The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

  • 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 629 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Stay Vacation Ever To Whom It May Concern: Recently, we stay at the Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort and Shula’s Steakhouse for my mom’s birthday celebration. I was very impressed with the service from the resort accommodating us with all our needs. In addition, especially our upgrades and birthday surprises to make it even more special for my mom’s celebration. As a local resident in the area, we really enjoyed returning back for our stay vacations at the Westin. Once again, a big “thank you” for your professionalism and pleasant staff welcoming us every time. Thank you for treating us like royalty and making us feel special during our visits. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst Westin That was the most horrible experience we had with Westin! The first day, it took 3 Check-ins to get our room. We are spg's members and we had to fight to have the discount each time. There was not enough umbrellas and chairs neither at the pool or at the beach on the weekends so we had to buy some at cvs. The service was terrible, staff was transactionnal and forgot our réquisits. . Finally, there was a link at the ceeling above our bath tub. Even an employee saw it and drop a towel on it, nobody repaired it or informed us. We had to change room and they did'nt send us someone to help us to carried our luggages! I won't recommand this hotel! August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Disappointed Our two night stay started pulling up to the Westin Beach Resort with a Valet gentleman opening our door and saying "Welcome to the Westin, there is a $25.00 mandatory charge for valet parking daily.” I thought, okay you’re on the beach...go with it, just strange that it wasn’t mentioned on the website or during booking. Maybe I missed it? We than were welcomed into the lobby that had a very strong perfume that seemed to be pumped through the vent systems that for me experiencing allergies and very sensitive to strong scents, this was very displeasing- something like the Venetian in Vegas if you have ever experienced such. Being a Gold Member they offered us a fifth floor room with an ocean view which was nice. When we opened the door to the room there was a bottle of something like Febreze left on the floor next to the bathroom. I simply left it outside our door for the staff to pick up later. The room had a great view but had a smell of must and dampness, like a basement of some sort, along with it being very old looking and small (keep in mind this is a four star Starwood property). Then the real fun began. That evening after a Holiday party that I flew in to host as an Executive of our firm, at exactly 12:45 am, we were awaken to a very loud sound directly behind the dresser that stood below the T.V. This sound got louder and louder. It turned into scratching and movement of cables...this sound lasted several minutes and obviously was an animal of some sort...we guessed it was a rat. My wife immediately wanted me to call the staff and change rooms. I convinced her that after getting up and pounding on the wall, it would not come back and I was much too tired to pack up and request a change of rooms at 12:45am. In the morning I confirmed that it could not be the room next to us, we had a hall way on the other side of that wall. This part concerned me even more. I took my cell phone flashlight in the morning to explore behind the dresser and refrigerator, only to find a thick layer of dust, some random nuts, and overall an obvious state of neglect of cleaning for a very long time. The next evening was no better and we got even less sleep. At around 1:00am several parties started up in rooms close by. The worst part was the music that was blasting and still running at the same volume at 8:00am when we had to leave. How could the staff not be aware of such?? We went to check out and the gentleman behind the counter was very pleasant and asked how our stay was, we explained that we would not be coming back and the reasons why. He left for a few minutes; the manager came out and only hit something on the computer/register. He never even made eye contact with me, never apologized and then quickly left. The gentleman that was helping me said they would give me an immediate 5000 Starwood points and apologized for our misfortune. Although my Starwood points have posted today for my paid stay, no 5000 points have been posted, but I was charged today on my credit card an extra $2.00 for a bottle water that I was told was complimentary to all gold members upon arrival and to not worry about the tag that said $2.00 if consumed . I travel often and enjoy the four to five star experiences. I completely understand that things can on occasion go terribly wrong, but it is only the customer service and leadership of this hotel that can come to the rescue and do the right thing. I believe anyone reading this using common sense knows what the leadership of this hotel should have done…We are still waiting. Being a top Executive for a large Merger & Acquisition firm, there is NOTHING more important than our clients. I will go as far as needed to ensure a positive customer experience, especially when things go wrong, which is inevitable in business. This hotel and its leadership as of now have not done such. Signed, Disappointed December 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Expectations We recently stayed at the Westin for our 8-night vacation. Had absolutely no problems upon check-in and received excellent service from Eddie as we settled into our ocean view room. Despite other reviews read elsewhere, we did not find the bathroom to be a horrible violation of privacy. Room and bathroom were nicely furnished - great beach themed artwork and nice bathroom amenities/set up. Spent a lot of time at the beach and pool and were impressed by the service of the employees when needing to get towels and set up chairs. Kevin was excellent - hardworking and a really nice guy. Pool bar offered a limited range of food and drinks but worked for quick snacks. Only small suggestion might be to update the pool music to be more current/better range of music played. A few nights into our stay management contacted us to inquire about a room switch. Everything was handled perfectly and we were more than impressed with our new accommodations. The valet guys were amazing - quick service with great attitudes. They went above and beyond in seeing if we needed help. Overall this was one of the best vacations/stays at a hotel we have ever experienced. The Westin really did exceed our expectations. We couldn't wait to share our great trip with others. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not happy with price to park My only complaint with this hotel has to do with parking. I read on the hotel website that they offer both self and valet parking. When I pulled in to the hotel, I was told that they only offer valet parking and that the rate was $15 per day. I thought this amount was reasonable. When I received my final bill, I noticed that valet parking was charged in the amount of $32 per day. I asked the front desk about this and shared with them what I was told by the valet, they said valet parking was $15 per day but $32 per night. Had I known this, I would have returned my rental car early instead of paying the additional parking fee that this hotel charges. Overall, my stay was great...be sure to ask the valet the difference between day & overnight parking fee difference before you hand them your keys. August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expensive The hotel is very nice but expensive for what it offers. I didn't need someone parking my car every time I went in/out of the hotel. Having to pay 32 a night to park my car was a little too much. The restaurants were also very expensive, although, the area did have many options for dinner. I would recommended it, but I would let people know to expect to pay. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous location! We chose this hotel because of its location, but having stayed there, we would choose this hotel for its service! Every team member we had contact with was exceptional. We are in the service business, so we notice when people are grumpy or annoyed, but every single team member we passed was helpful, friendly, and eager to please. It was a pleasure to stay at the Westin, and we will certainly return! August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great getaway I had a wonderful weekend at this hotel. The proximity to the beach and nearby restaurants on Ft. Lauderdale Blvd. make this hotel my first choice when in the area. The rooms are peaceful and the ocean view is superb, and the staff was also very kind. The only issue I ran into was the air conditioning in my room wasn't working well, which meant the room was a bit warm. Also the dining options in this hotel are rather limited, this hotel could use a more vibrant restaurant. I hope to be back soon! August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff saved the day! Hanly from the VIP team came to the rescue when I had difficulty scanning some documents in the business center. She went above and beyond to assist and find a solution for me. She also suggested trying the sushi at the hotel which was awesome! Super friendly staff, great accommodations. Suggestion to management,,,,staff the business center properly to prevent future issues as I went during published staffed hours and no one was available there. Also promote Hanly....she is awesome and I know as I travel 200 days a year! August 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Girlfriends Weekend At Westin I really enjoyed the Westin Beach Resort and Spa, Fort Lauderdale. Not only was the hotel was immaculate, but the customer service was bar none!! I stayed in the presidential suite which was spacious and had beautiful ocean views. The hotel is centrally located so you can get to restaurants and shopping fairly quickly by car. It was a great value for a resort stay. One of the best things I love about the starwood hotels is the bedding!! I get the best bed experience in their bedding. Between the mattress pad and the down comforter, it's like sleeping on a cloud. I would definitely go back!! August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel - but excessive extra fees charged The hotel is right on the beach. That's what you are paying for. The lobby is nice and so is the pool. The ocean front views are wonderful and the corner ocean front views are even better. Sadly, so much of that was ruined during my stay due to excess charges that are not shown when making your booking. Parking is $25 per night. There is no self-park and no other option in the area. And this fee is not shown anywhere on the website - you just get hit with hit when you arrive. At least the valet parkers are the friendliest bunch of people I've ever met. Internet is $16.95 per night. Luckily for Platinum members its free. But if you're not Platinum, $42 extra per night for parking and internet. That's simply outrageous. Due to the hotel being full on the night I arrived, I was not upgraded. However, they did state they'd place a note in my res to see if an upgrade was available for my remaining nights. I guess it wasnt - as I never heard back. The corner ocean front room had amazing views - but was very small. And the bathroom toilet seat was broken as were the lights in the bathroom. I was there for 3 days - and they were only able to fix the seat. They didn't ever get around to fixing the lights. June 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great features The rooms were very clean and a good size. Location was good and service very good. Pool was also a good size and walkway to beach very convienent. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location - poor service I travel extensively for business and booked two rooms at this property, one with points, for a night prior to a cruise departure. The property appeared to be over-booked and under-staffed. We arrived at 2:45 for a 3:00 check-in and waited in a line of at least 10 people. There were only two people working the front desk and the SPG desk was not staffed at all. After waiting in line for 15+minutes, we were told our rooms would not be ready for an hour or two - in fact everyone in line was told their rooms would not be ready since the cleaning crew was behind schedule. In addition, we were told we could not get two rooms near each other (ended up 5 floors apart), which was challenging since we were traveleing with our 82 year old mother-in- law. We were told to store our luggage, which was challenging to find a bell men since they were completely overwhelmed with guests, and we would be called when our rooms were available. After finding a place for lunch off the property, since Shulas was closed, we received a call that our rooms were ready. The rooms were nice but not as nice as some of the Westin properties I've stayed at. The next morning we attempted to check out via the TV's interactive system, but that was not working. We called the front desk and were told we'd need to check out at the front desk. We experienced another lenthy wait, with only 2 clerks at the front desk at prime check-out time and no assistance available at the SPG counter. I understand there are peak times for all properties but would certainly expect that a property such as this would know how to staff and plan for the higher volumes. April 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit disappointing Managed to snag a platinum suite upgrade during the holidays at this hotel, but that was also one of the few highlights. Our biggest issue was noise problems. Both staff and other guests were slamming their doors so often and so loudly that I at one point was about to go crazy. The gap between the door and floor did not help, and the construction seemed poor because the walls were shaking when doors were opened and closed. I guess it always depends if the guests next to you are considerate (we had a family with three rooms that treated the hallway as their own), but I would have expected better from housekeeping and other staff members. All in all this hotel is in desperate need of soft close mechanisms at their guest room doors. You should also consider avoiding anything on a low floor in the south tower, as the very busy street outside are VERY close to the hotel. Yes, you may loose the ocean vierw if staying in a non-ocean room, but without balconies AND the high traffic noise when the french window is open, it is not much to write home about anyway. The gym was okay, but two of the treadmills were out of order all the five nights we stayed. Breakfast area was a disaster, and I would have eaten elsewhere if I had not picked the platinum continental breakfast. People were standing in long lines every day, the buffet selection was poor and continental package got boring after a few days. But no substituting items was allowed. (BTW First time ever I have seen a continental breakfast that did not include toast, was charged extra for that) The food quality was also very poor. E.g. the croissant was dry, the yougurt tasted nothing (they did not even have non-fat yougurt) and the grapefruit juice far from freshly squeezed. A lot of poeple were complaning about the lines and the food, the waitors were rather stressed and all in all it was a bad start of the day for both guests and the hotel. Would probably not return, even in low-season. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Somewhat disappointed It's not common for me to take the time to write any reviews but I felt compelled to say something. My stay was from 11 Aug to 22 Aug 14 The place was very clean and has a great location. I enjoyed the pool and gym and found them very accommodating. But unfortunately this review is going to focus on the negative experiences. 1) Since I had such a long stay I needed some laundry services. I asked 2 different concierges and 3 front desk people for when I could find a laundry. They would only refer me to the hotel's dry cleaning service. Later when I checked into an other hotel I found out there are 2 laundry drop off services less than a half mile away. 2) My alarm clock went off 3 times. I never touched the thing because i use my phone for an alarm. You have to physically turn the dial to "ON" for it to activate so I can only assume that the housekeeping could have done it while wiping down the room. Still..three times?? 3) My room smoke alarm batteries went dead at 3 am and screeched for 30 min before I could get a service worker to come and make it stop. No offer for compensation for my inconvenience was made. 4) I joined the SPG program to start gaining points from my extended stay. The hotel informed me that since I used my employers travel agency to book the room I wouldn't get any SPG points. I was told that I could get points from purchases in the restaurant. I gave my SPG number each visit to the restaurant but none showed up on my SPG account. Overall I think their SPG program is a sham. I had one extra night I had to stay in the area. I chose stay at a different hotel nearby for my last night in the area. They were able to give me info about a nearby laundry without hesitation and didn't try to get me to use the hotel's dry cleaning service . August 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Yellow water I have never stayed at a hotel that has yellow water . I contacted the front desk and they sent the maintenance man to my room. Well he acted like he didnt really care about my concerns . He contacted the front desk and they were going to move me to another room . I went to the new room and no one ever showed up i waited for about 45 mintues for someone to come with the keys for the new room and they never showed up,and when i went to the front desk they really didnt care either so i just went back to my oringal room and made the best of it September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fort Lauderdale , Great hotel location This Westin hotel has an ideal location on Fort Lauderdale beach. Just across the street from the beach. The hotel has it's own "bridge" walkway over the street. Easily accessible w/ an elevator to ground level for beach access from the pool area (w/ restrooms) & there are hotel beach chairs available.There is a wonderful beach front sidewalk along Ft. Lauderdale beach for walking or running. This hotel's location is an easy & quick drive from the airport & has many restaurants/bars & marinas within walking distance. We rented a car & did not use it until we departed. Highly recommend bike rentals which are readily available @ self-serve kiosks w/ a credit card along the waterfront. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but some staff are slow The location of the hotel is good, with a nice pool area and the bridge to the beach. Huge difference in how staff handle their guests. Staff at .. * valet parking and the one carrying the luggage to the room were helpful and did a good job. * the restaurant for breakfast ... needs improvement. So slow and didn't care of our wish to have the breakfast fast, as we had a flight to catch. Even though the quality of food wasn't the best. * checking out ... very slow. I was no. 3 in line, however it took more than 10 minutes. Only one person helped at the check-in/out, even though other employees walking around the area, seeming they wasn't doing anything. Why don't you help each other and your guests?? Won't go for this hotel another time. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for work conference Stayed here for a professional conference, and being able to sit poolside or take a very short walk to the beach was a great perk for the end of a work day. Everything you needed was also within walking distance. Excellent, friendly service. The Patriots also stayed here before their game vs. the Dolphins. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly, informed staff Staff attentive to detail and responsive to guest inquiries and needs. Room was comfortable with good lighting. Quick access to the beach for ocean bathing. A very good steakhouse on the premises. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service & Great Ocean Views The staff at this hotel went out of their way to help us book an unexpected night's stay. The professionalism and courtesy are stellar, the rooms are clean and nice, and the location is convenient to the beach. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This hotel was in a great location, close to the beach and several areas of interest within walking distance. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by clean HVAC I suffered a cross contamination with an assistant living facility in regards to my mother. Needless to say it was HVAC which is air mold thru the system. Your hotel room had the cleanest air and you are in a high humidity area and I figured there would be some problem. None. Thank you for a clean air hotel January 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel facilities and room did not meet my expectations and service was poor. The rooms were small with no balcony and no tub. Service was questionable, I stayed to celebrate a 6th year wedding anniversary and no gestures from the staff were taken to acknolwledge that. Also even though I am a preferred Gold member upgrade was denied as well as they did not place me on a preffered starwood floor. Staff was very snobby because the room had been reserved with starwood points. I have been a loyal starwood member for over 7 years and never have had a negative experience except for this one. I would NEVER recommend this hotel. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale I am from the Northern Virginia area. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in South Florida. The employees are polite, efficient, and competent. I am planing to return in October. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Amenities! My family & I had a fantastic experience at this hotel! I had my 4 year old with me & we felt safe using the convenient skywalk to go back & forth from the pool to the beach. I especially appreciated the very laid back atmosphere of the staff at the pool. We had several meals at Waves (pool area) & the food was great with a lot of options. I would like to specifically commend Jahmeka in in-room dining & Desoree Francis at Shula's (delicious breakfast) for their exceptional service! The entire staff was very friendly & made us feel welcomed & comfortable. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A room overlooking paradise If you're lucky enough to get an ocean view room, the rooms are ok size, the bed is very clean and comfortable and you wake up to a beautiful sunrise over the horizon, and go get a Starbucks from downstairs! I was happy to see a diverse crowd of guests and the Staff is very courteous. Pool is ok size and kept relatively clean. You can take the Skywalk to the beach and enjoy two complimentary chairs. I would actually get any items you forget to bring from the gift shop as it had the best prices on kids goggles or arm bands! The only option valet parking felt expensive. I would rather have it included in the room rate up front than seeing the parking fee of $32 every day again and again for four days! August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! Right when you pull in the valet was quick and nice to unload with. I was upgraded and had a gorgeous ocean view. I ate at the pool grill and enjoyed my service. I also had great room service for dinner. It was an easy and great stay! August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lanai room makes all the difference! Went to the Westin hotel for Father's Day weekend with wife and two kids (3 & 6) not expecting anything out of the ordinary, but had one of the best experiences at a hotel. At check-in we had the option to upgrade to a Lanai room for a fee and I decided to do it since the hotel does not have any balconies. This was key to making our hotel experience so much more fun. The fact the back of the room opens to the pool is great, but opening into a furnished patio with privacy curtains is Awesome. The room also had a mini fridge for personal sodas and juices. The service at the hotel is fantastic and very friendly - specifically the pool service. The Spa was very nice and gym had all the amenities. Location is perfect. Bridge to cross the street to beautiful section of Ft Lauderdale beach (not crowded) and 5 minute walk to Beach Place for some fun restaurants and shopping. We used the kids club for some alone time, and Judy took great care of our little ones who were excited to go both times - once on Friday morning, then on Saturday night. The only issue we had was a long wait for our food at breakfast and not getting items we asked for. All in all a very pleasurable mini vacation away from home. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location The location is perfect, directly on the beach. The lobby area is nice and well appointed but my room was lacking. When I arrived the light in the bathroom was burned out and no towels in the bathroom either. The hall on my floor needed vacuuming . Shulas restaurant was a big disappointment. My filet was way over cooked and so was one of my guests filets. The reason we did not send them back was the other guests at the table had their food and all the sides were there. The breakfast was very unimpressive. I would recommend this hotel for the location only. July 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>