The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

  • 725 South Harbour Island Blvd
  • Tampa,
  • Florida
  • 33602
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 332 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room with beautiful view - staff professionalism varied The room I had was very nice - comfortable bed, nice linens, view was beautiful from 8th floor. My problem was with some of the staff. The person who checked me in was quite rude and condescending when I asked for a map and recommendations of things to do in the area. This was strange to me because I had just witnessed another member of the staff very cheerfully offering a map and this kind of advice and information to another guest. So I would have to say that probably most at the front desk are very nice, but not this one guy. Second, I didn't appreciate a knock on my door at 8:00 a.m. by housekeeping even though I had the privacy sign on! Very careless. Third, I was not informed by the staff out front that the shuttle would cost twice as much if I didn't wait until the top of the hour to take it to the airport. Again, very careless. Some of the staff appear to be quite uncaring about customer service. The guy at the front desk I would have to put into another category - downright rude. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful front desk services The front desk managers are very helpful and efficient. I had problem with the noise of elevator near my room and I was put into another room immediately. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing The hotel staff were courteous and professional, breakfast was exceptional, and the location was excellent. However, our overall experience with this hotel was very disappointing because of the ongoing facility upgrades and the quality of our room. Most disappointing was the aggravatingly slow elevator service. We understand the need to upgrade facilities, but to be fair, you should have informed us in advance that the ongoing elevator upgrades could create significant inconvenience. Then, we could have made an informed choice to stay at the Westin or seek other accommodations. I also had much higher expectations for our room based on your website photos and the price we paid. What we got for nearly $400 per night was a mediocre room, on par with much less expensive hotels, with a disappointing view through cloudy windows. We are not inclined to stay at another Westin. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff and attentive to all needs What a great stay. 3rd time here and Front Desk staff upgraded me to a corner Suite. Totally unexpected, even with Gold status. I was very appreciative!!! June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is customer focused! So many great staff from all areas---valet, front desk, bar/restaurant, sales/marketing, reservations, housekeeping and maintenance. Staying here every week makes travel much better! June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel with a Few Kinks Nice location (on a private island, quiet but very close to eveything, e.g. downtown, Ybor City Channelside district etc.), friendly and helpful staff, good SPG recognition (upgrade to a corner suite with nice water views). A few areas need improvement: First, the elevators do NOT work properly. We pressed the down button from our floor and the button would light up for a few seconds and then go out. This happened constantly, so we had to press the up button to get an elevator to then go down (this worked most of the time; at other times, we just had to pray that the elevator would stop on our floor to let someone off). Secondly, the carpet in the room is a bit old and worn and needs replacing. February 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This can't be a Westin I was looking forward to coming to Tampa for my business meeting and staying at a Westin. Unfortunately this is not the case in Tampa. The whole place needs an overhaul--chipped paint on doors, dirty carpets, dirty and slow elevators (the one by the pool is scary slow and the door scrapes when opening and closing). The workout room was in disrepair--2 out of 4 treadmills were broken--the TVs built into all the treadmills didn't work. Bathrooms need upgraded and reapaired--toilet paper holder falling off the wall. Where are the mini bar amenities--the fridge is here and its empty. January 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Ever This should not be a Westin Property. The cleanliness of this property is non-existing. We got upgraded to really spacious suite, but the filth, the dirt, the carpet, the bathrooms is out of this world. The status of the carpet, the doors the aisles, I can keep going. The food? what food? There was only one person helping when we checked it at 1:00 am. He was great 'Tito", the best the hotel has...however, he had to Valet, bring the sheets, the crib the towels. Mind, he brought the sheets from the Valet room, because he was the only person and there was nothing else available - What/ May 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Problems! I was staying On friday and Saturday for a quick weekend getaway to busch gardens with my 1 year old and 4 yr old daughters. upon arrival the escalators was broken. so fine we took the elevator around the corner. on check in we arrived to our 10th floor and there where workmen fixing lights with wires and ladders everywhere. not exactly luxurious. but to top it off saturday night the night club downstairs pounded music until 3am. fun when you are there to party but not when you are there with kids and trying to sleep. not happy I also . May 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs help I am a loyal fan of the westin properties. However this property fell well short of the standard one would expect from a Westin property. I was shocked at the lack of detail and the failure to modernize the hotel. I would definitely not stay at the Westin Harbour Island. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT HOTEL & LOCATION This was a fantastic hotel, great location, staff and room was very nice and clean. If you are going to Tampa Lightning game this is the place to stay, 5 min walk or free shuttle if raining, great restaurants and plenty to do in area. They go over board on making your stay great which is hard to find now a days. Great hotel, will stay here again in the future!!! March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks Jackie Davies! I wanted to let you know that thanks to Jackie Davies we had a great trip. She was so friendly and when I told her it was our anniversary, I was amazed and surprised when she had a bottle of wine sent to our room. She was so nice the whole time, from checkin to checkout, what an amazing employee you have! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff! From the moment i pulled up into valet i was greeted by a gentleman who was quick to assist me. When i checked into the hotel I was greeted by 2 ladies. Both assisted in making me feel like I was welcomed. I had a chance to enjoy the pool and noticed that there were no towels. I called service express and the gentleman apologized and sent fresh towels immediately. Exceptional Service! May 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to the Westin standard We stayed at the Tampa Westin for four nights. The room was not up to traditional Westin standards. The room was musty. The toilet paper holder was loose on the wall; you can't miss this during cleaning. The thermostat would fall off of the wall when you changed the temperature. One of the night stand lights was plugged into an unsecured plug with out any cover. The tub drain was very slow and the shower would fill up when taking a shower. Only one day did we receive one heavenly bath towel. I like Westins, I chose to stay at this location instead of other hotels. This was not how a Westin typically is or should be. March 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement We stayed for 2 nights in February 2013. The hotel wouldn't provide our room block with rooms that had double beds, so we requested a roll away / cot for our room when making the reservation (2-3 weeks in advance). When I checked in they mentioned that they saw the roll away reservation but they were out of them because they didn't hold one for my room. The hotel staff did nothing to rectify this over the course of my stay. The Elevators have been "under renovation" for a couple of months now. We consistently had to wait 5-10+ minutes every time we wanted to use an elevator. They had signs pointing us to the service elevators, however we would wait just as long for them to come. Whenever we used our shower, it leaked all over our bathroom floor. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location.... In one word..Tranquil.... June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FOR TAMPA WESTIN GENERAL MANAGER Mr. Aydin, My stay at the hotel was wonderful as always. I do want to take the time to highlight one of your employees - Ms. Lauren M. I am a Marine stationed in Manama, Bahrain. I found out less than a week prior, that a would be attending two conferences at MacDill AFB. When I attempted to make reservations, everything was booked in the downtown area. Realizing that I was talking to Starwood central reservations, I called the hotel directly with a phone number I had on file from a previous stay. Ms. Lauren M answered the call and kindly worked a reservation for my 11 day stay. Not only did she go above and beyond in securing a reservation, but I ended up staying on the 12th floor with a great view of the harbor. I can't thank her enough for making my stay possible. May 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but a few things need attention Front desk staff was excellelnt. Restaraunt staff needs alot of attention. Service was terrible; food was just average at best. Price was out of line, i.e. over $50 dollars for two bacon and eggs. The room was very nice - had all the amenities. Lighting in the room was not very good. Beautiful view from the room. I would return to the hotel, but I would not return to the restaurant. May 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs a good cleaning When I think of Westin Hotels I think clean, comfortable, quiet, relaxing, and friendly staff. The lobby area was beautiful, however, my room could have used a good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint on the walls. The halls were very noisy, with room doors constantly slamming shut. This hotel could invest in the quiet shut doors. The menu in the restaurant was very limited, with no other restaurant close by. The guys working at the valet were fantastic!! Always helpful and courteous. December 8, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wow - what a bad experience... This hotel is in despirate need of an upgrade. . The carpets are old and stained - except for the carpet in theremodeled elevator - just stained. The unrenovated elevator makes sounds that would lead you to beleive that the cable could snap at any moment. The rooms were underwhelming - no tv in the sitting area of a suite? Buffet served cold food and not many choices. Staff was nice and plays the cards they are dealt. Shouldn't be considered a Westin December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Vastly overrated To pay $250 for a room where one has to wait up to 10 minutes for an elevator is ridiculous. Also, unbelievable to me that a hotel of this apparent caliber does not have Saturday WSJ's, and then the staff responds, "You get what you get." This is by far the worst Westin experience I've ever had. Last, the restaurant staff was completely unintelligible (not all but the table wait staff) when I had questions; didn't appear to understand English. February 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed For my status and the price I paid, my room was very standard. Also the hotel is in serious need of improvement. Elevators were very old a very slow and doors are seriously scratched. Capreting is very old and leaves the perception of not being clean, regardless of how clean it really is. The facility seemed somewhat beat up. Services was fine but the facility is in need of a serious upgrade. Fitness center aslo had rather old equipment. March 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by WARNING I was shocked that a Westin facility could be in such poor shape. First and foremost, the elevators were malfunctioning the entire stay (6 days). We were directed to use the service elevators, which meant riding with trash, food, and LOTS of other people. It was not uncommon for people to have to wait 15+ minutes for an elevator making it hard to run to your room in between meetings and causing us to be late to the airport. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very good stay. Will return! POSITIVES: View from room- We were on the 12th floor (top floor) with a view of the city skyline and the bay. Very nice. The view was a paid/reserved view which is further discussed below. Friendliness and efficiency of bartender- We ended up eating in the bar on our night of arrival. The food was good and the service and drinks from the bartender was excellent. The bartender was also the waiter in the bar. Cleanliness of room- The room and bath was spotless. We requested that the room be cleaned during a specific period each day before we departed for the day. The room was always ready when we returned. Gold welcome gift in room- There was a letter addressed to me by name welcoming me to the property and recognizing my SPG Gold status. Next to the letter was a small box of chocolate covered almonds. Very nice gesture indeed that went above and beyond what is required. Water temperature & pressure- Pretty self-explanatory. Valet parking- The valet parking attendants never took more than five minutes to retrieve our rental car. Valet attendant placed our luggage in the car's trunk upon check-out. See also note about valet upon check-in below. Maintenance- We had a towel rod fall in the shower our first morning. Staff was very quick to replace the towel rod with a new one. Location- Great location and within walking distance of convention center and the Tamp Bay Times Forum which was great as we attended a Tampa Bay Lightning hockey game our second night. NEGATIVES: Check-in experience- Check-in was efficient but I was told that I had been "upgraded to a Premium Room with a view of the bay/skyline on the 12th floor". I told the front desk agent that I had not been upgraded because I reserved and paid for a Premium Room with a bay/skyline view located on floors 10/11/12. He just muttered "Oh, it shows traditional here." I then asked about an upgrade to a Studio Suite but he said none were available. I really dislike this "You've been upgraded" song and dance I sometimes receive at Starwood properties when the room I receive is exactly the category of room I reserved and paid for. Lack of electrical outlets- Even though the room was in excellent condition and perhaps had even been updated recently, there was a dearth of available electrical outlets. The bedside lamps and the desk lamp did not have outlets in the base of the lamps. The previous guest had unplugged the alarm clock (housekeeping had not plugged it back in) and I left it unplugged in order to utilize the electrical outlet. There was a pull-up electrical outlet "pole" in the top of the desk which provided two electrical outlets. Lack of in-room safe- No in-room safe so no place to secure valuables, laptop, etc while not in room. Restaurant- Our first night we went down to the restaurant around 8:00 pm to have dinner. The property's website shows the restaurant would have been open until 11:00 pm. The hostess stand was not manned and the restaurant was empty. We went around to the bar and asked about the restaurant and were told that they serve dinner in the bar and only use the restaurant for overflow. They also stated the restaurant was really not used for anything other than the breakfast buffet. Bar menu obsolescence- We seated ourselves in the bar area and were brought a dinner menu. Also on the table was a booklet which highlighted different drinks available and containing about six pages of "Bar Bites." We asked if we could order from either menu and were told "The Bar Bites menu is obsolete except for the Buffalo Wings. I wish they would get rid of that menu." Well I wish they would too since I had selected some menu items from that "obsolete" menu. Valet parking upon check-in- The valet attendant watched as my wife and I tugged to get our luggage out of the trunk of the car and never offered to assist. I guess he was there just to park the car. Overall, this was a very good stay and I would not hesitate to return to The Westin Tampa Harbour Island again. March 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Needs an Overhaul I am sorry to say that this property did not meet my expectations and is among the worst Starwood properties I have ever stayed at. Complaints include: - lack of dining locations and menu selections - dirty carpets in hallways, with stains - broken ice machines - elevator at pool is in rough shape and stopped working one day It reminded me more of a 3-star hotel than the 5-star expectation of a Westin Hotel. December 10, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tournament stay The Habour area is beautiful, the hotel has a great location for our visit but the hotel is rundown, the elevator didn't work, the staff was rude and very un-attendant to basic needs, our room was very small even that I chose and paid for premium room I received the standard and charge for the other, I will never stay here or recommend this hotel not very "SPG " February 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again I booked this hotel specifically because of its location and the special offered on hotels.com. There was supposed to be a $50 resort credit and free wifi. I brought it up to the front desk clerk and was told "not this hotel." I explained that I picked this one specifically and not the one across the street because of it. She said, "sorry, no such thing." I was also supposed to receive a $5.00 credit for food because we used the same linens. The credit never appeared. I was charged nearly $8.00 for using the 2 water bottles in the room that said, "with our compliments". We were offered the 11th floor because it was "quite nice and quiet". 3 of the 4 units around us had children who I am sure have never been told no. There was a gurgling sound from the fridge continuously. Some of these complaints are habit based on the other reviews I have read. There are choices people. I will choose other than ANY Westin property and suggest you do also. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The "View" First time in this Westin and I was quite happy. Upgraded to two room suite, two room bathroom and a huge walk in closet! But the view was the winner, great views of the harbor/water--what a delight. Did not eat any meals here but would return simply because of the wonderful room. December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful of Tampa This hotel is located downtown Tampa, it has the most beautiful night view of Tampa skyline and the Hillsborough River and Bay May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient The reviews are kind of harsh, I spent a few days during Summer, yes, the elevators are outdated, and the pool is a little out of the way, but the location is great, the rooms are clean, the workers are super-friendly. This hotel is a safe choice for business and pleasure. April 3, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>