Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 719 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic It was great pleasure for us to stay in this hotel. The location that is walking distance from Waikiki main street and beach let us relief and feel convenience. The room is also nice, we could get partial ocean view in spite of low rate. All staffs are really kind and have taken care of us deeply. Many thanks. August 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel looks great from the outside We got sent to the Diamond Wing of the hotel for $311 a night. I swear to you it was "Ghetto Fabulous." RM 3623 closet door fell off when I slid it open to put in our clothes, the towel racks in the bathroom were falling off from the weight of the towels on them, the corridors carpet was filty, dirty and threads coming loose. All the signs on our floor said Non-Smoking at the card readers, yet there were people smoking in their rooms. Can't believe they would do this. We complained and got another room in the center portion of the hotel on the 5th floor. Much better but still not worth the money. The bed was 12 inches from the front door to the room. You actually had to hop over the bed to get into the room. Room 550. November 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elegance of Old Hawaii In the midst of noisy and bustling Waikiki, the Moana Surfrider serves guests with time-honored courtesy and elegance. Be sure to visit the history displays and see the video on the second floor. I chose a room on busy Kalakaua Avenue to keep my cost down, and the hotel issued ear plugs, which successfully blocked the noise that continues outside until about 11 pm. I was visiting family so did not have time to enjoy the pool and beach, but the loaction is easy to access by car and the easy beach access allows for early-morning and late evening walks along the shore. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was a let down Noisy room even on inside courtyard. Very small room and bathroom. Shower dirty. Never called me like they said they would when the room was ready. Told me I got upgraded as a platinum member to an oceanfront room and I did not. Outside waitress had to be called over several times to assist. Valet and bartender on terrace were excellent. August 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointing stay 1/10-1/13 Checked in on Thursday night, was put into a room so small, 2 people couldn't pass by each other. They switched it to a larger room with two bed's, was on my anniversary trip, so we slept in different bed's. The room overlooked the street, no sealed window's, was so loud, we never got to sleep. Upgraded us on the second night to a Handicapped room, with a stained carpet, shower head praying water everywhere, nowhere to store luggage, and no bathroom amenity storage. We are GOLD SPG member's, and spent 36,000 dollars/points, for this stay, very poor hotel. Many other guests at the front desk complaining of loud room's out front, even the staff told us this is a ongoing problem. VERY DISAPPOINTED, will never go back there! January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service needs improvement All in all, the facilities are good BUT I had a few problems with service: 1. Check-in: Took FOREVER 2. Housekeeping: We had several issues with housekeeping and that was really disappointing. We had to keep calling back to remind them to address our issues. That is really disappointing for a Westin. 3. In-room bathroom: Sink was clogged and needed attention and the lever on the shower broke off as it was super old and rusty. All in all, because of the location and the lobby we loved our stay but I was and am disappointed about the level of service we received. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PARADISE This hotel maintains the original plantation style and is unique in the Waikiki skyline. It was a pleasure to stay there......the total experience is relaxing and the staff exceptional. August 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Can do a lot better Eating options limited and expensive, too many add on costs which should be included in high tariff paid. Beach Club complete waste of time and limiting access frustrated many guests. Non hotel guests using facilities made most facilities crowded and waiting time was excessive. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great Location The room we stayed in, in the tower, met our needs very well. Little extras that many other 4 & 5 star hotels do not provide - plenty of conveniently placed electrical outlets - plenty of drawer and closet space -adequate lighting and perfect air conditioning. The view was great and the breakfast buffet among the best we have experienced. The hospitality rooms for guests whose transportation is later than check out time is a great service. The private beach area, the pool and the, for rent, umbrellas are very nice. Location of the hotel is perfect for swimming, walking, getting transportation, etc. and really right in thick of things. My only criticism is that the restaurants , for meals other that breakfast, are overpriced. February 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy city side room with no upgrade available While we absolutely enjoyed this hotel as previous visitors, this time was not so restful. We had requested a room away from elevators and the street side through the email to the reservation dept before our arrival. Our email was never answered and our request to upgrade was not accomodated when we checked in. (Being a SPG member did not improved our room selection either.) Our room was on the 4th floor facing the street and very noisy the entire 5 nights we spent there. We've never left the islands with so little sleep and glad to be going home as this time. July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome As soon as we walked into the hotel, my new wife and I were in awe! We loved everything about it. The staff was extremely friendly, food was delicious, and the location was perfect. We didn't get a chance to use any of the amenities of the hotel but everything looked great! August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by first time Hawaii It was first time to visit Hawaii for my family. This hotel was excellent to stay Waikiki. It was convenient for shopping and beach. August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Year 9 of Staycations This is the ninth year we've taken a staycation at Moana. The good: Gloria, Mo, Hulani at the beach were great! Remembered us by name. So much Aloha. Frank the bellman is exceptional!!! We got 4pm checkout! The bad: air con started dripping water at 11pm. Maintenance fixed it by midnight. Fridge in 244 makes a loud noise every 45 mins. At check in clerk wrote 224. Went to room, we're delighted to get a ocean room but that was wrong. We had a city view. 244. Had to go back to get it corrected. The ugly: person knocked on our door checkout day to see if we needed anything. We said some water. Never came. Kamaina who use points or discount are not afforded same perks as others regardless of loyalty. Ref beach umbrella reservations. July 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Crowded and Cramped The smallest room I've ever stayed in in the US and the most over subscribed hotel facilities I've ever experienced. Really turned off by: 1) the queen bed I received even if my reservation was for a king bed. 2) noisy room (from pool, band, bar, all-night cleaning of pool/cafe area, business offices in corridor, etc.) 3) hordes of people throughout the public spaces of the hotel. 4) people that throw a towel on pool chairs to "reserve" them early in the morning, then disappear for hours. Overall feeling this hotel is doesn't care about it's customers. December 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has low standards Room 3213. I'll never forget it. The door looks like it hasn't been painted in 10 years (this was my first impression). The chair had tears in it and was stained and appeared dirty. I put towels on it before sitting on it. The door lock made funny clicking noises during the middle of the night...i found out the next day that the battery was supposedly low when I could not get back into my room. They called the locksmith to repair it. I pointed out all of the above to the desk, but nothing was done to clean up the room. The next day, i could not get in my room again. Again they had to call the locksmith. Finally, i was given a new room. I had a 10 day vacation scheduled and I cancelled the second 5 days. This wasn't relaxing or fun. January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of Both Worlds Stayed the evening of Feb 27, first time at the hotel and very impressed! Historic, colonial-style hotel with the best of modern conveniences. The highlights: 1) the hotel is right on the sand - many other hotels are across the street or a block or two off the beach, but you can walk from your room straight out to the water. 2) The "Beach Bar" also sits right on the water, and serves a better pina colada and mai tai than I've been able to find elsewhere. 3) All the modern conveniences of a traditional Westin; quiet, well air-conditioned rooms and the Heavenly Bed. 4) Wonderful staff (!) - very helpful and accomodating. The check-in clerk asked me if I wanted to get a late checkout - I wanted to say "yeah, mid-April" - it was that nice. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No SPG Recognition, but overall had a good stay No SPG recognition. I might as well have been standing in the regular line at check in. There was only 1 FDA helping the SPG line and 2-3 FDA for the regular line. The SPG guest in front of me was being helped, so you'd assume when one of the other FDA was free of helping one of the regular guest, they'd call on the next SPG guest waiting in line. That was not the case. It happened to me at check in and at check out. Also, there were no other special treatments that I got during my stay like I had at other hotels. The hotel is nice and upscale. Nice look, relaxing feel. Room was alright, except that we could smell cigarette smoke coming from next door. Overall, not bad. Could've been better if there were more SPG customer service. November 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shamefully Dirty Very disappointing stay! The room had ants in my bed, bathroom had mould in grout and in sink, fece were on lanai and on the outdoor table & chairs. Housekeeping did not present the room with the standards expected. Did voice my concern to front desk and they happily assisted, they sent housekeeping up to fix it, but it has not been done! I am not a person that normally complains, but this was unacceptable. Words cannot describe my anger and disappointment at the cost of the room and what I have been given and presented with. Kindest regards Susanne August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful, Rich History This was a wonderful hotel to stay with a rich history and past. I highly recommend it. August 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location in Waikiki. We stayed at this hotel with my family, consist of two adults & 2 boys for four nights. Location is great, beachfront & in the center of everything in Waikiki. Swimming pool is small. Our room is OK, beds are nice. We were disappointed that on our 2nd day they didn't clean our room when we returned from a day trip @6pm. We called & went down at the front desk, somebody came, and just brought us few towels & made up the bed. The room is not really was cleaned at all. The lady said at the reception desk somebody will follow up with me but nobody did! I thought this place would provide a better quality and or customer service because its a beautiful facility and the rates per night are quite expensive, sadly my expectations were not met. August 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Housekeeping needs help The room was quite small and had a small shower but no bath tub. Housekeeping did not get to our room on one of the days until 5 pm even after we called. When they did arrive, they did a great job. Everything was very clean and tidy. The checkout person was very disinterested and did not even ask how we enjoyed our stay. We'd still go back because of the great location on the beach and beautiful ambiance of the public areas which make great wedding photos (we counted 21 brides during our stay). But be specific when you make your room reservations. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel! Beautiful grounds and fabulous customer service. The men who greeted me when I drove up to the hotel, the check-in staff, and the concierge were all so friendly and filled with aloha! Anytime I called customer service or housekeeping, the service was quick and very helpful! July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location good location and historic ambiance August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Really enjoyed my stay at the Moana Surfrider. Excellent location, prestigious hotel, great service. A classy, comfortable place to stay on Waikiki Beach. Only complaint would be that I had to stand in line for a while waiting for service at front desk. Other then that service was excellent. If I go back to Honolulu will definitely stay again. I didn't use the spa or fitness center or eat at the hotel so can't comment. But I viewed all and they looked great. Pool is small, but for me why sit by the pool when the ocean and beach are right there. April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business/Leisure I would absolutely recommend this hotel to any relatives or friends that planned on vacationing in Honolulu. Can't beat the setting. With that said, I have been staying at the Moana Surfrider for several years now and I wonder if the hotel differentiates the "regulars" from the first time visitors. I don't get the feeling that they really care if you have been there before or that someone is a Lifetime Platinum member (not that I really need or expect the recognition) I will always tell anyone that will listen to stay at the Moana Surfrider. July 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, though has some issues If you want to be in the center of the Waikiki scene and directly on the beach, this is a great choice. It is gorgeous and near great locations and shopping. The downside of this location is the noise from Kalakaua Avenue. Our room on the 2nd floor was at the very front of the hotel with 2 windows on the avenue, and it was so loud until about 2 am that we could not sleep. There were other problems. There were ants in the room, and we were promised a king bed, but given a queen. Staff was accommodating in addressing our problems, but moved us to a better room only halfway through our stay. We felt we should have received a refund for the days in the first room. Despite this, we had a positive experience overall and would recommend this hotel. August 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing! The Moana Surfrider used to be one of my favorite hotels. What appears to have happened is that management has lost their focus on customer service and creating an experience vs. now as the focus is on catering to Asian weddings, larger tours and creating a general atmosphere of chaos. I will be looking to any other property that has continued to focus on high customer service standards and creating the experience that I am paying for. I am so sad to write this review, but feel like the management team needs a wake up call to customer service. October 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moana Hawaiian Paradise The Moana Surfrider is Hawaii. The most beautiful hotel on Waikiki beach with the feel of Aloha. August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider We stayed in this hotel as part of a 40th anniversary trip to Hawaii. We enjoyed the common areas, location, and historical aspects of this hotel. However, our room and bath in the older section of this hotel were EXTREMELY SMALL and CONFINING. The check-in staff told us that "the hotel was very busy and this was all that was available." What was the point of making a reservation months in advance or being a resort owner if we had to take whatever was left over? We did enjoy the view of the courtyard and banyan tree. The pool area is very small with limited seating--there was never anyplace to sit. The concierge was not very helpful or enthusiastic. She seemed bored and disinterested in our questions and answered very minimally. We ended up figuring things out for ourselves. The common area entertainment was good, especially the piano player/singer on Saturday night in the lobby...excellent! We were somewhat disappointed in this hotel and would probably choose a different one in the future. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is central, comfortable with all guests treated equally. I recently stayed for 7 days.The beds were truly amazing, wide range of options within hotel and also within area.Lots of choice both in hotel and in vicinity for food, beverages etc.Spa was best I have ever used. August 1, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 25 next>>