Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 751 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel We only stayed one night but were completely wowed by the helpful staff, comfortable room and gorgeous ocean view from our room. Thanks for helping us celebrate 20 years of marriage. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of Both Worlds Stayed the evening of Feb 27, first time at the hotel and very impressed! Historic, colonial-style hotel with the best of modern conveniences. The highlights: 1) the hotel is right on the sand - many other hotels are across the street or a block or two off the beach, but you can walk from your room straight out to the water. 2) The "Beach Bar" also sits right on the water, and serves a better pina colada and mai tai than I've been able to find elsewhere. 3) All the modern conveniences of a traditional Westin; quiet, well air-conditioned rooms and the Heavenly Bed. 4) Wonderful staff (!) - very helpful and accomodating. The check-in clerk asked me if I wanted to get a late checkout - I wanted to say "yeah, mid-April" - it was that nice. March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cant wait to come back!! We stayed at the Surfrider for Pro Bowl weekend. The wonderful staff upgraded our room (thank you so much!) and room 1096 was gorgeous!! Great food, friendly staff, amazing views from our room and a near perfect experience all the way around. We live here and like to take "stay-cations"…we will be returning soon. I will recommend the Moana Surfrider to my clients (I am a travel consultant) and friends as well. Thank you again for a terrific weekend. Tammy Robinson R&R Travel Kelley McGlothlin Pono Pools Inc March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Wonderful location and ambience. Only complaint was shower didn't drain efficiently March 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very warm feeling about this hotel This place felt like home the staff were all very friendly and we loved having our grandkids feel the "Ohana" vibe that the Surfrider put out. The food was very good and the Pool and Ocean were very peaceful. The only thing we felt was a little off was the fact that it seems you folks put a lot of effort into the exterior visuals but inside the rooms were not very well kept at least our room was not. Little things like the shower door not being cleaned on the outside, like i said little things. Overall first class place. March 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Work Charm A great place with stunning views and incredible ambiance. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Aloha spirit is alive on Waikiki! Two years ago, I sat in a rocking chair on the veranda of this hotel and told myself someday I will stay here. When the opportunity arose, I grabbed it, and last month I spent a most enjoyable week at the Moana Surfrider. I rocked on the veranda again, but I also had High Tea on the veranda, wallowed in a luxurious, healing Lomi Lomi massage in the Moana Lani Spa, enjoyed appetizers at the Beach Bar under the Banyan Tree and people watched in the lobby! (I also slept like a baby in the Heavenly bed - it really is heavenly!) I have absolutely nothing to complain about concerning my stay. Even though the exact room I had booked was not available when we checked in, we were accommodated with a room that seemed every bit as good as what I had booked and was cheaper! For our inconvenience, the resort fee was waived for the entire length of our stay. Thank you to Tobias Ragossnig and his guest services staff for taking such good care of us. This was our first experience with SPG and we were impressed. What can I say about the Grand Lady of Waikiki? You walk into the lobby and immediately feel the tropical breeze from the ocean. Your next sensation is that you've travelled back in time to a simpler, friendlier place. The lobby is bustling with people at all times of the day and night. It's warm, inviting and welcoming. Other hotels might be bigger, more plush and pretentious, but also very sterile. If you want a touch of simplicity and charm for your dollar, don't overlook the Moana Surfrider. The Moana Surfrider has a multinational clientele, which certainly gives one a global experience. Many different languages were spoken in the elevators and eateries, but that only added to it's charm (along with the wedding parties strolling through the grounds at all hours of the day! I admit to being a romantic - I oohed and ahead over each bride and groom.) Our oceanfront room overlooking the pool, courtyard and Diamond Head in the Tower wing was everything I expected. We had plenty of room to stow our stuff in the drawers and closet. The lanai was our recreation room and we were out there early each morning to watch the sun rise and the early birds head into the surf. Some people think the music and noise from the courtyard is too noisy, but the live music was always ended before I went to bed, so no complaints from me. The cleaning staff greeted us each day with smiles and questions as to how they could help us that day. We were given extra amenities each day, plenty of clean towels and they cheerfully changed the sheets on the bed when asked. Lovely cleaning staff! Finally, I need to give a shout out to Aaron at the Spa. I had my very first Lomi Lomi massage - this is the traditional Hawaiian healing massage and Aaron made me feel blessed and cared about. I would highly recommend this treatment for your physical AND mental health. The spa is very well appointed and a tranquil experience all around. I think I have gushed enough. The entire stay was wonderful and I would certainly recommend this hotel, especially if you plan on staying here with the intention of relaxing and simply enjoying and pampering yourself. The best part of the experience remains rocking in the teak rocking chairs and people watching on Kalakaua Street. Thanks for a special and memorable vacation! March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel I missed a working desk in the room. Carpets on the floor in the room, although OK but would benefit from exchange. Limited numbers of lockers or closest. OK for one person but somewhat narrow for two persons. Local lighting for reading not so good. Late housekeeping one day. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff made my stay even better The Moana Surf rider is a beautiful hotel! The staff is very friendly and attentive. A few people on the staff went above and beyond. Roxanne at the tours and activities desk was just amazing. The poor woman was swamped everyday but she still had a smile on her face and kept trucking on. She gave us great tips and told us not to over book. Which ended up working great. we have a good balance of activities and down time. She is such a beautiful person inside and out! We really enjoyed speaking with her daily. Johnson was our man in the Beach Lounge. We enjoyed seeing him every morning. Anything that we needed he was there before we knew we needed it. another great person we enjoyed speaking with. Lastly is Taylor, also from the Beach Lounge afternoons. Very attentive and super friendly. She was able to answer any questions we had. If she didn't know the answer she went out and found it for us! She did such a great job! I want to thank each of them for making our stay!! Thanks guys! You should give them a raise :) March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't contol weather As always the staff and facility, met all our expections. They just couid not make the sun shine EVERY day. But they made up for it in service and friendliness. Great job to everyone. March 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adequate Accommodations, Inadequate Service This luxury property, being one of the oldest on Oahu, seems like it would be a perfect destination for a romantic getaway. However, it left much to be desired and we will not be returning. Problems included: -Bathroom: The shower did not drain and there was black mold in the corners of the bathtub. -Front desk staff: We requested late checkout and no one called back to confirm or deny the request. In fact, when we checked again on the day of checkout, no one had even documented the request. -Concierge service staff: When we asked the concierge for assistance with booking activities and sight-seeing, she simply handed us some paper maps and a "101 Things" guidebook before sending on our way. We could have received the same level of service from a brochures rack. -Enhancement Potential: The hotel was overbooked, without any possibility of room enhancements. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The personal attention to every detail was boyond our expectations! We just returned from a week's vacation in Waikiki. We stayed at the Moana Surfrider and couldn't be more pleased. The housekeeping staff knew us by name and greeted us each day. The check-in staff and events planner personnel were all very accommodating and made sure our every wish was granted. I would never stay in another hotel if traveling in this location again. It was a very relaxing stay with an incredible view and a everyone was so kind. Thank you for some wonderful lifetime memories! February 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star experience Too many little things made the 9 night stay a disappointment. Lei greeting upon arrival only if you ask, however, upon asking the front desk staff they were not too friendly. continuously no face cloths in the room. bathrobe, only one, was not changed once. I let my wife use the single bathrobe. Air conditioning can only be set to high, which is too noisy to sleep with. Our tub drain was plugged upon arrival, fixed the next morning. How could housekeeping not know it was plugged?? The shower head didn't get fixed upon my request. I received a length lecture on the 1 hour time limit around the pool, however, staff did not enforce their rules. Don't lecture me and then don't enforce. Really. Beach club staff was excellent, but found its existence by accident. The public uses the beach and hotel facilities. There are no chairs to sit in the hotel with as they are used by non guests. The hotel does not cater to its our guests, but to the public. Don't expect any more than a non guest would receive. Our flight was a late departure so we used the hospitality suite. Front desk staff was adamant that we had the room for 45 minutes. Room was not cleaned. Used towels on the floor, hair in the toilet. No soap and no towels. After a call, we received towels and soap (we were told housekeeping was on their break) and quickly had to change and finish up in the 45 minutes. My wife returned the hospitality room key and was told by front desk staff that the room only gets cleaned a couple of times a day and dismissed her concerns. After numerous times staying at this hotel, we spent time looking at other places to stay next time to Hawaii. February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor room assigment! :-( I had pre paid for a Diamond city view room. We were first assigned room 202, which is sub standard small size room typical on river cruise boats. After some discussions I was offered a Dimond room ,but with queen bed. My reservation called for king bed. the answer was basically "tough"... we do not quaranty bedding! so that action ruined our stay. Also the hotel lobby is over run with Japanese weddings... maybe 25 a day. At first it was funny but later it became annoying February 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beach Club Lounge is what it needed We had a great stay here. No suites available upon check in but we did get a great ocean view room in the Banyan wing. We loved it. We were given scratch cards upon check in and our "gift" from the scratch off was free upgrade to the highest level of internet but since Platinums receive that anyway we were given a $14 a day statement credit. We were also provided two drink vouchers upon check in which we never had a chance to use. We loved the convenient beach access. The Beach Club lounge is provided complementary to platinums. The lounge includes multiple hot options and a large array of cold salads, fruits, cheeses, breads, sweets, and drinks including house wine and beer. The space indoors is very quiet and relaxing but it was the outdoor veranda we found most relaxing. This sets this hotel above the Royal Hawaiian for my wife and I. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Iconic views etc. it's what one expects from Waikiki. We stayed in the historic banyan wing overlooking the courtyard. Each day walking in the front from a day out was a pleasure. Looking out the window towards the sea and banyan tree after waking each morning, let's us forget the recent 30 yrs over development in Waikiki like roads, high rise hotels, and multistory car parks, and we appreciate the sea breeze. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Place to Enjoy Waikiki We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially breakfasts and dinners under the big baryon tree--a major feature of the beach area. Great sunset views, another super feature. For us, the only limitation was the small, cold pool and no hot tub. With the weather cool and windy, a warm-water experience would have been greatly appreciated. January 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by manager and room All the noise from the street, including cars just passing. advised the hotel the problem and i ask to talk to manager and she called him and i waited there for moor than 10mts. after 10mt or more wait she said that he is busey with other guest so ask me to leave my cell number so he will call back. never recived call from manager name-STEVEN ZORITHAKR. next morning i told the same lady that he never called. this place is not worth it for all the noise. maybe when all construction is done. hotel staff did not seem to care at all. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Historical Hotel The Westin Moana Surfrider is a very charming and classic hotel. I visited the hotel for New Year's and enjoyed my stay. The rooms in the historic wing are small, but comfortable. The bathroom was small but had a great shower (no tub.) The heavenly beds always make for a good night's sleep, but unfortunately that was hard on New Year's Eve with the party going on in the courtyard directly under my room. That withstanding, the rest of my stay was great. The hotel recently opened the Beach Club lounge and it's open to platinum members. The club is very big and has outdoor seating directly in front of the beach. It's a great place to relax and get snacks. I would return to the Westin, just not for New Years. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recognition of loyal SPG members If you are looking for a historic hotel in heart of Waikiki, this is the place for you. We stayed in the historic part of the hotel for 5 days during the holidays. While the rooms are small, everything was well maintained and renovated including the bathrooms. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. As an ambassador member, I was initially disappointed that I was not upgraded to a suite, but the classic banyan room with balcony and ocean view was really special. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the property has added a lounge called the Beach Club recently. While I expect lounges at the Sheraton properties, this was an exceptional touch. Even if you are not Platinum but you are interested in a place to unwind and have breakfast and evening snacks with an incredible beach/pool side location, I would recommend paying to upgrade for this service. It will more than pay for itself in expensive Waikiki and the service was outstanding. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay As a Platinum member with Starwood I've seen and experienced many Starwood properties. While each location has always met specific Starwood qualities - this resort stood out. From arrival and greeting from valet to check-in to check-out the experience was fantastic. The staff here really seem to go above and beyond - I'd like to specifically call out Janice at the front desk - as she really went out of her way to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Another amazing perk specifically for Platinum members is their beach club - great quality and selection for breakfast and appetizers/drinks. This is a new program - please keep it going!! Thank you, I will be back in 3 weeks for business. December 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by April Anniversary at the Surfrider The hotel is spectacular, a great mix of old school cool and new amenities. The banyan tree, the location and the lobby and beach bar were perfect. The tower room with a balcony and ocean view were truly special..and we caught some fireworks too! Not much recognition for platinum status and inconsistent customer service and levels of service. Overall a great find amidst honolulu! I am excited to return with my family for my husbands birthday ! December 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff and Computer System Overall, a good stay. A couple of items, a couple of staff members could have been more helpful. It felt like I was bothering them. And the computer system at the front desk was having problems. Twice I had to come to the front desk to have my credit card scanned, and each time it did not work. And when I checked out the system was down and was unable to see my bill at the time. December 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and service all week! Every year our company host retailers at the Moana Surfrider. The events staff lead by Brenda gets 5 stars! They are the best to work with in terms of organizing the events via email, hotel blocks, and being on hand to help with whatever we needed during the week. They went out of their way on so many occasions to make sure our group was taken care of. The waiters/waitresses and bartenders that worked during our event were so great too. I highly recommend hosting corporate events here at the Moana. Great organized staff that meets all your needs. The whole hotel staff in general is very sweet and have all worked there for a lot time. Everyone is so nice and has the best customer service!! December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is beautiful I will definitely return, excellent customer service. Pool was beautiful and beach access was right off the pool area. Fresh lei upon arrival was soooo special! December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shhh, I don't want this place too crowded Hey, this group of welcoming and top caliber staff and management deserve the highest honors, but always when something is this good, it usually gets spoiled somehow. So please tread carefully when you come here, and don't abuse this special combination of everything we love about Westin. Beauty, tranquility and style... super clean and comfortable...well designed resort programs that are free or reasonably priced, and professional staff that like their jobs and their guests. Kudos to Noelani and all the team at the new Beach Club - Surfrider's version of a Club Lounge for Platinum as well as availability plus extra fee for others. That has to be the best secret - so shhh, and I wont tell you all about it (beach front views, great light fare, sunsets, comfort and elegance). I also loved all the live music night and day, the daily yoga at the spa, spa treatments, and the lobby offering a Westin superfood elixir each day. Oh my, I can't get back here fast enough! Cons: desk chair is too hard and uncomfortable to sit on for long, bath gel must be requested (standard leaf shaped soap is always too drying) , shower cap must be requested, but thanks for providing upon request! December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great express overnight stay I had a quick stopover stay at the Moana Surfrider. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The checking in and out was done efficiently and seamlessly. The room was comfortable and nicely presented. The hotel itself was very charming and the location was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel! December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Arrived on 12/12 - 1550 hrs, outstanding Reception Agents and MOD at check-in; food was excellent, loved the Pupu Steak from room service, very clean room, I even checked under the bed! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Week in Paradise After researching many hotels in the Waikiki area my girlfriend and i decided that Moana Surfrider was the place we wanted to stay...what a great choice! Not only did the hotel meet our expectations but exceeded our expectations as well. We stayed in the Tower facing Diamond Head on the 17th floor three rooms from the end where the suits are...what a view! There is nothing like waking up and going to bed with a balcony that has a view of the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. We had mentioned that it was a trip for our anniversary and my girlfriends birthday but did not expect a bottle of champagne and a nice birthday dessert waiting for us when we first arrived...what a nice touch! Everything about the hotel was to our liking...upscale dining with great service and wonderful ambiance...a quick walk to beautiful Waikiki beach or to the many stores and restaurants nearby...fast valet service and everyone at the Surfrider was friendly and helpful...we will definitely stay here again next year! December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great hotel, centrally located, Waikiki is a tourist trap be sure to rent a car and go see the rest of the island, we loved our stay December 14, 2013
  • 2015-04-17T18:18:44.369-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_751, tr_751
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 26 next>>