The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 350 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, Very Clean and Comfortable! Although my children and I only stayed one night I cannot say enough great things about the hotel. The hotel staff helped us navigate the subway to get where we needed to go. They helped us find a late night pizza place close to the hotel after 10pm. They also helped us when we arrived early so we could hit the ground running in NYC. I will absolutely come back on my next trip!!! July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by AWESOME HOTEL, HORRENDOUS EGGS I needed a moms night away badly. I booked an overnight stay in a Newport King room. I arrived at the hotel and the staff was so welcoming, everyone from the door man to the front desk clerk. The room itself was beautiful with a GORGEOUS NYC view. Definitely spend the extra money upgrading your room, the Heavenly bathtub is true to its name. I was only 10 minutes from home and I felt like I was in a million miles away. EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED. Everything was wonderful....EXCEPT...I that I opted for the breakfast buffet. My guest and I stood at the hostess desk for about 10 minutes, so we sat ourselves. I served myself 2 slices of bacon (good), a sesame bagel (good), and a spoonful of scrambled eggs (God awful). They weren't even real eggs, they were "creamy" & "gritty". YUCK. Our breakfast for 2 came to $47.51!!!! SOOOO not worth it. I was extremely upset. Too bad, the staff there were VERY nice and attentive. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for an NYC trip! I wanted to go to NYC to see a play on Broadway, but my husband didn't want to drive around the city. I was recommended to look in the Jersey City area, and was glad I did! The Westin is across the street from a subway line which will get you to 33rd St. and Broadway in half an hour! And the staff was very helpful. At check in, the receptionist kindly explained where the self-park lot was. The next day the concierge was really helpful in explaining how to get to the City from the Westin, complete with maps of Jersey City (for the location of the station), a map of the subway route, and a map of NYC to point out where the station was compared to Broadway and Times Square. He even found me eating breakfast in the Lounge to give me a book of ideas for things to do around the City. And the host at Fire & Oak was very understanding when I couldn't decide what I wanted for breakfast, and I appreciate him pointing out the Grab and Go menu when I decided that all I wanted was a bagel. They were very conscientious of my needs, and I felt very welcome. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Went extra mile We had the Holiday Suite special offer which included several extras. The valet went out of his to help us with our complimentary parking. I self parked not knowing but Jose walked with me to the ticket booth and explained the situation and swiped me out with his parking pass. The extra room amenity was thoughtful and fitting. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional This was must first time at this hotel and my expectations were met and exceeded. The rooms were spacious and the staff was pleastant. My wife and I had brunch at Fire and Oak and the food was fantastic. I do not not think, I would stay there on every occasion due to price but we were able to get a discounted rate due to a wedding. October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over expected! A friend at work talk about this hotel a few weeks before i booked mine. I was looking for something not far away from the big apple. surprise...It's not just beside the big A, it's really more than that...Nice place, with a A1 services for many things. I will be back to that place and recommanded to my friends n family. Bravo! December 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by What was management thinking? My room was right off the elevator on a floor that also had meeting rooms. The staff were sent up at 1:00 AM to drag heavy objects around for a while, immediately followed by running the vacuum cleaner over the acres of carpeting outside my door until 2:30. February 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nickle and dine a little a very nice hotel in a good location in New Jersey.The fact that you charge for coffee in the morning and that you charge for every phone call even if it a 1-888 number is a little petty.That small stuff makes you look like a cheaper outfit than you are. July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for business or pleasure The hotel is crisp, clean and beautiful. The staff is very attentive and meets the client's needs very promptly with a cheerful attitude. The meeting facilities were very nice. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. November 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by gem in unexpected place Very nice Westin stay in an unexpected place. Needed to be close to Newark for morning meeting after dinner meeting in Manhattan. This hotel fit the bill for location. Easy train ride. Block from station. Facilities are very nice. Front desk staff was great. May 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nickled and dimed a hundred dollars I moved from a perfectly comfortable nearby hotel because I could afford the higher-rated Westin through HotWire. The savings affoded by HotWire was immediately erased by the daily Internet fee (despite the fact the HotWire profile advertizes "free WiFi", that's only in the lobby). The economical hotel I left offered free breakfast, the Westin's breakfast was $25. On the first night, I paid extra to activate a phone-savings plan that included free toll-free numbers (that's right, I paid so that my toll-free calls would be toll-free). I misunderstood how it worked, and a North American call that I made through my company's long-distance service, using a local access number that wasn't actually local, cost me over a hundred dollars. And though there was a note in my file that I had requested the phone-savings plan, it had nevr actually been activated. Even if it had, it only excuses me from the couple-dollar dollar connecion fee for eah and every call, not from the time-based charge, which was not at all clear. Not happy. Went back to the more reasonable accommodation. March 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Indifferent Service Assigned to a low floor room with noises coming from rail track beside. Front office staff without a smile as if I own her a living. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, what a view ... wonderful treat Stressed prior to checking in ... entered the beautiful room and felt the stress leaving me ... Stretched out on the bed ... heaven ... rainfall shower made me want to linger longer November 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff Very helpful and friendly staff. Fast check-in and check-out. Beautiful location , with nearby shopping, banking and transportation to NYC. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Customer Service is Amazing!! The hotel was clean. Staff was extremely nice, helpful and accommodating. We were extremely pleased and would definitely stay here again. October 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by extremely disappointed This was the first time I have stayed at this hotel The hotel looks nice and is in a good neighborhood but that is where the good experience ended. When I first arrived I was not able to be checked in because the credit card reader was not working - and the "IT guy" was not in. So I waited about 20 min for a solution - hand written credit card number and checked in as cash. The desk agent gave me a coupon that she said was for breakfast, but it had a value of $10, (a bowl of oatmeal cost 8.50) and although the card said it was valid at the restaurant … it was not – the card was only valid at “grab and go” – high carb pastries. The restaurant hostess, in the morning, was rude and the agents at reception would answer questions from people who just walked up to their counter rather than helping those of us who were in line. I finally received a coupon that was actually redeemable for breakfast. During breakfast the fire alarm sounded and continued for the entire meal. (More than a test !!) The restaurant staff and hotel staff gave no direction to patrons other than to stay seated and ignore the alarm. I would not recommend this hotel August 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin horrible experience from front end staff. Room was fine facilities fine but staff need retraining in customer service October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Perfect hotel if you like wonderful view to Manhatten Skyline, quiet at evening and only 10 minuttes with train to World Trade Center August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location, great features The location is amazing, right next to the path. You can get to lower manhattan in less than 15min. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent staff, room & food, but rather greedy I enjoyed my stay overall, largely thanks to the friendly and helpful staff, especially in your excellent bar. Hotel bars are generally a little depressing, but the atmosphere in the Half Moon Lounge was splendid,thanks to Ashley, Brian & Patrick. However, the pleasure is qualified by the excessive greed in pricing for Internet & Business facilities. $9.50 per day for room WiFi is not a nominal charge, but an outrageous one. Needless to say, I never used it. As for the business center, $5.95 to use a computer to print one page is ridiculous, Fortunately, your helpful staff were able to circumvent this on the two occasions I needed the facility. June 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Engineering Services I lost my watch in the elevator shaft and was very professionally assisted by an Engineer by the name of Mel on duty. I got my watch the next day and really appreciated Mel's help. May 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by service This time the service was not good at all. February 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great alternative to staying in Manhattan Although the hotel was a little awkward to navigate to from JFK airport, once checked in and unpacked it offers a great alternative to staying in Manhattan as you don't have to pay over the odds for a New York hotel but can easily reach the other side of the Hudson river via the frequent PATH train. The room we stayed in was clean, well kept and comfortable. All staff we interacted with were extremely friendly and always helpful. I did, however, find it a bit strange to have to request that coffee, tea, shampoo and soaps were restocked each time we ran out rather than having this happen automatically when the room was cleaned each day. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by wonderful stay I always enjoy the warm welcome and the professional staff (restaurants, reception and room) at this wonderful hotel. A great place to stay!!!!!!! May 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Extremely unhappy platinum member This is regarding my second stay at the hotel in the last year. The list of complaints is as below: 1. At check-in I was not asked if I wanted bonus points, breakfast or local amenities. 2. I was not upgraded to a suite despite the hotel being empty. I was told the room I am getting is a suite and it was not! 3. Towels in the bathroom had stains on them. 4. I had booked 2 rooms under my starwoods number but when my wife went to get breakfast, she was told she could only get it for one person! 5. When my wife was picking water bottles at breakfast area, the lady at front desk shouted at her and said if she was going to take all the bottles!!!! The manager on the floor heard it and was extremely apologetic but the damage was done!!! My family was disrespected and I lost all faith in this particular hotel staff and how it is run. 6. At Check-out, I wanted to add earth points from both the rooms to my starwoods account. The lady at the front desk told me that was not allowed!! I told her I have done that before and she should check again. She refused. It was only after I asked for Manager that the Manager came told the staff to add those points to my account. Though the Managers apologized, they did not know how to make a customer happy. At my other stays at the Westin, even if the internet was down for a few hours, they would call up and add thousands of bonus points to our SPG accounts. May 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than I expected I was given a room on the third floor next to meeting rooms with handicapped bathroom, no tub or standard shower. The room was very noisey as there were functions just down the hall in the meeting rooms. I did not receive maid service until after 5:30 PM on Thursday evening and I was trying to work after a long day of meetings at the hotel prior to going to dinner in the hotel. Our dinner that evening was also less than desired or expected, the service was very slow, and my food when it did come was not hot just luke warm. I was not impressed at all and I would not recommend staying there again. I expect better when I stay at a Westin! December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would go back again and again 12/21 - 12/25/13: This was my second stay at the Westin Jersey City. Christmas 2012, I brought my two nieces, ages 12 & 13, to NYC for the holidays and stayed at your Westin. I was so impressed with the staff, the comfort of the room and everything else about the hotel, I knew I'd return. I just returned last night from 4 nights in your hotel. I traveled with my son to visit NYC again for the holidays. What a wonderful placed to stay. The staff is very attentive, the room is comfortable but the beds are magnificent!! Heavenly like their name! I slept for 4 nights without waking once during the night, something that rarely happens when travelling. My son felt the very same way. The heated pool is certainly a plus and it's a very nice pool at that. I did go upstairs for a night swim one night before going to bed and a young man was mopping the floor. The sign said the pool was opened until midnight (which I hadn't known beforehand) and it was 11:45. I figured I'd swim a few laps and head back to my room. The young man told me it was closed. I reminded him it didn't close until midnight and I still had 15 minutes. He continued to tell me the pool was closed. I contacted the front desk the next day and they said they would talk to him. I don't know if they did or will, but if the pool is open until midnight, the workers shouldn't be cleaning it until it was closed. That was a small but irritating issue. The only other issue I had this visit (and it wasn't an issue last visit) was an odd smell in my room. It smelled strong and unpleasant, but I couldn't put my finger on what it was. I slept the first night and couldn't take it after that, so I called the front desk. They immediately moved me to another room with no delay. I appreciate when the hotel is that responsive to my concerns. I still smelled that odd smell in this room, but with the A/C on high for a few minutes each time we returned to the room, it was no longer an issue. I would stay at the Westin Jersey City again and again and have already recommended it to a few co-workers that plan to visit New York in 2014. It is in a very nice part of New Jersey, with a mall within walking distance and the PATH transit within a block or two as well. The PATH was a 15 minute ride into downtown NYC for $2.50. Several very good restaurants neaby too. I give the hotel an A!! December 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The little things count As silly as you may think it is, we had an issue with the tv. In this age where almost everyone has some kind of cable or satellite service in their homes, to not have menus with whats on, etc. and to have very little variety was unexpected and disappointing. No we were not in the room very much but in our down time when we wanted to relax, that is an important tool. Also, charging for the internet was unexpected, maybe five years ago you could charge but now it is free access in every other hotel we stay in. Again, the little things. On the plus side the Exercise room and pool area was excellent. The equipment was clean and morden. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding stay Customer service was off the charts at this hotel. From my first time through the door until I left for the airport , there was never a time that I didn't see a smile on any staff members face. Staff also went out of their way to shake hands and remembered my name in both the restaurant and lounge areas. That's a very comfortable feeling. Ashley and the rest if the bar staff were outstanding , even when there seemed to be a bit if customer overload. They handled without a glitch. The Westin should be proud of their entire wait and bar staff. One of the finest if not thee finest in all my many travels. A job well done Westin Jersey City. Bravo ! Steve D July 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, poor service in lounge Nice hotel, poor service in lounge OK, first the hotel is nice. The front desk staff are great and the wait staff in Fire Oak restaurant are very professional and friendly. The rooms are clean and there is a good gym and a larger than expected pool. I was staying here for a few days on business and the main complaint I have is the bar service in the lounge and the breakfast service. Breakfast service – very friendly staff, but super slow. Once your order is taken you do not see anyone to refill juice or water until your food arrives. After that you do not see anyone until they deliver your check. I and a few of my business associates had to walk out to the front lobby and get bottled juice and water from the continental breakfast station when refills were needed. Bar – just plan rude bartenders and self absorbed into their own personal conversations complaining about fellow staff members or previous customers. Also, they are not attentive to you at all after your first drink is served. I was sitting at the bar last night and watched the bartender walk past 3 times looking at my empty pint glass, but never asking if I wanted another. I had to grab him as he walked by. I decided to see, after the first time this happened, how long it would take for him to acknowledge me and my empty pint. I was one of 3 people at the bar at the time and there were two bartenders, so they were far from busy. I waited just over 15-minutes with this empty glass in front of me and one of the bartenders passing by and looking at the glass no less than 10 times. After about 15-minutes two of my colleagues showed up to say hello and then the bartender snapped to attention, looked straight passed me and asked them, standing behind me, if they needed anything!!!! I had to say, “Well, I have been waiting 15-minutes for you to ask if I need anything. I could go for another beer.” He simply shot me a dirty look, poured the pint and walked away, without so much as an apology!!! Absolutely horrible customer service and lack of attention from a bartender whose job it is to be attentive and conversational to customers. January 26, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>