The Westin Birmingham

  • 2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
  • Birmingham,
  • Alabama
  • 35203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay We enjoyed our stay. Everything was better than expected including the breakfast at the PUB. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An excellent stay. The friendliness of the staff was much better than I expected. They were very willing to help and conversational. The first room we were checked into had shades that were broken and lying on the floor as well as bottles of water missing. I chalked this up to a keying error, as this room was probably never actually meant to be checked into. The hotel staff was prompt in moving me to another room on the same floor. I appreciate that very much. The second room was clean but still dusty in several places. For example, the bed side phone was covered in dust as well as several other surfaces. I might not have noticed if I didn't have to use the phones to call down to the front desk about the lack of television stations available. I missed two football games because there were no HD channels available throughout my whole stay. When I called a second time about this, I asked if I could have access to the internet free of charge (since I came prepared with my laptop and an HDMI cable) so I could watch Netflix instead. The hotel staff was very apologetic and was more than happy to strike the internet usage charges from my bill. Over all I was quite satisfied with my stay and will most definitely be coming back. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern and clean Our stay at the Westin Birmingham was exceptional. The rooms were modern and very clean. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicest staff in America! Great hotel. The staff at all levels went out of their way to help you. I will be back. July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super friendly staff Lovely hotel with very personable and helpful staff. August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocketship Outstanding property Great Pub September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expectations Room exceeded expectations and the staff was friendly and efficient. May 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointing I don't usually write reviews but I thought I needed to after our recent stay. I used a Suite Night award and was confirmed, only to find that we did not get a suite. When I asked about it, the guy at the front desk confirmed the Suite Night award and said, "well, we did put you in a room with a king bed." Obviously, a room with a king bed is not a suite. I shouldn't have to push the front desk to deliver a room I was confirmed to receive. William, the guy at the front desk was awesome, found us a suite and got us in after a few hours. He also acknowledged that we should have been booked in a suite from the get go. The real problem with this hotel in my opinion is the Todd English Pub. I travel almost every week, all over the country and haven't run into many places where the service and prices are as horrible. The bar tender that served us was so uninterested is helping us and unfriendly, my wife and I kept looking at each other saying "did we do something wrong?" When we asked him what was good he just shrugged his shoulders. But the kicker was the bill. A normal Vodka tonic was $12 and basic Martini was, and I'm not kidding, $16.50 before fee's and taxes. When you add in the silly Alabama "fee in lieu of taxes" my Vodka tonic was $13-$14 dollar range and my wife's Martini was more like $18. Add on top of that state taxes. I was in NYC the week before this trip and didn't pay anywhere near $16.50 for a drink. I'm not sure I've ever paid near $20 for a drink. When we questioned the bill some guy came around and said he was from Todd English corporate, they are aware there are pricing issues and intend to address them. Pricing isn't that tough. Its not rocket science. He offered us another round with the attitude he was doing us a big favor, then brought over two incredibly poor tasting drinks. We took a couple sips, laughed and paid our $42 two drink bill and left. Nice hotel, very clean, friendly staff but make sure you get the right room for your upgrade and avoid the Todd English pub unless a $18 Martini in Birmingham, AL is worth it. July 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by slow service & room attendion As a first time stay and a SPG member I did opp for the green/Eco room service to get the 500 extra points for my stay. However 2 out of 3 days my room was not attended too.ie bed was not made trash containers were not empty, bottle water not replaced. As for the dining service in your restaurant was very slow waited 15 minutes or more for breakfasts and evening dinner however the food serviced was good, could have been warmer, As for the front deck personnel were OK but could do better with guest interaction ie when greeted they seem cold and distant. Over All I did not feel welcome or enjoyrd my stay in Birmingham AL Westin. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Great except for Dining Venues Hotel is clean, well appointed. Good bed and linens. Staff good but not exceptional. I would stay again were it not for the lack of dining venues in the hotel and in the area. The Pub is terrible. So loud that the waiter had to be 4 inches from my face to hear me. Food was ordinary to poor. I've eaten in worse places but never had to pay that much for the honor. The front desk could not understand our disappointment in the dining opportunities but did mention more restaurants were under development. Even so, I'd stay further out and drive to the BJCC where parking is no problem. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Unexpected Gem Great customer service! Great attention to detail. The in-room dining was wonderful. What made it fall short of a perfect 5 was that even though they knew we were arriving with two pets they only had a bowl for one and the mat where the food was to be placed was dilapidated. But frankly, in time, I'm certain that they will implement solutions such that they can preempt any needs of their guests. The bonus? The facility is beautiful! January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service & Beautiful Property There was not one area in the hotel that did not exceed my expectations. Bellstaff was exceptional and I even ordered hot chocolate in the middle of August and the room service attendent went out of his way to get that for me. The Sales staff was great and very service oriented. Soon there will be an uptown entertainment district located across the street that will be a great addititon right outside of the hotel. Great facility recommend it highly August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great on night stay! We had a wonderful stay while in town for a recent event. The room was very comfortable and extremely close (walking distance) to great restaurants. I will definitely stay there again! April 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointment This hotel lacked cleanness, The rooms are much smaller than whats shown on The Web. Staff was great but I have stayed in hotels for alot less and had more of everything. Cleaning staff is not good enough in anything I saw. The Lobby looked clean until you look close to little things, glass and mirrors were dirty. My room was dusty, and The showers have rain fall and no pressure for actually bathing. Very disappointed with The amont of money I spent on a 4 star hotel to see there cleaning service lacks in doing there job. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great potential Overall this property is classic Westin with a great location and the rooms are very quiet even though it is very close to interstate traffic. The staff needs improvement, i.e. my wake call for 5:15am came @ 3:15am because the time had been entered incorrectly by someone on the staff. I was not asked about my Starwood status and welcome amenity when I checked in and had to call back down, was put on hold, and then finally found out. Clearly whoever is training new employees needs to do a better job as right now they are not at the level that you would expect from a Westin property. November 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Ambiance, Too Many Fingerprints in the room and on elevator buttons.. Professional Check In but he sent me to the concierge & she looked at me like, "what"?? The hot tub was not hot enough even after complaining to the front desk and there were no towels on Sunday but plenty on Saturday. The nice Gentleman at the front desk gave me towels after I waited for a while, but no one ever brought towels up. Asked for a 3:00 check out, but a housekeeping gentleman banged on our door (with the do NOT disturb sign hanging outside the door knob) at 1 something asking for our checkout time..really???? Good Grief! March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping needs improvement The room I stayed in was not totally clean. I had to call for housekeeping to come up and clean all areas with glass (nightstands, desk, tv top counter). The housekeeper who came up could barely move her arms to wipe it down. There was food on the desk from the previous person who had occupied the room. I had already wiped down the bathroom vanity. Mirrors were not properly cleaned either. The hallways were not properly vacuumed. However, even though housekeeping was not up to par, the rest of the staff were great. February 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected Better Stayed at this hotel the weekend of April 12-13 for a regional volleyball tournament at the adjacent BJCC. The room and hotel was nice and convenient to the tournament. Many other players were also staying at the hotel. On each morning of the tournament, the hotel restaurant (English Pub) was only staffed by 2 servers, resulting in long waits for seating and service...even for a party of 2...even while there were many open tables. This is just poor planning and unacceptable on the part of the hotel. The hotel can easily anticipate the need for servers relative to the bookings at the hotel on any given day. It's clear that they did not, and it was a major issue for us...and many other guests. Nice rooms, lobby, etc., but poorly managed. I was also told at check-in that parking would cost me $8 for the entire weekend, if I did not leave the parking garage during my stay. Well,,,not true. I did not leave the garage until we checked out, and the parking attendant charged me $16...explaining that the cost was $8/day..regardless. Now $16 is no big deal. The problem is the misinformation. Again, unacceptable for this hotel chain considering the given nightly rate. These two incidents have left me with an overall negative view of our experience and this hotel. I brought the service/restaurant issue up with the check-in desk, and there solution was to sign me up as an SPG member. Absurd! April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Needs Work I was quoted one price. Once I arrived the price was totally different upon checking in. I inquired about the rate just before getting my keys and he in fact noticed that he was wrong...but had already authorized my card. Two days later when checking out I thought that issue had been resolved but the front desk still had the incorrect rate but this time charged the card. I asked that she correct it and finally did. When you're staying at a place this nice the one thing I dont want to have to worry about is something as simple as getting the rate correct! July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service! The customer service was excellent from the moment we drove up to check-in. The staff greeted us with smiles and offering assistance throughout our stay. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Option in Birmingham Hotel is very new. Rooms are well appointed. Staff is super helpful. Fitness is room has several treadmills, bike, and elliptical. There is a multi-weight machine, two benches, a rack of free weights, floor mats, yoga mats, resistance bands, and a few jump ropes! Nice job! Having the Todd English P.U.B. in the hotel is fantastic since there isn't much in downtown Birmingham. The Brazilian steakhouse opens soon too. All in all, a great value. March 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway My wife and I wanted a weekend getaway that featured a nice, beautiful, clean room close to attractions and other activities. Check-in was painless, the room was amazing and spotless, and the sheets and bed were soft and inviting after a long day walking around. March 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I expected much better Only Westin I've ever been to where you aren't allowed to pull to door for registration or unloading bags; had to go to parking deck first if you're not valet parking. Understand valet parking but not allowing visitors to unload at door was beginning of unpleasant stay. Bathroom not clean upon arrival; dried shampoos/conditioner stuck all over shower walls; beds were hard, felt like a pillowtop topper placed on wood; lobby bar not open most of time forcing you to go to Pub attached to hotel which is mediocre at best, food and service-wise. I hate all of this because this is our hometown and we were there for event close by (location was good). Front desk attendants were very polite. Small sundries store had candy bars, mints and sodas, tiny selection and not a problem but hotel is not located near much else. February 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Few dining options. The hotel only has one "restaurant", which is more of a sports bar with a loud ringing bell whenever someone drinks a certain amount of beer in a certain amount of time. Not a great atmosphere if you have moved beyond drinking games and just want to eat dinner. Breakfast is served in the same restaurant and has a stale beer smell. No taxi stand. Shuttle bus goes to the airport, but was too busy to take me downtown. Not acceptable for a business hotel. On a positive note, the room was clean and functional. October 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by All Westins are not the same After having stayed several times at the Westin in Huntsville, Alabama, I was disappointed here. There was no white tea scent greeting me. When I called to order room service, the staff acted overworked and tried to talk me out of ordering. Then, we ordered two kids meals and two cokes and the total was $44. The breakfast menu was nothing like the Huntsville Westin either and the price here was much higher. The bed was nice and the location was good, but I was disappointed otherwise. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was excellent The staff was very professional and ready to please. Our room was a lot to be desired. When I opened the drapes, I was greeted by a brick wall on a cold dreary winter day. Not what I wanted to see on such a cold, cloudy day. Otherwise, the stay was fine. I would not recommend the hotel. Bad location, hidden entrance. Room was average. We were there on business for one night. Will not stay again. Valet staff was wonderful. February 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The room I talk to someone to book the room and a lot of the thing stated that was going to be in the room was not there.The restaurant was not booked to0 had to wait 2 hours.He stated that it would be at 7pm that night and is was not.My wife was so mad!!!!!!!Please help that was my first time coming back home in 2 years.Love the place but service was bad February 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No respect for customer privacy With sad regrets, I will place the Westin as one last resort for an overnight stay. Security is lacking in the area of room privacy where hotel staff will barge into room without notification. Door locks should be checked by staff personnel prior to CUSTOMERS entering the room. The valet parking was the most prompt service offered during my sleepless stay at The Westin. February 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My bathrooms were dirty Hello, I stayed in room 320 and 302 in consecutive night stays and both times I found dirt/debris on my bathroom sink and a small feces stain left inside the toilet bowl in one of the rooms. Also, I had trouble with speed of service at Tod's English Pub too. One of the silverware napkins had a snot stain on it too. I'm not impressed with this hotel at all. Also, this is my second disappointing stay at a Westin brand hotel in a row. December 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin Birmingham Oct 25 Not informed nor given SPG room. Checked into room that was not cleaned from the prior guest (bed not made, wet towels on the floor). Given another room (also not a SPG room) and it was fine except a pair of shoes and belt from a prior guest were in the closet. Friends met us and had a drink in the lobby and then it took 15 minutes for the valet to retrieve the car. The valets didn't seem to know what they were doing. October 29, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>