The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need some work When I checked in the woman had an attitude when I asked a question. The bar does not do frozen drinks. We had to wait for a while when we came in that night to check our car with the valet.The breakfast buffet was limited in their selection. August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It has a great view and good location I chose this hotel because of the great view to Manhattan and its location. It's a perfect option for a quick getaway of Manhattan, it is 15 minutes from downtown Manhattan by cab or 20 minutes by subway, which is a block away from the hotel. To guarantee a good view, you must take the Premium Room, which has also a great view from the bath (it's just a little different from the pictures on the website). I only do NOT recommend the Oak Restaurant next to the reception if you are looking for a gourmet food. Better options around the hotel for the same price. August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Property, but has a customer service problem I've stayed at the Westin Jersey City several times, including for my own wedding as well as a friend's. Each time I stayed there I felt that have been some the hotel issues with customer service. For example, when you pull up in front of the hotel, there valets just stand there until you get out of the car and walk up to them and I had to go looking for someone to grab my luggage. The hotel does not do much to recognize my SPG Platinum status. No room upgrades even when they are available. Requests to the staff or manager feel like a battle. That said, it is a very nice property and is great alternative to a NYC hotel. It's right next to the PATH to NYC as well. Overall, I would go back, but I think Starwood should look into the service standards here. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I was pleasantly surprised. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay Annie at the coffee shop went above and beyond for my daughter and me. She was absolutely wonderful and warm and should get some attention for being so attentive to your guests. She gets a gold star from us. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Restful repreive after long days Fitness center sufficed for upper body and cardio workouts. Great, healthy breakfast options in the Half Moon restaurant for a post training fuel up. Very comforting and relaxing room. July 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great View and Comfortable I'm going to start with the only con, which was the price. Other than that, the view was amazing, the tub was relaxing, the bed was comfortable, the soaps smell wonderful and the staff was very pleasant during my stay. The hotel lobby and bar areas are nicely done and the bar food is unique and delicious. July 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by not worth it Facilities and rooms as expected...staff and everyone I had to deal with, not friendly and did things as if bothered to have to do so. Once again, they acted like giving me an upgrade or the star-wood amenities was something I was stealing from them instead of something starwood encourages me to use. I've encountered this before on other hotels, very disappointing! July 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly and knowledgeable staff at a great hotel I recently stayed here for a week, and was very pleased with the hotel and the staff. I had business meetings in both Jersey City and Manhattan, so the location was ideal - having the PATH station within walking distance makes it very convenient for crossing the Hudson into NY. I was particularly impressed by Debbie at the front desk, who was friendly, professional and went out of her way to ensure my stay was an enjoyable one. July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Hotel Fantastic location in Jersey City, fabulous views of Manhattan and not as pricy as the Manhattan hotels. Very helpful and friendly staff. July 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staycation We decided to forego the holiday weekend traffic and go somewhere close. We chose the Jersey City Westin because of its amenities and proximity to our home. The hotel is great and the staff is superb. The only reason I can't give it 5stars across the board is because the pool was not heated,and though it was 100 degrees outside, it was much cooler in the area where the pool is. Getting in the freezing cold pool was a test of will. Additionally, the jacuzzi had some weird foam in it when the jets were turned on. July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location and great rooms This hotel exceed my expectations. The rooms were spacious and clean. Loved the Heavenly Shower with dual shower heads. The location was very convenient for transportation to NYC. I would definitely stay here again! July 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice for the area! When staying just outside the city is an option, take it! This hotel keeps you within driving and public transport distance of Manhattan, with 25-30% less cost. This property is excellent. Great rooms, dining options, proximity to NYC and right next to a mall. All of this and the best views of lower Manhattan! The staff is great. I always receive an upgrade, choice of amenities and late checkout. The fitness room is top notch, including the indoor pool. I always make time to take a walk to the adjacent indoor mall. I've used the PATH stop across the street to travel into the city or up to Yankee Stadium. Best of all, it's actually easy to get to all of the airports from here, as well. A great choice that will not disappoint! July 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel...but service was lacking this time around. I've stayed at this property multiple times and it is indeed a great hotel with superb location. This time however, i was not content with the overall service provided. I had a few issues when calling for service (i.e. valet, to request a food/beverage menu that was not available in my room) as i had to call multiple times or would not get an answer. Upon checking into my room one of the maintenance guys came into the room without knocking which also caught me by surprise. I do recommend the hotel and hopefully the service will be up to par next time around. June 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Past its prime This hotel is in a clear need of an infrastructural - and maybe even a staff - overhaul. I've stayed here twice now and on both occasions I had rooms on the SPG floor with rattling AC vents that keep you up at night (I didn't get the memo on when that became a platinum amenity). Repeated complaints to the front desk didn't get me anywhere - and when I tried to bring this to the manager's attention at checkout, a lady with badge that read her passion was "success" (that should've given me ample warning that this wasn't going to go well) - not so politely informed me that this wasn't worth his time. Oh well. And I was never given the points for opting into "Green choice". This hotel is a bit of a joke June 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seen better service elsewhere but average is okay right?! I recently spent three nights at this hotel. My experience overall was good but improvement was definitely there. Valet is not owned by the hotel we were told and they were horrible the night we arrived. The staff was far from friendly. No one assisted us with bringing our luggage up. After we had the cart loaded a bell hop whom watched us the entire time came over and by then my husband was far from interested in his service. I was asked about a promotion for going green and informed the staff of Wgich option I wanted yet I was sent another and during check out had to clear that up myself. June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great end to a VERY stressful day I had the privilege of trying to fly out of the NY area on a day that was full of thunder storms and a fire in one of the air traffic control centers, needless to say I didn't get to fly back home that Friday night. After scrambling to find a hotel, I was able to finally get a room here. I am a traveling consultant and spend much of my time in one hotel or another, and it is normally SOS "sorry you were inconvenienced" "Welcome to our hotel"... This visit was different, I was greeted by 2 desk agents that seemed to really care about what all had happened throughout the day. I was too tired and shocked by their concern and enthusiasm to make my day at least end well that I didn't catch their names, but I checked in Friday 06/22 around 10 or 11PM, and I wanted to say Thank You. I am sure everyone tries to be customer service friendly, but the impression left on me was that they didn't even have to try! June 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to stay in NYC area This hotel is the best place to stay in the NYC area...great view and location and a staff that is beyond expectation June 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience, Awesome Staff Wonderful stay, outstanding views. Hotel staff very professional, warm and welcoming! June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location This Westin is perfectly located just minutes from NYC and downtown Hoboken. Whenever I come to the NYC/NJ area, I stay at this hotel. I've never had a bad experience, the food is very good and the service/employees are very helpful and friendly. Only one minor complaint: rooms can get warm and the AC does an inadequate job cooling the room. June 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Extremely unhappy platinum member This is regarding my second stay at the hotel in the last year. The list of complaints is as below: 1. At check-in I was not asked if I wanted bonus points, breakfast or local amenities. 2. I was not upgraded to a suite despite the hotel being empty. I was told the room I am getting is a suite and it was not! 3. Towels in the bathroom had stains on them. 4. I had booked 2 rooms under my starwoods number but when my wife went to get breakfast, she was told she could only get it for one person! 5. When my wife was picking water bottles at breakfast area, the lady at front desk shouted at her and said if she was going to take all the bottles!!!! The manager on the floor heard it and was extremely apologetic but the damage was done!!! My family was disrespected and I lost all faith in this particular hotel staff and how it is run. 6. At Check-out, I wanted to add earth points from both the rooms to my starwoods account. The lady at the front desk told me that was not allowed!! I told her I have done that before and she should check again. She refused. It was only after I asked for Manager that the Manager came told the staff to add those points to my account. Though the Managers apologized, they did not know how to make a customer happy. At my other stays at the Westin, even if the internet was down for a few hours, they would call up and add thousands of bonus points to our SPG accounts. May 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Memorial Day Stay Super convenient to NYC and the attractions there. Staff was extremely friendly and after a couple days recognized me. Parking fee is high and banquet food is subpar, but if staying less expensive to have a great view of NYC skyline is what you want, this is the place. May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 21-25 May 2012 Westin Jersey City I always try to pick the Westin brands when traveling because of their reputation for excellence. I have stayed at Westins all over the world...all with exceptional service and quality. The Westin Jersey City has an exceptional staff who went out of their way to ensure my needs were met. I actually left my wallet sitting on the luggage assistance desk with over $200 cash in it, rode away in a taxi, and realized I had left my wallet at the desk. As soon as I returned I was greeted at the door with my wallet - nothing missing. Exceptional visit - I'll be back! May 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by always a nice place to stay I have stayed here a number of times and have enjoued my stay every time. I did notice on this visit that there was no recognition for my SPG Gold status, I had to ask for the Gold member benefit. Overall, I would say other SPG properries recognize SPG benefits better May 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pricey, but nice Rate was a bit high compared to nearby comparable hotels, but great Westin quality and friendliness! May 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful hotel Spent last weekend there and it could not have been nicer. Great view, service, only complaint is the parking fee is OUTRAGEOUS. They charge you for each day. I did not know this, and paid 63.00 for two days of valet.... May 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room cleanliness needs improvement Accessible location to Manhattan through the path, yet at affordable rate compared to hotels in Manhattan. Minutes walking to Newport shopping mall if you need to rent a car or grab a bite. However we were surprised dirty bed linens and towels in rooms.furthermore, I requested a waterfront room to celebrate our anniversary and what we got was a room with noisy surrounding sounds from elevator and service door. The view was not impressing at all, the harbor could be only seen from the far corner of the room. Restaurant staff were very friendly May 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient Business Hotel I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference and found it to be very convenient as far as access to shopping, dining and the airports/train stations of the tri-state area. The one major disappointment was the logistics of taxi service. I was told a cab would arrive at a specified time and provided the rate to Newark Airport. Unfortunately, once I was in the cab I was told that it was not the car that was booked and was quoted a rate 20% above what I expected. I heard the same from other conference attendees. Considering the proximity to Newark Penn and Liberty Int'l Airport I am surprised the hotel doesn't have negotiated rates and a fleet of cars to serve their guests. Particularly at peak rates such as $459/night. May 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, be careful with use of internet on > 1 device Hotel was convenient and lived up to Westin standards. Requested room with king size bed was not available when checking in at 5 pm - was told I had to wait for 40 min. Also, this is the first Starwood property that charged me for each connected device. Internet pricing should include at least one phone and one PC or make the pricing more explicit. April 30, 2012
  • 2015-11-24 T06:59:56.480-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-14, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_431, tr_431
  • loc_en_US, sid_3049, prod, sort_default
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 next>>