Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 684 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff The day we arrived I was sick and had been for 3 days. Between lunch and dinner hours the kitchen is closed for preparation for the next meal. My husband called room service to see if we could get some Miso soup. The staff said they will check with the chef and call us back. They called back immediately and said the chef will make it for me. I was so grateful as I was very nauseated from medications I was on. It was the best Miso soup I ever had. Also when they brought us our welcome package consisting of a fruit bowl and some chocolate macadamias the chef also included a package of crackers for me. Thank you so much for caring. The soup took the nausea away. Aloha Shannon May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand Lady of Waikiki This is hotel really lives up to its grand reputation. From the moment of arrival the staff greets guests with respect. Everyone working in the hotel was fun and exemplified the aloha spirit. We had the best time. Our room was lovely. The view from the 20th floor was spectacular. There was a rainbow on the hill past the city and sunset on the beach. Halloween was so much fun. This is the best location on the beach and the street. November 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff and location are postcard worthy The Moana Surfrider was an excellent hotel. Suggestion would be to stay in the Tower if you can. Banyan you can hear the early/late beach goers. Staff from the valet, to the front desk, the food & beverage areas were great. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by overrated This hotel was billed as a 5 star resort. The lobby furniture was shabby, the room just ok. paid extra for an amenities package which didn't exist. the pool area is certainly not 5 star rated. did not experience any of the warmth and recognition noted in other reviews. bar food was average with an indifferent wait staff. the hotel is old but remodeled. regardless, the rating must have been based on the original Moana. January 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SPG Membership at its best! SPG benefits really do pay off. Even during peak times the staff makes every effort to provide the SPG member with great perks. We were immediately upgraded from the standard room to an ocean front room. Our trip home was an evening flight and we asked for a later check-out time, if available. We were quickly accommodated to a 4PM check-out. SPG membership helped us maximize our travel experience to Waikiki, Hawaii. April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Excellent location, beautiful hotel, and helpful staff. June 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not all that We arrived and were told resort full!No upgrades.Went to room 3405 right next to elevator noisy!Complained to front desk!!Said nothing they could do that day would get back to us next day!!!Never called!We would put ac on cold so the noise from neighbors room wouldn't be heard!!Also lots of saving of chairs!!On a good note loved the yoga and aqua size classes,&lei making.Food pricey.Great location.poor Internet January 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by too crowded. beach jammed. small pool. Skip it. not worth the $ unless you loved an overcrowded beach, tiny pool, jammed streets. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff made my stay even better The Moana Surf rider is a beautiful hotel! The staff is very friendly and attentive. A few people on the staff went above and beyond. Roxanne at the tours and activities desk was just amazing. The poor woman was swamped everyday but she still had a smile on her face and kept trucking on. She gave us great tips and told us not to over book. Which ended up working great. we have a good balance of activities and down time. She is such a beautiful person inside and out! We really enjoyed speaking with her daily. Johnson was our man in the Beach Lounge. We enjoyed seeing him every morning. Anything that we needed he was there before we knew we needed it. another great person we enjoyed speaking with. Lastly is Taylor, also from the Beach Lounge afternoons. Very attentive and super friendly. She was able to answer any questions we had. If she didn't know the answer she went out and found it for us! She did such a great job! I want to thank each of them for making our stay!! Thanks guys! You should give them a raise :) March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice resort but when you factor in the price... The property is a nice one but the room I got was very basic. I looked out my balcony when I got to the room and it was of a wall. I expected more since I paid full price opposed to cash and points as I'm a higher member of SPG as I rack up $30k/year in points. The room itself is a decent size and bathroom was fine. I was expecting more for $400+ a night considering I just stayed at a $200/night hotel a few nights before and felt that room I got was very much the same as Moana plus I got a free breakfast and free internet. The real value in Moana is that it's a nice property right on the beach and they have a good gym and the spa looked nice as well. So it's more of a resort compared to the hotel. I figure I paid 25% for the room and 75% for the resort. When I factor in value it just wasn't there. There was a dozen or so weddings I could tell by all the different couples one with a wedding dress. I felt I had to dodge and duck a lot as when I wandered around the resort especially in the front there was always someone taking a picture of a bride and groom. They let me check in a little early and since I had a late flight I checked out late so that was nice. Lastly, The hotel is in a good location as soon as you walk out there you are on the main strip with shopping & restaurants/bars so you don't have to walk far to get to where you want to go. The bus to Pearl Harbor is a few blocks away and when you come back the bus drops you off a few blocks as well from the hotel. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Historic Hotel We enjoyed our stay.immensely. The service was outstanding, particularly the welcome leis and complimentary wine tasting. We also enjoyed dining on the veranda while listening to the musicians and the ocean .The ambience was so relaxing, from the shade of the banyan tree on the terrace to the piano bar in the lounge. We will definitely return. We had a wonderful time at the Moana Surfrider! March 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overcrowded I have stayed at several Westin locations and have been nothing but happy until now. I found this hotel overcrowded and in need of much updating. The pool and outdoor lounge areas were overcrowed with chairs and there was still nowhere to lay in the sun even if you where o=up and out by 8AM. I did have a few issues that the staff in the lobby were very willing to accomadate. January 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfortunately, a huge disappointment. From the initial front desk "I can't be bothered" reception, to my room being unavailable until an hour and a half after check -in time--and then I had to remind the desk I was still waiting; to the small, worn room that was absolutely NOT worth the price, to the banging/working going on that I was not told of in advance of my stay and that no one at the front desk knew anything about; to the waitress who ignored my presence and never waited on me, to the large number of guests and events constantly going on; to food I had ordered from room service and put in my room frig, only to have it cleaned out by late afternoon..... my stay, to say the least, was a huge disappointment. I definitely did not feel the Aloha spirit from most of the hotel employees, which was probably because of the large number of guests, as well as event participants, that needed attention. As a SPG member, I certainly was not well taken care of. November 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shortcomings Overall my stay at the Moana SR was satisfactory but two qualms need to be addressed: The balcony of the room I was assigned to was filthy. The furniture, walls, and railings were covered with a layer of soot. In addition, the balcony door was still ajar when closed and locked, which led to security concerns and ambient noise from the outside to seep into the room. November 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Moana stay We have stayed at Starwood hotels all over the world and this was the first time I was disappointed. We have always been made to feel special at all of our other Starwood stays. With the exception of the 7:00 am manager, the front desk staff was curt and not at all responsive to our needs. We felt the service here was not up to our normal Starwood expectations. February 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was under construction and no one told us before booking and after we arrived were told the construction would be on going during our stay The staff were not helpful, the construction noise was daily . People showing up at door early morning to paint our room! Cutting Tile outside the rooms and right next to beach chairs and pool area. Lost our laundry and still have not heard from hotel after inquiring three times in person. Pool bar and surrounding area not clean. After 4 days we changed hotels. March 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the effort If you want service, this is not the place. You are just one of many and there is no effort into making your stay welcome. You will wait 45 minutes after you order your food before you eat. If you want room service you will wait over an hour. If you want extra towels or have a simple question to ask- good luck with that... Your simply not worth the effort! March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven on earth Repeat guest for 20 yrs. Long term staff--great valet, restaurant staff, housekeepers, pool and special guests manager make you feel like you are going home for our visits every 3 months--this trip for 10 days. They remember your name, favorite pillows, dark chocolate and fruit. Wonderful lanai breakfast and yoga class. A quiet respite off busy Waikiki. December 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't contol weather As always the staff and facility, met all our expections. They just couid not make the sun shine EVERY day. But they made up for it in service and friendliness. Great job to everyone. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful hotel This hotel is fantastic. It has great facilities, a wonderful restaurant, and is perfectly positioned in Waikiki. The beach is lovely, the pool also very clean and nice to swim in. The staff are all friendly and the service is wonderful. We have stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. We will definitely come back again. December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great express overnight stay I had a quick stopover stay at the Moana Surfrider. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The checking in and out was done efficiently and seamlessly. The room was comfortable and nicely presented. The hotel itself was very charming and the location was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel! December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding The great Moana Surfrider is the most outstanding hotel on the island! My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the past four years, in which we celebrated our daughter's wedding, and most recently, our 30th wedding anniversary! Our experiences have been exceptional, and we carry that feeling with us until our next stay at the Moana! July 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but very rundown and not kid friendly Great location and a grand main hotel area. Parts of the service were disappointing, room is very old and rundown. Pool closes at 6pm which is way too early. Stupid rules for the pool where staff should have the capacity and judgement to allow a small child to play with a toy if it doesn't affect others. Won't be rushing back. June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Guest This was our fifth stay at the Moana Surfrider. We were very disappointed this time. Our room showed major wear. The concierge desk, though friendly, were not helpful at all. All of the services were very disappointing, especially for the cost. We will not stay at the Moana again, nor will I recommend it to anyone else. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Beachfront location If you are looking for a wonderful hotel in a central location, then look no further than the Moana Surfrider on Waikki Beach. I stayed here over the holidays with my husband and two sons. The staff at this hotel are excellent and the hotel itself is immaculate. Ten out of ten for cleanliness and friendly service. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel at its best Moana Surfrider is not only beautiful but the location is in the center of all the shops and restaurants. It also has a beautiful beach front property right in front of a beginners surf break. The restaurant and bar serves delicious food and you even get a glass of free wine! I highly recommend this hotel! May 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff the most telling impression is the staff... over 20 years as returning guests gave us the most consistent and rewarding experience dealing with the personnel. the warmth and sincere welcome by everyone, especially the long term "vets" have preserved the Aloha spirit which has meant so much to us. October 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Satisfied Although I thought the hotel was beautiful (I had wanted to stay there for years now), my stay was not as great as expected. I'm a local and stayed at the hotel for a weekend for a stay-cation. The customer service was not consistently pleasing or adequate - if anything, it was too laid back, and this is coming from a local girl. We expected the atmosphere to be a little more of that of a luxury hotel as the prices are high and decor is so beautiful, but were discouraged that we were sometimes overlooked or ignored as guests. For example, the first moment we got there the valet service and bellboys did not come to our car. We watched as they meandered around; eventually we had to get out of our car and approach them for assistance. The front desk registration was the best service we received as part of the stay. The service at the patio restaurant we had breakfast at had strange service - the wait staff would come by to bring items or take trash and would be talking to himself & the wait service was not attentive - even as I looked over my shoulder and tried to flag down someone for a refill of my water, it took me almost five minutes - it was very irritating. The pool was disappointing as no one seems to be enforcing any usage on how long you can reserve a lounge chair. We waited patiently and it seems people are allowed to hang their towel on a lounge chair for hours, leave, and then come back with their chair saved! There should be more chairs available. Checkout took almost an hour as there was a discrepancy with the bill. Basically what we were told at check-in was not what transpired by checkout. We had to two reservations for two nights (one star friend auth) and the other a regular rate. We were told we could stay in the same room, then split the bill two ways upon final checkout. Instead, the first night bill was already paid for using my credit card and without my knowing. We were patient and said we understood but when we tried to apply the first night's points to my Starwood preferred guest account (just opened), I was told it was too late because my account was closed..which should not have happened any way. I feel we were very patient the entire stay and did not make much of a fuss while we were there. The only thing that really makes up for the lack of acceptable service is the hotel itself; the aesthetics and maintenance of it. We love the hotel nonetheless and would like to come back. If only the people working there loved it as much as we did, maybe they'd be more motivated to promote better customer service. Aloha, and thank you for considering this feedback. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel Absolutely the BEST hotel ! Every single employee genuinely cares about you and treats you like family. From the front door, to the front desk, Beach Bar, Pool and Beach Services, everyone is friendly, helpful and sincere. Even the graveyard cleaning crew says Aloha ! Can't wait to go back ! October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Week in Paradise After researching many hotels in the Waikiki area my girlfriend and i decided that Moana Surfrider was the place we wanted to stay...what a great choice! Not only did the hotel meet our expectations but exceeded our expectations as well. We stayed in the Tower facing Diamond Head on the 17th floor three rooms from the end where the suits are...what a view! There is nothing like waking up and going to bed with a balcony that has a view of the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. We had mentioned that it was a trip for our anniversary and my girlfriends birthday but did not expect a bottle of champagne and a nice birthday dessert waiting for us when we first arrived...what a nice touch! Everything about the hotel was to our liking...upscale dining with great service and wonderful ambiance...a quick walk to beautiful Waikiki beach or to the many stores and restaurants nearby...fast valet service and everyone at the Surfrider was friendly and helpful...we will definitely stay here again next year! December 16, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 24 next>>