The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 842 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Badly Managed Hotel We stayed at the Westin Canal Place because we were staying with friends and family for a family wedding. The hotel is very difficult to navigate, 3 different sets of elevators to get to your room. Unless you use valet, a $50.00 fee, you can not use any type of rolling cart. Over the 4 days we stayed, there were numerous times that only 1 elevator was operational out of 4. When we checked in, the ladies at the front desk were perfunctory, but not friendly. Housekeeping was very slow, we never had any type of housekeeping service until after 6 p.m., and 2 of those days I had to go seek out clean towels, face cloths, so that we could get showers for our wedding events. The night of the wedding, the Bride and Groom ended up with no room. While getting married, their room was emptied of their belongings and sold to another group. After 4 attempts of getting into other rooms, and opening the doors on other guest, the bride and groom had no place to stay on their wedding night. The management made NO EFFORT to even find a room for them at another hotel. Had the grooms mother not booked a suite with 2 bedrooms, the bride and groom would have had no place to go, but worse the hotel management acted as though it was not their problem. Had it not been for the bride signing a contract and booking approximately 200 guest in that hotel, most would NOT have chosen to stay at The Westin. Another issue was that they advertise parking in the garage as costing $18.00 per day, but they don't tell you to get your ticket validated, so when we had to leave in an emergency, our cost was $75.00 for 2 days of parking. The up side was that the view of the river from our room was beautiful, the room spacious, and the men who worked valet were congenial, and knew how to get a taxi quickly, and were helpful, and the location was good. This was a very disappointing stay, it was the first time we ever stayed at a Starwood property and we will never stay at another one. June 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms need work The front desk staff and valets were amazing. The rooms had a lot to be desired. They just seemed dated. There was no where to hang towels in the bathroom. Not all of the electrical outlets worked well. The noise from the hall was very loud. All of our towels, glasses, etc weren't replaced everyday. There were holes in the curtains. The chairs in our room were stained. The common rooms of the hotel were very nice. I loved the bedding and the comfort of the bed. We ordered an extra towel and it came immediately. We loved the hotel as a whole, the room just seemed really dated. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff First time to New Orleans and Westin staff couldn't have been better. Initially had some confusion with our reservation (made through central booking) at check in but the hotel Manager quickly corrected and we wound up with an amazing Suite with unbelievable views of the Mississipi and French Quarter. Concierge Susan helped plan each day to make the most of our trip. Susan went above and beyond, even arranging to have my son's back pack, which he inadvertently left behind at hotel, delivered to us at airport by taxi the day we flew home. Great staff and great vacation. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Came for a Meeting As a Starwood Platinum guest, I usually stay at Starwood properties even though part of my meeting is at another hotel. I was really glad I did this time. I have been to NOLA many times and have stayed at many of their fine hotels. The Westin Canal Place is a lovely hotel. I used a suite upgrade to assure myself a suite during this busy meeting. The suite, though only a junior suite was very large and had an incredible view. The platinum amenity was breakfast, which was great. The staff and reservations manager, Volker, couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is built right on top of Rodeo Drive type shopping, although I didn't partake in it this time. Whenever I have business in NOLA, I will definitely stay here. November 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Somewhat disappointing Would not have stayed here under normal circumstances (outside our price range) but special rate for a wedding (not at the hotel) persuaded us otherwise. Room not ready when we arrived, but we we're early. Staff offered to call my cell phone when room was ready, but no call. We returned to find other guests checking in, but we told "our" room was still not ready. Only when my wife insisted, did we get a room. Our stored bags did arrive shortly after but a request for a key to the fridge was not acted on. Eventually we obtained a key from the front desk and worked out how to plug the fridge in. The room was furnished very basically: two beds with one "side"table between them, so whichever bed we slept in one person did bot have a bedside table or light. Pillows mediocre. It was only possible for one person to use the small workspace, but we both needed to do some work. We opted for the "green" room service, meaning (we thought) that we agreed to reuse bedlinens and towels. But had we not asked a staff member for additional tea, coffee etc, I am not sure these would have been replaced. We forgot to ask for shampoo and conditioner, and these were not replaced. No towel rails in bathroom, so difficult to get reused towels to dry. No information in room about hotel facilities and couldn't find details on website, so had to go wandering for ice and call front desk to find location of fitness room (the information IS posted in the elevator). Fitness room is well equipped. Room heating and cooling very responsive but acoustic insulation insufficient to keep "disco' noise out (not sure where it was coming from). Plenty of hot water in shower. No extractor fan, so bathroom mirror unusable for many minutes after shower. October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin NO Excellent Hotel--used the Valet Parking which was great. Checkin was easy. The only compliant was the service in the retaurant was extremely slow-- 2 hours for an appitizer and main course. October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is great I have stayed at Canal Place many times over the years and it never fails to impress. The 11th floor lobby overlooking the river is the best. The rooms overlooking the river are worth the small amount extra. Easy to do quality shopping at Canal Place Mall. On this particular 2 day visit, a front desk person named Dante, was especially helpful. I understand that he is a new employee, but he is a keeper December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Time at Great Hotel I recently stayed at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place and had a great experience all around. The hotel is perfectly situated within close proximity to all the city has to offer. The rooms are large and comfortable and the housekeeping staff is great. The front desk staff, especially Josh and Michael are very helpful and welcoming. The Concierge, Miss Susan is extremely knowledgable and full of great reccommendations and a great deal of local history and interesting facts you can'r get elsewhere. I highly reccommend this hotel, due mainly to the staff. September 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel has some serious problems I had bad experience with this hotel. 1, When we came, the valet parking person was no where to find. 2, When we checked in our room, the key did not work. we went to front desk to make a change and came back, it still did not work. We had to change room, it wasted us at least half a hour. 3, Another room we checked in had problem with the bathtub sink. It did not drain. September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Flexible in Working with Lodging Arrangements for Business Travel I have stayed here frequently. Sometimes, my trips are due to rush requests to attend meetings and give speeches to groups in the city. Even arriving at 1:00 am in the morning to get some sleep and to be ready for a 9:00 am meeting and speech was no problem for the Westin staff. I was checked in, got a wake up call, and had my coffee downstairs at the restaurant and was on time for the meeting. September 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor service one phone did not work had to call for housekeeping after two days faucet dripped restaurant took forever October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay. I have nothing to rave about, but nothing to complain about either. The little we dealt with the staff they were courteous and helpful. Room was clean and pretty much what I expected from a westin. The rooftop pool left a lot to be desired. My home looks like a resort in comparison. Not what I would have expected. We were there for business so it wasn't that much of an issue. I've read where people complained about the elevators. I didn't find it to be a problem, although having to take 2 separate elevators to get to your room was an inconvenience. We would stay again, location was perfect. Far enough, but close enough to Bourbon St. May 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bring your own towel bar. Our king deluxe room had a great view of the river. That's the good news. - Although hotel pushes a Go Green program at check-in, there is no place in any room to hang up wet towels. Never stayed in the cheapest hotel without towel bars. - water runs in toilet all the time. How "green" is that? - windows with great view are splattered with old paint. - room filled with ants - housekeeping reached our room at 5pm every day. Need more staff. - A/C never cools bath - worlds slowest elevators....one to get to 11th floor lobby, another to get to room. - no signage to find the pool (29th floor) - some people had hotel robes...others not..very inconsistent. - had to ask for shampoo, etc on day of arrival. None in room. Often no hand towels available from housekeeping. October 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by They wouldn's give me my requested. The hotel staff checked me out a day earlier than my reservation and changed the lock with our things in the room when I called to see while I was locked out and was told that I checked out, which I didn't do. The next day I checked with my credit card and Westin had charged $155.25 for another day after I left andI had the receipt for $402.88 for 3 night.. ?They were very when my credit card company called then for a 3 way call. Customs beware. I will be contacting the Corp officel Terrible service. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the service...hotel is gorgeous too I had a long travel day and my job is stressful so I was ready to relax. Upon arrival I was greeted by a wonderful gal Reba who was kind enough to set me up with an upgrade. Unfortunately someone had smoked in the room so, I went back to the front desk to change room. Reba apologized and immediately rebooked me into a wonderful room with a gorgeous view of the river. Best of all, when I got back to my room, I found a handwritten note from Reba thanking ME for being "awesome". No, Reba, YOU are the awesome one...thank you! February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk continues to deteriorate I ahve been staying weekly at the Westin for several years. It troubles me to continue to see the quality of the front desk service deteriorate. I am especially disturbed by Donna (last name unknown) who was once again asleep when I went out early (5:30) for my morning walk. Also, she routinely fails to e-mail receipts and when I asked her to e-mail me the previous weeks folio, she did not know how to do so. Please get some responsive and qualified staff back on the desk for the overnight shift. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ambience, great room and friendly staff We are on our road trip from Florida to California to visit family and friends and decided to stop each beautiful state on our way and one of these state is New Orleans...city of Jazz/music. My family had a blast staying in Westin...great view in the lobby, great, clean big room and walking distance to French Quarter. Staff are friendly from check in to check out. Love to come and stay here again! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is located close to most points of interest and view. The only complaint I have is I don't have any thing to complain about. December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed with environmental policy For me the best features of my room in this hotel were the ability to turn the AC off and the ability to refuse daily cleaning, thereby much reducing the environmental footprint of my stay. The room was very comfortable, well-situated with a great view, and became a great home for the 6 days of my stay. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful. My only comment would be that the AC in the Ballroom was set at too low a temperature and most of us got very cold! June 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy touch We had an enjoyable stay, I brought my wife on a business trip. It was our anniversary during the trip. We approached the concierge to get a dinner recommendation for our anniversary dinner. That afternoon we had a knock at the door and there was a bottle of champaign with chocolate strawberries delivered, courtesy of the hotel. A very classy touch, it started off a very enjoyable evening of good memories. Very well done!! Also was upgraded to a suite on arrival. September 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again The staff, especially the front door staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the room had a mildew smell. The maid service was terrible and they did not get to our room until past 4 each day. As a result we only had maid service one day of a four day stay. The pool was closed two of the four days we were there which is understandable but it was one of the reasons we choose the hotel and there was no notice given when booking, which is not! April 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfortunate I was placed in a room right next to the elevator. While this is a bummer, understandable as the hotel was full. But the televison was broken, hairs were left on the bathroom floor, and items were left from the guest before me. Since I got to my room after midnight, and was leaving at 6 I just sucked it up and did not ask to be moved. To add insult to injury, it took 12 minutes for the elevator to arrive in the morning. I almost took the stairs. October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location Nice, but not as nice as I expected for a Westin. Beautiful lobby and views. Love the lower-priced, self-parking option. Quiet, except for room doors slamming in the morning. Wished there was an exhaust vent in the bathrooms. Needs a lot of repairs; toilets that don't flush or constantly run, bathroom doors that don't close, tubs that don't drain, lamp shades with small brownish/maroon-colored splatters, dirty and chipped walls and corners (especially the hallways). Upgraded suite was in worse shape than king room (lights not working, chipped soap dishes, paint splatter all over windows and floor, etc.) Staff was kind and accommodating. Food and drinks at both restaurants were better than at most hotels. The use of 3 different elevators to exit the building was cumbersome. As long as the rates remain low, we'll stay here many more times. October 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so great My husband and I were very disappointed by several things in this hotel including the lack of cleanliness, the fact that the elevators never seemed to work quite properly, the carpets were really quite dirty and the bar tenders acted as though they did not really care very much about the patrons. In addition, several light bulbs did not work inside the room and there was just a general lack of the type of service that is expected at a Westin. November 28, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Great Room I loved the location of the hotel and its views of the Mississippi River. The rooftop pool was really cool as well. The staff was wonderful. My only complaint was that the hotel is showing some signs of age. Rotting/broken wood on a railing at the pool, phone that didn't work in the room, broken deadlock in the room, etc. Some little fixes around the hotel would put it over the top, but overall I was very satisfied and would stay here again. July 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by hotel need improvements We had one chair in our room, and it was dirty. Did not have a refrigerator in room to keep water and wine cool. Had a box there but could not open it Loved your double shower head. The floors were dirty in room and hall. With these improvements, I would recommend your hotel. We had breakfast in the lobby Restaurant. Food was not prepared well and cold when received. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Third time wasnt a charm. Definitely not the cleanest Westin I have stayed in. On the positive side, it is close enough to Bourbon if you want that scene but quiet enough in the evenings. Attached to a very nice upscale mall. I have stayed a few times this year and hoped once I was finally platinum I would get upgraded. Once again no luck, I'll be taking my business elsewhere. Staff was nice and courteous but it's clear this hotel doesn't value frequent guests. November 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not the usual excellence I was disappointed during my latest weekly stay at the Westin Canal Place. There was no drinking water in my room when I checked in and I had to requesst that some be brought the following morning. I stay weekly and the staff knows that I like to have extra water. Iwas surprised that every day, until the last, I had to specifically request that water be provided. In addition, the level of housekeeping services was far lower than is typical. The bed was not actually made the first couple of days, but rather pulled up so that it was messy. On at least one day, the bathroom was not cleaned at all, other than fresh towels. On that same day, it was obvous that nothing had been done in the remainder of the sutie in terms of straightening up. The front desk addressed my concerns, but this lack of service from housekeeping is not what I expect during my stays. April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Fantastic Stay I have stayed at, literally, hundreds of hotels, including some the most exclusive in the world, and I can tell you that this was one of the most enjoyable stays I have ever had. I was with my family, and we stayed in adjoining rooms. The rooms were spacious, and the food good, but it was the staff that made the stay extraordinary. From the doormen who always treated us with a smile and actually remembered what we told them, in terms of where we were going, and asked how it was when we returned, to the baggage guys that brought the bags to the room. Additionally, my father in law had a medical issue, during our stay and the staff could not have been more responsive to our needs. The fact that the hotel is located walking disatnce to the Quarter was just lagniappe. Just a great stay, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to New Orleans. April 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Overall was excellent with staff, food, location of hotel. However, if making reservations & you prefer a room with a good view, make sure to ask other questions such as where the room is located. Our room was clean with an excellent view, however was too close to elevators and so we were continually woken up by other guests throughout the night and early morning. We were only there 2 nights so didn't make sense to switch. April 5, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 29 next>>