The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 382 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great location We were looking for a hotel in a location where it would be very easy to get into New York. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. The price was reasonable and the hotel truly top notch. The Newport PATH station is just a block away, so mid-town and downtown quickly accessible for a $2.50 PATH ride. So much better than driving into NYC and finding a hotel there. August 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Experience I have stayed at this hotel over 5 times in the last 6 months for well over 14 days. Recently, I was charged 630$ for repairs related to a bath tub that overflowed. The drain in the bath was sub-standard and when checked was clogged. I was woken up at 3 am by engineering who I let in without issue. The event took place around 9 PM and one towel was sufficient to clean up. We called Kohler who provided the fixtures at the Westin and they stated that the water should drain at rate between 14-16 gallons per minute. The next day I tested the bath on my own to check the drainage. If you were to fill the bath with the drain completely open it would fill in 7 minutes. This "flood" was clearly a result of faulty plumbing. December 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didn't meet expectations and recommendations The Westin came highly recommended from colleagues, so after staying at a variety of hotels in the area, I finally was able to book a room here. I was looking forward to the stay. However I was pretty disappointed in the room cleanliness/amenities and the hotel policy. First, the room had some stains on the carpet that would have benefitted from a quick scrub (there was clearly surface staining that could be removed and it was hard... ). I didn't have or couldn't locate an ice bucket! There wasn't a channel guide for the TV either or any information on the offerings downstairs at the bar or a la carte breakfast (I think that's what it was anyway). The kicker here is that apparently dogs can stay here? This seems like a very classy place and I'd never have guessed pets were allowed. That definitely influenced my opinion of the room and hotel. The dog was loud too, so my sleep was not good. Front desk staff wasn't too apologetic for that, but it is what it is. August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by challenged with math 20 min in check-out as my final statement was rectified; asked 4 times for a robe but never received it August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfriendly and somewhat rude staff The staff at this hotel have a very poor attitude from check-in to security. They must have great job security because they really show that "I don't care" attitude to the fullest. I've stayed at this location on multiple occasions but unless the rate is really cheap I've decided to refrain from staying here. Don't bother voicing a complaint to any supervisors either. They'll accept your complaint and then give a fake unsympathetic apology. Then off you go on your way. November 11, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is good but unnecessary charges I stayed here recently and I quite liked the room & the neighborhood. Everything as per expectations. But I am upset about the charges made to my account for rollover, which was never asked/ordered. During checkout I was told I am good. But when I checked my accounts some time later I saw that charge, even after calling them multiple times it hasn't been reverted. I am not happy with the staff responsiveness. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great city access, really nice hotel!! We stay at a Westin whenever we can, so when planning a long weekend visit to NYC, this was an obvious choice. Excellent location - a short, safe walk to the PATH train that gets you into Chelsea in less than 10 minutes. A great selection of casual restaurants, the Newport Mall, and the NJ rapid transit line are all within five minutes walk. The view of lower Manhattan from our junior suite was stunning, Staff were friendly and helpful whenever we had a question. The value versus a comparable hotel in Manhattan, is fantastic!! Without hesitation we'll be back! July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So...impressed! Wish I could have stayed longer. The staff was amazing and so... abliging. I find that rare these days. It was truly appreciated. The room was decorated very nice and the bed was comfortable. I felt safe and secure which allowed me to be at ease while I was there. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy check-in Although part of a large group the check-in process was individual, personal and pleasant. She recogonized my rewards status. Offering points for a "green stay" is great!! August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by As usual awesome experience. Everything about the Westin is Jersey City is 1st class. The staff are so nice and helpful. Fire and Oak is a great place to eat also. Location is great for whatever you plan on doing. July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stay at the Westin The Jersey City, Westin Hotel is nice but the room was not clean and it was extremely dusty. For an upscale hotel the IT services should be have been free without your own personal computer. The lobby gift shop needs some improvement and upgrades of items. The chiller is not worth having replace with a mini fridge. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location........BUT Location is very good for seeing NYC via PATH & Subway. Taxis run a little high to Theatre Dist & Times Sq areas. Easy to get to WTC, NYC, Ellis/Liberty Ferry, NYC Ferries via Shuttle Train & PATH station adjacent to hotel. Several good restaurants within a couple of blocks adjacent to hotel. Hotel room & building all good at Westin Stds. Justine at Front Desk was absolutely horrible. When approached with smile and greeting she frowned, no eye contact, and mumbled responses. Clearly no concept of positive service with a smile. Other Front Desk personnel were OK, but not great either. Pete was the most positive; perhaps because he appeared new and strove to please. Shout out to bell personnel. All were great, responsive, friendly and positive. Jose was especially helpful. Tried both hotel restaurants. Sunday brunch was expensive and bad. Tomatoes Bisque was more like pureed tomatoes with strange seasoning. Prime rib dip sandwich au jus close to veg soup broth. Bkfst was good; but $60 for oatmeal and ham/eggs is out of line. Breakfast rest personnel were all great. Exc service, attitude, and friendly. Other rest personnel were OK but could do better with service. We enjoyed some very good meals at local restaurants nearby at reasonable cost. August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but noisy The hotel was very nice but my room was in the back by the light rail line. I'm a light sleeper so between the trains and street noise, I got very little sleep. I bought ear plugs for the last night and although that helped a little, the overall stay was less than stellar. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and comfortable This Westin can be relied on for a clean and comfortable room with good service. The gym has new equipment and has good hours. The only 'complaints' I have is the coffee makers in the rooms are old, they don't supply enough toiletries or slippers and sometimes when I stay there other guests have been noisy getting back to their rooms in the middle of the night (and I stay at the hotel for business trips). August 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Response can be better I flew in from India on Sunday (7/27) morning, after a near 24hour flight and reached Westin at around 10am. I was told i had to wait till 3pm to check in. While i was prepared to pay extra for the 1/2 day, there were no rooms. I understand this. What I am disappointed though is that there was no empathy or concern established by the front desk person other than to (somewhat) rudely saying all room are full. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful as usual... The experience at Westin is always wonderful. The staff is great and the food is good. I had no issues and look forward to staying there again. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PURE PLEASURE We were in Jersey City for a wedding and had the option to stay at another similar hotel in JC or Westin. We are platinum members at another hotel group, but thought the Westin looked nice. Such a wonderful hotel experience. David at the GOLD SPG desk could not have been more helpful,courteous and accommodating! His greeting should be the training tool for all front end staff. We spoke with the manager to let him know how happy we were with the service, hotel and views. not to mention the most beautiful clean bathroom and comfortable bed. We were in room 700 and I highly recommend this room type.Thank you WESTIN IN JERSEY CITY! We will be back again and again!! My only concern is the online reservationist (not at the hotel)quoted us the same rate for both nights and we were charged more for the second night. I did not check email confirmation and really should have. Verbal quotes I guess not always correct. Otherwise 5 STAR! I have a dispute and hope the accounting dept. will rectify. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Without a doubt Without a doubt it is a pleasure to stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, and affordable. The hotel caters to every need. This is the second time I stayed here and will look to stay there everytime I am in town. OUTSTANDING service and accomidations! November 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by unexpected Went out for a run after work and when I came back and was walking through the lobby, the concierge came out from behind the desk over to where I was walking and handed me a bottle of water - really appreciated and an unexpected very nice touch. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by west great staff, attentive staff, clean facilities, great presentation. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will be back ! I've stayed at this hotel quite a few times. This weekend the hotel was booked, but i stil recieved great service. Suite was very clean. Claire at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. Smooth checking despite the sold out night. Will be back very soon. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointing Experience My husband and I, along with our 5 and 21 month old sons, stayed at the Westin Jersey City for a weekend in mid-June. A fire alarm went off at 6:15 am on Sunday morning, and guests of several floors (including mine, the 14th) had to evacuate their rooms. So my husband and I proceeded to walk down 12 flights of stairs carrying our sons, who had been peacefully sleeping until that time (not always the case with the 5 month old!). We then sat outside on the curb with the babies for the next hour, watching the fire trucks come and the firemen enter and exit the hotel. We realized at some point that the lobby was apparently not closed, but by that time all of the seats in the lounge were taken. Not once did we see a hotel representative come outside to speak with the guests to apologize, give an update on the situation, offer water, a breakfast croissant, or ANY COURTESY WHATSOEVER. My husband at one point did go inside and get 2 clean diapers for the boys from the concierge (we did appreciate that they were available), and we changed them out of their dirty overnight diapers using bar napkins on the sidewalk outside of the hotel. We were given the OK by the firemen to go inside after about an hour, and they informed us as we were in line to go up the elevators that the alarm was cause by an air conditioning unit on the 12th floor which had burned out (a hotel maintenance issue). Once again, no explanation or apology from the hotel staff. I expected a credit on our bill for the inconvenience, but did not receive a copy of the bill under the door the night before checkout to verify whether that would be the case, and when I checked out Monday morning and inquired about a credit with the hotel representative assisting me, she said no credits were being offered. I did not have time to ask to speak with the manager at that point, so I told her I would reach out to hotel management to express my unhappiness with the situation upon my return home. I e-mailed the hotel outlining this experience the next day after returning home, and requested a response. I received none. I called the hotel a week later and spoke to the assistant to the general manager of the hotel. She denied receiving my e-mail (although she pulled up one I sent to the same e-mail address with an inquiry prior to the trip). She acknowledged that the situation was poorly handled, and stated that there is a plan to retrain staff to respond to situations like this one, but that no compensation was being given to the guests for their inconvenience. I travel fairly often both personally and for work, and have stayed at Westin hotels a number of times with good experiences. I am extremely disappointed in this case - I did not expect such a cavalier response from a Westin hotel to a SIGNIFICANT inconvenience to their guests. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel again. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT HOTEL & LOCATION This was our 1st trip to NYC /Jersey City. What an excellent hotel and location. The Path train is only a block away and takes 9 minutes to get to NY. Newport Yatch club and Michael Anthonys bar/restaurant is right across the street. There is also a waterfront walking path that is an EXCELLENT view of the city. The Fire & Oak restaurant in the hotel was delic!!! The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is that the hot tub was not hot enough, yep thats it, but overall very excellent place, location, staff,. I look forward to staying here again and again October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refreshing! This was our first time staying at a hotel with our baby, and were quite nervous about it. Westin made us feel right at home, with personally bringing up to our room the Westin kids club pack and the crib for our daughter were very thoughtful. The upgrade to a higher floor didn't hurt either. The PATH was so easy to get to from hotel we felt safe enough to venture into NYC. My only complaint would have to be parking, at $31 a night that really puts a dent in your wallet but it still beats NYC parking. Overall we definitely plan on staying here again! May 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISHONESTY IN CHECKIN The staff claimed there were no suite available for upgrade, but the computer showed there were Jr. suites to sell. Staff upgraded the room to a Premium room (also called a Newport King) and claimed it was a suite. Contacted manager upon checkout and manager also claims the Newport King is a suite (smaller than their Jr Suite). This type of dishonesty is unacceptable. They need to learn to tell the truth. (The room was freezing, even with the heat turned up to 75 degrees. I don't think the windows hold in the heat) Very disappointed. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Atmosphere -- Great Location! There is a very comfortable vibe at the Westin. The staff seemed to be genuinely happy performing their jobs and all the other guests I met seemed to enjoy their hotel experience. There were plenty of fine restaurants within a few blocks and the neighborhood was clean and peaceful. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by average For 400 a night your hotel did not meet my expecatations. It was average in every way accept for the banquet food which was very below average. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GET LONGER SHOWER CURTAINS Never had this happen before with a Westin. Shower curtain was too short to take a shower and not have water on the floor. Mgmt could not get it changed and gave us coupons for two breakfasts. Fine but pls fix your shower curtains! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Staff & Service, Lovely Hotel As a platinum Starwood guest and traveller, I can say with conviction that based on my past stay at the Westin Jersey City, this hotel is simply wonderful. The staff and level of service not only met my expectations but also exceeded them. I transferred to the Westin JC after an upsetting/not-so-pleasant stay at another hotel in Manhattan. The staff, especially Vlera and Pat, were extremely warm, welcoming and friendly, showing genuine sincerity and taking the time, patience and energy in making my stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you both very much! Furthermore, the rest of the staff including receptionists, house keeping/maids, and doormen were all very professional and also friendly. Lastly, food and location were great. I would and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable experience I am a business traveler and I stayed in Westin, Newport, Jersey City for 11 months every week from Mon - Thu. I am a frequent traveler and have stayed in different hotels at different locations. I must say this has been the best experience. The people, service, amenities, location everything is remarkable. I loved the gym the most. It's a full service gym with all the required machines and plenty of space. They also have a indoor pool and Jacuzzi. SPG is the best option if you like to gain hotel points and this hotel is one of their best options in NYC area. This hotel is great also for the people who need to commute to NYC. Path station in just a block away and this literally across WTC. Overall, this has been an amazing experience and I would like to thank the management and people here. June 8, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>