The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 853 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory Housekeeping Service I stayed at the Westin Canal Place Hotel for 8 nights during the Christmas Holiday. I experienced issues with my room (2720) for 4 nights during my stay. On 2 separate occasions, housekeeping failed to service my room. Also, the heating and air control unit did not work. I would turn the air off at night and it continued to blow cool air. The air problem got so bad that I had to clip a towel over the air vent to prevent myself from becoming sick. I have stayed at this same hotel for 4 of the past 6 holiday seasons. This was by far my most horrible hotel experience at any establishment. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great river and city view! The staff was very friendly, accommodating and pleasant. Our breakfast was delicious. It was a wonderful experience! December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is going downhill We will not be staying here again. We loved it as it was conveniently located to the Quarter, had garage parking at a decent rate, and amenities were very nice. Unfortunately, that is no longer true. We stayed overnight twice in December and were disappointed both times. The elevators are always very slow and do not all seem to be working at any given time. Our rooms both times looked like they needed refurbishing, plus the hotel no longer has a minibar. I am a diabetic, and like that I could keep my insulin cool, plus had available snacks/juice, etc. should my blood sugar drop. Additionally, both times we ate breakfast at the hotel, choosing to order from the menu as we both hate buffets. The food was long in coming, marginally warm, and service was horrible. I hate that hotel guests seem to be forced into the buffet. Finally, there used to be wonderful sofa and chair seating in the lobby facing the Mississippi River. You could get a drink at the bar and relax while enjoying the view. That's is largely gone and instead bar height long tables with stools have replaced the comfy seating, and it is not placed near the windows. All pointing to the hotel no longer aiming for a more upscale place to stay, I guess. December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No care and attention for SPG Gold Members The staff did not even pay attention to me even after telling them that i was a gold member. They did not give me any upgrades even though they had plenty of rooms December 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Orleans Westin The Canal Place Westin was a great place to stay. Very convieniently located and the service from all staff members was excellent. The room was large and comfortable. The gym was exceptional. Highly recommend the Westin. December 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not stay here again! We are very loyal SPG members and particularly like Westin. We are gold and platinum levels. This has been the worst Westin I have stayed in. 1). Woke up first morning to having no hot water. When calling the front desk they said the entire hotel was out and it should be back by 11am. No offer to do anything to accommodate us and no apology. I asked and after pushing it they offered free breakfast in the lobby restaurant. Not enough as far as I am concerned. Not being able to shower is a big deal. 2). This hotel does not have a club level or anything extra for membership. At checkin nothing extra was offered as normal. 3). Staff at front desk seems like they could care less. 4). Hotel lobby is rather dated and the roof top pool that they bragged about is very old. We do have a nice river view but with so many other SPG hotels near by I would not stay here again. Not happy at all. December 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed hotel experience When we checked in initially, room had a burning smell. The front desk easily changed our room. The TV in room did not work properly needed to be be fixed. Worse was that night the hotel had to do electical work and this necessitated a planned blackout between 12 and 4. No one informed us of this, until a note was passed under our door around 10 p.m. We were not informed at check-in though the staff knew. Beeping noises woke us after 12, and with no electricity in room it was hard to detect where sound was from.Very annoying, and did not allow for much sleep. Emergency light said in note to be in the bathroom was not provided. Spoke to manager the next day, who was very apologetic and comped us to make up for the poor service. The rest of our stay went well. The staff we interacted with couldn't have been more gracious and accomodating. The room though in general needs sprucing up, as it looks tired and worn. There appears to be a lack of eye for details here. Not up to the usual Westin standards. December 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE THIS HOTEL STAYED THERE LAST WEEKEND FOR 4 NIGHTS. THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC, ESPECIALLY CARLA, WHO WAS GREAT. LOVED THE LOCATION AND THE 2 ELEVATOR THING DID NOT BOTHER ME AT ALL. CLOSE TO BURBON STREET AND THE RIVERWALK. DEFINITELY WILL STAY THERE AGAIN. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in a good location The Westin Canal Place is in a great location- close to convention center, shopping and great local restaurants. The view from the 11th floor lobby was really nice. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good service The location is ideal and the staff was very attentive. My room was chilly during the drop in temperatures however the comforters kept me cozy and I slept well. The doormen did a great job of calling cabs and helping guests. Because I was attending a conference in the hotel it was more convenient to eat in the 11th fl restaurant, which had pretty decent food at reasonable prices. December 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expect from Westin A disappointment. The rooms are somewhat rundown, marks on the walls and bathroom. Lightbulbs missing in some lamps. There was an exhaust fan outside my room which was noisy and the only room they could switch me to also had an exhaust fan outside it - front desk not very creative or helpful about that. Housekeeping missed a day, had to call to get room cleaned. Free internet in rooms is painfully slow. No bellman available at checkout to hail a cab, we ran around finding one ourselves. Basically, this was not what I expect from Westin. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff! The staff at the hotel was wonderful and accommodated all of my needs. I especially want to say that Tamika at the front desk took care of my issue immediately and she was wonderful! December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location If you are visiting New Orleans you want to be near the French Quarter. This Westin cerainly is. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Michael Loria The hotel common areas were very well decorated. My room was effected by cigartette smoke, The staff sprayed an aerosal spary which did not work. The order continued until the next morning where it was less noticeable. My assumption which I told the front desk was that the adjacent room occupants must have been smoking and it came through ventilation and door between the two rooms. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend stay Only complaints is that we had the do not disturb sign on our door until about 10:00 and then had to call twice to get the room cleaned and ended up just taking the towels and having the trash emptied since it got so late ( after 5:00). Hotel is at the end of a one way street which made arrival hard on a Friday afternoon. But not the hotel's fault the parking staff got us in quickly once we got there! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Place to Stay in NOLA I like this hotel because when i go i am recognized as a loyal customer. I like going places that i am known by the staff, so this is very important for my loyalty. This hotel is my first choice to stay as well as booking my clients a room. It has a wonderful view of the river. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great comfort and convience in this hotel the westin nola is walking distance from the major downtown attractions and has the comfort to suit any taste. park in the same complex as the hotel and never get your car back out until you go home! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a fantastic view from our room. Love this Hotel. This Hotel exceeded my expectations and I will only stay at the Westin. We had a problem on our floor and they moved us and sent a nice bottle of wine to our new room. The bellman, Dillon was more than helpful with everything and a real asset to the hotel. The rooms are nice, food is good and if you go to the Green Room Bar for a light meal or drink Lindsey is wonderful. Great staff and my only complaint is that the housekeeping is not consistent (on both floors) and doesn't quite meet up to the standards of this wonderful hotel. Another added plus is the Westin is connected to the Shops on Canal street so we got some Christmas shopping in!! December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice for French Quarter Picked this hotel for family Thanksgiving gathering in New Orleans and it was a great choice. Located just a few blocks from Jackson Square. Very nice hotel and friendly Staff. View from our rooms was great and very nice on site restaurant. Would definitely stay there again. December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful This was my first time staying at the hotel and the young lady checking us in was super friendly and very helpful. We had an awesome view of the river and the french quarter. Room was very spacious and comfortable--Can't wait to go back to New Orleans to stay at the Westin Canal Place. November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Our experience was excellent. The people planning the conference on the hotel end took great care of us, the catering people were friendly and efficient and I found this to be one of the nicest hotels in the New Orleans area. The only issue I had (and so did MANY other people I was at the meeting with) is that our room keys would de-activate multiple times a day. When this happened if I called down from the 22nd floor to the front desk they immediately sent someone up to get us in the room making it only a very small nuisance. There was also some bubbling of the pain near the shower which was cosmetically unattractive. November 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor standard for Westin We had to wait for 2 hours after check-in for rooms to be delivered at around 6pm. Room can be seen to be hurridly turned over. Breakfast spread was average by Westin standards and staff at breakfast was not attentive and seemed uninterested. I noticed a lady cleaning some glass by spraying detergent right over the buffet open food. I informed one of the waiter and he did not seem to bother. Only when I brought it to the attention of a more senior staff did they start investigating. Needless to say, I was turned off. Overall, a very shocking Westin experience. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed I am frequent business traveler arrived late, no problem with check in, in room dining late night fare disappointing selection, Requested hypoallegenic pillows, never arrived!!!! I am feather allergic Train noise and boat noise problematic even though I was on 25th floor November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Came for a Meeting As a Starwood Platinum guest, I usually stay at Starwood properties even though part of my meeting is at another hotel. I was really glad I did this time. I have been to NOLA many times and have stayed at many of their fine hotels. The Westin Canal Place is a lovely hotel. I used a suite upgrade to assure myself a suite during this busy meeting. The suite, though only a junior suite was very large and had an incredible view. The platinum amenity was breakfast, which was great. The staff and reservations manager, Volker, couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is built right on top of Rodeo Drive type shopping, although I didn't partake in it this time. Whenever I have business in NOLA, I will definitely stay here. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, great hotel Nice large rooms, wonderful lobby, great bar, great location. November 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not to Westin standard On a four nite stay called 1st morning to report running toliet nobody came to repair. went to desk 2cd morning repair was made. 3rd morning tolliet was leaking from bottom all over bathroom floor . was told they would move us bring luggage to desk. left hotell at 9am returned at 4 pm and still had no room to freshen up or relax in.went to bar to waitfor room and waited 24 minutes to recieve one drink with cranky bartender November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check-in glitch Although check-in time was 4:00 our room was not ready until 6:30. This was a mess and got our stay off to a negative start. So although I might recommend the hotel on a regular weekend, I will avoid it (and not recommend it) for a weekend that has a major event. November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The View by the Lobby is breathtaking. I really loved the view from the lobby. Hotel is clean and staff are all friendly and helpful. I was impressed when I ordered by the bar near the lobby and they brought my food out to me. I do not have to go back in and get it myself. I really felt taken care of. November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelming Westin I try to stay at Westin's for all my business travel because the hotels are solid, great treatment of gold members, rooms are comfortable and usually nice. The check in was horrible. 20 minutes. My room was dingy and dirty. And there was no soundproofing and the trains that ran by every 3-4 hours in middle of the night woke me up. When I asked for a quieter room I was told no, November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, staff and accomodations My first time at this Westin property. Staff were pleasant, attentive and well mannered at all times. Breakfast, lunch and dinner selections and portions were a good value and delicious! Tremendous views of New Orleans and the Mississippi River and the ships from all windows in the hotel. November 9, 2013
  • 2015-03-30T18:41:19.951-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_853, tr_853
  • loc_en_US, sid_1763, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 30 next>>