The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

  • 1114 Washington Boulevard
  • Detroit,
  • Michigan
  • 48226
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older and possess proper identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 508 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect on every level! Exceptional staff in every department! The gm of this property has done a fantastic job here! Beautiful public rooms! Great breakfast! Beautiful bedrooms which are very comfortable. I was surprised how well trained and friendly the staff are. It's so clear the gm has put so much effort into the training of all staff! Will be returning here soon! July 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service needs improvement Overall this is a nice hotel that could be better if the needs of guests were more of a priority. I stayed a Friday and Saturday night. Saturday morning starting at around 5 am, I was awakened by loud beeping from heavy equipment which continued for several hours. I wasn't happy, but assumed this must be from outside construction activity and beyond the hotel's control. I went downstairs for coffee just before 9 and discovered the source of the noise was power washing equipment being used by the hotel to clean balconies. I spoke to the front desk about it, and was greeted by indifference - being told simply that it would probably soon be finished. The following morning around 8, I was in the lounge using wi-fi when someone started testing the maximum volume capabilities of the room's very impressive sound system - by repeatedly playing very loud music for several seconds, then abruptly shutting it off. Otherwise, a nice hotel in a struggling city - but I am not sure I'll be back. May 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst 4 Star The bed had brown spots, valet had to be called from my cell phone after 15 mins, the panhandlers actually do a better job than the staff. just awful February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel can be recommended in every regard We stayed in the Westin for 6 days while we were in Detroit for attending a convention. So it was great the enjoy the wonderful beds that made a perfect nights rest possible. Everything was kept very clean. The restaurants in the hotel are very good although prices were quite high. June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay, as always Over the past year I've spent considerable time in Detroit and the Westin Book Cadillac has been consistently a great hotel experience. From the hotel design, room size and cleanliness, and friendly helpful staff, I look forward to staying here December 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do Not Stay Here I was awoken by the plumbing every morning at 6:30 am. A guest SHAVED AND SHOWERED IN THE POOL !! DISGUSTING !! and the TV On Demand System did not work properly for our entire stay, Two of the Staff members were not polite? Westin is a nice chain but this hotel stunk. May 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unclean Tried to pull up in front of hotel but pizza delivery car had been allowed to park in a spot that left my vehicle back end out in the street. Room was filthy: several hairs on night stand, dust on phone beside bed, chips in couch cushions, make up smudge on bath robe. December 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Feedback I have been a great fan of SPG however my recent stay did not meet my expectations. I checked in to the hotel on Sunday night at 2 am only to find that phone in my room was not working. I had to have engineers come up to the room to fix the phone. In the following days there were many smalls things that bothered me that included getting wring dinner items delivered etc. But what really inconvenienced me was the wireless service. For two days straight the wireless network did not work as expected. The network was extremely slow. The front desk did not have a good response to the situation and did not seem very informed about the situation. February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay Very nice upgrade of an old hotel. Roast is an excellent restaurant, great food and service. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly Rejuvenated.... Our experience here was certainly one that won't soon be forgotten. This was just a short getaway for my husband and I , and our first chance to do so since our wedding/honeymoon in 2011!!! At check in I was chatting with the rep who was taking care of me and that came up in conversation..that it was loooongg overdue. She immediately "upgraded" our room...and about 40 minutes after getting settled into our room, a complementary bottle of champagne (Veuve Clicquot ) and two glasses was delivered! ! This was just the beginning of a very comfortable, classy stay. We had a great breakfast delivered to our room along with a pot of coffee and oj. Along with breakfast we opted for late check out, which allowed us to relax in room until. 4 pm! ( We had the rejuvenation pkg) only drawbacks....the maid service walked in once and knocked two seperate times after telling her we had late check out...Starbucks coffee isn't for everyone, I'd request something a little milder next time. No newspaper, but we would've only read the sports section anyhow! Thanks Westin..it was amazing! January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressionable Experience This was my visit to the Westin Book Cadillac, but it will not be my last. I was very impressed with the atmosphere from the second I walked in the door. My experience with the Guest Agents was very pleasent, from booking my reservation with Kevin, to getting checked in by Ivory. These two represent exceptional customer service. They went over and beyond to accomodate me for the long line at the front counter. Last but not least, the appearance of the room was breathtaking. I could not find one single thing to complain about during my stay. I have been bragging on your hotel since I walked in the door. I can't wait to come back to visit. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will visit again and again... Very clean room, respectful and professional staff and customer service. The way they greet you is so nicely manner. I love this hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone 5 stars. April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Premier Hotel in Detroit I worked on a project for a month in Detroit, and stayed most of the time at another hotel in the city conveniently located to my work location. After a few weeks, I moved to the Westin Book Cadillac. I wish I had made the move sooner. The Westin Hotel looks new and the renovation they did was perfect. The rooms were well laid out with plenty of space, and the bathrooms are HUGE. Staff is consistently friendly and helpful. The lobby lounge is a nice large area to sit down in and grab a drink or two from the bar. The only bad thing is that while the hotel is convenient if you're working in downtown, there is very little to do in downtown Detroit at night other than visit some of the casinos. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful First Impression Our first visit to the Westin Book Cadillac and it was impressive, indeed. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and, as SPG Gold members, upgraded to a very spacious two room suite. The room was beautifully appointed and we could not have been more pleased. The quality and look of the furnishings was top notch and we really enjoyed the large bathroom with separate bathtub and shower (with dual head). Although we did not have an opportunity to sample the food and beverage on offer, the restaurants and lounges looked busy and we look forward to enjoying on our next visit. Front desk was very responsive when we asked for a late checkout. May 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Rude The staff could not have been less helpful. I know they were busy and I was not the only guest, but I am a paying guest and you did not seem to care. June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Impressions have lasting impressions Beautiful View, Very clean and romantic! Who said you have to leave out of the state to experience royalty! August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service This was my first time staying at a Westin hotel and the service was great - from the valet, to the front desk, to the room service to house keeping. We were there to celebrate my birthday and had forgotten plates and silverware for the cake - we called roomservice and they brought up some for us no problem When they brought it up they noticed the cake and wished me a happy birthday. About 15 minutes later another room service came up with a bottle of sparkling wine with a card compliments of the hotel! The only thing we were disappointed in was the pool closed at 10PM. I would have liked it to be open later, with an adult only time frame. March 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel for a Westin did not meet our expectations or past Westin experiences. Having grown up in Detroit. I had a lot of fond memories of the old Book Cadillac. My wife and I were looking forward to our stay for a family wedding. Unfortunately, the staff did not seem particularly friendly or helpful when we arrived. Additionally, after check-in we stopped in your Motor Lounge for a cocktail. The room was dirty in certain areas that we initially wanted to sit in and was never cleaned after an hour of sitting. We ordered room service late one nigiht and it was incorrect. We had to ask for a shower cap. Upon our departure, in trying to print boarding passes, the printer had no paper and we could not get any staff to help load paper. Finally, a nice yourg lady printed the passes from the check-in desk. Not exactly what we had in mind as an overall experience from a Westin. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vehicle Broken into While Valet Parked I attended the Auto Show Charity preview the night of January 17, 2014. I left my vehicle with "Professional Valet Service," which is run from the Westin lobby, thinking it would be safe. When it was returned to me, the rear window was broken and the door seemed to have been pried away from the window. My expensive briefcase with many valuables, including a laptop, passport, portfolio with important papers, was gone. Nothing else was disturbed. As you can imagine, this has been very stressful and time-consuming, and most items can never be replaced. It has taken several trips to the body shop, emergency trips to the passport office, and the time required to replace the items that could be replaced. All told, the cost of damage and loss was almost $6,000, not including the cost of my time. I filled out a report with the valet, a police report, insurance reports, stolen passport reports, etc. Not sure how this happened, as the valet told me it was parked in a secured lot owned by the valet company with a security guard. The owner of Professional Valet Services, said he would reimburse me for my out-of-pocket costs. So that means I'm supposed to submit insurance claims for both auto and home. And pay higher rates in the future, which my insurance company assured me I will. He is not willing to do anything else. It seems to me that he should be responsible for damage to vehicles entrusted to his care. I raised this issue the night of the event to the Westin hotel front desk manager, Mike. He said it was the valet company's responsibility, not the hotel's. They simply rent space to the valet company in their lobby! I have emailed Mike and the Westin General Manager, Deb, but neither has responded. So I warn you about using their valet parking, as you are truly on your own if something happens while they have your vehicle. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Motor Bar Staff The hotel was great, clean, and staff were friendly. There was one staff member who went above and beyond her duties. Eunice, the server/waitress working on Saturday February 15, 2014. She was the only person on the floor, and she held her own. She was knowledgeable, professional, mature, and friendly. She was able to cover all sections on her own, and the place was packed. We asked how long had she been working there, she said with a smile "this is my 2nd week on the job." If it was me I would of been stressed out, but not Eunice (sp) she kept her cool and carried on with her work. I really want to acknowledge her for making our Valentines Day Special. February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 4star experience 5 star price Huge traffic jam at Valet with rude personal. Our room was not ready at 3:45. No advice on what to do was given other than to say come back in half an hour.In half an hour there was a line 10 people deep at the front desk. Needless to say we were not impressed with the ability of the staff to handle a large amount of people efficiently. When I finally got the chance to speak to someone about it, I got a litany of excuses, but no sense that anyone really cared. Bottom line, very disappointing experience. Note to management, while the facility is nice, it is the staff that make or break the experience. December 14, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by No hot water and no new room We booked this room as a special treat for our mother so she could attend a family event. Unfortunately, when she got back to the hotel after the event (around 11pm), she had NO HOT WATER to take a bath. Maintenance was called and the first responder worked on it for a while and left saying he would call back with status. No call. Maintenance was called again. Second responder appeared and said first responder must have finished his shift and left. Second responder worked in the bathroom for almost an hour with no success. Needless to say, it was around midnight with no resolution. With a legitimate fear that COLD showers would be required in the morning, mom did NOT sleep. Not cool and not acceptable. Question: When it was soooooooo late and a 75-year old women was in a room with no hot water, why wasn't she immediately given a new room? And, why wasn't she reassured that she would get a key for a new room in the morning to take a hot shower? In the end, after having a non-relaxing evening, unable to clean up before bed, and worrying about the prospects of a cold shower the next day, a miracle happened and she did have hot water the next morning. When she checked out, she was "compensated" with a $15 voucher for parking. For the amount of points used to get this room, it definitely did NOT provide the special treat and relaxing room that we intended. In a case like this, we probably should have had some/all of our points credited back... The sad thing is, we really want to like this hotel. We've had a couple really good visits and a couple not so good visits #loud pool area construction and odd shaped rooms with no windows#. We will likely visit again and hope to have a better experience. November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff! We were looking to purchase a soft drink after the auto show charity preview and stopped a couple employees to ask them to direct us to a vending machine. They indicated there wasn't one, but they offered to go and get us something outside of the building. One was the bell captain (who had just finished his shift but still offered to go out) and another was a young man, African American with glasses. It was very late and we didn't want to make anyone go outside - the young man (not the bell captain) told us to wait for a minute and he returned with a soft drink. It was so thoughtful and kind!! We appreciate their care and concern to get us what we needed. January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Caring Staff I stay here a lot and would be remiss if I didn't point out how responsive the staff are. On my last stay, I inadvertently gave the Valet office the wrong last 3 digits for my valet stub. The office manager, Marie, and one of the regular valets who knows me (Keenan) realized MY error and went about the task of figuring out which one was my car without ever calling me to tell my I was mistaken! They are simply great! May 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but not as good as Before I love this hotel and location, and stay here very often, but this is the 2nd time I feel disappointed. The first room I checked into had gook on the carpet, so I switched rooms, and was put in one directly across from the building being demolished across the street. In addition, simple things you expect from house-keeping were not taken care of: removing old coffee cups and replacing coffee, for example. This is my 2nd trip where the valet service was extremely slow. I also just attained Gold status and this was not really acknowledged. I like the hotel. I will return, but I hope they pick up the service back to the levels they were at a year ago. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room not what I expected I planned a surprise one night getaway for my husband and myself. I wanted to splurge on a nice hotel so we could relax and feel a bit spoiled. All of the staff we encountered were wonderful, polite, and engaging! We had a great time at the hotel bar, Moto, and enjoyed drinks to watch the end of the Tigers game. The location of the hotel is perfect and within walking distance to great places to eat and drink. I was a bit disappointed in our room as far as comfort. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were flat. I was very much looking forward to experiencing the Heavenly bed I had heard so much about! We have a toddler so we look forward to extra sleep! Each time the heater clicked on during the night it made a constant rattling sound so neither one of us slept that soundly. As far as the Heavenly shower (which I was also looking forward to!) did not meet expectations. The water pressure was low and when I turned on the extra shower head for the Heavenly effect - it made absolutely no difference except the water pressure became even more weak. The last thing that disappointed me was the TV. After we had a nice dinner out we just wanted to relax in the room. As the night went on the reception (?) for the TV became worse and worse. You couldn't see the picture because about every 30 seconds the screen became very broken up which fully impaired seeing anything. Fortunately, to end our stay the next morning our room service breakfast was excellent! The food and my latte were very good. The staff who brought it to our room was extremely thorough making sure we had everything we needed before she left. All in all - the overall comfort of our room was disappointing but all other aspects of the Book Cadillac were wonderful! April 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but housekeeping needs work Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Westin. Staff that we dealt with were welcoming, friendly and accommodating. We loved the late checkout on Sunday. It was a beautiful space for our family gathering. On the downside: charging for internet in the guestrooms seems greedy. If less-expensive competitors can provide free internet, why not Westin? About the housekeeping: though we were out of our room most of the day on Saturday, we returned at 5:00 to find our room still not made up -- we had to ask. I really appreciate the free-standing makeup mirror, but BOTH sides need to be cleaned. I wrote "Clean me" in the grime on the magnifying side, but it was still not cleaned. And the bathroom vent was coated in something gross -- mold? Dirt? You can do better. May 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement The cleanliness of the room was an issue. I am from Detroit and love this hotel but worry they are not going to keep up with capital improvements. The carpet had heavy staining to the point of being damaged and the ceiling had some significant markings as well. The staff didn't meet my expectations because they did not pick up my breakfast door hanger despite being on by 11pm. However the Service Express was super friendly and got our breakfast order up very fast when I explained the situation. Overall I love the place and what it is doing for downtown Detroit but please make needed repairs to rooms as they get wear and tear. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience My wife and I enjoyed a weekend over night stay at the Westin Book Cadillac, and it was breathtaking. I had worked as a valet at the hotel from1948 to 1954, and the experience helped me to grow from an 11th grade boy to a first year teacher and then to an educator with a thirty-nine year successful and rewarding career. I couldn't wait to see the changes made to the hotel after nearly 60 years. We took a tour of the hotel with the concierge, and everything we saw was a feast for our eyes. While I remembered the hotel with 1200 rooms, the new Book Cadillac now has 463 unique guest rooms. They are larger, fresher, modern and comfortable with handsome bathrooms, ample closet space and consideration for travelers who need outlets for electronic devises; and we can vouch for the comfortable beds! The restaurants, under the leadership of extraordinary chefs, offered interesting menus and wine lists. The Roast is one of the best restaurants I’ve ever experienced, and the oatmeal in the Boulevard Room is a surprising delicacy on its large, inviting breakfast menu. Our meals were delicious, and the service was warm and responsive throughout the hotel. We will return to check out the other dining experiences from the WBC Coffee, the Motor Bar, the Italian Garden Restaurant, and the 24 Grill to the Esquire Room and the Founders Room. The “Book��� has it all! A single weekend is not long enough to truly explore the greatness of this hotel, even with an experienced tour guide like the one we had. We happened to see a wedding party. In fact, the bride and her happy bridesmaids joined us in our elevator. We decided to look more closely at the banquet facilities and were amazed by the variety and sizes of the awesome rooms. The great Ballrooms have been reborn: the Venetian, the Crystal, and the Woodward Ballrooms are available for any kind of special event. There are also locations for large or small groups to gather for meetings or parties. We could see why the Westin Book Cadillac is the host again of so many special occasions and conventions! The hotel offers a business center, a fitness facility, a pool and a great spa; and there are several locations in the hotel where one can have a quiet drink and read or sit with a mobile device. The top five floors are like a separate world. The condominiums are home to many who prefer downtown life in the city or who live in the suburbs and enjoy a weekend in luxury with family and friends at the restaurants, theaters, opera and events. I understand that some condos are still available for purchase. We were also impressed by downtown Detroit. We were there on the weekend, and on Friday night the city was alive with people of all types enjoying themselves with food and music. Campus Martius, just outside the hotel, is a small park where visitors can see and feel the new spirit of Detroit. Ask the concierge about the wonderful locations you must visit! My wife and I were born in Detroit, and we have seen its ups and downs; but even we were surprised at the city’s change in just a few short years. The Westin Book Cadillac is symbolic of that change. The city has turned itself around and both its future and its present are bright. September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel but not ready for a big group Room and facility were beautiful, however, they were not prepared for a large group. There were only 2 people checking people in so we waited in line for over a half hour to check in and 2 out of 6 elevators were not working which made it a nightmare to get to your room. We could not take the stairs due to the doors not opening at each level (i realize that is a security issue) so it was very frustrating. For a nice hotel in downtown Detroit I would have expected much more effeciency and readiness. Fortunately, our room was ready, but several people who checked in much later than the 3:00 check in time had to wait quite a long time for their room to be ready. December 2, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 18 next>>