The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 387 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The view from the hotel room was fantastic!! Great hotel, great view and great service!! December 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice view, clean comfortable room, good staff. Enjoyable stay. Awesome facility and staff. I will be back. March 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Air Conditioning Air conditioning not allowed below 67??? September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Access to NYC Great friendly staff and very helpful. December 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has a convenient location parking and shopping is very easy. December 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service Friendly staff and prompt service September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great accommodations I would give it a 5 Star rating. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel comfortable, excellent service. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I was pleasantly surprised. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience The staff is very courteous March 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service, Poor AC I've stayed here once before and due to location near my client, this is the only SPG property I can stay at and get to work early and conveniently. The first time I stayed I noticed the Service Express and Front Desk are not as friendly as any other SPF properties I've stayed at (I'm an SPG Platinum for 3 years now). The service responds with basic answers in a way that says "it is what it is". The reason for this review is for the air conditioning setup. After talking with Ed (engineer) and Dave (front desk manager), apparently, the way the AC works is that once the desired temperature is reached, the entire unit (fan and AC) shut off. Translation = once you get comfortable, the AC turns off. Then turns back on once the desired temp is no longer the room temp. I'd prefer an option that keeps the fan on all night, regardless of the thermostat. I believe this is the only hotel I've ever seen that doesn't have this option. Dave basically said: We have had other guests ask this before, but yeah, I believe this hotel doesn't have that. Again, he basically says "it is what it is". I really don't think this is the best approach to being empathetic to paying guests, and also not the best AC setup. I hear the Denver Broncos are staying here for the SuperBowl. Get some rest the week before boys! Or bring your own service and AC. Also - hairs in the tub. That's not abnormal as I've seen that in other Westins as well. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst staff experience I have stayed often at this hotel, and every time the staff exceeded my expectations, besides this time. The hotel ran out of tea, and corn flakes. How can a hotel run out of it for 7 days in a row? The person who answered the service express line was half a sleep in the morning at 9am, you should be fresh to greet the guest for breakfast not put them back to sleep. However, on the last day the lady was different and sounded very enthused about meeting guest needs, great person to have on staff. But the previous days, whoever the lady was, needs to be trained to project a better experience. The housekeeping staff was great, however one negligence, I noticed a bread crumb for 4 nights in a row under the TV unit and she seemed to miss it, may be it got pushed away with the vacuum cleaner. The room service attendants who bought the breakfast were great, I believe Mauricio and the other guy with a little long hair, I didn't catch his name. The front desk staff could maintain eye contact and smile and wish happy New Years instead of reflecting to be busy when there was no one checking in. Last, but not the least, I was told that I was upgraded but my room was similar to all other rooms I have stayed in earlier, and the water pressure was not too great the first night and the bathroom was missing a push lock, I had seen these in the doors during my last stay. January 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay at Westin Jersey City The location is perfect for people who want the convenience of NYC without actually staying in NYC or paying NYC hotel prices. The hotel is about 5 mins walking from the PATH that goes right into Manhattan. As far as our stay, we parked in the $22 a night garage right next to the hotel. They also have the option of $31 a day valet parking. Check-in was super smooth. The young lady helping us said it was only her 3rd day but she did a good job of telling us about the hotel and the surrounding area. She also put us in the room on the 22nd floor for signing up for the rewards program. The room was on the 22nd floor and had an amazing view of Jersey City and Manhattan. The room was plush with the King bed with the big screen TV. The shower was pretty cool as well. Everything about the room was cool. The concierge was a little short with us but he answered the questions we asked and provided us with a map. He wasn't as warm as the young lady who checked us in but hey its the east coast where friendliness is a rarity. The other thing I was slightly dissapointed in was the lack of a breakfast. I just kinda figured with paying the amount that we paid that we would get a couple free meals out of it. Oh well, I guess I should have known that coming into the deal. Overall, if you want to stay in a NICE hotel with easy access to NYC, stay here. It is worth it. If they add the breakfast, this would be the most amazing hotel I ever stayed in. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT SPG HOTEL ON THE JERSEY SIDE POSITIVES: Great hotel on the Jersey side, beautiful lobby, great location in Jersey City right by the Newport mall, easy access to the PATH trains and the NJ Light Rail. Reasonable room rates compared to NYC. NEGATIVES: Room service is pricey, no club lounge, no free water for Platinum guests. ONE room key controls power in the entire room and if you take the key with you upon exit then the room gets super hot during summer. Taxi cab to EWR costs $45 but beware of taxis that smell horribly of SMOKE. Me and my son had to refuse the taxi that was allocated to us and had to use an alternate taxi that was smoke free. Wireless internet service is poor and you can barely watch a Netlix movie uninterrupted. ROOMS: Very comfortable and I was upgraded to a Club Junior Suite. The Westin showers are amazing. POOL: Great pool that you can enjoy with family. STAFF: Very friendly and helpful. I would like to thank DAVID for graciously checking me in, PATRICK for saying hello, STEPHEN in concierge, DEB and last but not the least ERICANDO who is a true pleasure to talk too. He took the time to greet me and my son and we have interacted with ERIC on multiple occasions. He just lightens up the mood. NEWPORT MALL: Is located next door and you can get everything there. My son and I checked out Man of Steel and World War Z at the mall. RECOMMENDATIONS: Kindly provide free water to Platinum guests, Internet service needs improvement and smoke free taxi service is needed. OVERALL ATMOSPHERE: Fun, family, weddings, refreshing. OVERALL: Its a cool SPG hotel try it out and you will love it. June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable Rooms, Great Restaurant but Disappointing Staff I stayed in this chain in Seoul a year ago and was really impressed with the service. So when I visited New York to celebrate my birthday, I chose a Westin as I wanted good service. The Westin in New Jersey was great but unfortunately, I was rather disappointed with the service staff. The Good:The room was great, had a partial view of NY. Bed was really comfortable. The restaurant was fantastic and we enjoyed our dinner very much, the food was really delicious. The Bad: Service staff needs improvement. We stayed for 5 nights and on the first 4 nights we were given 2 bottles of complimentary drinking water. However, on the 5th night, housekeeping did not replenish the drinking water. When I called housekeeping for the water, I was told that they will only provide 1 complimentary bottle and there's a charge for the 2nd bottle. I'm not sure why housekeeping informed me so, as every night 2 bottles of water (each with a tag stating that it is complimentary) were placed next to the coffee machine. It is also not mentioned anywhere in the in-room menu and folios that only 1 bottle of water is complimentary! Housekeeping doesn't seem to know much about the rooms. On my first night, I had requested for a hot water flask so that I could boil some water. Housekeeping sent an electric flask of an European model with an European adaptor. The power voltage of the flask was also different from that of America's! As such, I wasn't able to plug in to any of the electric points! On my first day, when we were in a conversation with the conceirge for maps and directions, he interrupted himself to say hello and greet another guest! Seems like some guests are more important than others! December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond During Hurricane Sandy I am truly amazed by the level of service that the management and staff displayed at the Westin Newport/Jersey City, during the recent Hurricane. We checked in there when we were evacuated from our apartment and had to stay there for 2 days... They constantly kept us updated on the situation -- e.g. notes/messages that we might have a mandatory evac of the entire hotel, announcements to fill bathtub in case we lose power, etc. On Monday, I went down to get dinner at the restaurant and it looked like a typical Friday night scene in a restaurant/bar. In fact, if you didn't know there was a hurricane brewing outside, the entire stay at the Westin felt almost like a vacation, as the staff were so professional, polite, and accommodating. We lost power on Monday night and they had notices the next morning that it might be several days before they regained it, so we should seek alternatives if possible. Since we couldn't go outside nor did their restaurants/cafes have power to do any cooking, they even served (free) buffet breakfast and lunch for all guests, which was an incredible and very kind thing to do. I spoke with some staff and found out that they had been (stuck) there since Friday and hadn't even been home yet, as they couldn't "leave their post" without someone to replace them, even though they had heard that a neighbor's basement had flooded and they didn't know the status of their own place. Wow! Dedicated and professional. Overall, I would give the staff and management my highest commendation and express my gratitude for the way they handled the situation and going above and beyond to make all guests feel so safe and comfortable during a time of disaster. Thank you! November 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by WESTIN COMFORT IN THE GARDEN STATE I returned to this SPG hotel after almost a year and stayed here for a weekend. TRANSPORTATION: From EWR the easiest way to get to this hotel is via rental car or taxi but the cheapest route is via trains. From any terminal at EWR take the AIRTRAIN to the NJ Transit Station. Board any train going to New York Penn Station, 34th street (Board only the NJ Transit trains and not AMTRAK trains as some AMTRAKS stop at this station). Once you board the train the next stop is NEWARK PENN STATION, you can get off here and then take the PATH TRAINS to NEWPORT. The other alternative is to get off at SECAUCUS which is the second stop and board any train to HOBOKEN TERMINUS. From HOBOKEN you will have to buy a HUDSON-BERGEN LIGHT RAIL TICKET and take the light rail to NEWPORT. Once you get off at Newport you can walk to this hotel. Even the PATH train station is located close to this hotel and you can walk easily to the hotel. For PATH train access you will have to buy a METROCARD that also works in New York City and on all NYC SUBWAYS. HOTEL LOBBY: Was clean and beautiful. It has a bar and furniture where you can relax. A gift shop is located in the lobby. The restrooms in the lobby are large and clean. CHECK IN: My check in was quick and easy with MICHELLE and I want to thank her. I met PATRICK who is the front desk manager. He was very courteous and remembered me from the last visit. CONCIERGE: The desk is located in the lobby and I want to thank STEPHEN for his assistance. ELEVATORS: There are 4 elevators and the floors can be accessed using your room keys. ROOM: I was upgraded to a PREMIUM ROOM on the 18th floor with a fabulous view of the NYC Skyline. The room had a king bed, two sinks, a shower and a separate tub. The room and the bed were very comfortable. The power in the room is operated by placing your room key in a slot on the wall. DINING: Upon the recommendations of STEPHEN the concierge, I dined at FIRE OAK RESTAURANT that is located within this hotel. I highly recommend dining here. The food is fabulous and it is an amazing place to dine. The decor was rich and the servers were very efficient. IN ROOM AMENITY: I want to thank the staff for providing an in-room amenity to me. I highly appreciate it. STAFF: Everybody was very courteous and helpful and I personally want to thank, MICHELLE at the front desk for checking me in, PATRICK for all his help and courteousness. DEBBIE, who I have known for all the years that I have been coming here, COURTNEY who me and my son have known (With the BERGEN COUNTY connection), ISABELLA at the front desk, MEL for personally delivering stuff to my room, ROSEMARIE for being very sweet and having a smile on her face every time she met me, CHRISTINA it was a pleasure to have talked with you and last but not the least ERIC who is one of the most favorite staff member that me and my son have known for all the years we have visited this SPG Hotel. NEWPORT MALL: Is located next to this hotel and you can easily walk there to shop. The mall has a huge AMC theater where you can watch movies. Me and my son checked out DIVERGENT and NON-STOP at the AMC theater. If you watch a late night movie then on your out don't forget to stop my MR SOFTEE'S ICE CREAM TRUCK that is parked on the road. His ice cream is the best. I love the BUTTERSCOTCH SUNDAE. NEW YORK CITY ACCESS: Just walk to the PATH Train station and you can take the trains into New York. The last stop is 33rd street and gives you easy access to Manhattan. One word of caution is be careful as the PATH TRAINS are very crowded and if you are traveling with children or strollers then you have to watch out. You can visit the WTC SITE by getting off at CHRISTOPHER STREET, and will have to walk three blocks to access the site. ROOM SERVICE: On the weekends can be busy. CRYSTAL, thank you for assisting me but I felt that you were overworked and the only individual working. This can lead to substandard customer service. It will be helpful to provide CRYSTAL with help on the weekends so that guests can be appropriately assisted. POOL AND WORKOUT: The pool and workout are amazing, CHECK OUT: Was quick and dry. I was checked out by BRITTANY and she appeared gloomy and sad with an expressionless face and I am not sure why. As I was walking away from the front desk, I met ERIC and me and my son had a great conversation with him. I truly want to thank ERIC for brightening up the day and for being the helpful and fun person that he is. OVERALL: Relaxing hotel in New Jersey with beautiful and comfortable rooms. Great for family and business travelers. Room prices are much better that NYC and the area is not as crowded at Manhattan RECOMMENDATIONS: I recommend this hotel to all travelers. It will relax you. Beautiful views of Manhattan unfold here and the staff is very courteous and helpful. March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Greatest Experince away from home From the time we arrived at the front of the property I was impressed. The day was wet from the snow, the valet was informative, kind and courteous While entering the hotel there were two gentlemen on floor detail, both with great attitudes and focused on "safety" and efficiency. We made our way to the elevator and enjoyed our stroll through the front desk area, smiles and friendly welcomes from the staff, everyone busy but aware of the new guests arrivals. When we got to the room, and opened the door, the view was breathe taking. The bed was made perfect, the attention to detail was noticed. We made our way to the lounge and the professional mixologist was very informative of the places to see and how excessive they were to get to. Then it happened I had realized I had lost one of my leather gloves. We approached the front desk area and with minutes I was reunited with my lost leather glove. GO TEAM! Once in the room and unpacked preparing for an evenings rest; we required extra pillows. I suffered a broken neck years ago; we made a requests and with in minutes, less than ten, pillows arrived, amazing speed, Thank you! I filled out a breakfast request and hung it on the door for a 7:15-7:45 delivery and challenged the culinary team with specific requests for two. I was impressed to see at 7:30 shapr our breakfast arrived, and was still HOT, and prepared exactly the way I requested. GO TEAM! We were on the 21st floor and the breakfasts we had ordered was presented to us by informative, professional service person. Well rested, the next morning we went to check out. The professional staff was so kind and courteous, thy signed me up for the SPG membership. I gladly signed up and going forward will stay at Westin Hotels and Resorts. The bar has been set and the expectations are high. I as a new customer or guest look forward to evaluating the challenge, to meet or exceed the Hospitality shown at the Westin Hotel in Jersey City My rest and experience was unmatched, I two am a Hospitality Professional, studied at The Culinary Institute of America where I acquired my Bachelor’s degree and finished in the top of my class. I truly would not only stay there again, it will be recommended the company I work for Compass -USA and my colleagues as a great place to stay while traveling. Whether it be business or personal, it will be a memorable experience. Thank you. January 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location & staff, ordinary stay Well I decided to stay at the Westin after hours of research for a decent hotel that was in a good location for a good price. I was not completely disappointed, but not overly thrilled either. LOCATION: Like the other reviews said, the hotel is in a great location. We stayed this past Friday for my 21st birthday and we were able to easily commute into NYC/Hoboken via the PATH train. Initially upon arrival, I realized I hadn't packed for rainy weather. No worries - theres a mall literally steps from the hotel with decent stores and a giant food court. Then we realized we forgot to buy alcohol! To our delight, there was a shop rite a block away that had a liquor store inside! Right on :) For the early morning hangover - no worries, there's a Starbucks within walking distance & you can enjoy your coffee down by the marina and enjoy views of NYC. Staff: I was very pleased with how friendly the staff was - especially valet & the doormen. They were willing to answer any question, and point you in any direction. When we returned from one of our excursions, the man even checked to see if we found everything ok! So pleasant :) THE ONE ISSUE I had with the staff was the apparent manager. We had requested a late checkout (2pm) and were told on several occasions that it was no problem. The day of our checkout at around 1pm the manager approached and asked if we were staying another night. We said no, and he said ok. We then went outside the hotel to talk to the valet and he followed us and asked again if we were checking out. We said yes, and he told us checkout was at 12pm - we told him about our approved request for a late checkout and he said nothing was in our notes for that. He then looked at his watch and realized it was 1:15 (We were just running to Starbucks) and he said "oh well I guess its alright then." Way to make us feel welcome, buddy! Hotel room: No views of NYC, wouldn't bother upgrading to a room with a view. It wasn't overly large, but the bed was comfy. Also, we were a bit warm in the room and tried to adjust the temperature to no avail. Loved the Starbucks coffee in the room (yes, i'm a junkie)! They also had a wine opener, which certainly came in handy! Reservation Process: Okay, so this part was a bit odd. I tried to book a room online, so I entered in all my information only to hit SUBMIT and find out their system was temporarily unavailable. No bigs, I just called - but the number on the hotel website was busy. At this point, I'm literally wondering if the website i'm is legitimate. I enter in my phone number to have them call me, and my call was apparently transferred to their call center overseas where their representatives did not have a solid grasp on the English language. But I am very patient, so I proceeded. The guy then told me his phones weren't working and he didn't know what I should do. GREAT. Thanks for your spectacular service. BILLING ISSUES: When the hotel sent me the final bill, I noticed they charged me for valet parking even though I stated over a dozen times that we had the AAA parking package. Wasn't a huge deal - they refunded me. But it's no fun learning that your lack of attentiveness could have lead to an overcharge. I HATE that. If you want to be accurate in any sector, BILLING should be top priority. Welp, overall I enjoyed myself. The area around the Westin is not under construction or congested. In fact, its rather peaceful. You're in a prime location near everything fun and awesome, but you can still take a walk at midnight and there won't be many people out on the street. Hope this review helps someone out! Have fun, be safe! July 14, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14