The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

  • Km 6 Camino a Veracruz
  • Panama City,
  • Panama
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children under 12 years of age may stay free of charge when accompanied by adult guests. For special all-inclusive packages, children five years and younger are complimentary, while those ages six to 12 are charged 50% of the adult fare. For other special promotional packages, charges may apply. Please contact our reservations department for more information at (507) 340-9893.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 57 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with great ocean view. I stayed here during a week long work trip and really enjoyed it. It is beautiful with magnificent ocean views & and awesome pools. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous resort This is an absolutely gorgeous resort facility that allows you to feel like you are in paradise but close enough to have the comforts of the big city. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We loved our stay here! July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Resort, Outstanding Service Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was super clean and comfortable. The pools were great and my son enjoyed swimming and walking on the beach - especially at night. Alejandra at the poolside bar and Alba from the starfish restaurant were absolutely amazing in their service, they went over the top for us. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations This is a beautiful hotel in a quiet and serene location. However, what made our stay really special was the staff. From our arrival, they were always prompt, attentive, and professional. Special kudos to Eduardo and Dennis in the Executive Lounge (and all staff there); they always greeted us by name and made us feel like we were the only guests around. Eduardo even went out of his way to help us when were having difficulty finding the concierge. Also, Laura at the Help Desk was amazing in assisting us with a driver and arranging an excursion through Gamboa Tours. She personally made the arrangements when we couldn't find anyone else to help us, and she even walked us outside until our driver arrived. Our suite was great and had an amazing ocean view with a really comfortable bed. The only reason(s) for an overall rating of 4-stars is due to the fact that the beach wasn't really a swimming beach (and not a fault of the hotel other than where it's located), and that during our entire stay we only saw the concierge and tour representatives at their desks when we were checking out. Wish we could make it 4.5-stars, because this is a great hotel. We will definitely return in the near future. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Platinum service is astounding! We stayed at the Playa Bonita for 4 nights in May 2013. We could not be more pleased with the service, especially the platinum service. Aristeres in the Platinum lounge was incredible! They also have a private Platinum pool! May 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than I was lead to believe Having read a number of negative reviews online, particularly concerning the level of service we would receive, I wasn't expecting great things in that regard. However, we experienced just the opposite. The service was good, even given our very limited Spanish, and we did not experience anything that I would call poor. In fact, many times staff would go out of their way to be helpful. The only small criticism I can give concerns the maid service. We didn't get new face towels one day to replace the ones we had put on the floor (to indicate we wished new ones) and the coffee pot had not been cleaned out when I tried to use it the first morning (and the Coffeemate was missing). In addition, our complimentary water was not renewed until we complained about it. Small issues but enough to delete one star from my review score. The sign of a truly first class hotel is the attention paid to small details. It almost goes without saying (because this is a very new hotel) that the rooms, the grounds and most of the facilities (the ping-pong tables are warped) were in very good condition and worthy of the Westin name. The beach has many shells and sharp shell fragments so wear sandels or other footwear when you walk it. You can swim in the ocean if you choose, but the experience is not up to par with a beach resort on a Caribbean island, That's probably the reason for the hotel's many excellently maintained pools. Regarding food in the hotel, our experiences were limited to the Pacifica and Starfish Grill for breakfast and the Starfish again for lunches and a few dinners. The breakfast buffet is decent but I've had better for less. The breakfast buffet moves around during the week: We thought it was a bit better in the Pacifica (a few more choices) than in the Starfish. You can get a la carte breakfast in the Starfish. The Starfish has a very limited lunch and dinner menu but what is there is quite tasty. I ended up having the Angus burger several times (I recommend it) and each time it was prepared exactly right. If I were running the Westin I would expand the Starfish Grill's menu with a few more items. Finally, regarding drinks during your stay I can recommend the local Panama lager and can highly recommend the Passion Fruit Mojito, I'm not usually a fan of Mojito's - I find them too sweet - but this one tastes very different. May 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by AMAZING! AMAZING! AMAZING! My husband and I just got back from our first trip to Panama and could not have had a more wonderful experience, fueled mainly by our wonderful time at the Westin Playa Bonita! As avid SPG Members, we've been to many properties and this one was by far the best we've experienced! From the luxurious accommodations to the excellent staff who helped impart their local knowledge of Panama over delicious rum drinks (a special thank you to Max and the entire team at the Lobby Bar) to the freshly prepared food, everything was top notch. Your travel experience to Panama wouldn't be complete without a visit to this top-notch hotel. Thank you Westin for a wonderful, memorable trip. We cannot wait to come back and visit! July 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a good hotel We stayed here in April last year. The General Manager has changed, although the confirmation emails still have the name of the old GM. There seems to have been considerabel staff turnover and the number of staff able to speak some English had declined. The property is showing signs of 'wear and tear'. Plaster around the pool and swim-up bar seats is chipping. Cleaniliness around the pool area has also declined, there was a bandaid on the floor by the hot tub for 4 days and we assume it was only removed after we bought it to the hotel's attention. Great service from Aristides in the Executive lounge. The other 'Aristides' in the pool area also provided good service. As the hotel hosted several large goups while we were there, it became very frustrating finding out which restaurants were open for breakfast. A suggestion would be to post this information in the elevator. May 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel review: management I had requested to become SPG member to your front desk lady, whereby I reminded her three times when I did not receive any email from SPG. Did she do it or didn't she. I do not know....creates dubious since up to now no email from SPG. Upon checking out, I was accused of taking candy bars from the mini bar, which is totally untrue. I was so shocked that I could not believe this coming from Westin. When I maintained my stand, the man behind the desk just crumpled the receipt without an ounce of apology. Well trained and well mannered?? I do not think so.. The few days I made use of the MAID service, I found that the floor was not well swept. In fact, I had taken the broom from the maid and swept the floor myself.However the NO MAID-Food Coupon reward is fantastic. I know I have to focus on the hotel, unfortunately I need to link to the organizer for TC 207 meeting recently. We were told to pay for the bellboy and maid tips via the hotel. The hotel claimed the directive came from the organizer, however, if that were the case the hotel should not have accepted the request because the charges are inconsistent to normal hotel practices around the world. Is the hotel in cohort with the ISO TC207 organizer?Malaysia has Westin Hotel too. There are too may inconsistencies related to the hotel that I would not recommend WESTIN bonita playa to anyone. Another Westin elsewhere maybe. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable suite, great food and bed La Playa Bonita resort is gorgeous and secluded, wonderful for honeymooners like us. The staff service however was uneven. When we arrived late that first night the staff could not find the honeymoon registry funds that were to pay for our stay. My wife and I could not relax until we resolved the issue the next afternoon. Toward the end of our stay, instances of indifferent service left us laughing. For example, the associate who worked in the tour office ignored us when we attempted to reserve a departing airport ride; she was dressed up to cater to convention guests we did not see. Granted, we were in another country so we did not expect USA-style customer service. But we found it odd that some staff felt bothered by our resonable inquiries during the off season. Still, we'll remember the comfortable suite [slight inconvenience was a clogged tub], great food and heavenly bed. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel the service, food and the general areas of the hotel was very good. The staff needs to be more careful about the intern problems (one waiter told me that my drink take more time because the bartender was lazy) August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin all inclusive Westin Playa Bonita is a beautiful Hotel. The facilities are wonderful -- to a point. My husband and I love sitting in Jacuzzi's and watching the setting sun. The heat in the jacuzzi at Westin have all been turned off so that the only hot jacuzzis that are available are in the spa and of course they are not free. The 2nd disappointment that we encountered was with the all inclusive food package. We were very surprised when we arrived and found out that we had to eat all of our meals in the buffet. When we asked if we could upgrade we were told yes but it would cost us $90 per person per day. So for the two of us that would be an extra $180 a day plus taxes. This is totally not acceptable. The buffets were beautiful but 21 buffets in a row is a bit much The rest of the stay was wonderful. The hotel is lovely our rooms overlooked the Panama bay and we watched the ships line up for Panama Canal. June 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very comfortable an excellent swiming pools This hotel is comfortable with an excellent swiming pools. As it is located far from certain turisctic attraction it is recomended to rent a car to avoid expensive taxi costs. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for weekend escapes The hotel was great for my needs. I went for the weekend to enjoy the pool, the hotel and to relax. I did all of those. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel staff are incompetent If you're used to decent and reasonable service, stay away from this hotel. From the concierge to the receptionist to the restaurant staff, this was the most awful hotel experience I've ever had. 1. Check in/receptionist: Could not validate my rate, even after having discussed it with them. I had to get an email printed out for them to verify. The receptionist wasted 15 minutes of my time talking to the 'manager'. 2. Concierge. - They recommend 'family' restaurants located in seedy parts of town. - They book tours that are unreliable, that do not respect times, and totally unprofessional - They cannot understand simple requests, such as getting tape to repair a damaged suitcase 3. Restaurant staff - Had no idea what 'ketchup' or 'tomato sauce' was. The hotel looks great online; beware it is far out of town and will cost you $70 every time you want to go downtown. If you have the patience to ask for items at least three times, then go ahead, this is the place for you. As an American brand, I would expect that all staff be fluent in basic English; maybe this is the general manager's fault who can't hire any people that can communicate. If I was the CEO, I would remove the brand name from this property. After 5 days in this hotel, I really needed a real vacation...definitely not up to standards. Stick to the other brands. August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review Hotel rooms and facilities are very nice August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, not so good beach Nice hotel, new good rooms and meeting rooms. Pros Rooms, personnel, meeting rooms, mantenaince. Cons Variety of room service menu, quality and hours of local restaurants. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel has a great view We stay at 11 floor, and view was great at any time. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has very friendly staff Only pity was the weather. I couldn't see the horizon one single day, but that was of course not the hotel to blame. May 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3