Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 753 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I've stayed at a lot of SPG hotels and this is one of my favorites. It's right on the beach and the club lounge is amazing during the hours that it is open. The food is filling and the beer/wine is great. The only recommendation I have for this hotel is that, as a Platinum member I normally get 2 free water bottles in the room but this hotel didn't have any in the room. The lounge also does not allow access to water bottles during off hours, which is also unusual because I can normally grab a water bottle from club lounges at any time. Aside from that, this hotel is a great one to stay at! May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I thoroughly enjoyed my stay I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff were courteous and went out of their way to accommodate my requests. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by suggestions for improvements !. clock radio should include CD player. 2.Prefer ceramic coffee cups instead of disposable type cups 3. Additional lighting in the room May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous service Fabulous service and venue for a holiday. This place is right on the beach and in a fantastic spot close to all the shops. The breakfast included with the room is awesome with a full cooked or continental option. The rooms are absolutely spotless with a toilet that has a seat warmer and cleans at the same time! Customer service is second to none with the staff always obliging to assist you. There is a complimentary room to shower in if you check out and have to spend the day in town before your flight out you can use the room. Very impressed indeed will stay here again April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Property This was my first stay at the Moana Surfrider and I can say with the utmost confidence that I will return for my next visit. It is a beautiful property located in the perfect spot along Waikiki. My room was located in the Diamond Tower and it was very nice. The room was a little on the small side but it was spotless and modern. The bed was very comfortable and I had no issues with noise in the evenings. All staff that I interacted with were friendly and accomodating. They were even able to accomodate my special request at check-in. The cleaning lady was able to address me by name as I was leaving which earned her an extra tip. You could not ask for a better location. Everything you could possibly need is within walking distance. The Moana Surfrider is truly what one thinks of when they picture a vaction in Hawaii. The beachside resort is beautiful, welcoming, and will not disappoint. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel We had a wonderful time on the beach. 'Wish we could have sat by the pool, too. Chairs were always taken by towels with no one in the pool swimming. April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Classic Hotel & Location Myself and a group of 5 other people used this hotel as a stop over on our way from Kauai back to Sydney. It was a very pleasant stay for all of us, all receiving upgrades to beach side rooms for the night, some overlooking the beach directly. The meals and facilities were first class, as well as the proximity to some of the best shopping in Waikiki. Thanks very much for a great stay. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing customer service Not only is the hotel a beautifully landmark, it is also centrally located in the Waikiki. You have access to major shopping areas, restaurants, and of course the beach. What sets this hotel apart is the great care they make their guests feel special. If you don't have access to their Beach Club, I highly recommend you upgrade your stay. It is worth it. I look forward to my next stay. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome view! enjoyed every moment of my stay. Service at the Beach Bar was amazing. Mahalo. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by NICE ! As always a very nice stay and thank you to all staff of the Westin Moana Surfrider. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay at Moana Surfrider We had a great two nights stay at the Moana Surfrider, the First Lady of Waikiki. I was a little skeptical after reading a few reviews with noise and room size issues, which I did not face. I had no problem with noise. Although the rooms are small in size, which is typical of older buildings, it was efficiently designed to accommodate two people. A heartfelt Aloha to Cindy for assigning us room # 261 which had a great view of the ocean and the famous Banyan Tree. She was always smiling and welcoming whenever we met at the lobby area. I usually prefer higher floors, but this 1st floor room was perfect as it had a great view of the Banyan Tree. Our housekeeping lady was very nice and sincere. Sakura at the concierge was helpful. The only shortcoming I can think of is that the Moana Surfrider does not participate in the Make a Green Choice program which is a great way to earn a few extra SPG points. However, I will definitely recommend the Moana Surfrider to anyone going to Honolulu/Waikiki. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A spectacular PEARL of Waikiki I received full acknowledgement of my SPG Platinum Status. The Upgraded room was a palace. The Beach Club Lounge is a welcome gem. Great food spread and the beverage/wine selection is great! The front desk staff and the guest agents of the club lounge provided impeccable service exuding the Aloha spirit. I'm a frequent guest in Waikiki, and I can attest that the Westin Moana Surfrider is the best SPG property in Waikiki and Hawaii. Kudos and Mahalo to the management and exemplary staff of the Westin Moana Surfrider. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I would just like to to say that from the time my family and I checked into the hotel, the staff there has been nothing but kind, always smiling! And We had a personal experience with Irene who works at the front desk she checked my family and I in, and she was just awsome! Very friendly, answerd all of our questions and always smiling! She made us feel very comfertable! :) April 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Satisfied Although I thought the hotel was beautiful (I had wanted to stay there for years now), my stay was not as great as expected. I'm a local and stayed at the hotel for a weekend for a stay-cation. The customer service was not consistently pleasing or adequate - if anything, it was too laid back, and this is coming from a local girl. We expected the atmosphere to be a little more of that of a luxury hotel as the prices are high and decor is so beautiful, but were discouraged that we were sometimes overlooked or ignored as guests. For example, the first moment we got there the valet service and bellboys did not come to our car. We watched as they meandered around; eventually we had to get out of our car and approach them for assistance. The front desk registration was the best service we received as part of the stay. The service at the patio restaurant we had breakfast at had strange service - the wait staff would come by to bring items or take trash and would be talking to himself & the wait service was not attentive - even as I looked over my shoulder and tried to flag down someone for a refill of my water, it took me almost five minutes - it was very irritating. The pool was disappointing as no one seems to be enforcing any usage on how long you can reserve a lounge chair. We waited patiently and it seems people are allowed to hang their towel on a lounge chair for hours, leave, and then come back with their chair saved! There should be more chairs available. Checkout took almost an hour as there was a discrepancy with the bill. Basically what we were told at check-in was not what transpired by checkout. We had to two reservations for two nights (one star friend auth) and the other a regular rate. We were told we could stay in the same room, then split the bill two ways upon final checkout. Instead, the first night bill was already paid for using my credit card and without my knowing. We were patient and said we understood but when we tried to apply the first night's points to my Starwood preferred guest account (just opened), I was told it was too late because my account was closed..which should not have happened any way. I feel we were very patient the entire stay and did not make much of a fuss while we were there. The only thing that really makes up for the lack of acceptable service is the hotel itself; the aesthetics and maintenance of it. We love the hotel nonetheless and would like to come back. If only the people working there loved it as much as we did, maybe they'd be more motivated to promote better customer service. Aloha, and thank you for considering this feedback. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel Another wonderful experience at the Moana Surfrider. Gloria, out at the beach, is an exceptional person - always making sure our stay is top knotch, always friendly, happy, kind - Thank you Gloria! One of the many reasons we will be back. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven One definition of heaven is "an experience of blissful happiness". I think that this describes our 5 day stay at this hotel. April 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by too crowded. beach jammed. small pool. Skip it. not worth the $ unless you loved an overcrowded beach, tiny pool, jammed streets. March 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissappointed ... last visit was several years ago for my wife's 40th birthday - stayed in tower and was great - one of her favourite hotels. However after recent stay - no longer the case and will not stay again given other options. The room and bathroom in old building were tiny (door opens about 6 inches from the bed) sold as city view - looked into an adjoining wall brick wall and was ridiculously noisy- checked 3 times to make sure windows were closed? requires double glazing. To make matters worse room 450 is opposite cleaners storeroom and they made no attempt to be quiet at 3am !! The hallway lights are on full beam and combined with the noise almost impossible to sleep? really disappointing as we had also recommend to friends we were travelling with. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is awesome I only write reviews only if the experience was really great or really awful, the moana was really great! there were a few slight hiccups but for someone who is hesitant, you should definitely give this place a chance! March 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a very good stay Maintenance had to come to the room 3 time to try and fix the air conditioner. It would not cool the room. Just got tired of calling. There was no ice machine on the floor. Housekeeping never did a turndown service and did not leave towels once. One of the pillows on the bed had a stain on it and was put back on the bed every day.. March 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 Room did not meet the quality of hotel name The beach and housekeeping staff were the only elements of the Moana that met the hotel's longstanding name for quality in Waikiki. The room was a huge disappointment. We have family in Honolulu and travel regularly; we'll not return to the hotel. March 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time at the Moana Overall a very good experience. Rooms were clean and comfortable, location is excellent, gym is well equipped and the on site dining is good. The only area to improve would be the pool area. The pool is too small given the size of the hotel and this needs to be fixed. Also there needs to be better control of the pool area. They need to hand out towel cards or wrist bands like they do at the Sheraton Waikiki because there are too many people from outside the hotel that show up and confiscate chairs and use the pool. March 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff This is the first time we stayed at Moana Surfrider, we usually stay at the other Starwood properties on the beach front. The hotel has a smaller footprint, but the rooms have been renovated. The banyan side of the hotel is smaller than the tower side. The staff was wonderful, they definitely went out of their way to help out all the guests. Everybody was very friendly and extremely well trained. The pool is really small so if you have small children that can't go in the ocean, you need to take this under consideration. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay This is my third stay at The Moana over the past 9 calendar months and each stay has been better than the last. I'm here in Honolulu for work and brought my 83 year old mom along on this trip. I let the hotel know this was a special trip for my mom and asked if they could make sure I got an upgrade to an ocean front room. Boy did the GM come through for me! We were upgraded to a Penthouse Ocean room - and it is amazing. The room is decorated beautifully, has a HUGE shower, a spacious lanai and a view of Diamond Head. The staff has been great (as usual), the Mai Tais are strong and delicious - really couldn't get any better. Thank you, thank you, thank you Mr. Anderson! March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Beach Front Hotel This hotel is extremely nice and has the best beach front on the island. They are extra welcoming to SPG members. The tower rooms (anything partial ocean and above) are a must stay. The location is the best in the heart of everything. The service is great and friendly. The only set back is a small pool, but the beach is right there. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is simply awesome! Everything about the Moana Surfrider is awesome, the staff, the history & ALOHA Cannot wait for our next visit there! March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls getaway Felt pampered the moment we stepped off the airport shuttle. Flower lei's given to us as we dropped our baggage off with the porters. Checked in and given an upgrade to larger room with balcony and ocean view. Baggage arrived shortly. Resort fee...Yes, but with that comes free internet access, free self parking, two free welcome glasses of wine, slippers, bathrobes, free exercise classes daily and all the charm this beautiful hotel has to offer.. Thank you for such a lovely stay...I'll be back! March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Just completed a 3 night stay. Excellent property and the Beach Club is a wonderful addition for Platinum members. While checking in, I had to ask for an upgrade, which is always difficult. I would have hoped they would offer it... When I asked about a standard suite, I was quickly told, that Platinum members are never upgraded to suites. After I commented that I would reach out to SPG directly, the agent stated, well I can move you to a ocean front room then.... SPG Platinum recognition does not exist at the hotel. I had to ask for the internet access charge to be removed from my bill, which began a debate, but was finally removed. The property is amazing, Beach Club was awesome!! If you are expecting SPG Platinum recognition, this property needs to do its research and educate the staff. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff. Great Service Every employee I can in contact with was happy, gracious and helpful. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pure Hawaiian Perfection I chose this hotel because I knew it embodied old world Hawaii. It is a beautiful hotel, on a magnificent stretch of Waikiki Beach. On, not across from, but on Waikiki Beach. As I approached the open air lobby, rich in heritage and elegance, I was captivated by the enormous banyan tree in the courtyard. One Piña Colada under that banyan in their beachfront lounge and I was officially in Hawaii. The rooms are lovely, the beds are very comfortable, the hotel is so quiet, the restaurants are exquisite, and the people are fabulous. Every day and night there are complimentary activities and live music. They have a great gym with a lot of equipment, the pool is lovely, and we became "regulars" of the private beachfront accomodations. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Moana Surfrider. It is a beautiful hotel with a warm and wonderful history that is worth every penny. March 16, 2014
  • 2015-04-25T18:29:54.168-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_753, tr_753
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 26 next>>