The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 396 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience Everything about our visit exceeded our expectations. Jersey City Newport is an exceptional new development, and the Westin Newport is right in the middle of it. There is a 'Path" train station across the street which can drop you in the middle of Manhattan in less than 20 minutes. The hotel is beautiful, but topping that the staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. This is now our goto hotel when we visit northern NJ. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A place to go during Hurricane Sandy The Westin Jersey City provided us with a place to go for shelter during Hurricane Sandy with my family and our dogs. The hotel was kind and courteous, helpful and caring, and really helped us in a time was both painful and scary. I am eternally grateful for their hospitality, support and care. On another note, I have always received this level of care and service whenever I travel and stay at Westin's around the world. Thank you! November 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel met my requirements This hotel met my requirements in terms of location, comfort and cleanliness for a 6 day business stay in the region. Being able to walk to work in Hoboken was a bonus with the sunshine and lovely riverside walk which starts close to the hotel, with stunning views of Manhattan. Only downside was the fact that the rooms weren't ready on arrival at 2pm, but that aside a hotel experience I'd recommend. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly and knowledgeable staff at a great hotel I recently stayed here for a week, and was very pleased with the hotel and the staff. I had business meetings in both Jersey City and Manhattan, so the location was ideal - having the PATH station within walking distance makes it very convenient for crossing the Hudson into NY. I was particularly impressed by Debbie at the front desk, who was friendly, professional and went out of her way to ensure my stay was an enjoyable one. July 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didn't meet expectations and recommendations The Westin came highly recommended from colleagues, so after staying at a variety of hotels in the area, I finally was able to book a room here. I was looking forward to the stay. However I was pretty disappointed in the room cleanliness/amenities and the hotel policy. First, the room had some stains on the carpet that would have benefitted from a quick scrub (there was clearly surface staining that could be removed and it was hard... ). I didn't have or couldn't locate an ice bucket! There wasn't a channel guide for the TV either or any information on the offerings downstairs at the bar or a la carte breakfast (I think that's what it was anyway). The kicker here is that apparently dogs can stay here? This seems like a very classy place and I'd never have guessed pets were allowed. That definitely influenced my opinion of the room and hotel. The dog was loud too, so my sleep was not good. Front desk staff wasn't too apologetic for that, but it is what it is. August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room 2101 Great room with great view. Staff are some of the nicest I have encountered. Room was great. But two small things. Sink in the bath almost doesn't drain. Shower head is newish but has very low pressure. The champagne and straw berries were very nice. Didn't love paying $60.00+ for parking. Advertised rates should have also indicated that $40.00/day would be added due to taxes. Good location to get into NYC quickly. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Birthday Weekend Ever The room was great. I booked it just for the heavenly tub and amazing views and it definitely didnt disappoint. Was checked in by Brittany and I mentioned I was in town for my birthday. She went over and beyond by sending some wine and glasses to the room for me and my boyfriend with a thoughtful handwritten card. It was a greta surprise and really made me feel great. Will defintely come back to visit again! December 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stay at the Westin The Jersey City, Westin Hotel is nice but the room was not clean and it was extremely dusty. For an upscale hotel the IT services should be have been free without your own personal computer. The lobby gift shop needs some improvement and upgrades of items. The chiller is not worth having replace with a mini fridge. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Summary of my experience here over two different stays: Very clean, very nice Westin hotel. Immediate spg recognition. Upgraded to an absolutely beautiful corner King room with a HUGE bathroom with two sinks, shower, and very large bathtub. Very nice meeting facilities. HD television had an HD signal (not always the case). Extremely comfortable bed. Excellent restaurant, as good as they get in a hotel. March 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by winning stay CHECK IN WAS EFFICIENT AND QUICK - NO NEEDLESS WAITING. STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND COURTEOUS AND SMILED A LOT WHICH IS SOMETHING I DON'T SEE VERY OFTEN IN THE MAJOR CITIES. FITNESS CENTER MET ALL MY NEEDS AND THEN SOME. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE LACK OF LOBBY SEATING IN THE MORNING WHEN PART OF THE LOBBY IS TAKEN OVER FOR THE BREAKFAST CROWD. ONE SOFA AND TWO CHAIRS WAS FOR A HOTEL THIS SIZE........ September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel Property For the frequent business traveler going through NYC for any reason, the Westin is a great choice. I spend as much time here as any hotel in the area and they never disappoint. On my most recent trip they upgraded me to a suite and provided a food voucher for breakfast. The staff is courteous and considerate in all matters. The steak house is great and its close to the mall and PATH station. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, great location If you are looking for an alternative to staying in NYC, this hotel is perfect! The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin, well appointed and comfortable. The Path is 2 blocks away for quick (15 minutes) access to Manhattan. I don't know what other reviewers were complaining about, the service I recieved was polite, courteous, helpful and professional. I would definitely stay again. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by PURE PLEASURE We were in Jersey City for a wedding and had the option to stay at another similar hotel in JC or Westin. We are platinum members at another hotel group, but thought the Westin looked nice. Such a wonderful hotel experience. David at the GOLD SPG desk could not have been more helpful,courteous and accommodating! His greeting should be the training tool for all front end staff. We spoke with the manager to let him know how happy we were with the service, hotel and views. not to mention the most beautiful clean bathroom and comfortable bed. We were in room 700 and I highly recommend this room type.Thank you WESTIN IN JERSEY CITY! We will be back again and again!! My only concern is the online reservationist (not at the hotel)quoted us the same rate for both nights and we were charged more for the second night. I did not check email confirmation and really should have. Verbal quotes I guess not always correct. Otherwise 5 STAR! I have a dispute and hope the accounting dept. will rectify. July 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didn't Measure Up The details of the room were dirty: yellow spots on towels, lip marks on glasses, used coffee stirrers, dusty robe, etc. Otherwise, nicely situated in New Jersey--easy to get to from the interstate, easy to take the train to NYC. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Good It was a fantastic stay. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and knowledgable and also very young. Such a great alternative to staying in higher priced smaller room hotels in Manhattan. Totally about a 10 minute PATH train ride across the river and into NYC. The PATH station is pretty much 1-2 blocks from the hotel. I would certainly reccomend staying here. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for AAA rate and convenience to NYC. We received a very good room rate for a weekend using AAA, and the convenience to the commuter train into NYC saved us the stress and cost of driving and parking there. First rate quality, cleanliness and professional front desk staff; however, I was charged two different amounts on successive days for the same beverage item in the lobby store and the cashier had no explanation for it. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great end to a VERY stressful day I had the privilege of trying to fly out of the NY area on a day that was full of thunder storms and a fire in one of the air traffic control centers, needless to say I didn't get to fly back home that Friday night. After scrambling to find a hotel, I was able to finally get a room here. I am a traveling consultant and spend much of my time in one hotel or another, and it is normally SOS "sorry you were inconvenienced" "Welcome to our hotel"... This visit was different, I was greeted by 2 desk agents that seemed to really care about what all had happened throughout the day. I was too tired and shocked by their concern and enthusiasm to make my day at least end well that I didn't catch their names, but I checked in Friday 06/22 around 10 or 11PM, and I wanted to say Thank You. I am sure everyone tries to be customer service friendly, but the impression left on me was that they didn't even have to try! June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel overall is a pleasant option Overall good visit. The average in the staff and room cleanliness specifically has to do with the front desk staff , when I arrived and departed. In both cases the staff member did not appear to be informed of hotel services and I was the wrong receipt when i departed.The room had food crumbs on the desk when I arrived. Internet access should be included and not an additional charge January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but noisy The hotel was very nice but my room was in the back by the light rail line. I'm a light sleeper so between the trains and street noise, I got very little sleep. I bought ear plugs for the last night and although that helped a little, the overall stay was less than stellar. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy with the service I have stayed at this hotel at least 8 times in the past - always had outstanding service. This time was full of disappointments - from difficulty checking in, my room had not been vacuumed properly prior to my check in (found things on the floor, wrong coffee provided, requests for things from front desk never arrived, and then on top of it all, I was billed twice for my room. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Total Relaxation The room was excellent however I made this reservation for a relative who moved back to the states and put his name on it so there wouldn't be any problem at check in. Instead our family was told that their name wasn't mentioned and that they need to make sure they do it next time. I was disappointed in the check in process for my family. Other than that the room was excellent! July 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Hotel - Great Location I had an evening holiday business party that I knew would go to at least 11:30pm. I booked the Westin in Jersey City so that I could walk 1 block from the event and be in my comfortable room. I took a wonderful hot shower in the very clean bathroom, and then plunged into that "Westin High Quality" bed for a lovely night's sleep. What a great feeling of comfort! Ahhhhh December 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Jersey City - Best Hotel This was my first stay at he Westin Jersey City (Newport) and was very impressed. The hotel was one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly and the bed was extreemly comfortable. The food in the Oak Room Restaurant was very good and reasonable for the quality of the food. I give this a 5 star reating and would highly recommend this hotel. October 29, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by not worth it Facilities and rooms as expected...staff and everyone I had to deal with, not friendly and did things as if bothered to have to do so. Once again, they acted like giving me an upgrade or the star-wood amenities was something I was stealing from them instead of something starwood encourages me to use. I've encountered this before on other hotels, very disappointing! July 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Atmosphere -- Great Location! There is a very comfortable vibe at the Westin. The staff seemed to be genuinely happy performing their jobs and all the other guests I met seemed to enjoy their hotel experience. There were plenty of fine restaurants within a few blocks and the neighborhood was clean and peaceful. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will be back ! I've stayed at this hotel quite a few times. This weekend the hotel was booked, but i stil recieved great service. Suite was very clean. Claire at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. Smooth checking despite the sold out night. Will be back very soon. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff at front desk I appreciated the pre-stay email welcoming our planned stay and offering an upgrade for a reduced cost. Upon check-in we were greeted by "Debbie" and she was wonderful. She went out of her way to accommodate my sister and her requests. She worked to assist my Mom with her room requests. She truly was a stand out and I travel a lot for both business and pleasure. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Little Things The Westin Jersey City was in a perfect location. We had a corner junior suite with a good view (not excellent) of the Freedom Tower and Lower Manhattan. It is not directly on the water and several other buildings obstruct the view to the left and right. The only complaints we have are little things. They didn't refill our water each day. I spend several hundred dollars a day at least they could spare a bottle of water. The maid left a bag of stuff from her cart in our room. The floor was wet from what we could only think they washed the carpet before we arrived because it dried by the time we checked out. At least we hope that's what it was. And they forgot hand towels one day. So just some little things they need to address with the maid staff. Besides that the concierge was very helpful getting us tickets to the 9/11 memorial and help with statue of liberty information among other things we we wanted to do with our stay. August 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing View The Westin Jersey City Newport hotel far exceeded my expectations. Our room was immense. We were able to spread out in style and had the most gorgeous view of the city! The bathroom was phenomenal - with a massive tub perfect for a bubble bath to unwind after a chilly December day! Room Service was absolutely scrumptious! highly recommend this resort to all! December 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great modern hotel The Westin in Jersey City Newport is a modern and sleek hotel. The lobby is quite impressive, the location is perfect for commuting to NYC, the rooms are spacious, very clean with up-to-date amenities, and the staff are friendly and ready to please. I will definitely try to stay at this hotel again when I'm back in the area and I highly recommend this hotel. December 30, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>