The Westin Washington National Harbor

  • 171 Waterfront Street
  • National Harbor,
  • Maryland
  • 20745
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 211 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location. I rate this hotel as average. Free Wi-Fi and better TV cable is needed. October 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great shower and view but the smell will send you running We changed our room a couple of times but each room still had an odor. After being in the room for 10-15 min, you get used to it but who knows what you are breathing in! Additionally, we had sub-par customer service. We have stayed at many SPG properties and we've never had any issues. Although we had the above issue our getaway wasn't totally ruined because we had an awesome view of the Potomac and the dual head shower was outstanding! December 31, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not meet Westin standards When I arrived, my sheet were stained. The front desk told me it would be easier to move me out of my corner room to a room in the middle of the hotel, and the middle of a party. I preferred to stay in the location, it took several attempts to find the right sheets. My second night, I place the "green tag" on my door. I though it meant, don't change the sheets (as they had just been changed), but it meant NO housekeeping services. When I discovered my room unkept, I asked several time to have it at least straighten-up, and nothing was done. On my last night, all my pillow cases were stained, and had to be changed. They had no customer service recovery in place. October 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty Dirty When I arrived and found the sheets to be stained, house keeping said it would be easier for them to move me, then clean. I had a corner room, and they wanted to move me down the hall, in the middle of a party block. They finally changed the sheets, after several failed attempts to find correct fitting sheets. Since my sheets had just been changed, I set out the green card, thinking it meant I didn't need my linens changed. WRONG, it means you don't want any service. When the staff told me of MY error, I asked to have my room at least cleaned, trash taken out, etc., it never happened. Skip ahead a day, ALL my pillow sheets were stained, this after the weekend manager of house keeping said he would personally make sure my room was cleaned every day. Disgusting. October 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Thanks so much for making our stay so wonderful. Front desk especially Ahmeid were always on top of needs, exceptionally friendly and went above and beyond. Hotel is absolutely beautiful. Love the showers and the comfortable beds. The views of the harbor were absolutely beautiful. Area is convenient, relaxing and i will definitely be back. September 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Perfume is not the same as clean air We were very pleased with our initial interaction with the hotel staff. As with most Westin hotels, we were also pleased with the contemporary decor and 'cleanliness' of the common areas. However, our first room had a musty smell. We weren't sure if it was mold but it resembled a mold like smell. We requested a new room and the staff promptly and courteously did so. Unfortunately, the 2nd room had a similar smell (but not as strong). Housekeeping was sent to "spray it down" and that left the room with a hybrid 'fresh' and 'musty' smell. We would have stayed with that room but the housekeeping manager said he could find a room without the smell. That room (3rd) did have a better smell (far less musty). We were pretty sure that the room was 'sprayed down' beforehand but it was bearable because we used other air fresheners throughout the 2 day stay. Pleasantly, though, that room did have really great window and view of the harbor and evening fireworks. We still had an enjoyable time at National Harbor that weekend. We would consider staying in this hotel again at a decent rate and if the smell issue can be identified and resolved. November 30, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just Ok... Hotel was BLAH...boring. The color scheme "dull gray" was depressing. The room had a very bad musty odor. The furniture looked like had been through some ruff times. This hotel needs a make over. The food/resturant high priced and boring. The National Harbor is an exciting place. The Westin should be too! I can not recommend this hotel to my friends. However, if you just want a place to lay your head after a long day give this place a try. August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent property and room; staff needs some work Upon arrival, the line was very long and there was only one agent working. Although there was an SPG Preferred check-in, it was useless with only one rep. After waiting about 10 minutes for check-in, the agent did apologize for the wait. I was assigned the traditional room I had booked as no upgrades were available due to the hotel being full. It did not appear that any pre-blocking was done for Platinum as the agent appeared to assign it on check-in. Overall, the room was clean and comfortable... no complaints there. The first morning, I asked the front desk to call us a taxi as there were none out front. I found it odd that he reached into his own wallet and took out a list of numbers and appeared to call direct cell phones of drivers. A taxi pulled it up and it was a horrible experience. When returning to the hotel that evening, I spoke with the front desk people, but they really didn't take an interest in it saying that they can't control the taxis. I understand that, but my point was for them to avoid using that particular company (or driver), but they didn't seem to get it. Basically, brushed me off. Oh well! Also, the valet service was slow and not attentive. Also, it was very awkward to use because there is no driveway. I will not be back at this hotel strictly due to the service. They were just not on par with other Westin properties in which I've stayed over the years. July 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was unsatisfactory I was super excited to get out and stay in the beautiful Westin hotel! I was pleasantly surprised to not enjoy my experience from start to finish. We were celebrating first night out without our new baby. We weren't greeted when we entered or ever exited the hotel. We had to switch rooms twice and almost a third time. They delivered the incorrect food to us based on our previous complicates. The first time I called to change room, I was told she would change rooms. Then I was hung up on. The internet was weak and didn't work. We then tried to go to the pool, our keys turned red. We had to visit the front desk a third time for help. The housekeepers were very friendly and accommodating to us! I was unfortunately not taken care of or felt my money was worth the stay we had. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was a great Stay We live about an hour away and our family wanted a nice local vacation during my daughter's spring break. The location was extremely convenient, few doors down to great restaurants and stores. Front desk was accomodating and when we asked to replace a broken remote, they did so right away. Restaurant staff was extremely friendly and view was great. Ahmed , the manager, was very friendly and helpful. There was a small sand area for my little one to play in and she loved it. Boat tours are right outside the hotel and we did not go since it was a little cold. April 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor internet service and staff responsiveness During my third stay this year at this property, I was EXTREMELY dissatisfied with the service. I am a business traveler and I require internet access to my room. I was a guest in Room 213 and had poor connectivity during my entire stay. On day 3 of my stay, I had NO SERVICE AT ALL. Beginning at 7:00am I attempted to use the WIFI connection with no success. After 45 mins on the line with tech support, it was discovered that I could only gain access on other floors of the hotel. As a Starwoods member and frequent guest of Starwood hotels, I was shocked and disheartened by the lack of care and concern shown by hotel staff. That same day, I was attempting to reheat food that I purchased at a nearby restaurant and the hotel restaurant failed to accommodate, but I was told that the hotel would provide a microwave to reheat food. I received a call from staff that there was no microwave. There was no genuine effort or proactive response to correct the situation so that I could function as any other business traveler in 2014 who expects basic amenities such as wireless access or the ability to warm food without having to work in the hallway of the hotel or throw out my meal. Most disappointing was the fact that no one on staff found it important to go the extra mile for a Starwoods member. Very uncharacteristic I thought of the Westin Hotel. Terrible service. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic staff, beautiful venue, some inconveniences First, it's important to know I used Priceline to book this room just ten days prior to arriving and was not a "rack rate" customer. That said, I was a little taken back by my room pass cover marked clearly with "Priceline" on it. I was there for seven days and damn, that's an investment that should not matter a bit if I booked it on Priceline or paid the rack rate. I prepaid almost $1,000 for this stay, that's serious money in any economy. When you book on Priceline, you get a street facing room, and you pay for Internet by the day, despite your longer stay. That doesn't feel right. Upon arrival I immediately noticed that the prior guest had left their toe nail clippings all over the floor, and their dark hair all over the bed and bathroom. My hair, what little has not abandoned ship, is white. This is where I saw the best side of the front desk staff. I went to the them and asked to vacuum the room while I went around the corner to CVS. I was gone for twenty minutes and when I returned, you could have done surgery in that room it was so clean. Every interaction with this front desk crew was similar. They are responsive, professional, polished and anticipating your needs. The venue is spectacular and this staff is at par with the surroundings. The room service menu is similar to most Westins, but the staff is similar to the front desk team. Your food comes hot. Every nuance I asked for was met flawlessly, from asking for honey with my muffin to two forks to share a snack with a colleague. The food itself, wonderful. I live in the desert and on the west coast. We have air-conditioning. The rooms in this Westin do not; they use a chiller. That's probably OK most of the spring and summer, but when the humidity outside was 50-75% and the temperatures over 90, this room could not be kept cool or comfortable and it was tough to sleep. Everything from your clothes to your papers wilt. I was actually thrilled to head over to the Gaylord Conference Center and be in air-conditioning as much as I could. So again, the staff and venue are unbeatable. The initial room cleanliness I believe was an anomaly. The moist rooms make it something to think twice about depending on humidity and OAT. I would suggest to the Westin team to not differentiate on room rate, and be sure not to point it out. If you are going to put some rooms on Priceline, buck up and give them a great room. They'll probably come back and that's really your goal, isn't it? July 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel should not be part of SPG unfortunatley this hotel Westin Washington Harbor really let me and my sales team down with poor service , rooms that needed to be cleaned better and the staff un attentive to customers needs.The hotel is Very noisy and after requseting a room change the management let me down the first night, offered compensation and never came through. As an SPG member i was very upset and had very poor sleep while at a important conference in town. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for a business traveller The property looks nice but some services that a business traveller prefers were not available. No fresh brewed coffee before 630AM (even ordered room service for 6AM but didnt show up until 630AM). Room looked nice but I stepped on a sliver of glass in the bathroom after my shower. Called housekeeping to ask for it to be vacuumed--no apology and Im not convinced they actually did it. Location was good for a conference in the area. I arrived at 2PM and room was not available. Newspapers not delivered. April 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Indifferent Staff; Poor Cleanliness; Room Service Never Came -- Indifferent staff at front desk flatly refused to honor my guaranteed reservations, even with my fulyl printed copy in hand. Eventually “agreed” to look for a room for me. Hotel falsely claims “on-site” parking, it is actually a multi-story public parking garage about a block away – you have to wrestle your luggage down very crowded city sidewalks to get to the hotel. -- Carpets in my particular hallways and room were worn and stained, with small bits of litter here and there. Room had been poorly vacuumed and there was even a dirty sock under my bed. A dirty wash cloth had been used to cover over the bathroom vent, and from the soiled discoloration, it had probably been there for many weeks. -- Wireless phone by bed was unplugged and totally dead. Ordered room service from desk phone at 10:45pm (simple BLT sandwich), but by 12:30am, it still had not come (1 hour 45 minutes), so I called to inquire and was told he “had just came on duty and knew nothing about it.” I was so deeply disgusted, I just went to bed, but I really would have liked to have had some supper first. -- When I checked out, I asked why they had not credited my Starwood Preferred points, so they then finally agreed to do so. After listening to my very long list of substantive complaints (some not included here), the clerk (same one who had checked me in and refused to accept my reservations) offered to “comp” my breakfast and also my parking. Felt a bit better about things until I went to use the “comp” parking ticket he gave me, only to repeatedly get an “invalid” display. I ended up paying out of my own pocket after all. ++ On the very limited “positive” side, breakfast at the Sauciety Restaurant was okay. Limited menu, but well prepared, and a good setting looking out on the National Harbor. I am an experienced & very heavy traveler, and I do fully understand that things can go wrong sometimes, even at the very best of hotels. But what upset me the most was the poor state of cleanliness and the indifferent, incompetent staff. I absolutely would NOT recommend the Westin at National Harbor to anyone. Frankly, I am a bit surprised it is included it in the Starwood group. My other Starwood experiences have been truly excellent. August 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Housekeeping Would not recommend this hotel and will not return. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Location My hotel stay here could have been better if my check in process was handled differently. I reserved my 2 rooms over the phone and made sure that I had to joined rooms but when I arrived for check in I had to wait 30 mins because of an error code on my reservations and then wasn't given the two joining rooms that I had reserved. If I would've known that I couldn't get the rooms I reserved I would not have made the reservation. Also, the representative said that there was a Kids club at this site and when I asked I was told that the site didn't have one because they are smaller. That was also dissappointing. Other than the not so good first impression, the rest of the stay was fine. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel was nice but not the service The hotel itself was nice and in a beautiful location, however I was dissatisfied with the service. I came back to my room at the end of my day to find the door ajar. I called the front desk and they did nothing about it and didn't even seem worried about the cleaning person leaving my door open for anyone to come in. I will not return to this hotel. September 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WESTIN NATIONAL HARBOR ROBBED ME OF MY VACATION EXPERIENCE SELECTED THIS HOTEL FROM A LIST FOR OUR CHURCH WOMENS RETREAT JUST TO HAVE A HARBOR VIEW. WILL PAY THE EXTRA COST. CUSTOMER SERVICE PROMISED, HOTEL DID NOT DELIVER AND TOLD ME THE CALL CENTER ALWAYS PROVIDE DIFFERENT INFO. ALSO NEED ROLL AWAY, NOT PROVIDED AND NOT TOLD UNTIL 11 PM THAT NIGHT. THEY DID NOT CARE! May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Stay Terrific service all around, from the front desk to housekeeping. Was upgraded to a rather spacious suite (rooms ending in X35) with water views from the living room and bedroom and the separating corridor. Only knock was an ugly stain on the carpet in the living rom. February 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy ride to Old Town Alexandria This location is perfect for a quick trip to Old Town Alexandria via the water taxi. Excellent facility, comfortable rooms, excellent staff. Not near the Metro so you will need transportation to get to a station. There is a shuttle to Alexandria that runs periodically for a fee. Be careful of the taxis that are out front. Some are scammers and the rate for the same route has ranged from $11-$30 (4 miles) depending on the driver. Often their meters are "broken" or they simple manipulate the meter to add a charge. Definitely not regulated well by the city. This has nothing to do with the hotel, but it is something to be leary of. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and fantastic view. March 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Okay I have stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions. Due to my business travel I always pick this hotel and I was disappointed on this stay. The staff whom are normally friendly and upbeat were dry adn unsocialble. I called for help with my bag and my car and waited 30 minutes with no service so had to carry bags down myself. I had to wait over an hour and half for my food which i ordered at bar from restaurant. Not sure what was going on but this was not an enjoyable experience this time. Because of the other times that I had a great stay I will chalk this up to a bad day but the price of the hotel and location no guest should experience this ever. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-so When we arrived at the front desk, the woman did it greet us. I had to say to her, how are you today. She neglected to tell us that we needed a key to access our floor. When we entered the room it had a funny odor. Then the breakfast that was included with our stay, was a terrible. We both ordered an omelet with hash browns and toast. I asked for wheat and received rye. The hash browns on both of our plate were COLD not warm but COLD. Then to add insult to injury the hashbrowns smelled like cigarette smoke. Both orders of hashbrowns were like ths. They offered to Mae more and te second batch was. Warm but try had te same terrible smell. July 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A so, so stay On the spur of the moment my wife and I decided to spend New Year's eve at the National Harbor location, and at premium rates I would imagine. This was our first time with the Westin chain. Check-in was quick and easy. Upon entering our room there was a defintite musty odor to the room. It was just noticeable enough that we went to the CVS around the corner to buy a scented candle. After dinner out we came back to our room to take in a movie before going back out. Well, after few minutes in to the movie we lost connection. I called the front desk and the clerk advised there was problem with the video system and to try again a little later. So we decided to give to the downstairs bar a go. We sat at a table and were initially greeted by the hostess/bartender. I asked her to give us a minute to decide on what we wanted. It turned in to twenty minutes. Now mind you the bar area had perhaps 10 patrons at the most. We finally placed our 2-drink order which took another 10 minutes to come to our table. Fast forward to another 30 minutes, drinks done and no one checking on us for refills.. Could not get the bartenders attention, she was too busy singing to herself and others. This bar was the ideal location my wife and I wanted to spend New Year's eve, away from the maddening crowds and believe me there was no crowd here, how perfect.......except for the service. It was practically non-existent. Perturbed I walked up to the bar, cashed out and we retired to our room. We gave the movie another go, but still no dice. Sorry Westin, but we won't be staying here again nor make any reccomendations. January 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The weekend manager was extremely unaccomodating I have frequented this hotel on numerous occasions. The staff is usually extremely friendly and eager to please. However, this time there was a new manager by the name of MIa who was overly unaccommodating. Usually when I stay at this hotel I am able to get a specific room. However, this time I was told that the room was occupied so I would naturally have to stay in another room. I was on a weekend retreat with my fiance for my birthday and the only rooms available were those with double beds, although I had reserved a king size. I paid for a view and was given rooms with HORRIBLE/NO view. Mia kept saying that there was nothing she could do & that it was the Westin's policy to not change rooms if it was not up to guest standards. There was no microwave in the room and when my fiance wanted to heat food up during the middle of the night he was told by an employee that as per the manager they could not be of assistance and he had to go to the gas station to utilize a microwave. At the end of the stay I requested a late checkout of 4pm as a Starwood Preferred Member and due to the inconveniences during my stay. MIa once again advised that company policy did not allow late checkout and that we would have to be charged if we stayed any later. My fiance agreed to pay the extra monies. When we were exiting the hotel to get some lunch, Mia shouted from the front desk whether we were checking out, if not we would have to be charged (as was already settled earlier). Overall the weekend was an UTTER disaster and had it not been for the "manager" Mia, I KNOW from past experiences that my stay would have been MUCH better. As a "manager" Mia did not try to accommodate us as guests and she was unwilling to compensate for any inconveniences or situations that arose. April 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room needed to smell fresher for the price. Room needed to smell fresher. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Over-priced Our 1st night was horrible. There was a party on the first floor and it sounded as if the DJ was in our room. We called down to the front desk and was told there was nothing they could do, and the party was scheduled to end at 11pm. We packed up and went to front desk where we were offered another room. This room was quieter, however, we lost the view we had paid extra for. Overall, the rooms are not very sound proof. You can hear people in the halls as well as the rooms next to you. I could hear the children in the room next to me at bedtime, plain as day! Also, there was a vent in the bathroom that could not be turned off. July 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A splendid reward stay We were warmly greeted and upgraded to a water view room at no charge which was a nice way to start a rewards stay. We enjoyed a great river view and a very comfortable and clean room. There was plenty of room for our massage table which we brought along. The hotel is pretty centrally located in National Harbor so it is a short walk to all kinds of dining and entertainment options. We strolled around on the nearby wharf and enjoyed the party like atmosphere on a Saturday night in National Harbor. The only challenge was very limited curb access -- there is a small cutout in front of the hotel (holds maybe two cars at a time) and we had to unload our massage table. December 29, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG DOESN'T MEAN MUCH OF ANYTHING I added one night extra to my reservation at the last minute and received no discount, or at least what I was paying for the other two nights, approx. $50 difference....more. I went to take a shower at midnight, prior to turning in for the night, only to find I had NO hot water. The staff was also nice enough to give me the room right on the other side of the elevator so I could hear the ding...ding...ding...all night! When I told the front desk about the lack of hot water I received an apology, nothing more. How about free breakfast or something. I guess hot water would have been another $50 more. Ohhhh, did I mention I was an SPG member? SOME PUNK GUEST????!!! September 2, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>