The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

An additional fee applies for children between 3 and 12 years old sleeping in existing bedding. Guests 13 years of age and older will be charged as an adult. Fees for children ages 3 to 12 years old (per child, per night): January 3 to April 30, 2014: Add 135 USD May 1 to December 22, 2014: Add 90 USD December 23, 2014, to January 2015: Add 255 USD

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years old with a valid, government-issued ID to check in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Costa Rica Excellent accommodations. Something for everyone. Beautiful All facilities easily accessible. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! The grounds were amazing...golf, pool, restaurants, beach....Great seeing all the wildlife! August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food Overall the resort was very nice. We stayed in the Royal family suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. Two had 2 full beds with a seating area, desk, dining table for 2, and a bar area with a sink. Room was really well located on the resort property. Right in front of the family pool with easy and quick walk to the beach and restaurants. Which now leads us to the food. We were all impressed with all the restaurants. Please do make all your reservations within the first few days or you might end up eating buffets the whole stay. My favorite dinner restaurant was Las Candalas. They do fish really well? Especially salmon!!! Love the room service too 24hrs! Next is beach. Beach front is pretty wide and secluded. There are no other resorts along either sides so that was really nice. The beach part was very shallow so it didn't leave much room for lounge chairs. Water wise, the waves came in pretty rough. it was much stronger than the carribbean. My 4 year old couldn't stay standing in the water it would sweep her right off her feet. Water was nice and clear no kelp which was what I really appreciated! All in all this was a great resort and i would definitely go back! Shuttles all around. Staff was friendly Drinks were great! loved how they used real fruits to make all the drinks. Favorite was pineapple mojito! August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay, beautiful resort, and FUN! We just returned from a weeklong trip with our family and friends (20 of us went) in April 2012. The resort was beautiful. The rooms were great. The food was tasty! There are also exotic birds, monkeys, iguanas, and coatis seen frequently around the resort (very cool). I've seen a few reviews mention that there wasn't much to do!?!?! I simply don't understand what exactly they would like to do? The resort publishes their (fully included) daily activities EVERY DAY which include: walking tours, running trips, beach yoga, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water aerobics, wine tasting, tequila tasting, food tasting, spanish (intro), decorating. The resort also has a daily golf-cart tour around the Reserva Conchal complex (there is a small cost for this) - but we saw lots of animals on the tour and several views that you wouldn't see on your own which made it worth the nominal fee. Additionally there are MANY other activity options. There are optional tours you can pay for: we went on a "Mega Adventure Tour" which included a full day of activities (zip lining, water slides, horseback riding, and a volcanic mud spa) and we did a private fishing trip one day and caught red snapper . . . THE BEST PART is that the resort arranged to have OUR fish cooked for us that night for FREE (you have to ask for this). You can walk on the beach to the next town (very small) or you can take a 15-min taxi to the town of Tamarindo which has a beautiful beach with dozens of shops and restaurants to explore. You can take surfing lessons there. If you find yourself heading to the Westin Playa Conchal . . . you'll be pleased! April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in June! Overall: Great trip! Rooms: We had a suite in the Royal Beach Club and it was very clean, modernly decorated, had a mini fridge stocked daily with soft drinks, beer, liquor, as well as a daily supply of crackers/peanuts and there was fruit upon arrival. We were very happy with our suite as it has 2 full bathrooms, a living room, a patio with a whirpool, and though it was very humid in Costa Rica, our air conditioner kept our room very cold (which we like). The bathrooms were well stocked with not just the standard shampoo/conditioner/soap, but also shaving kits, toothbrush kits, and non standard amenities. None of the rooms really have beach or water views, as they are set up like little villas on a 24 acre property. That didn't bother us as we had a view of all the greenery and birds but just as an FYI. Food: It's true on the reservations - you need to book early. You should be fine as long as you book them as soon as you get there. We tried the Italian restaurant, the Mediterranean, The Thai/Asian (Bamboo), as well as the Latin Restaurant. We never made it to the French restaurant in the lobby. None of the restaurants have any sort of strict dress code (once in Mexico they were really strict on pants for me). They were all good, especially for an all inclusive. The best was the Italian restaurant. We went to Mitra (buffet) only for breakfast and they had a really good assortment. We also ordered room service twice, once for breakfast, and once for lunch. Room service is 24/7 which is nice Pools: There are two massive pools at this resort; one at the Royal Beach Club side (adults only) and one in the main side (note: both are in close walking distance). We stayed at the Royal Beach Club and parked ourselves in a cabanna most of the time. We saw somewhere after a few days of sitting there that they were $20 a day, but we used them for free - maybe because it was the rainy season. At the Royal Beach Club there is a pool bar, with top shelf liquor (all inclusive), towel service, drink service, and they even have a menu to order from if you don't feel like moving off your chair (we did this several days) - chips/guacamole, sandwiches etc. We didn't go to the main pool too much but it looked awesome. Activities: They have a full set of activities each day - we didn't participate in most, but if you have kids, I'd imagine it would be great. They have several workout classes as day (which is great) though I never made it to any of them :). They have a nice gym too open 24/7. We don't golf but heard great feedback on the golf course. They have Swiss tours on property or some guy outside on the beach that people have recommended (not affiliated) but I can't recall his name - we met friends that had a great time on both tour providers but my husband and I were there for pure relaxation this time as we have been to Costa Rica several other times and have done ziplining and the park tours etc. Beach: The beach is public, as are all beaches in Costa Rica, so there are some "sales people" out there, etc. The beach is ok, but the pools are the place to be. Overall Property: Yes, it is pretty big. Everything is however in a 5-10 minute walking distance and we walked most everywhere. And, they have these little truck/shuttles that are around to pick you up if you need a ride. Only wouldn't recommend this resort if you have some sort of difficulties walking but otherwise it is not an issue at all. I liked all the variety this larger resort offers. Staff: Very Very Very good. The staff at the Royal Beach Club went out of their way to make sure we had a great vacation. I mentioned to the concierge at the Royal Beach Club it was my husband's birthday, and they not only had a birthday cake at the restaurant we made reservations at, but also had a bottle of wine, chocolate strawberries, rose petals, and the patio hot tub running for when we got back. At the pool, I mentioned it was my husband's birthday earlier in the day, and he brought a mini chocolate cake for him with a candle to our cabana - so cute. Weather: We have been to Costa Rica several times - in the Central Pacific, however wanted to try out the Northern Pacific side. June is a the front of the raining season (believe it starts in May) so it is still good weather (atleast where we were), and only rained for a short period usually each day, though some days it didn't rain at all. I like traveling at this time since it is much less crowded. My only caveat to the whole trip was I got sick on day 3......I thought it might be food poisioning but my husband didn't get sick... I had a spa treatment earlier that day (spa is very nice by the way) that might have upset me, combined with the sun etc. Not sure.......but I had to spend day 4 and 5 recovering in the cabana. I went to the hotel doctor (who is "ok") and said I was dehydrated with a virus.......or something but wasn't sure. I've never gotten food poisening in Costa Rica in the past (and I drink all the water/food at the resort) unlike Mexico where I always get sick. But there was definitely something that upset me big time (major vomitting) for one night. The conceirge was sick that day also.....That said, I don't think it was something specific to this hotel per se, but just the one tid bit I didnt enjoy....... June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful week in Guanacaste Overall we had a wonderful experience at the Westin. I’ll start with the positives: the staff is friendly and efficient; pool-side chairs are plentiful, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable; food and service are excellent at all the reservations-only restaurants and good at the buffet; the beach has plenty of shade, beautiful white sand and comfortably warm but refreshing water you can swim on. As to entertainment and activities, the aquarobics at 11 every morning is not to be missed, there is also yoga every morning but we didn’t try it; snorkeling is decent on the rocky area of the beach on the right side of the hotel during low tide; night entertainment is mixed, the live music was very good, others were so-so. Areas for improvement, first and foremost please make stronger and better coffee for breakfast, Americans and Canadians do appreciate a good cup of coffee, so how about brewing some of the locally grown coffee for the Westin guests! The bees … there are too many bees all over the pool. Be careful if you are allergic to bee stings. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service very nice hotel with friendly staff August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Facilities My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our 1 week stay this August. Staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant and the food was great. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was wonderful The place was amazing!. The rooms, food, atmosphere, staff, pool, beach, wildlife were all awesome!! August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best 1st time in CR!! I left the Westin resort on 5/9 with fond memories- food, drink ,daily activities are top notch, 7 days is too little time to spend at this resort- once I found out there are personal trainers on the premise I was hooked- from yoga in the beach to spinning to power abs to full body fit- I've enjoyed them all- prop to the 2 instructors Jorge and Kenny- their enthusiasm and energy are contagious- they put in 150% efforts in the class whether there are 10 or 1 participants- they are an asset to the resort- May 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by We had a wonderful time and would recommend!! Overall we had a fabulous time and all staff were accommodating and wanted to see everyone happy. Beach and pool are great. Activity center staff were great. I especially loved the swim up bar. The bar service staff throughout the resort is wonderful. The cleaning staff could do a slightly better job. (clearing room service trays-left for 2 days until we called; it happened 2 times, prior guest's bobby pins found, did not leave new activity newsletter each night in room, and did not refill the frig with new soda each day). Wished dinner reservations times were easler to get other than 6 and 9 if we did not make them early enough. Food was great. I would recommend this resort and would want to come back again. August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful setting with some drawbacks Beach, pool and restaurants are great! The rooms have a little privacy as far as bathrooms with NO doors to shower and sink areas. There are a limited number of chairs available on the beach so you better get there very early and even then they could be taken. Reservations for restaurants are also very competitive. Then wine and alcohol are the very cheapest brands. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great family fun As a family of four, we had a great time at Weston Costa Conchal! August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice beach getaway Beautiful resort, lush surroundings, fantastic golf course and excellent food. Great choice for a weekend getaway or a relaxing vacation. A return trip is in our future! August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by restaurant reservation system and internet connection I found my experience was great overall except the following two areas: The concierge staff upon our arrival was not attentive at all when we tried to make reservation at one of the restaurants. I felt that he was trying to convince us to eat at the buffet instead. He was not helpful at all to try to find space for us at the restaurants. I understand there is only one lady in the whole resort to handle restaurant reservation from 8:00 to 4:00. But i don't feel like stressing out to reach her to reserve a table. Is there a better system to satisfy the guests' request? I paid $15 a day for the internet but only can connect for the first 1.5 hours.....I gave up after the line went dead. I do want to complement the two fitness staff who taught the fitness classes. Very friendly, very energetic, and understanding. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent All-Inclusive Resort Having been at several all-inclusive resorts The Westin has been the best by far. All the restaurants offered a variety of selections and had beautiful presentation. Took a few excursions and relaxed by the pool. Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful property This resort met our expectations in every way possible. It offered outstanding amenities, excellent staff service, great food and a feeling of safety. We will return many more times and recommend the hotel to all our friends. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please see # 1 after 6 visits my family and I still look forward to future visits August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 THE BEST THE BEST***** Spent a week enjoying wonderful service and accommodations at the Westin. Started with Maria Cruz who check us in at the reception desk and from there we had wonderful time at the Westin. Our room in Tower 2 Royal Beach was great and Victor and Nelson are “THE BEST CONSEIOUR” they could not have done more for us, they both do their jobs to the highest standards and taught us so much about their country. > The pool at Royal Beach is fantastic and Isaac & Jonathan made each day so pleasant, they are “AWESOME”. They were always there bringing us drinks, towels and the best of all 3pm we always got guacamole & chips. They made each day so much fun and were a big reason of why we had such a relaxing and unbelievable vacation. > The Westin in Costa Rica gets a 5 Star rating from us. We can’t wait to return to where everyone is so proud of their country and their only goal is to share it with you. > Thank you for everything all of you did for us! > Debbie & Laurie from New Jersey April 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very attentive staff Excellent staff, always available to assist with anything we needed. Highly recommend the Royal Beach Club experience. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Vacation Spot My wife and I just celebrated both of our birthdays and our 8th anniversary at the Westin Playa Conchal. We have done different vacations at Starwood Properties in a few different countries. The Westin was an excellent resort and we had a tremendous time. We highly recommend it and would stay there again. The service was excellent. We stayed at the Private Beach Club and were immediately given premium service through the private check-in and the building concierge. There were two minor issues in our room when we arrived and our concierge had them resolved before we could order room service. That was the end of any issues. The service from every employee (including some of the on-site travel services for tours) was very good. Everyone was personable and more than accommodating. The restaurants and food were a wonderful surprise. We have only stayed at a few all-inclusive hotels in the past few years and we have seen the gambit. One fear is that since you are there, the resort has you cornered and they can get by with the bare minimum. The buffet dispelled that the first morning. Each meal was great. Just make sure to do your dinner reservations the minute you arrive. Times book quickly and our first night we had to go to the buffet (not that we minded at all). Each of the restaurants was tremendous and dinner was such a highlight of the day. The grounds were very well maintained. Even though they have construction and renovations occurring at some of the rooms, they started late, ended early and kept the noise and mess to a minimum. No impact on our experience at all. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Country....Great Resort WOW, WOW, WOW..... My husband and I just returned from 10 days in Costa Rica, and spent every night at this Westin resort.....the staff was tremendous and the Mgr. of Customer Relations has 'schooled' her staff well! This property is a resort, everything you could possibly want is here, and you can be as busy as you want with all the adventure available, or do nothing but enjoy the beach & beautiful surroundings! This property will be fabulous when all renovations are complete. I cannot say enough about the staff…. from the front desk to the shuttle drivers to the maintenance...they are happy people who want you to enjoy their country. I have nothing negative to say about the staff or the resort in general...the food was above average, in particular the breakfast buffet at Fasinella(sp?) was superb and dinner there was excellent. If I am really looking for a negative, it would be not so good food at Bamboo restaurant...a little bland. By far, the best all-inclusive resort we have ever encountered...look forward to a return visit!! And, btw….do not book any tours in advance online, you can do that thru the hotel once you arrive or ck it out yourself with the locals nearby. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A relaxing vacation The warmth and desire to please of the Costa Rican employees at this resort added to the beautiful surroundings and well maintained facility, make the Westin worthy of many more visits. The food was excellent and the pools beautiful. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful All Inclusive My family of four just spent a week at the Westin Playa Conchal, for our second summer in a row, and we were once again really happy with the hotel and all of its amenities. Our rooms were clean, spacious and we LOVE the beds! The pool is beautiful and very well maintained. Very close proximity to a wonderful beach. We ate at four of the five all-inclusive restaurants and were thrilled with our service and food at all. The bartenders at all four bars we frequented did a great job. Our service by all staff was amazing. We also took advantage of the free kayaks and bicycles and were extremely pleased with those as well. Overall excellent experience and we would love to return! July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had a great time We enjoyed our week on vacation with rest and great food. We were disappointed with the inconsistency of the shuttle service. We loved the atmosphere, including the wildlife that roam the premises. We never got the drinks we ordered when we went to the buffet, but loved all the other restaurants. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise in Playa Conchal The tropical grounds and amenities at the Westin are like living in Paradise. Beautiful scenery, wildlife, and excellent, friendly staff. We will definitely return. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous eco-friendly all-inclusive resort Room was fabulous, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful beach, and an array of fabulous restaurants. Gorgeous beach. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved this resort I can't remember the last time I've taken the time to write a review, but felt compelled to in this case. We had a great experience here and hope to visit again in the future. Of particular note ... Great food--especially the Italian, Asian, and pizza restaurants. The staff truly could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room and grounds were amazing. I have never done the all-inclusive thing before and so wasn't sure what to expect in terms of quality. Thank you for a great stay! June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding After reading some of the excellent reviews I had my expectations set high, however they were exceeded by this wonderful Resort. If you want excitement, zip lining, canopy walking, ATV trails (albeit a tad expensive, but worth it) this is the place for you. If you want to sit by a relaxing pool, wander manicured grounds and just chill out, this is the place for you. Their six restaurants range from excellent to outstanding, depending on your taste. (My favorite was Bamboo, Asian Fusion) The staff are outstanding at all levels, everyone acknowledges you with a smile and “Olah” Even the tedious four hour ride from San Jose Airport was made entertaining by a wonderful driver. I have nothing but praise for this Resort. I did not play, but understand that the Golf course was pretty good too! The rooms are well appointed, well kept and once again perfect service. We had a wonderful week here in Costa Rica and would love to return another day. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Service in a great location My husband proposed to me in May on a short trip we made to the hotel. We enjoyed it so much we went back for our honeymoon. If you want to stay directly on the water then this may not be the best hotel but everything else makes up for that one loss. The Royal Beach club is AMAZING. David was our butler and remembered us from our first stay. When he found out we had just got married he arranged for a special surprise with candles and cake in our room. The little touches of personalization the staff makes are what makes the experience so great. The food is really good and unlike other all inclusives I have stayed at there were never any issues with room. The resort has nightly shows that are very entertaining. The spa is very nice. The facility is maintained very well. The location is great. We rented ATVs and drove them into Tamarindo and took a surf lesson. We traveled to the volcano which is beautiful. We went diving and on a canopy tour. The hotel helped arrange each trip. The hotel has a golf cart guided tour of the property which was very nice. We went at sunset and saw many critters. There are iguanas everywhere. Its is so much fun that we cant wait to go back. November 12, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>