Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 684 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our Expectations We weren't sure what to expect, based on some mixed reviews. From the moment we arrived we were treated so well from every staff member we came in contact with. Our room was in the tower wing and I loved everything about it. Clean and comfy with a beautiful view. We will definitely be back! September 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bad time turned very good! When we arrived, the person at the SPG desk, barely recognized our SPG status. He did not tell us of our benefits and did not give us important info. When I booked our 6 day stay, I requested a room in the newer wing. When we arrived, I asked for an upgrade I was told we were upgraded to the Banon Wing. The wing is historically. The room was super tiny with no room to move around and no storage. And the bathroom...small, dark, dirty. We asked for an upgrade and were told that at that time there were none but the desk would call if something opened up . We then requested a hotel change, this request did not appear to bother the manager. Finally, on the third night we were moved into a spacious room in the Tower Building We thank Steve at the SPG desk. He told us about all the benefits, apologized profusely, made concessions, and treated us well. The rating above reflects our first days BEFORE the room change. After the change everything was fantastic and we look forward to another stay next year!! February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has excellent and helpful staff As a Platinum member, staff went out of their way to make sure I was fully satisfied. Friendly, professional and so nice. This includes management, front desk help and housekeeping. Getting a room with veranda and ocean view completed a wonderful experience. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Character and Charm This hotel gives you the wow factor. From arrival to the front entrance, the hotel staff greeting you at check-in. The staff were most friendly durning the entire seven night stay. It makes you feel like you have become part of the Moana Surfrider Family. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing and friendly! This hotel for the last leg of our honeymoon was exactly what we needed and worth spoiling ourselves a little for. It was absolutely beautiful, the staff were amazing and it was a warm and friendly environment to be in. I cant wait to go back!!! November 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed My first trip to Hawaii and what a disappointment this hotel was. I paid for an ocean view room that was blocked by a tree, s beautiful historic tree...but a tree. I asked to be moved 3 times and no one followed up with me to the point I had to keep going to the front desk. At one point i was told i would be able to "see through the tree when the sun came up". Breakfast buffet was wonderful. The service in the casual restaurant was AWFUL. Long waits for greats and food and had to get up to get my own refills. We ate their twice, both times....BAD! Asked for a late checkout (again I had to follow up multiple times, no one called me back). which wasn't available due to capacity, it wasn't until we got our bags from the bellhop that he told us. The best part of my experience was my interaction with the bellman and valet people, I will go back to Hawaii but not to this hotel. I travel a lot ( i have diamond,and platinum status at two of your competitors and Starwood gold 6 years in a row) this is the first unsatisfactory review I have ever written. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding family vacation This was our first time in Hawaii and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our suite surpassed the expectation and there was enough room for everyone to spread out and enjoy. The roll away bed was even heavenly comfortable. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel and Great Staff Stayed here more than 10 times in the past and, as always, had such a great time at this amazing property! Perfect location, beautiful facilities and wonderful staff. Keith at the front desk was amazing and very helpful! September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Arrived on 12/12 - 1550 hrs, outstanding Reception Agents and MOD at check-in; food was excellent, loved the Pupu Steak from room service, very clean room, I even checked under the bed! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by That Ohana feeling Frank and the crew out front always greet you with a smile and a warm welcome!! I instantly feel at home when I show up. You can't beat breakfast on the veranda and the views are awesome! My home away from home. November 23, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice hotel Was disappointed that despite booking 6 months in advance our request for a balcony was not accommodated. Also we stayed here on our honeymoon, no rose petals on the bed or wine etc to congratulate us and thank us for choosing to have our honeymoon there. I thought that gesture was standard in most luxury hotels? I guess not. The room was small and very basic but the bed comfort and shower was wonderful. No bottle opener or anything in the room besides 2 glasses. A couple of times our room was not cleaned that well but it was peak period so we overlooked this. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back there. The location cannot be beaten. January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Appreciate the upgrade. The Tower Wing was my favorite. Stayed in this Starwood property 4 times last year and twice in the last two months and the Tower Wing is by far my favorite. Couple of times, I was dissatisfied with the internet, speed was extremely slow and trying to do work was frustrated. Had to carry my laptop and work out of Starbucks. But this past stay, in the Tower Wing, internet was better than Starbucks. This four star elite greatly appreciate the upgrade and hopefully will be assigned in the Tower Wing for now on. Only complaint was I paid a 25.00 resort fee and I heard other customers checking in paid 18.00 resort fee. Since I paid using points, I didn't matter to me. Thanks. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand old hotel The Tower Wing is excellent. All the staff are very helpful and efficient. The Veranda is a great place to eat. The older part of the hotel has a lot of history. March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shhh, I don't want this place too crowded Hey, this group of welcoming and top caliber staff and management deserve the highest honors, but always when something is this good, it usually gets spoiled somehow. So please tread carefully when you come here, and don't abuse this special combination of everything we love about Westin. Beauty, tranquility and style... super clean and comfortable...well designed resort programs that are free or reasonably priced, and professional staff that like their jobs and their guests. Kudos to Noelani and all the team at the new Beach Club - Surfrider's version of a Club Lounge for Platinum as well as availability plus extra fee for others. That has to be the best secret - so shhh, and I wont tell you all about it (beach front views, great light fare, sunsets, comfort and elegance). I also loved all the live music night and day, the daily yoga at the spa, spa treatments, and the lobby offering a Westin superfood elixir each day. Oh my, I can't get back here fast enough! Cons: desk chair is too hard and uncomfortable to sit on for long, bath gel must be requested (standard leaf shaped soap is always too drying) , shower cap must be requested, but thanks for providing upon request! December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is truly excellent in all accounts From check in to service, to dinner and pool activities the hotel catered for our family well. The room was spacious for our family of four with stunning views. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and atmosphere All staff were friendly and welcoming. Loved the charm of the original Hotel foyer and the Banyan tree court yard. Location excellent. July 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is beautiful; Unexpected charges at end All in all our experience was magnificent. The hotel was beautiful, the room was great, the staff was friendly and welcoming and the food was superb each day. Our only negative experience was checking in and checking out. Upon checking in, the gentleman checking us in forgot to give us our breakfast coupons with our room, as breakfast was free with the room we chose. Then upon checkout, we found out about an addition $31.41 charged each day as a 'Resort Fee'. We were not informed about this as well upon check in and were quite discouraged about an additional $282 charge on our credit card when leaving. As if almost $400 per night wasn't enough. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Hotel A beautiful grand hotel with a great staff. Definitely a classy establishment. We where treated very well. Great beds, although they don't offer queens which is odd since the rooms are large enough. The only negatives for us is that it the place was hoping, lots of people staying there so often it was hard to get a chair by the pool or facing the beach. If you stay on the side that faces the Outrigger it can be a bit noisy at night but not unbearable. We split our stay between this hotel and a condo and while the condo saved us money on food (food and drinks at the hotel is sky high), we definitely enjoyed out time at this hotel the most. June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We live on the Garden Island of Kauai. We decided to celebrate our anniversary on Oahu.The staff of the Moana Surfrider Hotel front desk were awesome. Our 41 yrs. wedding anniversary December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific time We stayed here to celebrate a special anniversary. We were treated royally! August 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff attention, but needs repair and management improvement This is a lovely historic property, and for anyone who wants to be at the heart of Waikiki Beach it's ideally located. But even better are the staff: reception staff made supreme efforts to accommodate and they, as well as the bar, cleaning and other staff really "went the extra mile" to be friendly and obliging. But the (historic) Banyan Wing is a very noisy place: while I view the music from the restaurant below until 10:30 pm as tolerable, the daily set up -- banging carts, crashing cutlery, ongoing conversation -- that starts every day AT 4:30 AM is not acceptable. This is bad management: rather than 1-2 set up people from 4:30-7:00 am, get more staff for 6:30 and delay the set-up until then. Even worse, on Friday night they were out doing some sort of facilities reorganization -- banging and crashing around at 1:00 am. Combined with the single pane windows that do not close fully, the noise was unbearable (installing interior, closeable plexiglas window would allow the historical windows to be maintained without constant noise). In short: a great property with terrific staff -- but the management needs to be more attentive to the restaurant noise issue and attendant room window maintenance/repair issues. February 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst westin I've stayed at Room 3705 was beyond dated. The room should not have been inhabited. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I've stayed at a lot of SPG hotels and this is one of my favorites. It's right on the beach and the club lounge is amazing during the hours that it is open. The food is filling and the beer/wine is great. The only recommendation I have for this hotel is that, as a Platinum member I normally get 2 free water bottles in the room but this hotel didn't have any in the room. The lounge also does not allow access to water bottles during off hours, which is also unusual because I can normally grab a water bottle from club lounges at any time. Aside from that, this hotel is a great one to stay at! May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent location excellent location, small private beach but nice anyway October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Way to Do 'Nothing!' The main purpose of this trip was to spend quality time with a very special friend and to do 'nothing' but enjoy time off! The Moana Surfrider helped us do both. As soon as you get out of your car there is a 'Wow!' factor. The property is very impressive. All our needs were attended to with a smile and caring attitude. Our every wish was catered to us. The bed, pillows and sheets... absolutely wonderful! The hotel is ON the beach. Step off the stone walkway and hit beach sand. No streets to cross or directions to worry about. The Beach Bar is located on the beach as well and under a giant Banyan tree that is as beautiful as it is majestic. The hotel has done an excellent job preserving and maintaining the growth around the property. The food was great and they had a good variety at both the restaurant and Beach Bar. The only things I would recommend to the hotel is a map showing the easiest way to access the parking and parking levels at the off sight parking. And a little more variety on the room service menu in the area of light healthy meals. The biggest negative/surprise for us were the prices for food. But in the hotels defense it was that way everywhere..... after all you 'are' in Waikiki! Thanks Moana for a great ten days! Curtis July 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs capital and better management Interestingly none of the other reviews mentioned the 32" televisions. Really...32" televisions. I had reserved a city view King size bed but received a Double bed city view. I guess my status got me an automatic downgrade. There was no chair in the room to sit and read in. Just a dinning chair at the desk and a low armless upholstered deck chair. They were kind enough to bring an arm chair when I asked. My room had three small occular window and the only one you could get near was the one that looked over the roof. None of them opened. They had retrofitted the window frames with these cheap square plastic plantation shutter insets. The old hardware from the original stately custom shutters was still present. There was a one inch plus gap at the bottom of the hall door which was difficult to block with a towel as I had only been given one bath towel even though the room had 2 double beds. Fortunately there were three hand towels. The line to check out on a Sunday noon was too long to wait in to see my bill. There was only one poor fellow working as hard as he could and no one at the SPG sign. This is discraceful given that the hotels in Honolulu are having a record year in revenue. No reason to scrimp on staff or not spend money on the property. July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Great, best Mai Tai,,fun. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location and beautiful ocean front view We have been staying at the Westin Moana Surfrider for the last 7 years. Always at the Diamond Wing ocean front room as it is very quiet. Our last stay dates back to April 2011 and we will be comiong again from this April 6th 2012 ! The only drawback for us is we can no longer use the diamond lawn area to relax on chairs as used to be able to till a couple of years ago. The pool side beach chairs (free or rented) are extremely difficult to get unless you line up from 6.30 am.. Too bad indeed this diamond lawn area has been permanently closed and exclusively reserved for weddings from time to time especially if you consider the room rates. January 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what it used to be Stayed in the old part of the hotel--the remodel looks nice, but my room was tiny and the walls were paper thin. I have over 500 nights at Starwood properties, and this was the first time I had not been offered an upgrade, even though I asked repeatedly. The hotel made up for it by charging me an additional $100+ per night in taxes and fees. I had stayed in the tower of the Surfrider many times in the past, and the rooms were a good value, but this time I was fleeced! If you decide to stay here, make sure you are in the tower. We did get some excellent help from one of the valet staff, Casey, who really went out of his way to help us. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay in the Heart of Waikiki As a member in Starwood's preferred guest program, I travel quite a bit and am often impressed with the level of service that each of the unique SPG properties provide. Of my years of travel, none have come close to the level of personal attention and care than at the Westin Moana Surfrider. I reached out to Cynthia, Director of Operations, in advance of my visit, to confirm a few details of the reservation. Cynthia was warm and kind, and answered all of my questions well in advance of my visit. The day I arrived, I was thrilled with the level of attention and detail that Cynthia and her team thought through for my stay. She not only prepared a platter of Hawaiian local fruits for us, she upgraded our room to an Ocean Front suite. However, what made the vacation perfect, was her team's attention to the smallest detail. She remembered the name of my 3 year-old daughter, and when we checked in, I was beyond thrilled to see a robe in my child's size, with her name custom embroidered on it. The property itself was historic and stunning, the dinner at the Beach House restaurant is food blog worthy, the ocean view was nothing short of perfect, but the little things - the detail, is what will keep me coming back to this resort, and keep me loyal to the SPG brand. Craig - you have an amazing property, and very fortunate to have Cynthia on your team. July 10, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 24 next>>