The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Additional fee applies for children between 3 and 12 years old sleeping in existing bedding. Guests 13 years of age and older will be charged as an adult. Fees for children ages 3 to 12 years old (per child, per night): January - December 23, 2013: Add 145 USD

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years old with a valid, government-issued ID to check in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 72 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Great time! My husband and I just stayed at the Westin Playa Conchal on our honeymoon (November 18). We had an absolutely fabulous time! The hotel is gorgeous. The pools are amazing and the beach is absolutely stunning. The staff members are so friendly. We were always greeted and called by our names. The staff is so friendly that you almost get to know them during your stay at the hotel. The only disappointment was the restaurants being closed (only 2 were open). Although we only were able to eat at 2 of the 8 restaurants, the means were amazing (especially the Italian restaurant). I have never had a more fabulous vacation and I hope to visit the resort in the future! December 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort is Paradise! My wife and I just returned from a week at this nearly paradise like resort! I cannot overstate what a wonderful stay we experienced. The property is located on the beach about a 50 minute ride from Liberia airport. We arranged a shuttle but a private car rental appears to be a safe and reasonable option. I would be sure if driving yourself of accurate directions for the route. Upon arrival an open air Westin Playa Conchal reception center will take your luggage and transport you to your room after you have checked in. The transport is via a small shuttle with travel time 3-5 minutes along paved pathway to your building. Most buildings are comprised of 8 guest units. The rooms are attractive, comfortable and modern and feature flat screen TV, separate sitting area with couch and desk. Each guest unit has a comfortable open air covered patio right outside the front door to enjoy during your stay. The resort is all-inclusive with no limitation to food or drink. We had never stayed at an all-inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Multiple restaurant options provide opportunity to find food preferences or sample the different cuisine themed styles. Numerous bar locations are found over the property for alcohol and non-alcoholic beverages for you to enjoy throughout the day. Landscape and grounds are very attractive consistent with Central American Costa Rica. A very large pool is available to all with configuration lending to a sense that the pool is not overcrowded. A second adult pool is also good size and easily accessible from all units. Both pools have swim up bars to enjoy. The property sits on the edge of the ocean with a nice beach with smooth sand and, during our stay, gentle waves. As you enter the beach locals wish to offer massages, 4-wheeler rentals, and souvenirs to purchase but we did not feel this was uncomfortably intrusive. A Robert Trent Jones golf course is on property and is an enjoyable layout with several views of the ocean as well as the surrounding countryside with vistas from various course elevations. The course was well cared for and the pro shop had available abundant new model Callaway golf sets to rent as needed. Green fees seemed reasonable for a Category 7 resort. Three tennis courts are on site, available for play without charge before 6 pm each day and there was always a free court for us to walk onto. A tennis pro will provide lessons as desired and this is easily arranged at the Activities Center. The grounds have numerous iguanas and coatimundis which guests enjoyed watching. Howlers monkeys can be heard and seen in the trees and could be seen close up one morning when they were in the low trees along the beach as well as various times while on the golf course. The staff throughout the resort was always cheerful and helpful, spoke English well, and communication was never a problem. February weather was warm (90s), low humidity and barely a cloud in the sky. My only disappointment this entire week was minimal perceived recognition for our Platinum SPG status regarding room assignment. Nonetheless our accommodations were wonderful. This is a fabulous vacation resort deserving of Category 7 status. We hope to return. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 glorious days at the Westin Playa Conchal We checked in for a 5-night stay in the Royal Beach Club section for March Break, 2014. As a Platinum guest, we were accorded 1st class treatment - including an upgrade to a corner suite in Tower 1. The suite included a king size bed, two Jacuzzi baths (one indoor, one outdoor), an enormous rain shower, and a huge balcony. There is an onsite concierge to arrange shuttles, refresh the in room mini bar and make tour arrangements. John (our concierge) was the best, as was Maureen, the chief concierge. Daily activities at the resort, including early am exercises, were available, and we found the trainers to be excellent. There are 8 restaurants on site, and we tried them all! The best (for dinner) were Les Candelas & Faisenellas. Our daughter loved the mojitos in the swim up bar, and the Costa Rican beer was not to shabby! All in all, a great place to sit back and relax for spring break. We were sad when it was time to go home! March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay, beautiful resort, and FUN! We just returned from a weeklong trip with our family and friends (20 of us went) in April 2012. The resort was beautiful. The rooms were great. The food was tasty! There are also exotic birds, monkeys, iguanas, and coatis seen frequently around the resort (very cool). I've seen a few reviews mention that there wasn't much to do!?!?! I simply don't understand what exactly they would like to do? The resort publishes their (fully included) daily activities EVERY DAY which include: walking tours, running trips, beach yoga, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water aerobics, wine tasting, tequila tasting, food tasting, spanish (intro), decorating. The resort also has a daily golf-cart tour around the Reserva Conchal complex (there is a small cost for this) - but we saw lots of animals on the tour and several views that you wouldn't see on your own which made it worth the nominal fee. Additionally there are MANY other activity options. There are optional tours you can pay for: we went on a "Mega Adventure Tour" which included a full day of activities (zip lining, water slides, horseback riding, and a volcanic mud spa) and we did a private fishing trip one day and caught red snapper . . . THE BEST PART is that the resort arranged to have OUR fish cooked for us that night for FREE (you have to ask for this). You can walk on the beach to the next town (very small) or you can take a 15-min taxi to the town of Tamarindo which has a beautiful beach with dozens of shops and restaurants to explore. You can take surfing lessons there. If you find yourself heading to the Westin Playa Conchal . . . you'll be pleased! April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in June! Overall: Great trip! Rooms: We had a suite in the Royal Beach Club and it was very clean, modernly decorated, had a mini fridge stocked daily with soft drinks, beer, liquor, as well as a daily supply of crackers/peanuts and there was fruit upon arrival. We were very happy with our suite as it has 2 full bathrooms, a living room, a patio with a whirpool, and though it was very humid in Costa Rica, our air conditioner kept our room very cold (which we like). The bathrooms were well stocked with not just the standard shampoo/conditioner/soap, but also shaving kits, toothbrush kits, and non standard amenities. None of the rooms really have beach or water views, as they are set up like little villas on a 24 acre property. That didn't bother us as we had a view of all the greenery and birds but just as an FYI. Food: It's true on the reservations - you need to book early. You should be fine as long as you book them as soon as you get there. We tried the Italian restaurant, the Mediterranean, The Thai/Asian (Bamboo), as well as the Latin Restaurant. We never made it to the French restaurant in the lobby. None of the restaurants have any sort of strict dress code (once in Mexico they were really strict on pants for me). They were all good, especially for an all inclusive. The best was the Italian restaurant. We went to Mitra (buffet) only for breakfast and they had a really good assortment. We also ordered room service twice, once for breakfast, and once for lunch. Room service is 24/7 which is nice Pools: There are two massive pools at this resort; one at the Royal Beach Club side (adults only) and one in the main side (note: both are in close walking distance). We stayed at the Royal Beach Club and parked ourselves in a cabanna most of the time. We saw somewhere after a few days of sitting there that they were $20 a day, but we used them for free - maybe because it was the rainy season. At the Royal Beach Club there is a pool bar, with top shelf liquor (all inclusive), towel service, drink service, and they even have a menu to order from if you don't feel like moving off your chair (we did this several days) - chips/guacamole, sandwiches etc. We didn't go to the main pool too much but it looked awesome. Activities: They have a full set of activities each day - we didn't participate in most, but if you have kids, I'd imagine it would be great. They have several workout classes as day (which is great) though I never made it to any of them :). They have a nice gym too open 24/7. We don't golf but heard great feedback on the golf course. They have Swiss tours on property or some guy outside on the beach that people have recommended (not affiliated) but I can't recall his name - we met friends that had a great time on both tour providers but my husband and I were there for pure relaxation this time as we have been to Costa Rica several other times and have done ziplining and the park tours etc. Beach: The beach is public, as are all beaches in Costa Rica, so there are some "sales people" out there, etc. The beach is ok, but the pools are the place to be. Overall Property: Yes, it is pretty big. Everything is however in a 5-10 minute walking distance and we walked most everywhere. And, they have these little truck/shuttles that are around to pick you up if you need a ride. Only wouldn't recommend this resort if you have some sort of difficulties walking but otherwise it is not an issue at all. I liked all the variety this larger resort offers. Staff: Very Very Very good. The staff at the Royal Beach Club went out of their way to make sure we had a great vacation. I mentioned to the concierge at the Royal Beach Club it was my husband's birthday, and they not only had a birthday cake at the restaurant we made reservations at, but also had a bottle of wine, chocolate strawberries, rose petals, and the patio hot tub running for when we got back. At the pool, I mentioned it was my husband's birthday earlier in the day, and he brought a mini chocolate cake for him with a candle to our cabana - so cute. Weather: We have been to Costa Rica several times - in the Central Pacific, however wanted to try out the Northern Pacific side. June is a the front of the raining season (believe it starts in May) so it is still good weather (atleast where we were), and only rained for a short period usually each day, though some days it didn't rain at all. I like traveling at this time since it is much less crowded. My only caveat to the whole trip was I got sick on day 3......I thought it might be food poisioning but my husband didn't get sick... I had a spa treatment earlier that day (spa is very nice by the way) that might have upset me, combined with the sun etc. Not sure.......but I had to spend day 4 and 5 recovering in the cabana. I went to the hotel doctor (who is "ok") and said I was dehydrated with a virus.......or something but wasn't sure. I've never gotten food poisening in Costa Rica in the past (and I drink all the water/food at the resort) unlike Mexico where I always get sick. But there was definitely something that upset me big time (major vomitting) for one night. The conceirge was sick that day also.....That said, I don't think it was something specific to this hotel per se, but just the one tid bit I didnt enjoy....... June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great A/I hotel...booked to go back. Staff were attentive, we had family concierge, great on site restaurants( once you manage to get a reservation), not huge portions in evenings but quality and more than enough. Evenings were quiet but can always go to Locals towns if you like. Golf course was great, free golf for u12's and not busy. Beach is great, admittedly local traders assemble there and aren't intimidating..great people in Costa Rica, not long trip from airport..going back in a few months.. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best 1st time in CR!! I left the Westin resort on 5/9 with fond memories- food, drink ,daily activities are top notch, 7 days is too little time to spend at this resort- once I found out there are personal trainers on the premise I was hooked- from yoga in the beach to spinning to power abs to full body fit- I've enjoyed them all- prop to the 2 instructors Jorge and Kenny- their enthusiasm and energy are contagious- they put in 150% efforts in the class whether there are 10 or 1 participants- they are an asset to the resort- May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third visit as refreshing as the first We visited the Westin Playa Conchal for a third time for a couples retreat and continue to be impressed with this resort. Prior to our arrival we received a very pleasant, welcoming email from guest services and were thrilled upon arrival that our dinner reservations were made in advance. The attentiveness of the staff is second to none, and they truly went above and beyond with every interaction. Our butler sought us out every morning to inquire about our stay and any needs. The bartenders remembered our drink orders and anticipated our every need. The wait staff in the restaurants were professional and polished. The Westin made some nice enhancements to the dinner menus at their restaurants and though improvement was not needed, we found the new items and presentation refreshing and inspired. We particularly noticed the addition of many more vegetable options at breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was easy to eat healthy on our vacation. Fasinella added a lunch buffet in lieu of menu format, and we were very pleased with the variety and quality of options available. The Latin restaurant was fantastic and truly authentic. The fresh seafood at Bamboo was impressive - excellent cuts of fresh fish. The grounds were well maintained and a gorgeous departure from the snow and ice of NY. We were greeted by dozens of monkey's in the trees outside our suite on the first and second night. The fireworks on July 4th were nothing short of spectacular! Westin spared no expense. Thank you Westin for providing a relaxing and rewarding experience! February 25, 2014
2 3 4 next>>