., and 2 of those days I had to go seek out clean towels, face cloths, so that we could get showers for our wedding events. The night of the wedding, the Bride and Groom ended up with no room. While getting married, their room was emptied of their belongings and sold to another group. After 4 attempts of getting into other rooms, and opening the doors on other guest, the bride and groom had no place to stay on their wedding night. The management made NO EFFORT to even find a room for them at another hotel. Had the grooms mother not booked a suite with 2 bedrooms, the bride and groom would have had no place to go, but worse the hotel management acted as though it was not their problem. Had it not been for the bride signing a contract and booking approximately 200 guest in that hotel, most would NOT have chosen to stay at The Westin. Another issue was that they advertise parking in the garage as costing $18.00 per day, but they don't tell you to get your ticket validated, so when we had to leave in an emergency, our cost was $75.00 for 2 days of parking. The up side was that the view of the river from our room was beautiful, the room spacious, and the men who worked valet were congenial, and knew how to get a taxi quickly, and were helpful, and the location was good. This was a very disappointing stay, it was the first time we ever stayed at a Starwood property and we will never stay at another one. June 10, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 29 next>>