The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

  • 1114 Washington Boulevard
  • Detroit,
  • Michigan
  • 48226
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older and possess proper identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 510 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent as always We stay at the WBC frequently for both entertainment and business purposes in downtown Detroit. The facilities, staff and service are always excellent. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great features Everything was great and in order. Food was excllent July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel w/friendly staff From arriving at the front door you are made to feel welcome. There was a line at check-in, but staff was very courteous. Was disappointed in the prices at the restaurant especially when staying an extended period of time. Also, did not like room being cleaned at 5:30 pm. Event food not tasty. Loved the security everywhere..felt safe July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best SPG Property in Detroit I travel to Detroit for business on a weekly basis and have stayed at the Book Cadillac over a two dozen times, 40+ nights. This review is based on all of my stay experiences at the hotel: Pros: +Front desk and concierge staff are always professional and responsive to my requests +Rooms are generally in good condition and housekeeping do a great job with cleaning the rooms. I use Green Choice for the bonus points. +Roast Restaurant in the lobby is one of the best restaurants in downtown. Room service food is also very prompt and generally pretty good. Cons: -Valet is hit and miss, the wait could be 20 minutes if your forget to call down in the morning. -Concierge lounge has limited hours (not open on Monday and weekends) and the selection of food/beverage is limited. -SPG suite upgrades are rarely offered automatically. The hotel is very popular with frequent travelers and I suspect they don't have enough suites to upgrade all the Platinums let alone the Gold. However, the few times that I did specifically asked for a suite upgrade, the front desk was able to accommodate it. -High speed internet speed could be really slow in the evening. (You have to pay for internet unless you have SPG status). July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by dissapointed We check in I am a platinum they do not give us the suite, check and a suite was available unfortunately had to run out for bus dinner. Next day left early for meeting 4pm my room was not done. Called SPG complained that a suite was avail and I should be changed rooms to my suite. Mgr calls changes me to a suite, Why don't the hotels follow spg policies we have waited long to get this status. This is not the first time this happens. Looks like SPG should punish hotels not following what spg advertises\. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great downtown location Excellent service all around. Staff extremely helpful and they care about their work. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elegant and Safe This hotel has been beautifully renovated by Westin. It's reflective of an elegant style from Detroit's earlier days and is located in the heart of downtown. The hotel provides a safe environment and was a bustling center of activity. The Motor Bar is exceptionally lovely. Our room was very nice and provided a beautiful view of Detroit's skyline. (Yes, downtown Detroit has some desolate areas but also has areas with families and business people moving about the city). The parking ramp behind the hotel was a good place for overnight parking. The city's great museums and athletic venues are a few minutes away and enhance a visit to downtown Detroit. Would highly recommend staying here! July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Excellent The Westin book Cadillac is the nest in Detroit.... Large nice rooms, excellent facilities and superior service, even better than the usual Westin service.... July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Downtown Delight The Westin Book Cadillac is a great hotel and Westin should be applauded for the renovations it completed on this building. My wife and I stayed here for a Saturday night, and could not have picked a better place to stay. Check-in was quick and efficient, with the front desk confirming (without prompting) that I was a Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) member, and giving us a great room on the 17th floor. The room, 1701, was a little walk from the elevator, but had a nice view and a good layout. The hotel has great restaurants inside, but we choose to head to Woodward, and eat at a couple of the restaurants there. Next time, I would like to try Roast which was pretty busy on Saturday. Valet parking might not be worth it (self park can be quicker than valet). Pool area was ok, but not conveniently located. That being said, overall this hotel does the little things correctly (staff saying good morning as I passed by, asking if I wanted the folio emailed or paper copy slid under the door, recognition for being an SPG member, etc) . All in all, I will definitely be back. This building's renovations truly bring the hotel up to date and take guests back to the Book Cadillac as it was in its heyday and where it is going in its future! November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Room The room was very clean and spacious. The decor and furnishings were very nice and accommodating. I will definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again!!! July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definitely has some perks that we enjoy The hotel: We love the bed, shower and a special check in process that we had received. Every one was kind as well as professional except the waiter at the outside portion at 24th grille. Served 2 other couples consistently, yet never approached us, We were very disappointed that the potential of wearing Tiger gear my have noted that we were unworthy - even though I had stayed their multiple times over the years, At end of night, waitress in inside of bar area to the right of check out was extremely nice and would appreciate her disposition at every meal July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not to my expectations I fell this hotel could and should be run better. July 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible treatmeant Arrived two and a half hours after check in and our room was not ready. The clerk said he would call us when the room was ready. Never heard from him and we had to get to our show. So not only was our room not ready but we couldn't get refreshed for our show and from the 2 hour drive it took to get to the hotel. I called and asked about our room and they said it was ready 2 hours after we checked in the first time. This is so unacceptable, I paid $247 a night for horrible service and a few hours. They wouldn't even take our bags to the room, I had to go get them at 1 in the morning. I had planned on staying here for my birthday in June because we want to eat at Roast. But now I will not be back and I am telling everyone I know not to stay here. I understand being busy I own a business myself, but this was a very bad time. December 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by DO not publish as a review - this is feedback for the hotel Would like to see the new machines in the fitness center have the TV channels programmed into the interface so that we can see them when we want to find a particular cable channel or network. Would like to see some reasonably priced food in the hotel. Prices in the bar, 24 and Roast are all similar. Make one more moderately priced!! July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel ...but..... I stayed overnight for a quick holiday get away. The hotel is very nice. The room was great, clean, and rather spacious. The only problem was when I received my final bill there was an additional night of valet parking charged to my credit card. I was kind of shocked that the bill summary clearly showed that I checked out at 11:52 AM so how could I have an overnight parking charge? I called the hotel and was directed to another department where I could leave a message and they would get back to me within 3 DAYS!!!??!! I wish I could overcharge my customers and hold on to their money for 3 additional days. Now in fairness, perhaps the recording allows for weekends. On the same token, this is not rocket science and somebody at the hotel should be available and able to handle what is an obvious mistake at any time. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by energy of all staff for hotel and detroit night prior to arrival supervisor assured would have access room with walk in shower. arrived in room toilet was "running" checked to determine would not flush reported and was fixed within in 20 minutes. service bar locked and inoperable. called to find out how to use was wanted to store yogurt. was told they would send up refrigerator at no charge. refrigerator never arrived and was not told not available. did not find ice bucket to use as alternative.used dry cleaner bag . ice room dark and not sure was operating. got ice and placed in blue recycle bin. did appreciate response of all staff and enthusiasm of staff. June 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No response from management Clean and excellent hotel with the exception of my 10th floor stay. Important meetings and two nights in a row around 2AM both nights I wake up to loud laughter, yelling and people talking. I checked out in the morning what I thought was a stairwell but it is where staff change takes place with no regard for their guests and when I called reported this the second night they laughed and shined a light in my room???? The morning I left I asked for a manager but no manager was onsite at 8:30AM?? so I left my card so they could call me. No phone call. Glad our corp headquarters has other hotels in the area for my next trip to Detroit. September 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service but facilities and comfort needs to be improved The Book is a very convenient hotel for me and the service is Excellent as I would expect from any Starwood family hotel. I recently had the privilidge of staying at the DTW Westin and I must say the bed and facilities appear to be in remarkably better shape. I realize some of this is likely driven by the amount of traffic through the Westin Airport (higher revenue means more funds to upgrade ammenities with), however, I encourage the Westin Book Cadillac to take stock through a random sampling of their rooms and start replacing towels, comforters, sheets and older mattresses as deemed necessary. I think it will greatly improve the preceived quality of this pretty solid hotel. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 Service is slipping..... I use to always rate this property 5 stars, but it has lost it's edge. The property is still stunning, and in a wonderful location. However, I called service express twice - they never came. Once I requested the room safe be unlocked as it was locked when I checked in, once I requested a bottle opener. Neither were responded to. Then the room was not serviced, I had not requested the green choice. I had to go to the front desk - I requested new towels, water, and coffee. They set them in the room by the front door while I went out to dinner. The club lounge is not open on weekends, and cannot even be accessed to use the computer except during its very limited hours. To end on one positive note, Alam who works in the club lounge during the week is awesome!! He was able to secure a bottle opener for me. Great property, but service doesn't even come close to minimum Westin standards. July 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outstanding property, with excellent people reprsentating the property All needs were met. Jeff VArley is an outstanding representative July 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Whole Stay Upon our checkin both rooms were not ready. A dirty tray with 3 glasses were found in the one room. One of the beds was covered with a "rag" that they called a bed sheet. At the bar we were told to make sure we clean up after ourselves in the general seating area. Staff was very rude and unpleasant. A VERY BAD experience. December 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommend!! I have stayed at The Book Cadillac several times, usually when attending a sporting event downtown. Being so close to Ford Field and Comerica Park is great you can walk to the games. The beds are Amazing!! after a day at the game. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reported issues The room was nice. I could not get the air conditioning to stay on. When I woke in the morning and used the bathroom vanity I noticed small bugs crawling everywhere! I was disgusted. They were in my tooth brush case, crawling all over the counter and everything on it. They quickly retreated when the lights were left on. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great features but lack of responsiveness I forgot my ipad charger in the room, I called the same day at 10pm (we did checkout at 3pm), it took me 3 more calls and another day to finally have someone calling me back mentioning they were not able to locate the charger. This small issue writes off some of the very good quality of the staff hotel and features. As a GOLD member for the 4th years in a row I was definitely expected more service on this issue. Any commercial gesture will be welcome. July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory From the look of it May 2012 was not the month to stay at this hotel I am clearly not the first guest to have issues this month after looking at the other reviews. Front desk seem to not care at all about my needs or wants. I emailed the hotel after we left to see if I could cared that I was unhappy, but all I got was a email telling me "We have every room inspected by a supervisor and have one of the highest housekeeping scores in the company" Good for you, but that does nothing for my issues. May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Birthday treat This hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. At check-in they asked if we were there for a special reason. When my husband told them it was for my birthday, they upgraded us to a suite which was very impressive. We had a fabulous meal at Roast and a great night's sleep in our lovely room. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Exceeded our expectations The room and the view were awesome, it was very clean, spacious, luxurious and we had a view of the Detroit River. We will be back! July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Detroit Westin The stay was due to a family illness, maybe the mood had something to do with this evaluation. The only areas that were below the norm, was the room service, everything else was great. The car service was especially helpful, them helping with a dead battery. November 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfectly located, comfortable and accomodating staff We used the Westin Book Cadillac in Detroit, Michigan for guests of my son's wedding. The location is perfectly located for many Detroit Venues. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were large with awesome views and the beds were beyond comfortable! I would definitely recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay and am looking forward to returning in the future. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Wonderful Place The beautifully restored property is always a treat to stay at. Nice SPG recognition. The location is great, right downtown Detroit; can walk to the FOX, Comerica Park, Cobo, etc. March 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>