The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 404 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over expected! A friend at work talk about this hotel a few weeks before i booked mine. I was looking for something not far away from the big apple. surprise...It's not just beside the big A, it's really more than that...Nice place, with a A1 services for many things. I will be back to that place and recommanded to my friends n family. Bravo! December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very consistant Each of my stays at The Westin in Jersey City have been very pleasant. The service is always first class and professional. The rooms are good size and always clean and ready. December 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable Rooms, Great Restaurant but Disappointing Staff I stayed in this chain in Seoul a year ago and was really impressed with the service. So when I visited New York to celebrate my birthday, I chose a Westin as I wanted good service. The Westin in New Jersey was great but unfortunately, I was rather disappointed with the service staff. The Good:The room was great, had a partial view of NY. Bed was really comfortable. The restaurant was fantastic and we enjoyed our dinner very much, the food was really delicious. The Bad: Service staff needs improvement. We stayed for 5 nights and on the first 4 nights we were given 2 bottles of complimentary drinking water. However, on the 5th night, housekeeping did not replenish the drinking water. When I called housekeeping for the water, I was told that they will only provide 1 complimentary bottle and there's a charge for the 2nd bottle. I'm not sure why housekeeping informed me so, as every night 2 bottles of water (each with a tag stating that it is complimentary) were placed next to the coffee machine. It is also not mentioned anywhere in the in-room menu and folios that only 1 bottle of water is complimentary! Housekeeping doesn't seem to know much about the rooms. On my first night, I had requested for a hot water flask so that I could boil some water. Housekeeping sent an electric flask of an European model with an European adaptor. The power voltage of the flask was also different from that of America's! As such, I wasn't able to plug in to any of the electric points! On my first day, when we were in a conversation with the conceirge for maps and directions, he interrupted himself to say hello and greet another guest! Seems like some guests are more important than others! December 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than I expected I was given a room on the third floor next to meeting rooms with handicapped bathroom, no tub or standard shower. The room was very noisey as there were functions just down the hall in the meeting rooms. I did not receive maid service until after 5:30 PM on Thursday evening and I was trying to work after a long day of meetings at the hotel prior to going to dinner in the hotel. Our dinner that evening was also less than desired or expected, the service was very slow, and my food when it did come was not hot just luke warm. I was not impressed at all and I would not recommend staying there again. I expect better when I stay at a Westin! December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Executive Director wonderful corporate location, quiet Zone walking distance to top fancy stores in the Mall, close by subway to Time Square beautiful Restaurant Oak Great quality of food and service December 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Newport Westin is a good bet The rooms are nice and bathrooms have latest Westin fixtures. Staff is friendly and professional. The place is next to the Newport Center Mall and steps away from the PATH trains to NYC. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost Excellent Hotel is very well located and the front desk staff was very friendly, courteous, and professional. The downside: 1- restaurant service was so deficient I left and had breakfast somewhere else 2- junior suite did not have slippers and the bed linens did not look well ironed, giving me a feeling as if someone had laid there prior to my arrival December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG! Best.hotel.in.JC We stayed here for my wedding prep and wedding night. Many of our guests stayed here too. The staff is so excellent. The front desk is so helpful. Concierge, Bell-people, valet, restaurant staff are all amazing. The cleaning people are pleasant, competent and keep the place sparkling. My sister had to stay here for a week or so for the Hurricane and her family (new born baby, toddler and husband) really enjoyed their stay. I was so happy they were safe. Thank you Westin Newport! You're awesome. December 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the comfly bed! The down comforter and pillows made the sleeping experience so wonderful I didn't want to get up! November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is fantastic!!! This hotel is ideally located. Very clean and met all my expectations. They accomdated an early check-in for us however the room was little messy when we got in. I guess we could have waited a little longer and prehaps for more tidy room. November 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Is it 2012?? Stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and rooms are O.K, bed is comfortable, but why in the year of 2012 would you charge $16 for internet???? The rooms are not cheap and I think charging for internet is totally wrong. November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay, every time We have been using this Westin ever since we moved out of state whenever we're in to visit family. Great hotel, easy NYC commute, helpful staff. November 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is clean, friendly and sophisticated this hotel is clean, friendly and sophisticated. the staff is super friendly and helpful. November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Friendly We travel with our dog and when we found out the Westin was pet friendly it really made our decision to stay there...and no pet fee like so many other properties. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel only 10 minutes form Manhattan Very nice hotel. Second time in a Westin hotel and again very satisfied. Friendly staff, nice room, excellent view, coffee on the room.....except 1 minor thing, why isn't wifi not free, because 9,95 per device/per day is to high for this kind of hotel. After-all we live in the 21th century... November 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent home away from home The staff is always professional and welcoming, my rooms are always clean, comfortable and provide great views. I love this hotel. November 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel comfortable, excellent service. November 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did not feel like a Westin No hand cream, no water, empty fridge, ice cold floor, but nice facility November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, what a view ... wonderful treat Stressed prior to checking in ... entered the beautiful room and felt the stress leaving me ... Stretched out on the bed ... heaven ... rainfall shower made me want to linger longer November 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A place to go during Hurricane Sandy The Westin Jersey City provided us with a place to go for shelter during Hurricane Sandy with my family and our dogs. The hotel was kind and courteous, helpful and caring, and really helped us in a time was both painful and scary. I am eternally grateful for their hospitality, support and care. On another note, I have always received this level of care and service whenever I travel and stay at Westin's around the world. Thank you! November 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond During Hurricane Sandy I am truly amazed by the level of service that the management and staff displayed at the Westin Newport/Jersey City, during the recent Hurricane. We checked in there when we were evacuated from our apartment and had to stay there for 2 days... They constantly kept us updated on the situation -- e.g. notes/messages that we might have a mandatory evac of the entire hotel, announcements to fill bathtub in case we lose power, etc. On Monday, I went down to get dinner at the restaurant and it looked like a typical Friday night scene in a restaurant/bar. In fact, if you didn't know there was a hurricane brewing outside, the entire stay at the Westin felt almost like a vacation, as the staff were so professional, polite, and accommodating. We lost power on Monday night and they had notices the next morning that it might be several days before they regained it, so we should seek alternatives if possible. Since we couldn't go outside nor did their restaurants/cafes have power to do any cooking, they even served (free) buffet breakfast and lunch for all guests, which was an incredible and very kind thing to do. I spoke with some staff and found out that they had been (stuck) there since Friday and hadn't even been home yet, as they couldn't "leave their post" without someone to replace them, even though they had heard that a neighbor's basement had flooded and they didn't know the status of their own place. Wow! Dedicated and professional. Overall, I would give the staff and management my highest commendation and express my gratitude for the way they handled the situation and going above and beyond to make all guests feel so safe and comfortable during a time of disaster. Thank you! November 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel and fantastic calm location to visit NY We had a two double bed room with our kids just before Hurrican Sandy hit. The room and hotel are in very good condition and well maintained. I was surprised for an American hotel to offer double beds, I had assumed we'd get two Kings, but no there were doubles. The room could handle two kings no issues if they had smaller bedside cabinet between the two beds, which was huge. As my wife and I are used to a king, we kept bumping in to each other! Wifi and LAN internet is fast, you can skype without issue, downloads also fast. We chose this as it was a calmer location and less high-rise, yet still only a 10min trip on the PATH train to Manhattan, where you can then catch a subway. It is a very quiet area, which is safe to walk around with your family. Tip: you can get multi trip PATH tickets from the new stand opposite the Newport station (just 3mins walk from hotel), which lowers cost for each journey. We were recommended by PATH staff that the week long pass wasn't value if you only went in and out once per day. These 10 or 30 trip passes can be used by the entire family (under 5s free), so we just bought 10 trip passes one at a time; just "zap" it on the barrier for each person. The checkin in the hotel was okay, but as a SPG Gold member, I wasn't offered an upgrade or my welcome award. It was a quick checkin without waiting though. The housekeeping was poor with respect to replenishing face towels and coffee milk, although the room was clean; bit of a pain to have to ring up for things missing (although when they bring it up, they don't expect a tip). Breakfast is reasonably priced for a hotel, but expensive in my eye. There is a supermarket 10mins way way next to a garage and bathroom shop. We bought croissants etc to keep us going until lunch - the kids loved this. Be careful there are some expensive connivence stores tucked behind the PATH station. We use the hotel's recommend car service, Travel Car Services, for airport transfer from JFK, $120 with tip; we had a larger than normal car both time to accommodate four and suitcases. The pool and fitness centre are very good and when we went down hardly used. Nice to have the pool to yourself. There is an average Mall within 5mins walk, which has a large food hall upstairs, although we didn't try any; typical fast food. We eat a couple of times in the Fire and Oak, the onsite restaurant ; We loved the Humous starter and Parcel 41 wine. If you have burgers or steak, it's very chargrilled, not to our taste. Brandon is a fab server and lovely to have a chat with. In the end we had to leave early to miss the hurricane, which was a shame, but while there we enjoyed our trip. The hotel lists they have 3 and 5mile run routes, but these don't appear to be formal and the "long run" was less than 3miles! I recommend getting out and running as it was great running along the waterfront with the Manhattan skyline as a backdrop. Room Tip: High floor to get view on Manhattan skyline. Even the basic rooms can see it if you go by window. November 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad experience we booked a junior suite for me, my wife and daughter, when arrived there was only one bath robe. the sofa bed had no blanket, when we called the express service and told them we need a blanket, someone came up and changed the sheets but no blanket. we had to called for our slippers. We asked for DVD player they told me it's $15.00 per day, fine, but the tech spent about an hour tried to hook up and told us afterwards that there's no remote control. So we watched our soup opera DVDs, afterwards we turned back to regular TV but there was no sound. It was even funny, we were so aggrevated we sent the night with my daughter covering with the only bathrobe. The next morning, I complained to the staff (by the way no managers were available) She said she'll try to fix everything, but one more robe came and a blanket for the sofa bed. Then we rec'd a newsletter from the hotel that we might need to evacuate to a shelter. We moved in the hotel because we evacuated from our home. So we checked out and went home. This Westin is very poor maintained and personel there are not professinals, very disappointed. BAD EXPERIENCE. November 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We LOVE the Westin! My husband and I got married here in 2010. We came back to take some photos on our anniversary this year, and to get away from home fore a couple of days. As wonderful as we remembered the first experience. The staff is courteous and consistently goes above and beyond to meet guest needs. Thank you! October 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Most disappointing Westin The first Westin that I've stayed in where the room smelt of smoke. To top it off, the act of taking a shower in standing water left a lot to be desired. Call to the front desk resulted in only the room being sprayed with an air freshner and no action on standing water due to a "slow drain". October 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended The location and service meets my needs for when I am there on business. The rooms are spacious and clean. Would recommend to other colleages to stay at this hotel when on business. October 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel, but too expensive. I liked many things about the hotel, but the cost at 289 per night is too high. The view was great, the staff was accommodating, the facilities were good, but normally I would not stay there because of the price. October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No other place to stay in NYC Metro area I have reviewed this property before and will again...there is NO better place to stay in the NYC Metro area...while it may be a business hotel, if I were a tourist I would stay here due to the ease of taking the PATH train into the city...the staff is beyond compare..the beautiful Marcella and David in the evening are the absolute best...even the doormen and car valet guys are friendly...only downside is the gift shop....too high priced...just walk 150 yards to the PATH train station and guy a coke or milk...Fire and Oak is greatly improved lately as well...and the menu changes in the lobby bar are great October 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location and staff Appreciate the accessibility of the hotel to local restaurants, transportation, shopping and New York. The staff members were very helpful and professional from front desk to concierge, bell men, restaurant fron t desk person, maids etc October 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Energy Saving Program I am asupport on conserving energy whenever we can. However, your cards explaining your program are a little misleading. I interpreted it to mean my sheets would not be changed. I did not interpret it to mean no service at all. I would suggest you revisit the wording on the card left in the room as it is not clear. thanks October 15, 2012
  • 2015-04-25T18:19:44.468-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_404, tr_404
  • loc_en_US, sid_3049, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15 next>>