The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 839 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoteli We were very satisfied with our stay and the staff. January 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened?!? This hotel has been our favorite get away for several years now. I am VERY sorry to say our last visit was a HUGE disappointment. This property was previously immaculate, luxuriously comfortable and had excellent service. This visit we had to change our initial room assignment as the room smelled of rotten food. The second room didn't smell much better. The hallways were left for two days with garbage and old pizza boxes on the floor. Our room was never serviced and looked rather shabby. Half of the menu on room service was not available and what did come was not edible. It seems the hotel needs a lot of work suddenly. We were VERY disappointed. November 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement I stayed one night at the Westin in New Orleans. The room was ok, but needs to be updated. There were not enough towels in the bathroom or paper/pens on the work desk. The bathroom was not very clean with dirty marks on the mirror and large amounts of mildew on the shower curtain liner that came off during showering. The hotel should add convenient amenities such as an area in the hotel to purchase coffee, snacks etc. The workout room was being remodeled but there was no signage indicating where it had been temporarily moved. I was disappointed and moved over to Westin from Hilton properties and am considering moving back as a business traveler. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 great stay great staff. room was clean and newly remodeled and quiet December 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Ventilation I went for New Years Eve with friends, upon arrival everything seemed fine. the room was clean, i dropped my belonging off and went out to explore the city with friends. i returned to hotel to sleep and could not sleep due eyes watering and constant sneezing. i got up the next morning and bought allergy medicine. upon leaving the room i stopped show symptoms. i returned that even and experienced the same issues, i looked at the vents in the room and they were covered in a black film and dirt. i went to the front desk and asked for a different room of course NYE no rooms available they stated they would send some one up to clean the room. no one arrived the next morning i went back down stairs the next morning got the same answers no one showed up to clean the vents. i took a towel and cleaned off the outside of the vents but the dirty and black film was not reachable without tools to remove the vent cover. i spoke with friends that where staying in the hotel and they had the same dirt and film on their vents. i talked to a maintenance gentlemen on the elevator when i was checking out and he confirmed that they never clean the vents and said he was surprised there wasn't mold. if you have allergies or asthma stay away from this hotel. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Views The views were fantastic. Staff was very helpful. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience Nice experience, great location, fantastic staff April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel staff was really great! Staff was great! So pleasant and accomodating! June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location Located near French Quarter! April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quality Control Needed This hotel is in a wonderful location and thinks of itself as a luxury hotel. But luxury hotels cater to their guests and the biggest problem with this hotel was the staff, most specifically the room staff. The night we arrived, there was a fire alarm -- certainly not the hotel's fault since someone had triggered the alarm -- but, although the staff realized right away what had happened, it took them quite a while to tell the guests. So the guests all were leaving their rooms at 1 in the morning. When we returned to our room, our fire alarm in our room kept going off: battery failure. When we called the front desk, it took them 20 minutes to get someone up to change the battery. At 2 in the morning, it should have been instantaneous. Then there was the problem of no tea one day, only chamomile another day, no coffee one day, only de-caf another day, no creamers for two days, no soap for two days and, on one day, we returned to the hotel at 6 pm in the evening only to find that our room hadn't been cleaned. I cannot recall EVER going to the front desk or calling the front desk so often in all my years of travel. This hotel has potential. The staff was friendly. But, until they get their act together, it is certainly not a 4-star hotel which is what they seem to want it to be. January 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping was a disaster I'm an SPG Gold member and I often enjoy staying at Westins, but not this time. On my first day, I waited 3 hours for checkin, which meant that I wasn't in my room until 7:00 PM. Check in is advertised at 3 PM, so I was surprised I had to wait at all, much less, 3 hours. I was told this was because too many people were granted late checkout, so none of the rooms were turned over that needed to be which seems like a problem with their timing. They appeased me with wine and coconut shrimp, which I appreciated and left me content for an hour or two, but I started getting really anxy around hour 3. After that, I stayed 4 days and 3 nights, and my room WAS NOT CLEANED ONCE. Even after I called down twice in one day and asked for housekeeping, they still didn't come. I talked to a manager before I left and she comped me one night for my trouble (which I also appreciated), but the housekeeping service was completely unacceptable. We literally had no clean towels, coffee, or cups and our garbage was full. I'm pretty sure I've had better service a youth hostel back in my day. Everyone else was pleasant, but the housekeeping staff ruined the stay for me. I expect a certain quality if you're staying in a Westin and I just don't think I got it. I would recommend you stay somewhere else. January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has need of much improvement. The elevators are a challenge to navigate. On our floor the indicator lights for up or down never lit up. We didn't know which way the evelators were going. The carpets in alll the hallways need to be replaced - quite dated, stained and unappealing. Our biggest complaint is that this hotel was a "pet friendly" hotel which we did not notice at the time of our booking. Dogs were everywhere and in rooms on all floors. Having extreme allegeries this was a great concern. Did we stay in a room that had a dog in it the previous stay? Dogs should be limited to only a few rooms on designated floors. We would not stay in any hotel who allows this. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME I stayed here two weeks ago, and had reservations for another hotel for THIS weekend. I canceled the other hotel (which was actually a little cheaper) after staying at The Westin in the French Quarter and rebooked my reservation at The Westin. I figured, why mess with success? The staff is very friendly, and the location and price was unbeatable (well, free would've been nice, but seriously) I recommend ask for the rooms facing the French Quarter... a spectacular view of the Quarter and the River, and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Also, the covered parking (with hotel validation) is some of the cheapest in the Quarter. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I WAS READY TO CHECK OUT! This was the first time I had stayed at this particular Westin location, so I was looking forward to it. However, there were several things that made my stay less than enjoyable. First, the parking fees were not explained properly to me; I was told the cost is $18 for self park per day, or $36 valet park per day. The check-in clerk neglected to tell me that I would have to pay every time I went in and out of the self-park. So I had to time my coming and going the first day, so I wouldn't pay over $36 which is what I would have paid for the valet parking with unlimited going in and out. The second day there, I switched to valet parking. Sometime after the first night, we lost the ability to regulate the thermostat in the room. The display was just off. It had been working when we arrived but by 1 pm the next day, was no longer working. My husband called down to the desk to let them know, and they said they would send someone up to fix it. Needless to say, they did not, and we spent a very uncomfortable night, and there was no way to turn the system off. The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable, and I tossed and turned and awoke with a backache. There was no refrigerator in the room. We mysteriously got these bug bites as well. Overall, the room appeared clean and they did remember to make the room feather free as I had requested, so those are the positives. The location is across from Harrah's and the Aquarium, but is on the outskirts of the French Quarter, so I would not be as comfortable walking to and from the Quarter especially late at night. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel....but When I checked in for my family's first stay at this hotel, I was told this would become my favorite hotel in New Orleans. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly, gave us a room with a great view, and a complimentary cocktail! The staff on the street, particularly "Doc" were very friendly and my family thoroughly loved meeting them and felt like we had arrived home. So far, so good..... However, we NEVER got maid service to the room. It would not be so bad if I hadn't actually called the service number and specifically requested clean towels and service. NOTHING happened. Please fix this and this hotel has real potential. July 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice Staff A train with horn blasting right outside hotel. Inconsistent housekeeping, forgot to clean the room one day. Noisy refrigerator in room, Stained and dirty carpet in room. Facade outside front entrance failing off. Alarm clock not shut off so it goes off in the middle of the night. Pray you don't get put on the 15th, 16th, or 17th floor, musty rooms and filthy hallway/room carpets! Takes 15 minutes to get your car if you don't call valet ahead of time. For a large hotel chain, probably the most poorly managed hotel I have ever stayed in and worst first night I have ever experienced. On a plus note, the individual staff members were very friendly and nice. August 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so great hotel elevators do not work properly. Very common to have to wait 15+ minutes. Staff was friendly at first. Check in was great. Disrespectful when we asked to use a luggage cart. Said no to request and did not offer any other assistance. Did not respond in a polite manner. Very Pet friendly, but there is a fee. No matter what else you see on their website or any other place online. Rooms were awesome. Clean and large. Great view of the river and the city. Rooftop pool area great for site seeing. Concierge was spot on with recommendation If you do not mind limited elevator use even if you are on the 20+ floor then consider this property December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week-Long Stay at the Westin! I just came home from a wonderful week-long stay at the Westin in New Orleans (Canal Street) the last week of November 2012. What a delightful week -- truly !!! I was there on business, pounding the pavement during the day and returning to an oasis in the evening. I am a frequent traveler and picky New Yorker, so when I say the Westin was great, I really mean it! Just can't wait till my next visit there! I must start with the room -- unbelievably great room (with King bed) with a stunning picture-window view of the river. Huge room, with a terrific work desk and comfortable chair, necessary for my evening laptop work after those long days out-and-about. There were many drawers and storage space was great. The bed and bedding were terrific -- so soft and comfortable that I quickly fell asleep at night. I generally need a very hard bed, and have one at home, but this bed just made you melt into it. The bathroom was to die for -- and I am particularly picky about hotel bathrooms. A HUGE sink vanity, with soft lights to help me put on my "face" in the morning (and reassure me that I looked good); A double showerhead with warm streams of water jetting out; ample bathroom amenities, although I generally pack my own; and fresh towels always at the ready, set there by the terrific maid service. I would recommend a separate towel rack or hook, but I used the one behind the door and that worked perfectly fine for me. The lobby area was a dream, nicely decorated for Christmas and with soft "live" piano music in the late afternoon, and with a gorgeous view out over the river and New Orleans. I never waited more than two minutes for an elevator (you have to push the buttons for BOTH elevators in order to ensure a speedy arrival) and I REALLY appreciated the security of having a separate elevator take you from the street level up to the 11th floor lobby and reception area. The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful -- I used the concierge several times -- and room service was prompt and courteous, and the food was great, but then, it was New Orleans after all! I enjoyed the overall ambiance of the entire hotel experience. The last time I was inspired to write a hotel review was over five years ago, when I stayed in the Hotel Luna on Capri. Thanks, Westin, for making my stay such a pleasant one! P Hall December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Times! This was my second stay at the hotel. I forgot to write review the first time. The stay was beautiful 3 day stay.....waking up to a river view, with the sun beaming of the water overlooking the river..... was to die for. Hotel exceeded my expectations the first time, which was pure pleasure and second time strictly business. My guy couldn't have picked a more beautiful place to stay....high in the sky! I appreciated being called by name everytime we approached as if we were royalty. I will always come back. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Stayed for a long weekend in May 2012. Everything waiting for us on arrival with minimal wait time at check-in. Staff more than helpful especially when had to change rooms at check-in do to an a/c problem. They handled moving everything to new room/floor. Excellent location to French Quarter, Harrah;s, River Boat and Trollies. Beautiful views of down-town and Mississippi River, to bad so much is still boarded up. Only complaint was parking. Not free parking as lead to believe by SPG but reduced parking with Hotel Stamp, as parking lot belongs to the mall and not the hotel. Be careful of narrow one way streets and winding circular entrance to parking floors. May 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs major work. We had a big conference here and had more than 15 rooms in our block. There was a quite a lot of chaos and disorganization on the part of the hotel related to our rooms. To be fair, our set-up was complicated with complex check-in's/check-outs, names, etc -- but the hotel did not handle it very well. If you're in New Orleans using the Convention Center -- this hotel is a quite a hike...so be aware of that. However, it's location to the French Quarter could not be better. Also steps from the casino (CHING!). My room (big suite) was badly worn -- everything. I didn't enjoy my time in my room because of how badly it was worn. March 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Watch out for dead bugs Unfortunately, this wasn't an ideal stay for me. The walls were covered with dirt. There was a pile of drywall/dead bugs in the corner of my room, which took the attendants 3 days to notice (only after a placed a towel over top of the filth). The heat wouldn't work and blew only cold air. A desk was included with the room; an office chair wasn't. The beds were simply straightened and the bathrooms weren't cleaned. I verified this by hanging towels on mirrors, pictures and placing the ironing board in the window. When I returned to check the results of this experiment, everything was in the same place. I'd go elsewhere. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ringing in the New Year at the Westin My wife and I, along with good friends, booked a package deal through Eventful to stay and attend the New Years Eve party at the Westin Canal Place. The hotel room was great. I wish I could say the same for the event. The band was topnotch, The Boogie-men, but the food was very lacking as well as the so-called premium brand open bar. The staff working the event seemed to be in a hurry to close the party down. All food was picked up by the staff early and the poor bar tenders were overworked with only one at every station. I would stay at the Westin again, but doubt I will attend such an event hosted by the hotel again. January 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bottom 5% Westin for us We trravel a lot and we come to expect good thigns from Westins. The shower wasn't great because the water pressure dropped to a mere drip if anyone used the sink or flushed the toilet. And we couldn't get the temperature very hot for the water. We had a river view room and while the view was nice, the trains going by at 4am honking their horns woke us up both nights, so would have been nice to have a heads up. Also, the window cleaners got a good show when we opened the curtains half dressed - would have been nice to have been notified that people would be cleaning the windows before. We're probably never coming back to this Westin when we come back to New Orleans - May 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the location We have been coming to Westin New Orleans since 2011. We love the view of Mississippi river and French quarter from the spacious lobby located at 11th floor of the hotel. Its proximity to French quarter, IMAX, river walk and roof top swimming pool makes it very convenient for families with young kids. The staff is courteous but doesn’t go to the extend to make you feel welcomed even if you are a preferred member – the valet guys on the other hand are very courteous and always opening the door for you. The hotel used to serve complimentary coffee every morning in the lobby area but it is gone – a great disappointment. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location We stayed in the Bienville suite, on the top floor, which was superb. We had the best view in town of the Mississippi River. My son would watch the ships come in over and over. Housekeeping was inconsistent and supplies weren't always replenished. One day they missed us completely and we had to call the front desk at 9pm. Room service was also inconsistent. The first day we were served obviously moldy berries on our fruit plate. I took pictures and showed the manager who dealt with the issue swiftly. Overall it's a very nice hotel, but kitchen and housekeeping staff could use some training. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel The room was big enough for 4 adults to move around in comfortably. It was clean and the beds and pillows were awesome! The double shower heads were definitely a plus. My only complaints are that the TV was not working properly and the roof was leaking in the bathroom when the shower was turned on. Management offered to move us to a different room, but it would have been more of an inconvenience than it was worth since we were already settled in and were only going to be in the room for a few hours anyways. Overall, great hotel stay....can't beat the view! August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Celebrated and ROLL TIDE!!! I can not imagine a hotel any nicer than this one anywhere in the world!!! Fantastic view from the lobby on 11 and from the room on 24. Watching Miss. River from your room is unbelievable. Everyone from bellmen to front desk to concierge were extremely courteous and helpful. Only problem was we are HUGE Alabama fans and watching from the lounge we were outnumbered and hotel employees and staff were all for LSU (understandably so) but still were courteous and good losers! Roll Tide!!! Can't wait to come back and almost forgot---celebrated my Birthday while there and received gifts from Hotel---THANK YOU so much!!! November 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Property - Needs Deep Cleaning Very nice building. Spend some labor hours on cleaning: Furniture in Lobby needs cleaning/replacement, carpets in hallways need deep cleaning to remove stains, room needs deep carpet cleaning, edges need vacuuming, base board mouldings need to be dusted/cleaned, wires need to be installed neatly, all doors need hardware adjusted/cleaned/lubricated, bathroom door had an exposed hole from a previous/older lock mechanism (2502). You've got a great facility that needs attention - more labor than materials. The staff was above average when engaged. The parking arrangement is way too expensive. I did not try your food. May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Wedding Weekend! The Westin and her staffers came to my rescue when another NOLA hotel that shall remain nameless left me in the lurch. We had the Quarter View suite to prepare for my wedding and for use as a wedding night suite. The accomodations were top notch and the staff was absolutely fantastic. I have to call out Marguerite, the director of catering, who helped me secure the reservation and went above and beyond to help us select the right room; Michael on the front desk who helped us feel welcome right away; and Matthew, the bellman who helped us with our things. PERFECT SERVICE! I would reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in New Orleans or anyone looking for a staycation hotel! June 5, 2012
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 29 next>>